The Cat Lady Image
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 113 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Cat Lady contains strong adult themes and is recommended only for players over 18.

    By author Remigiusz Michalski (Harvester Games). The Cat Lady follows Susan Ashworth, a lonely 40-year old on the verge of suicide. She has no family, no friends and no hope for a better future. One day
    she discovers that five strangers will come along and change everything... This suspenseful psychological horror game features stylized artwork, a simple keyboard control method and English voice acting, plus a compelling, atmospheric 70 minute soundtrack by Micamic. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. 92
    A rare creation, a unique study on human behavior that exposes instincts, fears, desires that most of us would not even care to admit to ourselves. [February 2013]
  2. May 6, 2013
    90
    The Cat Lady is simply one of the most beautiful horror adventure out there, something that goes beyond a videogame and yet a work of art that only a videogame could have delivered.
  3. Jan 16, 2014
    90
    As long as you're not totally put off by the art design, there's no reason to not play The Cat Lady. It is not only one of the best games of the year, it's one of the best horror adventures out there.
  4. May 16, 2013
    80
    The Cat Lady could be defined as a “non game”: it’s a beautiful, sad picture of our lives. Maybe one of the most interesting horror adventures around.
  5. Jan 22, 2014
    80
    If you seek horror, The Cat Lady may sometimes freak you out, though probably not outright scare you. But that horror is in service of a touching character portrait--a portrait that's authentically, poignantly askew.
  6. Jun 3, 2013
    80
    The Cat Lady offers a unique and deviated world and a setting full of horror and despair, although the keyboard controls and an excessive backtracking remain flaws to be reckoned with.
  7. Mar 5, 2013
    70
    Once or twice The Cat Lady made my heart race but the game would benefit from some more tweaking, especially when it comes to story coherence. [CD-Action 03/2013, p.63]

See all 11 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 36
  2. Negative: 5 out of 36
  1. Sep 12, 2013
    10
    Censor me, I don't care. This game is Play this game. If the Kings Quest series gave birth to Stephen King's baby this would be it. Dark, disturbing, messed up in the head, and brilliant. If you're looking to be scared with loud noises and quick time events look else where, if you want to be told a truly unnerving story that will leave you thinking long after it's over, here it is. Not the kind of game that will hold your hand; it can be frustrating at times, but it never feels pointless or repetitive. If this game had AAA production values, it would be discussed as a Game of the Year candidate, without question. Collapse
  2. Apr 13, 2014
    10
    I cant say anything bad than just it was short and I wish there was more. I loved this game so much, totally recommend this for people who has been through suicide thoughts or anything like this, This game is perfect to me! Expand
  3. Nov 15, 2013
    10
    An absolute joy to play.
    Touching on some profoundly serious topics in a way that only games as an art form can.
    Its only weaknesses are
    brief moments of weak voice acting, however where the delivery may lack the content is still stellar.
    A vision of dark brilliance, a strong synthesis of an urban gothic setting and a magical realism plot that captivates the player. If you do not become emotionally attached to these characters, if the visceral 'meat-and-bone' horror leaves you untouched and the side stories of individual suffering loss and persistence do not stir anything within you -Then you have lost your taste for art and I can propose no cure. This is without a doubt a important work which I can only encourage you see through to the end.
    Expand
  4. Apr 15, 2014
    9
    Amazing game, and incredible story. This game runs about 8 hours on average, the puzzles and solutions to problems are MUCH easier to figure out than most point & click games, which makes for some smooth sailing so you can progress the story consistently. The story is one of the best I've seen in a game for a LONG time, and I play hundreds of games. If Harvester Games had a large budget, this game would've definitely been GOTY material. But instead it's underestimated and overlooked by other popular games. If you want a good scare-not a cheap jumpscare-but a scare that messes with your mind for days on end, then get The Cat Lady. The atmosphere is also a very strong point, it reminds me of Scratches. It's perfect for setting the mood of a very dark, and depressing game. Your actions and choices matter a good amount, and the achievements on Steam are fun to get. Very awesome game, you need to get used to the graphics/animations and gameplay (there isn't much gameplay), but if you can do that, you'll experience one of the best horror stories out there. Expand
  5. Apr 8, 2014
    9
    A piece of art really! Great story line, deep characters, artistic value. I am very happy I have experienced this game. The music was also very good. There we some voice problems but I really didnt care because this game is unique! Expand
  6. Aug 29, 2014
    8
    The Cat Lady is one of the more twisted and extraordinary adventure games I got the chance to play.
    In short, it's great and worth playing,
    with only minor flaws, mainly for adventure lovers!

    The game deals with a very mature matters, and has mature content, sometimes even disturbing.

    Summary:
    +Bizzare, interesting, deep story about human feelings and depression, with great conclusion and a message
    +Simple yet great atmosphere, great psychological horror environment
    +Good graphics and soundtrack
    +Good gameplay mechanics, no need to pixel-hunt that missing object
    +Interesting characters
    +Nice puzzles
    +More than one ending

    -You may not get the entire story on the first time
    -Very linear although it seems like it isn't
    -Mediocre voice acting at times
    -Some minor graphical glitches (very few)
    -50 saves limitation, no option to delete saved game in-game
    Expand
  7. May 14, 2014
    1
    Ayn Rand meets The Goonies. This isn't a game but an excuse for a immature person to ramble on about his childish and annoying philosophy of life. It's not horror, merely gross. It's not meaningful, merely fatuous. Vengeance is what makes life worth living--oh boy is that original. It has all the emotional impact of a wet cigar. If you love long tedious conversations by an excited 17 year old who has taken Philosophy 101 for the first time in his life this game is for you. Otherwise, pass it. Expand

See all 36 User Reviews