The Crew PC

Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
Buy On
  1. CD-Action
    Feb 7, 2015
    75
    Rating The Crew is problematic, because you can look at this game from two perspectives. In view of some simplifications and scripted moments it will not delight those in search of pure racing. Those who appreciate large open worlds however will be overjoyed. [01/2015, p.70]
  2. Jan 27, 2015
    74
    The massive living environment is a great thing, but inaccurate arcade gameplay and poor balanced missions pushes The Crew into the world of average driving games.
  3. Jan 25, 2015
    68
    This ambitious attempt to create an MMO racing game pretty much failed thanks to horrible bugs and poor gameplay balance. And if you prefer playing alone, The Crew is not good enough for that, either.
  4. Jan 14, 2015
    70
    The Crew is not without issues, but still offers a lot of fun: the pleasant driving model and huge world encourage exploration. It's during the free roaming that the game spreads its wings and offers real breadth.
  5. Jan 5, 2015
    55
    It’s a fun distraction for the short term but unless this is the kind of meal you’d like to eat three times a day for the next twenty five years, you are going to find yourself not quite sated by what The Crew has to offer.
  6. Jan 5, 2015
    60
    Half-empty multiplayer, an inconsistent campaign and not enough cars. The Crew was rescued only by a huge map of America. The creators offer a great virtual geography instead of a racing game, but this is not enough.
  7. Dec 15, 2014
    82
    The size of the world is stunning and it's a good racing game, but the controls and the little bit disappointing multiplayer mode are the reasons it's not a great game.
  8. Dec 11, 2014
    72
    An overly ambitious effort that has it's moments, but ultimately falls short of it's advertised potential.
  9. Dec 8, 2014
    70
    One of the most exciting racing game environments for years, unfortunately bound to a slew of dull races and superfluous story.
  10. Dec 8, 2014
    85
    Taking the good and weighing it against the few negatives or things I would've changed or added, The Crew carves a name for itself amongst the ranks of long standing racing series with one quick motion.
  11. Dec 5, 2014
    70
    The Crew is a big sandbox with very good ideas, but it's a game wrapped up in issues. The driving is uncomfortable and the physics deceive your cars.
  12. 72
    I’d recommend The Crew to anyone who has a dedicated circle of friends who would play with them, who all have great internet connections. If you do, this game is pretty awesome, and possibly even a better format than a lot of other driving games out there. If you don’t, the game can get frustrating at times. This is a “your mileage may vary” sort of game, good, but really only appealing to a very specific type of gamer.
User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 475 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 103
  2. Negative: 35 out of 103
  1. Dec 2, 2014
    3
    Every player has the same role in the same story. Thirty minutes to drive across an entire nations. Five minutes for each city. Over an hourEvery player has the same role in the same story. Thirty minutes to drive across an entire nations. Five minutes for each city. Over an hour of tutorial. Rubber banding. This is basically the always online version of Need for Speed.

    Probably the developers wanted to do something fun and unique. But in came the suits, and before you know it, all we get is more icon chasing, a scripted, linear narrative and almost no focus on the cars, racing or driving. Ubisoft has to make the same game over and over again, regardless of genre, and this time, its to their detriment.

    Perhaps one day Ubi will release a game with real innovation. The Crew is not that game. 3/10 for wanting to be something special. Deducting seven points for linear story where it makes no sense, always online requirement for what is basically a need for speed game, bugged launch, poor handling and small "open" world.
    Full Review »
  2. Dec 2, 2014
    2
    The Crew. To sum it up in one word: disappointment. Extreme disappointment. The core element of the game, around which all other elements,The Crew. To sum it up in one word: disappointment. Extreme disappointment. The core element of the game, around which all other elements, whether they be racing, customizing, roaming, etc, is the physics and handling of the cars. And it is horrendous. You may as well have drank a whole bottle of J&B Scotch ("The antidote to roadrage!"), because you will be swerving like a madman. There is no road feel. It is not even close to simulator quality handling. If you so much as lose a hair's breadth of control, your force feedback will give up, you will spin-out, and you will get frustrated. Pretty fast.

    That Ubisoft shackles the player to a terribly cliche, uninspired revenge plot just adds insult to injury. I want to skip all the bland voice acting (we all love Troy Baker, I'm sure he's a good guy, but I've had enough!). I wouldn't mind us being able to have different gender/race driver avatars. And don't get me wrong, I'm no "social justice warrior" looking for a soap box-- I just think that in this day and age, dammit if every single person playing the game is going to be a white 35 year old male with a Mumford and Sons beard. Variety is the spice of life.

    The graphics are lackluster at best. Your car looks about the same as a car from NFS Hot Pursuit. That's a 2008 game. This game should have better looking cars than what comes out of a 2008 game! Not marginally better -- a LOT better. Curvature of chassis is simplified down to single polygon lines.

    The interface is so cumbersome and intrusive that it is almost impossible to play the game without having to pause, press a button twice, just to get the game to stop congratulating me on driving two miles.

    Somewhere between the concept and execution, something went wrong with this game. It's just very...underwhelming. There is no sense of speed the way you get in a game like Assetto Corsa. Yes, it's a simulator being compared to an arcade game, and I suppose that's the main source of my disappointment. I was hoping for high fidelity racing and instead got a NFS game that drives with the subtlety of one of those hot wheels remote control cars.

    I give it a 1 because I was looking forward to an open world racing sim with some NFS styling. Instead, I got NFS and drunk physics. I don't recommend anyone buy this game unless he or she absolutely LOVED the NFS series, because that's all it is. For some that's a bad thing (myself included), and for others, it's exciting news. But at the end of the day, NFS + MMO = The Crew

    It wasn't worth my money or my time, and I regret purchasing it. In my opinion, 2 star.
    Full Review »
  3. Dec 2, 2014
    10
    Epic. It's NFS Underground 2 on Steroids ! And MORE. Beautiful on PC.
    Solid effort from Ivory tower, a lot of time has gone into the cars
    Epic. It's NFS Underground 2 on Steroids ! And MORE. Beautiful on PC.
    Solid effort from Ivory tower, a lot of time has gone into the cars themselves. and adding or changing a part can really make all the difference in the world, the map is gigantic I mean really big, driving from city to city you can get the sense that every thing feels different depending where you are, Physics done right, Handling done Right, customization done Right, End Game Content done Right, Take My Money !
    Full Review »