Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 71 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Dark Eye: Chains of Satinav is a point and click adventure from the makers of The Whispered World.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. Jul 9, 2012
    90
    The experience is remarkably evocative of the fairytale-like adventures of the King's Quest series, and nearly every facet of the game is remarkably well-executed.
  2. Jun 18, 2012
    85
    Deep Silver and Daedalic Entertainment have done a great job in not trying to bring the pen & paper gameplay to the PC, but choosing the way of the adventure. Subsequently The Dark Eye: Chains of Satinav is more like an interactive novel – a good one for that matter.
  3. Oct 14, 2012
    81
    Chains of Satinav is a perfect substitute for a storybook. Absolutely beautiful hand-drawn art is combined with a predictable story and some clumsy dialogue, but the overall melancholic feel of a imaginary kingdom on the brink of it's demise make up for these angularities. It's hard to get any closer of an fairytale. Some puzzles are genius, but there are loads of boring logistic tasks too. [Sept 2012]
  4. Jun 27, 2012
    80
    Just like inject some life into a paint, each location of this Dark Eye: Chain of Satinav is truly a work of art. It's a shame that the level of difficulty is so low in the majority of puzzles, but newcomers to the genre will be pleased. And hardcore adventurers will have their day with some clever puzzles too. A great graphic adventure that could've been a masterpiece of the genre.
  5. Jul 16, 2012
    80
    Regardless of its technical shortcomings, CoS provides a superbly engaging story driven experience, that feels uniquely its own. When a story makes you care about its characters, it's a triumph, and in this, Chains of Satinav excels.
  6. 70
    The Dark Eye is such a beautiful adventure at first glance …but its guts are rotten. Genre-typical gameplay does not offer any remarkable new ideas and weakens the whole experience. [Issue#220]
  7. Jul 10, 2012
    50
    Not counting those pauses and time spent scratching my head about obvious puzzles, The Dark Eye: Chains of Satinav clocks in at around six to seven hours, which makes me balk a little at its $30 price. Comparatively, Walking Dead is $25 for the season of five two-hour episodes, and Resonance is $10 -- two adventure games you really should play this year. Satinav, on the other hand, carries with it a number of disclaimers that you need to be aware of before jumping into this fantasy adventure game.

See all 24 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 12
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 12
  3. Negative: 2 out of 12
  1. Aug 12, 2013
    10
    I love that game! great backrounds, great story and a very great puplisher! A must have for all Point and Click Adventurefans. And with the Dark eye setting it is perfekt! Expand
  2. Nov 17, 2013
    10
    As point & click adventure games go this is one of the best! The puzzles are fairly straght forward and locical which means the game and story flows!!
  3. Jul 1, 2012
    10
    If you enjoy point and click Adventure games then you will love this game. The story is well told. The puzzles are chalenging without being conviluted. The hand Painted art work is beautiful. It took me about 10 hours to finish the game and I only had to look up a walk-though in two occasions when I overlooked a peace of a puzzle. There are not many Adventure games these days and this one is just as good as any of the classics. I say if you care about this genre of game at all then you should pick this one up just out of principle. I only wish Adventure games had more replay value. This game was better then anything from Telltale games and Amanita Design. Maybe not quite as good as a Classic Lucus Art game but close. Defently better then anything Sierra ever made, with the exception of maybe the Quest for Glory seriese. Some of the storry is kind of lost in translation because the game was orginaly made by an indee team from Sweeden but it has enought charm to be enduring. None the less I liked it. Collapse
  4. Ume
    Nov 21, 2013
    9
    One of Daedalic's best works; gorgeous art and interesting story. The characters are well developed and likable. Most puzzles are straightforward, and a couple are really amusing. Every fan of P/C Adventures should give this a try and also a good game to get into the genre. Expand
  5. Jan 26, 2014
    8
    This one is at the top of the pint and click games I ever played. Superb hand painted 2D graphics with some 3D perspective. A very compelling story with believable characters. Simple interface and reasonably identifiable quest objects. On the minus side, the puzzles, mostly reasonably challenging, are sometime simplistic and then, in two cases totally obtuse and, for sure, require the use of a walkthrough. I also found the ending somewhat disappointing. Regardless, this is one game you can't do without if you're a point and click fan. Expand
  6. Nov 23, 2013
    8
    The game is pretty enjoyable. The riddles are pretty challenging sometimes and the scenery is beautiful, as well as the story. The downsides are the performance problems and a bug that made it impossible to proceed near the end of the game. Expand
  7. Apr 13, 2014
    1
    How did this get so many good reviews? I gave it half an hour before deciding not to waste my time as well as my money. I have enjoyed dozens of adventure games including plenty that were made 10+ years before this and are still vasty superior to its cheap 2d images and laggy menus. Avoid Expand

See all 12 User Reviews