Metascore
61

Mixed or average reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 12
  2. Negative: 2 out of 12
  1. Oct 25, 2013
    73
    Despite its issues, The Dark Eye: Demonicon remains a fun adventure that, while lacking polish, is an enjoyable journey through The Dark Eye setting.
  2. Oct 25, 2013
    73
    If I had tried to play this in my spare time, I would have given up after a few hours. Until then it's just confusing. But as a tester I had to play on and later on it's much better, more diverse and a motivating story.
  3. Nov 26, 2013
    70
    Demonicon is ugly, awkward, and unknown, but it's still an average action RPG.
  4. Nov 15, 2013
    70
    There are some truly original elements in Demonicon's world and narrative that unfortunately are too brief and few overall. At its current price, The Dark Eye - Demonicon can only be recommended once it goes on sale or enters the bargain bin.
  5. Oct 25, 2013
    70
    The new action-RPG takes place in the classic Dark-Eye-Setting. The story is one of the best features in the game. Fans of the franchise will experience much lore. Especially the voice-acting guarantees a nice atmosphere. Unfortunately the gameplay itself and the overall presentation is not satisfying that much. Poor textures and lack of good animations comes along with a combat-system, that isn’t quite challenging.
  6. Dec 13, 2013
    64
    Noumena Studios is very different from Bioware in everything, from scope and budget to storytelling.
  7. Dec 28, 2013
    60
    An engaging story and some good core mechanics hampered by some ugly design and repetitive, simplistic combat. [Jan 2014, p.66]
  8. Nov 25, 2013
    60
    An interesting story brought low by rote combat and a rather uninspiring graphics engine. [December 2013, p.92]
  9. Oct 28, 2013
    60
    As an old pen and paper enthusiast, I got the feeling that this would have been a better fit as an expansive campaign for the 'real' Dark Eye. That's where it could have been something really special, something with more staying power than this okay, but ultimately forgettable RPG.
  10. Oct 25, 2013
    60
    Maybe hardcore Dark Eye fans will appreciate the lore and its place in the universe, but on its own it’s not a fantastic story, and it’s not a well-designed game either.
  11. Nov 8, 2013
    45
    Bland and unpolished, The Dark Eye: Demonicon is a generic and mediocre action role playing game that fails to fully embrace its source material, and therefore will ultimately leave the player unengaged and unfulfilled.
  12. Oct 31, 2013
    39
    In times of The Witcher or Dark Souls this is hard to bear. The dialogue is below daily soap standards, the fighting system as superficial as any, visuals are outdated. This is gruesome.
User Score
6.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 54 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 20
  2. Negative: 8 out of 20
  1. Oct 26, 2013
    8
    Barring a few graphical glitches I found this to be an enjoyable, immersive RPG with a gripping story and enjoyable combat. The game does feelBarring a few graphical glitches I found this to be an enjoyable, immersive RPG with a gripping story and enjoyable combat. The game does feel a little rushed at times though as I get noticeable texture load lag on sudden camera angle changes epically in the cut scenes even running an oc'd I72600k with dual 7950's. That said though the story is this games main selling point, it is well paced with interesting characters and is deficiently worth a look for somebody who wants a good yarn. The gameplay on normal difficulty is a little on the easy side though so hardcore masochists may want to look elsewhere.

    Basically barring a slight lack of polish this is a very good game and hopefully the texture problems will be sorted out with a patch
    Full Review »
  2. Oct 26, 2013
    2
    Needing a quick RPG fix, and finding this on Steam, I automatically assumed this game was a new addition to the TDE: Drakensang series andNeeding a quick RPG fix, and finding this on Steam, I automatically assumed this game was a new addition to the TDE: Drakensang series and bought it without checking further. Very stupid move :(

    Expecting something akin to Drakensang starting this game was like getting a punch in the face.

    The UI is laughable compared to that of the Drakensang games. Whereas the game itself scales to any resolution, the UI is really low res. Gone are the nice, efficient inventory system of Drakensang, and instead we get the typical list inventory obligatory for any multi platform game (consoles, apparently, can not render grids). Being able to save manually is obviously not supported, as consoles don't support this either.

    The RPG system has been dumbed down pretty much across the board, and you have less of everything in terms of skills, abilities, spells and item stats.
    The combat and overall gameplay has been dumbed down as well, but to be honest I didn't play it very long so maybe it picks up after a while...

    The graphics are on par with Drakensang at best, but since this was released 4 years later that is not very impressive.

    To summarize, I don't know why they bothered with a PC version at all. They actually did include more than a dozen video options, but that seems to be the only change they made for the PC version aside from reassigning the keys. With all the brilliant RPG's available on PC I simply don't see why anyone would get this game, unless they sink to my level of incompetency and buy it without reading the reviews.

    On a console this game might be a decent effort, and I am sure it compares more favorably to the games available there, but if you are a PC gamer I would much rather get the old Drakensang games, or one of the decent new RPG's like Witcher 2 or Skyrim.
    Full Review »
  3. Oct 26, 2013
    3
    First of all and what annoys me most is: It's a console game. To me, RPGs and console don't work togeher, but that's personal taste.

    So
    First of all and what annoys me most is: It's a console game. To me, RPGs and console don't work togeher, but that's personal taste.

    So there's a savepoint system, which means that I'm not able to save when I want. (Seriously?)

    The gameplay feels like Dragon Age light-and-slow. It's called an 'action RPG', but the combat animations are way too slow to make me feel any action.
    The whole interface looks exactly like the 'Game of Thrones'-RPG... only without the 'save game' option.

    Also I've got a problem with the resolution adaption. I play on 1920x1080, which is not that unusual, is it?
    The ingame graphics are okay (means: I didn't expect more), but when I need to read something in the inventory, the text is really blurry, which makes me a little dizzy.

    The story... well... maybe I'll find my way into it but I'm not that hooked at the moment. I just don't get in touch with the main character.
    Full Review »