The Cat Lady PC

The Cat Lady Image
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 185 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Cat Lady contains strong adult themes and is recommended only for players over 18.

    By author Remigiusz Michalski (Harvester Games). The Cat Lady follows Susan Ashworth, a lonely 40-year old on the verge of suicide. She has no family, no friends and no hope for a better future. One day
    The Cat Lady contains strong adult themes and is recommended only for players over 18.

    By author Remigiusz Michalski (Harvester Games). The Cat Lady follows Susan Ashworth, a lonely 40-year old on the verge of suicide. She has no family, no friends and no hope for a better future. One day she discovers that five strangers will come along and change everything... This suspenseful psychological horror game features stylized artwork, a simple keyboard control method and English voice acting, plus a compelling, atmospheric 70 minute soundtrack by Micamic.
    Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. PC Master (Greece)
    Feb 4, 2013
    92
    A rare creation, a unique study on human behavior that exposes instincts, fears, desires that most of us would not even care to admit to ourselves. [February 2013]
  2. May 6, 2013
    90
    The Cat Lady is simply one of the most beautiful horror adventure out there, something that goes beyond a videogame and yet a work of art that only a videogame could have delivered.
  3. Jan 16, 2014
    90
    As long as you're not totally put off by the art design, there's no reason to not play The Cat Lady. It is not only one of the best games of the year, it's one of the best horror adventures out there.
  4. May 16, 2013
    80
    The Cat Lady could be defined as a “non game”: it’s a beautiful, sad picture of our lives. Maybe one of the most interesting horror adventures around.
  5. Jan 22, 2014
    80
    If you seek horror, The Cat Lady may sometimes freak you out, though probably not outright scare you. But that horror is in service of a touching character portrait--a portrait that's authentically, poignantly askew.
  6. Jun 3, 2013
    80
    The Cat Lady offers a unique and deviated world and a setting full of horror and despair, although the keyboard controls and an excessive backtracking remain flaws to be reckoned with.
  7. CD-Action
    Mar 5, 2013
    70
    Once or twice The Cat Lady made my heart race but the game would benefit from some more tweaking, especially when it comes to story coherence. [CD-Action 03/2013, p.63]

See all 11 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 46
  2. Negative: 5 out of 46
  1. Sep 12, 2013
    10
    Censor me, I don't care. This game is Play this game. If the Kings Quest series gave birth to Stephen King's baby this would be it. Dark,Censor me, I don't care. This game is Play this game. If the Kings Quest series gave birth to Stephen King's baby this would be it. Dark, disturbing, messed up in the head, and brilliant. If you're looking to be scared with loud noises and quick time events look else where, if you want to be told a truly unnerving story that will leave you thinking long after it's over, here it is. Not the kind of game that will hold your hand; it can be frustrating at times, but it never feels pointless or repetitive. If this game had AAA production values, it would be discussed as a Game of the Year candidate, without question. Collapse
  2. Jul 31, 2014
    10
    If Lovecraft would able to make a game, it would be something like this I think. The art style, story, music, game play, everything about thisIf Lovecraft would able to make a game, it would be something like this I think. The art style, story, music, game play, everything about this game is weird. But after a very long time I found myself caring about a game. The story of the game and main character makes you want to know more and you just keep playing. This game made me want to play it until the end, and get me somewhat angry everything that get in the way and prevent me to continue the story. I can clearly say that this game is not for everyone. Especially if you're not a patient person, or you don't like adventure games at all. But you must play this game if you were searching for a good horror/thriller adventure game for a long time. I think this was the only good horror/thriller adventure game that I played after the White Chamber or the Mirror Lied. Expand
  3. Apr 13, 2014
    10
    I cant say anything bad than just it was short and I wish there was more. I loved this game so much, totally recommend this for people who hasI cant say anything bad than just it was short and I wish there was more. I loved this game so much, totally recommend this for people who has been through suicide thoughts or anything like this, This game is perfect to me! Expand
  4. Jan 30, 2014
    9
    The grim style, setting, story... this game gets it all right. Light on adventure but thought provoking. The only negative is that sometimesThe grim style, setting, story... this game gets it all right. Light on adventure but thought provoking. The only negative is that sometimes it has trouble starting up and alt+tab out of the game will result in poor resolution Expand
  5. Jul 13, 2013
    9
    The title is a cut and dry "Too Long Didn't Read" version of what I'm about to say. I've read

    horror before, and not just scare horror mind
    The title is a cut and dry "Too Long Didn't Read" version of what I'm about to say. I've read

    horror before, and not just scare horror mind you, actual horrifying horror. I've played horror

    games before as well, but none that really freak me out or give me goosebumps. This game has

    such ambience to it that if you don't play it with a headset you are missing out on subtle

    creaks cracks and whispers.

    Warning

    This game though two dimensional does have very brief (two sections that I encountered) nudity,

    and lots of blood/gore. Do be warned if you're very easily put off by blood or gore it may be

    something to consider. There is also a lot of involvement with suicide and

    depression, if it is a sensitive subject matter to you you may not (or may) want to play this

    game.

    The Story (Don't worry no spoilers)

    Enough about the horror though, there's clearly a lot of it. The story is where it is at, end of

    story. *punintentional* Seriously though as I stated in the title this is similar in style to a

    Stephen King novel. In my opinion much better than a number of his works. (trust me I love

    Stephen King) It will have you guessing and I mean GUESSING as to what exactly is going to

    happen and even at times what is happening in front of your very eyes.

    Pros

    An immersive story that keeps you wanting, nay, CRAVING more each and every moment. I honestly

    couldn't turn this game down and I have many other games I've been itching to get to and play

    such as the Bioshock series and Skyrim. Multiple choice adventure wherein you actually CHANGE

    the game and how the story unfolds. Honestly, it's not just some choice where it changes a thing

    here or there...there's real choices to be made that change EVERYTHING.

    Cons

    On the down side there are no options to skip dialogue, and with the dialogue a few typos on

    rare occasion that take you out of the moment but nothing so game breaking as to be a failure in any way. Also very minor British terminology cultural slang that may be missed out on by her western cousins across the sea. Replayability In terms of replayability there is actually some, considering it is a point and click adventure style you do get multiple choices for which road to follow at times and it does in fact change the game and ending. Summary I personally would rate this game with flawless marks because it is so well crafted, my only annoyance is that I once had to check how to figure out a single puzzle on the internet, but that was my own inability to realize the answer. I would reccomend this game to anyone who loves adventure. To any one who loves to read books as well. Especially to fans of horror and dark subject matter.
    Expand
  6. Jun 24, 2014
    8
    After playing this, I felt compelled to write a review. I started off not enjoying myself, at all. It felt trite and cliche at first I had noAfter playing this, I felt compelled to write a review. I started off not enjoying myself, at all. It felt trite and cliche at first I had no idea why people found themselves enjoying the game so much. But as I progressed on, I discovered some interesting personalities. Albeit, they come a bit far and wide. But when they do, I found them damn memorable.

    I found the protagonist boring, until a support character synergistically made the two of them engaging- to a point where it almost took me off guard. The game blends reality with fantasy in a way I enjoyed. I can see how others might disagree.

    The bad: I didn't find myself enjoying the characters and story for quite a while. Graphics are EXTREMELY low budget. The theme of the settings are great, but the fluidity of character movement is clunky and awkward. UI is absolutely horrible. I found myself frustrated with puzzles simply because interactions with the environment was unjustifiably lengthy. I HAVE the key. Why on earth do you need me to stand in front of the door, press down, scroll through my items, press enter on the item, and pick the "use" option to open a damn door.

    I could game very easily give this game a low score for its glaring inadequacies, but it simply gets too many congeniality points. I highly recommend this game to anyone who enjoys a good story.
    Expand
  7. May 14, 2014
    1
    Ayn Rand meets The Goonies. This isn't a game but an excuse for a immature person to ramble on about his childish and annoying philosophy ofAyn Rand meets The Goonies. This isn't a game but an excuse for a immature person to ramble on about his childish and annoying philosophy of life. It's not horror, merely gross. It's not meaningful, merely fatuous. Vengeance is what makes life worth living--oh boy is that original. It has all the emotional impact of a wet cigar. If you love long tedious conversations by an excited 17 year old who has taken Philosophy 101 for the first time in his life this game is for you. Otherwise, pass it. Expand

See all 46 User Reviews