The Darkness II PC

Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
Buy On
  1. Feb 7, 2012
    70
    Levels are linear and predictable, focused on ushering you from one straightforward encounter to another so that you can go crazy with those deranged arms of yours. If you are a fan of the original game, bear this in mind: The Darkness II is a fun, very short FPS without the authentic atmosphere and subtle touches that made its predecessor so intriguing. Still, if you've got a lust for virtual blood, The Darkness II leaks enough of it to satiate you.
  2. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Mar 8, 2012
    70
    Wild and explosive action scores with gore content and cooperative Vendettas mode. Unfortunately, the story / action ratio could have been balanced much better. [Feb 2012]
  3. Mar 12, 2012
    74
    At least the first game involved a bit of exploration and side-missions and we rather miss those segments. Shame they decided to scrap what was, honestly, the only truly unique aspect of the gameplay.
  4. Feb 29, 2012
    70
    A competent but confused and occasionally irritating shooter with wavering tone and unashamed intent to set up for the final installment. [March 2012, p.54]
  5. Mar 13, 2012
    60
    Exhilarating in its opening sequence, The Darkness 2 quickly loses steam and turns into a 5-hour run through a long corridor.
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 438 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 56 out of 80
  2. Negative: 8 out of 80
  1. Feb 7, 2012
    9
    I think that this is an amazing sequel. The story is great, the darkling is a funny and entertaining companion, and the noir style graphicsI think that this is an amazing sequel. The story is great, the darkling is a funny and entertaining companion, and the noir style graphics are awesome. The co op missions are awesome, they are missions that take place in the single player campaign, ex: Jackie wants someone, in co op you get that some one and bring them to him its awesome because in the campaign Vennie says "I'll talk to the new guys". Making me think "thats awesome". The powers are upgradeable and you will always feel powerful, you can do crazy killmoves and dispatch 10 enemies in maybe around a few seconds depending on how good you are. I recommend this game. Full Review »
  2. Feb 8, 2012
    10
    The Darkness II
    Beatiful story, graphics are kinda okay, I liked the previous one more, but it fits to the game.
    It's really bloody which I
    The Darkness II
    Beatiful story, graphics are kinda okay, I liked the previous one more, but it fits to the game.
    It's really bloody which I like and violent, yumee, yumee.
    Full Review »
  3. Feb 18, 2012
    6
    A game that has its moments, love the art style and graphics in the game and the story is for the most part quite good and is very wellA game that has its moments, love the art style and graphics in the game and the story is for the most part quite good and is very well narrated. The love story is convincing and i actually did feel part of the pain he must have been going thru. But the irritating weapons system, where it was way to easy to accidentally pic up and replace new weapons combined with the last few chapters of the game where the story telling took a huge downturn makes this game subpar. Its like the first "The Crow" movie just with tentacles and without a good and satisfying ending. Full Review »