The Chronicles of Riddick: Escape From Butcher Bay - Developer's Cut Image
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 38 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 165 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Set before the events of both Universal Pictures' "The Chronicles of Riddick," starring Vin Diesel, and the 2000 cult classic "Pitch Black," which first introduced Diesel as enigmatic anti-hero Riddick, the game tells the story of Riddick's dramatic escape from the previously inescapable triple max security slam Butcher Bay, home to the most violent prisoners in the galaxy. The Chronicles Riddick: Escape From Butcher Bay will blend action and stealth elements, as players navigate Riddick through the harsh environments of the slam - dank tunnels, dimly lit corridors, and other hazardous areas filled with guards, savage inmates and deadly creatures that prowl the darkness. [Vivendi Universal] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 38
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 38
  3. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. With all the lackluster console-to-PC ports in existence, The Chronicles of Riddick: Escape from Butcher Bay absolutely towers over the competition. The fascinating commentary mode and bonus level improve what was already a stellar game.
  2. The biggest extra you’ll find, though, will come after you’ve completed the game. You can then re-enter the game and as you play through the second time you’ll notice the addition of some floating icons. Clicking on these pauses the game and plays designer commentary about the design and development of the level.
  3. It still looks great and has one of the best single-player stories out there. [Jan 2005, p.143]
  4. An exciting mix of FPS, stealth, fighting and adventure all rolled into one great looking package. [Jan. 05]
  5. 90
    It gives you tasty side dishes of RPG and adventure gaming to go along with the action genre. Add on top of all that the excellent production values, impressive voice acting, tight script, bonuses like Commentary Mode, and a reduced price.
  6. 88
    The equal blend of game elements is superbly crafted, and I am honestly surprised at enjoyable the stealth and hand-to-hand combat really is. Still, if you consider around 12 hours of gameplay short, then Riddick is just that.
  7. There are moments that let Butcher Bay down - the melee combat, cack-handed first-person boxing, feels radom and ridiculous; there's some irritating mystical babble; and it's too short - but overall, the game's a gem. [Jan 2005, p.86]

See all 38 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 35
  2. Negative: 1 out of 35
  1. Oct 23, 2013
    10
    Probably one of the best first person experiences ever made. Fantastic action, ok.. the stealth less so but still fantastic, looks amazing to this day and has a better storyline than any Riddick film. Best movie tie in game I've ever played bar none. Expand
  2. Dec 30, 2011
    10
    This was the first M rated game I was allowed to play, and it's just fantastic. A classic of the ages for sure. Great graphics for its time, compelling story, audio, etc. Awesome game. Expand
  3. Jul 17, 2012
    10
    One of the best action games I have played. Stunning atmosphere, intriguing and believable setting, simple, but satisfying narrative, charismatic main character, impressive graphics even by today's standards, great voice acting, music and ambient, somewhat clever AI and most importantly, excellent gameplay. It is like an action-packed movie, which never gets old. Sneaking, shooting or just exploring Butcher Bay- no matter what you do, you'll never get bored. There are some small quirks, though. Not nitpicking, but still it should be noted, that the game is a bit short. When I finished it, I wanted more and the 2009 expansion pack Dark Athena failed miserably at that. Another problem is that, the shooting sequences weren't the best even at the time the game was released. That's probably because of the guns- they are either way too inaccurate (like the rifle) or just plain ineffective (shotgun) at medium range. These problems don't make the shooting sequences any less thrilling or intense, though. My advice is to play the original version, rather the 2009 remake, which for some reason lacks quicksave function and the AI is (somehow) dumber and likes to cheat. A must-have for anyone, who likes engaging and atmospheric action games. Expand
  4. Jul 8, 2011
    9
    First of all for the user Kevin P who said: ".....atrocious language and realistic violence made me hate this as a game."
    You are a complete
    idiot. This may be the most moronic thing I have ever read inside a game review. Criticizing this game based on the fact that it contains bad language and realistic violence may be the most imbecilic thing I've ever heard. You sir...are a jackass. There are countless warnings on the game stating that it contains realistic violence and gore and obscene language. If you don't want to see or hear those things...DON'T BUY A GAME WITH AN "M" WARNING ON IT...Next time be sure to ask your mommy's permission before playing. The other obvious response to that would be...THE GAME IS SET IN A PRISON...You think prisoners drink tea, eat crumpets and say "please" and "thank you good sir" to each other? If you do, your more deluded than a hippie mental patient whose mind is stuck in the 60's. Do us all a favor and stop rating the good video games and get back to playing Pokemon or Mario Kart...those should be more your speed...Freakin dweeb.
    ANYWAY those feelings aside, this game was, IMHO, almost flawless. The countless stealth moves, authentic prison setting, great storyline, BAD LANGUAGE, VIOLENCE, AND GORE...this game has it all! With Butcher Bay's realistic graphics, genuinely action packed gameplay, and riveting storyline, I've found myself playing countless hours on end, loosing myself in the game and completely loosing track of time itself! What a brilliantly developed, perfectly put together masterpiece...9/10!!!
    Expand
  5. Jul 7, 2013
    9
    One of the best games I've ever played (and I've played a LOT), and definitely the best movie game derivate, to which every movie game strives but never achieves. Even after so many years I still play it gladly. Great graphics (even for modern standards), great story, gameplay, and acting crew which invested 110% effort in this. Expand
  6. Aug 31, 2013
    8
    This game has something what the absolute majority of games lack, that something being the awesome characters. Expectedly borrowed from the movie industry and rightly so, just wish they did more with them (should have hired a hollywood scriptwriter). A perfect game? Nope. Map design feels like 1995. So many games have awesome environmental art but lack charismatic characters, it's the other way around with riddick, what a pity. Anyways, a very engaging experience even if a bit clumsy storywise at times. Expand
  7. Mar 20, 2013
    6
    I like the voice work and the graphics, especially the shadows, look great. Game play is and should be the biggest part of a game... that is why it is called a game. The game is too difficult and long-winded. It takes forever to get the night vision, which I thought would be a big part because of the fact that you play as Riddick. If, in the game, you did not die so quick so the player could feel empowered, and if it was not so slow, this game could have been great. As it stands, the game is mediocre. Expand

See all 35 User Reviews