User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 362 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 38 out of 362

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 12, 2014
    6
    it's a decent game played the right way. playing it as a run and gun fps is not the way to go. the use of the demon-arm powers is innovative and makes for interesting game play. the graphic and art style is very film noir (think Max Payne/LA Noire crossed with borderlands). however, the levels are pretty linear and once the novelty of the various demon-arm combat moves wears off, theit's a decent game played the right way. playing it as a run and gun fps is not the way to go. the use of the demon-arm powers is innovative and makes for interesting game play. the graphic and art style is very film noir (think Max Payne/LA Noire crossed with borderlands). however, the levels are pretty linear and once the novelty of the various demon-arm combat moves wears off, the fighting isn't spectacular. the story-line is ok and the voice-acting decent. main gripe is that the game play is really way too short (completed on hitman difficulty in slightly less than 10 hours). not worth the full release/retail price but can be considered if on sale. Expand
  2. Sep 2, 2014
    6
    While the story is quite strong and action of the game is different and fun, I could never quite get in to this game due to the slightly repetitive fighting and poor check points.
  3. Aug 21, 2014
    3
    You'll enjoy this only if you like splatter and gross scenes. Not that I dislike both (gross scenes and splatter) but I would like a bit more original product.
    It's very predictable, borige, and SHORT! It looks like a cheap product.
  4. Aug 21, 2014
    10
    Pretty good graphics, fun gunfights, good performance, little to no bugs, decent amount of content - worth buying. I enjoyed this game and recommend to those interested in a story driven first person shooter.
  5. Aug 19, 2014
    8
    Ok, the game itself its quite good. It has an amazing story, especially for a more or less Mafia tale, the characters are all top notch, and all the lines are well preformed. The graphics look pretty good, with some bad textures from time to time, but its all cell shaded, which makes it look a lot like Borderlands. But that would only be if Borderlands was bloody. No joke, there was lessOk, the game itself its quite good. It has an amazing story, especially for a more or less Mafia tale, the characters are all top notch, and all the lines are well preformed. The graphics look pretty good, with some bad textures from time to time, but its all cell shaded, which makes it look a lot like Borderlands. But that would only be if Borderlands was bloody. No joke, there was less gore in saving private Ryan. Limbs get torn off, people get impaled, and its all in this bloody mess. Which is good, by the way. Anyway, the gameplay is very arcade like shoot em up, with your demon arm to help impale people. Even on the lowest difficulty setting, its still a hard game, coming from a seasoned DkS2 vet,and well, ya. The only gripe I have with the gameplay is that ammo is semi-scare in early game, which well, just feels weird in an FPS.
    Overall, if you find the game on a sale, pick up up without hesitation.
    If you dont, well, here comes one of my only gripes. Single Player length. It will last only about 6 hours on Med. I get that its not that big of a deal, but well, for a game with not to much replay value...I mean, it does have a coop mode, but when I picked it up, the coop was dead.
    Expand
  6. Jul 30, 2014
    9
    Funny, interesting, dynamic, brutal FPS. Game standing playing without stopping until it passed. There are different endings.

    pros: -A variety of gameplay (weapons, abilities, pumping, there's a game on the network) -Interesting story -It is cruel -Graphics-cartoon, but cool cons: -Speeding, the most difficult mode, the game held a maximum of 6H -Enemies is stupid -IMHO pile
    Funny, interesting, dynamic, brutal FPS. Game standing playing without stopping until it passed. There are different endings.

    pros:
    -A variety of gameplay (weapons, abilities, pumping, there's a game on the network)
    -Interesting story
    -It is cruel
    -Graphics-cartoon, but cool

    cons:
    -Speeding, the most difficult mode, the game held a maximum of 6H
    -Enemies is stupid
    -IMHO pile management
    Expand
  7. Jul 18, 2014
    7
    Definitely worth your time. It's a great-looking game if you love graphic novels, and they absolutely nailed the painted comic style. As comic-esque games go, only Dishonored and The Wolf Among Us achieved this kind of look successfully (although TWAU emulates an inked style rather than a painted one). The arm movements can seem a little wooden at times, but that's only in sharp contrastDefinitely worth your time. It's a great-looking game if you love graphic novels, and they absolutely nailed the painted comic style. As comic-esque games go, only Dishonored and The Wolf Among Us achieved this kind of look successfully (although TWAU emulates an inked style rather than a painted one). The arm movements can seem a little wooden at times, but that's only in sharp contrast because the animation of microexpressions is so good. While a lot of the NPCs' character springs from the voice acting, the animation is no small part of the overall effect. Environments and clothing are lovingly constructed. While the backstreets and warehouses can feel pretty lacklustre, other locations such as Jackie's mansion are a pleasure to behold.

    The game can feel a little cramped with such a tight field of view. It's hard to ever feel like combat is going really smoothly, and I found it to be a mostly clumsy affair. There's a reward for headshots, in that time slows down for a couple of seconds after a direct hit so you can chain headshot after headshot and remain in slo-mo the whole time.

    I strongly recommend a Xbox-style controller for this game. The whole control system is built around dual-wielded guns via the triggers and Jackie's demonic appendages via the shoulder buttons, and it couldn't feel as good with kb/m.
    Expand
  8. Feb 27, 2014
    8
    A fun, enjoyable shooter. If you`re looking to play an FPS but don`t want CoD/BF experience, you can always play The Darkness II. This game is original, interesting and challenging for the first 12-13 hours. I would summ it up as smoething different, you know, such as Borderlands is for the FPS genre and that is becaouse I give it 8 out of 10.

    GAMEPLAY It is one of the better sides of
    A fun, enjoyable shooter. If you`re looking to play an FPS but don`t want CoD/BF experience, you can always play The Darkness II. This game is original, interesting and challenging for the first 12-13 hours. I would summ it up as smoething different, you know, such as Borderlands is for the FPS genre and that is becaouse I give it 8 out of 10.

    GAMEPLAY
    It is one of the better sides of this title. There are enough guns to keep the shooting interesting and the gunplay itself is fun. Every gun is a little different so the player can customize his inventory to certain situations. In addition, you can dual wield just about any two guns, be it the same type or different.
    You can shoot freehand or you can aim down the sights, both modes are ok. Ofcourse there`s no selecting between burst/singleshot modes but this is nothing that would take away from the gunplay.
    Gun animations such as reloading and arming are also there and well made. No real flaws here.

    AI, as this is mostly a singleplayer game, should be at least ok. IMO it is ok. There are many different types of cannonfodder here, so you have to change weapons and killing ways to make it interesting long enough. The enemies change their positions, take cover and move a lot. If I had any complaints here, it would be that they are too tough, especially in the later parts of the game.

    Here I come to the biggest flaw of this game. The levels are different and interesting, but no longer than after 2,5 hours the game ditches the changes of environment and just throws more and more enemies at you in different combinations. There are lot of scripts where the drones appear from different directions and spots and you can`t tell when this happens. As a result, you often end up encircled by enemies you thought you killed just moments ago. At about half through the singleplayer mode, this tends to get silly with waves and waves of enemies thrown at you, and you are repeatedly outnumbered with little ammo to spare. Even worse, those drones almost everytime come with guys who flash their lights at you, making you blind and ripped off your special powers. That doesn`t make the experience any better and just iritated me, because I very often felt underpowered, had to retreat and hide just not to die. Hardly the experience of an evil guy with mad superpowers.

    Lastly, the "tentacles" of Darkness are very cool, giving great interesting skills, many kill animations. Howegver as said above, the game itself often prevents the player from using them, which is a bad choice.

    The player is given some special abilities like creating a black hole. Most of them are "meh" but I wouldn`t sum it up as needless. They don`t make the game any worse, at times they make it better, so why not.

    STORY
    It is something I`ve never seen before and I liked it a lot. Jackie as the protagonist is very cool. You are the evil one who is making carnage everywhere. Everyone`s afraid of you. At the same time Jenny makes you show your human side whenever she appears. There are some different missions with classic "kill xxx drones and reach the level boss" style and there are some not fighting levels like the asylum where the player mostly talks with othere characters. Switching between the two makes the player really confused as to what is factually going on and that is a very good thing. The story swallowed me whole thanks to this and some of the memorable characters (Jackie`s henchmen).
    I finished the story in 8 hours, I rate it as good overall.

    GRAPHICS
    Playing through the game in 2014, I did not see anything particulary wrong here. The game is pretty, textures are ok. Guns and levels look good, character models are well detailed. Nothing like Far Cry 3 or Crysis but at the same time nothing that would take away from the enjoyment.
    Expand
  9. Feb 16, 2014
    9
    Beautiful graphics, good story and voice acting, interesting characters, fast paced and funny for all its length. Can be kind of short if you just rush through the stages and don't take your time exploring or talking with the other characters, which you should, 'cause it yields to some real gems.
  10. Dec 11, 2013
    3
    OK, why was I so disappointed with this game? Three main points spoiled this game for me. I won't go on about graphics, they're fine. Decent engine, decent artists etc. Game mechanics were fine. The menu system was a little annoying but you get used to that. Music was typically horrible but thankfully you can turn it off unlike some games(yes Halo 4, I'm talking about you) So what didn't IOK, why was I so disappointed with this game? Three main points spoiled this game for me. I won't go on about graphics, they're fine. Decent engine, decent artists etc. Game mechanics were fine. The menu system was a little annoying but you get used to that. Music was typically horrible but thankfully you can turn it off unlike some games(yes Halo 4, I'm talking about you) So what didn't I like? Read on.

    Firstly, cinematics...lots and lots of cinematics. The annoying kind where you can't move and the characters talk seemingly forever when all they have to do is say, 'go out the door and shoot everyone you see.'. You can hardly travel 100 meters without being dragged into some scripted action sequence or some long boring dialogue. Judging by the amount of positive reviews this game receives I assume most people don't mind this. I don't understand. I find it very tedious. Don't get me wrong, I like storylines. I'm happy to sit and watch little cinematics every now and then. I just hate the game being interrupted every 5 minutes just so someone can tell you to walk down some stairs or whatever. OK, finished gripe no.1

    Second gripe; the demon, serpent, tentacle, penis things. I assumed they were something you could bring up to use when you needed them. Nope, they're there the whole time. Fine if you like that sort of thing, IE great big dangly appendages cluttering up the screen, and I understand that some people do like that sort of thing, just not me. Oh, and apart from their basic intrusiveness, they're just silly. A gangster with tentacles, spare me please.

    Thirdly, the sidekick. Again, some people obviously like annoying little halfwit sidekicks running around saying annoying half witted things. I just happen to not. The last half hour of my abortive attempt at playing this game was spent shooting it. The only joy I had in this game was discovering that you can shoot the sidekick, though regrettably he does regenerate.

    So there you have it. I wanted to like this game. I loved Sandman and Hellblazer and other stuff back in the day. I knew it would be silly. It's graphic novel/comic book type horror, of course it's going to be silly. Unfortunately excessive cinematics, non-retractable tentacles and a sidekick modelled on a brain damaged teenage metal head made this game unplayable for me. Sorry Digital Extremes. I tried.
    Expand
  11. Sep 1, 2013
    9
    Great game! Love the style story and characters. I enjoyed the first one but I think they improved on the game play mechanics quite a bit for the sequel. I enjoyed the length of the game I prefer a game following a story as opposed to giant open levels that you forget why your even there is the first place. I enjoyed the power tree and how you can kinda chose the style you want to playGreat game! Love the style story and characters. I enjoyed the first one but I think they improved on the game play mechanics quite a bit for the sequel. I enjoyed the length of the game I prefer a game following a story as opposed to giant open levels that you forget why your even there is the first place. I enjoyed the power tree and how you can kinda chose the style you want to play through. The multiplayer characters have their own smaller skill tree's and add a lil bit more to the game if your looking for a new more missions. I enjoyed the little extra time in the extra missions since you got new powers and weapons. The darkling sidekick is awesome but somewhat repetitive constantly peeing on people, and farting I feel he could have something else thrown in there but he does help you kill people by distracting them or (if you unlock the power you can hurl him on your enemies for a kill Expand
  12. Jul 23, 2013
    8
    the darkness 2 is a great shooter which brings new ideas. the games gameplay is just awesome and unique!!! theres total chaos and its just super fun. the darkness (your powers) are also just awesome. the story is great and interesting, and serves a great motive, but both of the endings are just annoying. the skill trees are also pretty good, and the illusions are great. voice acting isthe darkness 2 is a great shooter which brings new ideas. the games gameplay is just awesome and unique!!! theres total chaos and its just super fun. the darkness (your powers) are also just awesome. the story is great and interesting, and serves a great motive, but both of the endings are just annoying. the skill trees are also pretty good, and the illusions are great. voice acting is also great. the game does have few problems. its a bit buggy, and theres texture pop-in. i also found the artstyle good, but it just doesnt fit the seriousness of the game. the game is also a bit short, clocking in 5.5 hours (theres also co-op but still this is pretty short).
    overall a great game!!!!!! if your looking for story and gameplay you should buy this!!! if your looking for a different kind of shooter you should definetly buy this!!!!!! just beware that the game is short and that the endings are disappointing. buy this its awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Expand
  13. Jul 9, 2013
    8
    this game will screw your mind.

    The whole story(mm... maybe without ending?) is very stable n creative.

    and there is no dissatisfaction for brutal action.
  14. Jun 9, 2013
    10
    A TRULY FUN ATMOSPHERIC GAME OOZING WITH 90's NOSTALGIA AND NYC STYLE. This game carves out its own interesting mythology that is very fascinating with the darkness and the angelus. The atmosphere is engrossing and dark and anyone who experienced the 90's for real will love the what 90's nyc has to offer from dialogue to Jane's addiction playing on the radio in the backround. More so thanA TRULY FUN ATMOSPHERIC GAME OOZING WITH 90's NOSTALGIA AND NYC STYLE. This game carves out its own interesting mythology that is very fascinating with the darkness and the angelus. The atmosphere is engrossing and dark and anyone who experienced the 90's for real will love the what 90's nyc has to offer from dialogue to Jane's addiction playing on the radio in the backround. More so than that this game tells a great story that will have you questioning your (Jackie Estacado)'s sanity more than once. It has great plot twists and leaves room for a sequel (fingers crossed) though i doubt it as it under sold due to people playing truly unique story driven shooters instead like Call of Doody (because the difference from modern warfare2 to modernwarfare 3 is so immense that admittedly they use the same exact game engine year to year hence the graphics neeever improving, where as look at how beautifully battlefield's graphics improve,frostbite1-gorgeous frostbite2 )so anyway back to FPS's that are actually fun, the Darkness 2 has the most fun and unique combat i have ever played in a FPS more so than bioshock. To what turns out to be a kind of quad wielding with regular satisfying dual wielding guns and two beautifully hideous snake like demon arms with demon heads on them growing out of your back in the dark (which is most of the game). The demon arms can flatout destroy and they steal the show with a multitude of capabilities from slashing a man in two to lacerating to eating a man's head to pick up objects like barrels and men and throwing them to grabbing car doors and using them as a shield they are simply amazing. They have a variety of finishing moves and they can even be used to throw your monkey like(even though he calls you monkey) demon pet at enemies and watch him rip them apart. Granted it is linear and it is rather short, it should be played on hard otherwise it is too easy. Jackie has multiple skill trees as well with unique upgradable powers and new abilities. The short single player campaign is more than tolerable considering there is a plethora of story advancing play to be had after the regular campaign. They have a vendetta campaign with 4 other playable characters which you can play alone or in coop. Either way it is very enjoyable playing and advancing other unique darkness empowered characters and further advancing the story. These are fully fleshed out characters with large skill trees, unique weapons, and distinct personalities. This mode extends the main story and is about half the length of the main story but with 4 different characters to try out. If that wasn't enough the game has a hitlist mode where you are placed in large semi levels tasked with ultimately taking out a boss like target after dispatching his henchmen. They have many of these hitlist missions and they can be played with friends as well and as any of the 4 new characters. All together there is MORE than enough content and Vendetta campaign and hitlists are not tacked on they are fully fleshed out and fun. Overall this is a very enjoyable FPS and it deserved more in sales and more from the reviewers i.e. game informer giving it a 7. something this game deserves better and it is Not a seven. I played the 360 version and experience ZERO bugs, stylish cell shaded graphics (after all it is a comic book) (see top cow) and an overall great time. 9.25/10 the Darkness 2 Expand
  15. May 17, 2013
    10
    I love this game You need to play this game on PC it has beutiful graphichs i love the cxontrols and gameplay And the Darkness is cool BUY IT!
  16. Apr 3, 2013
    7
    Still a pretty good game afterall, even if it was released in 2011. A good shooter, nice graphics. But lack of support makes me think that the series should be discontinued soon..
    Came together with a retail pre-order of BioShock Infinite. Without the DLC makes me feel sad for the game in overall. It could really have been better. All thanks to 2K.
    The ending was really bad and not to my
    Still a pretty good game afterall, even if it was released in 2011. A good shooter, nice graphics. But lack of support makes me think that the series should be discontinued soon..
    Came together with a retail pre-order of BioShock Infinite. Without the DLC makes me feel sad for the game in overall. It could really have been better. All thanks to 2K.
    The ending was really bad and not to my liking, instead some of the characters shouldn't have died in the plot.
    If the next sequel would to come out, it would definitely be on my list.
    Expand
  17. Mar 19, 2013
    8
    The Story is really something special. At first, you think its just shooter with blood and guts but then later you get some interesting backstory and twists. You really start to get why 'Jackie' is so twisted. Side characters were also very important to your progression into the story. It can be a bit confusing for people that never played the first Darkness game however. Graphics areThe Story is really something special. At first, you think its just shooter with blood and guts but then later you get some interesting backstory and twists. You really start to get why 'Jackie' is so twisted. Side characters were also very important to your progression into the story. It can be a bit confusing for people that never played the first Darkness game however. Graphics are great, with excellent lighting and shadows. Gameplay is fast paced and feels like an arcade shooter. You get 'Essence' points for pulling off awesome kills using weapons, environment, and skills. And you get to unlock new and more deadly skills with more Essence. Overall, a great game with enjoyable shooting but more enjoyable because of it's intricate story. Game is similar to that of 'Bulletstorm' in the gameplay and art style. Expand
  18. Feb 23, 2013
    9
    This game has one of the best gameplays I've ever saw.
    I enjoyed so much as I played it. Not even sure why. I've found it one of the most enjoyable games I've tried.
    Also loved the story and characters very much, and the Darkness/Angelus story. I never got to play the first one, as I just like PC far more than consoles, but this game held amazingly on it's own. I definitely think it
    This game has one of the best gameplays I've ever saw.
    I enjoyed so much as I played it. Not even sure why. I've found it one of the most enjoyable games I've tried.
    Also loved the story and characters very much, and the Darkness/Angelus story.
    I never got to play the first one, as I just like PC far more than consoles, but this game held amazingly on it's own.
    I definitely think it deserves a 10, but there was just one thing that prevented me from granting it that score The length.
    It was so darn short.
    I enjoyed it so much, but why was it so short???
    Anyway, BUY IT.
    Expand
  19. Feb 22, 2013
    10
    I think the game was great. The atmosphere in the game is saved and shocking. The game is interesting, but something is not enough. Good game but I wanted to hear the music better.
  20. Feb 13, 2013
    8
    The Darkness II is a FPS very funny, with innovative gameplay and a great story. The introduction of the two demonic arms is a very interesting innovation, which gives the player a very wide set of actions available during the battles that range from pure shooting, slashing, magic. The AI ​​is quite advanced. Anyway, is the story the strong point of this game: a story very well written andThe Darkness II is a FPS very funny, with innovative gameplay and a great story. The introduction of the two demonic arms is a very interesting innovation, which gives the player a very wide set of actions available during the battles that range from pure shooting, slashing, magic. The AI ​​is quite advanced. Anyway, is the story the strong point of this game: a story very well written and well-acted, exciting, catching up the player's attention.
    The length of the main story is around 8-10 hours, but there is a chance to play the side-missions, in single player or multiplayer, can using 4 new characters with special abilities.
    Expand
  21. Jan 28, 2013
    4
    Not a bad game in it's own right ; but as a sequel it suffers.
    This offering fails to build on what made the previous game great by trading away the grit and immersion in favor of a flashy but clunky combat mechanics and pushing a UI in your face. The story isn't too intelligent either as most people can pretty much call the "twists" from the get go. If you're reading this and
    Not a bad game in it's own right ; but as a sequel it suffers.
    This offering fails to build on what made the previous game great by trading away the grit and immersion in favor of a flashy but clunky combat mechanics and pushing a UI in your face. The story isn't too intelligent either as most people can pretty much call the "twists" from the get go. If you're reading this and considering buying this I'd urge you to spend your money on the much better prequel.
    Expand
  22. Jan 11, 2013
    6
    One of the shortest AAA games I have ever played. The animations and effects (especially blood spatter) are extremely poor and the cartoon style graphics just look bad. Fortunately the voice acting is actually quite well done but other sounds are pretty bad. Yet, despite all these shortcomings, it was still kinda fun to take out your enemies in insanely gruesome ways. I did enjoy it someOne of the shortest AAA games I have ever played. The animations and effects (especially blood spatter) are extremely poor and the cartoon style graphics just look bad. Fortunately the voice acting is actually quite well done but other sounds are pretty bad. Yet, despite all these shortcomings, it was still kinda fun to take out your enemies in insanely gruesome ways. I did enjoy it some of the time, but yes it is repetitive. Expand
  23. Dec 8, 2012
    10
    Very nice game, fun to play, very interactive and a very nice scenario. I got glued from the moment I started playing until I finished it. And even then, I restarted it because you can keep your player and continue to advance your darkness powers and play more challenging game difficulties. Also, some great additions like the challenge mode where you can use different characters, weaponsVery nice game, fun to play, very interactive and a very nice scenario. I got glued from the moment I started playing until I finished it. And even then, I restarted it because you can keep your player and continue to advance your darkness powers and play more challenging game difficulties. Also, some great additions like the challenge mode where you can use different characters, weapons and powers. Expand
  24. Nov 6, 2012
    7
    An interesting idea for a game. Tanks For That really bloody, so many players will feel joy, to do so in a way, addictive gameplay, and a great atmosphere. What do you expect more? I wish 2K had not used until the end of the title, the graphics really hurts sometimes, after a long time the game starts to get bored, this is the coop, just a pity that it is so hard to play with someone andAn interesting idea for a game. Tanks For That really bloody, so many players will feel joy, to do so in a way, addictive gameplay, and a great atmosphere. What do you expect more? I wish 2K had not used until the end of the title, the graphics really hurts sometimes, after a long time the game starts to get bored, this is the coop, just a pity that it is so hard to play with someone and he also gets bored after a long time. The game is still really fun, and you may like it. My Rating - 7.5 / 10 Expand
  25. Oct 29, 2012
    9
    I have to admit I am honestly and totally suprised by this game. For the longest time I couldn't buy it for 2 reasons...the first being money..and the second I had to wait for it to go on sale again. And after playing it and beating I have to say, this game is effin awesome.
    I know nothing about the Darkness universe. But, something about the story of the game. I will just say this
    I have to admit I am honestly and totally suprised by this game. For the longest time I couldn't buy it for 2 reasons...the first being money..and the second I had to wait for it to go on sale again. And after playing it and beating I have to say, this game is effin awesome.
    I know nothing about the Darkness universe. But, something about the story of the game. I will just say this much about it without spoiling anything. If you have ever truly ever loved a woman before, you will definitely be to relate to it. So let's get to the review shall we-
    Story-I thought the story was awesome. Graphics-Amazing. while I must admit there was some slight issues with screen tearing and vertical sync. Other wise then that it was amazing and It was only on medium. It was kinda Borderlands esque textures if you catch my drift. Awesome
    Voice acting-Awesome.
    Game play-Awesome. The controls do take some getting used to. I used a 360 controller mind you and i just had to get the hang of using both the guns and the powers.
    I can't really think of compaints other then the vsync issue and I can't be sure if that was the game or if that was my system. I will be fair and give this game a 9.0 Definitely get it. Is it worth 50 bucks? I got it when it was on sale so, try and get it on sale and if you can't then if you can afford the 50 bucks go for that baby. Good luck and good gaming
    Collapse
  26. Sep 9, 2012
    10
    I absolutely loved the first Darkness, developed by Starbreeze. The Darkness 2 absolutely matches the amazingness of the first game. The Darkness 2 is an absolutely phenomenal game in every way. The only nitpick I have is that its a bit short(I beat it in 6.8 hours), but my god it was so good I don't even care. BUY THIS GAME! 10/10!
  27. Sep 4, 2012
    6
    Pros: Very fun game to play...single player took about 6 hours roughly. Cons: CO OP was over in 2 hours!!!!!!! I bought this game strictly to play co op....thinking I was going to get something to have fun with for at least a few hours...I was sadly mistaken....Whatever you do DO NOT pay full price for this game - wait until its real cheap on Steam or you will be kicking yourself after youPros: Very fun game to play...single player took about 6 hours roughly. Cons: CO OP was over in 2 hours!!!!!!! I bought this game strictly to play co op....thinking I was going to get something to have fun with for at least a few hours...I was sadly mistaken....Whatever you do DO NOT pay full price for this game - wait until its real cheap on Steam or you will be kicking yourself after you see how short it is....this game could have been a AAA title had they put more effort into longer campaign - and the co op almost feels like a demo due to being over so short. Expand
  28. Sep 3, 2012
    10
    This game is awesome :D better to play with friends! Great for anyone who loves fps games with a twist. I think this games score was rated to low at least an 8.5 would be good. The only thing I can say was that the game was too short
  29. Sep 2, 2012
    8
    I managed to pick this game up on one of Steams weekend sales, admittedly for only $12.49 (I would have easily paid full price). Having played the first, being compelled to play the sequel was an inevitably easy choice... one that did not disappoint. The cell shading and artistic direction in the graphic department was a stroke of genius, you didn't just feel like you were reading theI managed to pick this game up on one of Steams weekend sales, admittedly for only $12.49 (I would have easily paid full price). Having played the first, being compelled to play the sequel was an inevitably easy choice... one that did not disappoint. The cell shading and artistic direction in the graphic department was a stroke of genius, you didn't just feel like you were reading the comic but a part of it. The story was extremely enjoyable but I must admit it was much too short and left you only wanting more. The game-play came very easy after a couple minutes and seamed to flow (even though you managed to pick of weapons you didn't want). The only real drawbacks to this game is the length (6 hours, and that's with exploring), the game was also much more linear then the first time around. This game is sure to appease the story and/or FPS fans out there (us fans of the comics as well). Expand
  30. Aug 28, 2012
    7
    Pretty great game there are some minor port issues like no graphics options, but it's still one of the best games to be released in the last year. Get it, you won't be disappoint.
  31. Aug 26, 2012
    8
    Good story, cute graphics and good gameplay. That are 3 words to describe Darkness II. Texture quality looks little low which is probably because of console port, but in that GFX style not too important. Most of people complain that game is specially short which is not quite true. Game IS short, bu a lot of games today is, so nothing strange about that.
    But as game is short you should
    Good story, cute graphics and good gameplay. That are 3 words to describe Darkness II. Texture quality looks little low which is probably because of console port, but in that GFX style not too important. Most of people complain that game is specially short which is not quite true. Game IS short, bu a lot of games today is, so nothing strange about that.
    But as game is short you should probably wait for some discount and buy then. Not worth 50 euro.
    Expand
  32. urf
    Jul 19, 2012
    9
    This is one those games that sound ridiculous on paper -- a mafia guy possessed by an ancient evil spirit, a dozen ultra-violent ways to rip your enemies apart by using your demonic eel-appendages, etc -- yet turns out too good to dismiss when you actually play it.

    Apart from sometimes having too much voice acting during the shooting (five guys shouting their over-the-top lines at the
    This is one those games that sound ridiculous on paper -- a mafia guy possessed by an ancient evil spirit, a dozen ultra-violent ways to rip your enemies apart by using your demonic eel-appendages, etc -- yet turns out too good to dismiss when you actually play it.

    Apart from sometimes having too much voice acting during the shooting (five guys shouting their over-the-top lines at the same time, even when they're already dead), there's not much to dislike. It's very pretty, the story is told in a manner that doesn't get too much in the way (and really isn't half as bad as it sounds like), and, what is most important, the action is fast-paced and challenging.

    It's not teh high arts, but it's very convincingly built. I've played a lot of boring, generic shooters. This is definitely one of the fresher first-person games available. Check it out.
    Expand
  33. Jul 18, 2012
    9
    I havent played the first darkness game so I didnt know what to expect but I can honestly say it blew me away. I knew I was going to get mixed up with the story so I was just playing it for what it was, a FPS. The game comes with a "Previously on" bit at the start so it fills you in with all the mumbo jumbo of the other game which was VERY useful (I wish most other games thought of this).I havent played the first darkness game so I didnt know what to expect but I can honestly say it blew me away. I knew I was going to get mixed up with the story so I was just playing it for what it was, a FPS. The game comes with a "Previously on" bit at the start so it fills you in with all the mumbo jumbo of the other game which was VERY useful (I wish most other games thought of this). I lept straight in and loved it from the very start. The gameplay was amazing, story was fantastic and I feel I really made an emotional connection with the character and his situation. There were lots of twists and turns in this game which kept you enticed playing it will make you not want to put it down (I bought it and didnt come off it untill I finished it, about 6 hours of play time :S). But was totally worth it. It wasnt too short and I didnt feel like any parts dragged or any parts were too hurried. The little choices in the game were interesting especially towards the end of the game (but I wont spoil it). I thought the animations were spot on and the whole tentacle thing while using guns worked very well with the control scheme (you just have to get used to multitasking a wee bit). But I would recommend this game to anyone who loves a good story or even just to kick the sh*t out of some bad guys. Honestly dont know how this only has critic rating of 7.7 because Im rating it a 9. Expand
  34. Jul 17, 2012
    10
    Very good game! The story is great and the storytelling is even better! I simply love the concept of the Darkness! It reminds me somehow of Darksiders (another great game).

    All of the mind shifts that your character is going through makes you wander what's real and whats not (in the world of the game ofc.)

    The game itself is for me mix of Max Payne and Darksiders! I highly recommend!
  35. BoG
    Jul 17, 2012
    9
    Pure and streamlined fun. If you're like me and can sometimes have a short attention span for games, The Darkness II is absolutely perfect in pitch and pace. The story, though not airtight, is extremely compelling and gameplay is smooth and fast paced. I think I beat it on the hardest difficulty available in about seven hours. Real good time and worth the ten bucks I paid for it.
  36. Jul 16, 2012
    9
    This game is one of the best ive played for a FPS in a long time. The graphics have a comical style to it, the voice acting is good, gameplay is phenomenal, the weapons have a real feel to them, and the demons...well thats what makes it all, such a unique idea (i never played the first). I got this game off steam on the summer sale for 75% off so it only costed $12.49 and man was it worthThis game is one of the best ive played for a FPS in a long time. The graphics have a comical style to it, the voice acting is good, gameplay is phenomenal, the weapons have a real feel to them, and the demons...well thats what makes it all, such a unique idea (i never played the first). I got this game off steam on the summer sale for 75% off so it only costed $12.49 and man was it worth it. The only reason this game loses a point is because its to short, to short for 13 bucks? no. To short to pay $50 yes, and so i feel the other users reviews on this issue. If you can find this game on a sale or similar sale as Steam did then youd be stupid not to buy this. Great game :) i love it. Expand
  37. Jul 9, 2012
    8
    A bit underrated game. The story is nice: atmosphere+graphic style helps a lot. Game includes short review of what happened in the previous game, which is good for those who haven't played it. Campaign is relatively short (around 5 hours) but you can play Vendetta mod (focuses on other characters during the campaign and adds more to the story). In overall it took me 19 hours (oneA bit underrated game. The story is nice: atmosphere+graphic style helps a lot. Game includes short review of what happened in the previous game, which is good for those who haven't played it. Campaign is relatively short (around 5 hours) but you can play Vendetta mod (focuses on other characters during the campaign and adds more to the story). In overall it took me 19 hours (one playtrough on Hard, second on Don-Very Hard, third partial playtrough for finishing achievements + Vendetta campaign). I bought the game on Amazon for 12.5USD and it was well worth it. If you like FPS with interesting story, great atmosphere, comics graphic and with a lot of blood, Darkness II is way to go. Expand
  38. May 12, 2012
    8
    Darkness II is bad ass! I never played the first one so I didn't really know what to expect. It's complete evil--torture, mutilation, humiliation, and death. The campaign is depressingly short, even though the action is tight and the story is a complete trip. That's the trend nowadays--charge more...provide less.

    The graphics are slightly cartoonish which I'm pretty sure was the effect
    Darkness II is bad ass! I never played the first one so I didn't really know what to expect. It's complete evil--torture, mutilation, humiliation, and death. The campaign is depressingly short, even though the action is tight and the story is a complete trip. That's the trend nowadays--charge more...provide less.

    The graphics are slightly cartoonish which I'm pretty sure was the effect they were going for since the game is based on a comic book. Voice acting is well done. There is a separate 4-player coop campaign element which is pretty fun, but I haven't fully experienced it yet due to a lack of players. All-in-all it's a pretty amazing game, but the short campaign didn't allow me to unlock all the special abilities in a single play through. Not that I won't enjoy playing it again!
    Expand
  39. Mar 30, 2012
    6
    I loved The Darkness for Xbox. Amazing game. In this sequel, the story is preserved, the pacing is great, the graphics are fun, the game play is fun. The whole concept of quad-wielding I laughed at initially, but it was put into play amazingly well. The story progressed well enough, if not being a little short. The characters were reasonable, but a little flat compared to the last game. II loved The Darkness for Xbox. Amazing game. In this sequel, the story is preserved, the pacing is great, the graphics are fun, the game play is fun. The whole concept of quad-wielding I laughed at initially, but it was put into play amazingly well. The story progressed well enough, if not being a little short. The characters were reasonable, but a little flat compared to the last game. I really just had fun with the engine and cutting people in two with my tentacle slash. The ending is an obvious tie-in for a sequel, though, rather than tying up the game nicely. Story could've used some depth. Expand
  40. Mar 25, 2012
    9
    Great FPS, one of the best in this last time. Very good story, executions, weapons. A game very correct. Leaves the line of the classic "shooter" by adding a personal touch that stands out from the rest. VERY VERY recommended.

    (translated by google)
  41. Mar 22, 2012
    2
    Graphics aside (horrible models as for a previous generation game while the textures... even the gamecube has seen better), i like the general atmosphere but that's all the game has. The gameplay's extremely fun in the first half hour then it's just plain repetitive, you do the same thing, and even the levels seem identical (there are about 2 enemy models recycled again and again, andGraphics aside (horrible models as for a previous generation game while the textures... even the gamecube has seen better), i like the general atmosphere but that's all the game has. The gameplay's extremely fun in the first half hour then it's just plain repetitive, you do the same thing, and even the levels seem identical (there are about 2 enemy models recycled again and again, and their interaction patterns are extremely predictable). It lacks the least degree variation (in level design and battles) provided by what's called (for a good reason) a blockbuster.

    The story's very diluted for a game whose gameplay isn't that engaging, sadly i rarely give up on a game without finishing it but after 4 hours i was plagued with boredom (the story up until that point could have been summed up in a few lines) and i'd rather spend the rest of the time i had left to finish it playing a point and click adventure. The Darkness and Witchblade have great potential and if they'd reimagine the gameplay the next Darkness could be great but i haven't seen much progress since the first one.

    I felt as if Dead Space's story had more consistence and let's be honest, you could sum up Dark Space 1 and 2 in a 20 minutes animation, and still capture the whole "depth" of the characters and lore (at least the gameplay's engaging in Dead Space and you don't feel the lack of story).
    Expand
  42. Mar 21, 2012
    8
    I really like this game a lot. From the visual graphic novel style graphics to the gun and tentacle toting game-play to the stereotyped mob characters to the much better than average voice acting this game has provided me with hours of entertainment. The game isn't perfect but it's a hell of a lot of fun. The story is just deep enough to keep you interested, the characters are just deepI really like this game a lot. From the visual graphic novel style graphics to the gun and tentacle toting game-play to the stereotyped mob characters to the much better than average voice acting this game has provided me with hours of entertainment. The game isn't perfect but it's a hell of a lot of fun. The story is just deep enough to keep you interested, the characters are just deep enough for you to actually like them, the environments are nicely varied but the game play is it's strong point with it's unique "quad wielding" combat. All in all everything adds up to a game that I will definitely play more than once. Expand
  43. Mar 16, 2012
    5
    It's a common gameplay that got me bored in the Demo, since it's predictable. Sounds like a good story, but like a lot of games (Deus EX, Assassin's Creed), it's just a repetition of the basics you learn in the beginning. When you learn the fastest way to earn most points, you will always do it.
  44. Mar 14, 2012
    9
    I am not a big fan of games adapted from comics, but I really loved playing this game. The action makes fun, even if the game is really brutal. I enjoyed the large variety of levels, the graphics, the sound and the style which suite the game. This is nice and fresh compared to many other games. I think the only thing is disliked is the really small FOV.
  45. Mar 6, 2012
    8
    From Russia with love (Google Translate sry)
    The Darkness II, first it got me interested enough, and should priznatsya I do not even dare to buy it for the reason that I am not a fan of horror movies, and games like it. But later I saw some gameplay videos, and decided to play on their "own" risk. The game I was pleasantly surprised, it turns out, I do not have pryatatsya from monsters,
    From Russia with love (Google Translate sry)
    The Darkness II, first it got me interested enough, and should priznatsya I do not even dare to buy it for the reason that I am not a fan of horror movies, and games like it. But later I saw some gameplay videos, and decided to play on their "own" risk. The game I was pleasantly surprised, it turns out, I do not have pryatatsya from monsters, but rather to frighten people out of the darkness, I even felt a little funny. Despite some moments, such as graphics, that I was cutting the eyes, I liked the game in general. The plot is quite interesting, and despite all tuzhu schedule, and in the picture was a pleasant surprise as a whole ... umm narisovannasti, cartoon chtoli. Yes there are some clichés of the plot, but in general it's not bad, especially this latest note paid in the entire history of this crazy hospital. Frustration has brought me, is that some points on the levels when I was getting a bit boring, So the ending (right) made it clear that we wait for the third part, and I think this project should not begin to make out of a series. Collecting all the pros and cons, I put this game 8 points, though with more stretch 7.5. But my decision is completely thought out, in general, it is a good game, and I recommend it to friends, and all the players in Russia and vrintsipe world. This concludes my Review) From Russia with Love)
    Expand
  46. Mar 3, 2012
    8
    Darkness 2 is a good game, but it has some flaws.
    Firstly, the graphics are good but, sometimes the "light effect" can ruin it. It simply is there to distract you.
    Secondly, the little minion or whatever was it's name is BRITISH. Why would you ever make a dark ugly monster british. It ruins the feel a bit. Thirdly, there is no replay ability, well maybe the multiplayer, but the story
    Darkness 2 is a good game, but it has some flaws.
    Firstly, the graphics are good but, sometimes the "light effect" can ruin it. It simply is there to distract you.
    Secondly, the little minion or whatever was it's name is BRITISH. Why would you ever make a dark ugly monster british. It ruins the feel a bit.
    Thirdly, there is no replay ability, well maybe the multiplayer, but the story hasn't got it.
    Also the boss fights were too easy.
    About the multiplayer, you really aren't going to stick around long with it cause it hasn't much to offer.
    Now on the other hand, the game is brutally awesome.
    The death scenes are original and gory.
    Story has some original ideas and I loved the voice acting.
    Controls are perfect and the gunplay is fast and brutal.
    Music just fits in there and the sound effects are pretty good too.
    So if you are looking something original, not some typical Call of Duty or Battlefield, this game is just made for you then.
    Beware, if you hate gore, skip this title
    Expand
  47. Feb 27, 2012
    8
    I really enjoyed this game. It had a wonderful back and forth story that makes the player unsure of their own sanity, all the characters are believable and interesting to talk to, and having two demon eel heads (Or something) on either shoulder have an interesting and useful effect on game play. My only beef with this game is the very campaign (A little under 5 hours) and theI really enjoyed this game. It had a wonderful back and forth story that makes the player unsure of their own sanity, all the characters are believable and interesting to talk to, and having two demon eel heads (Or something) on either shoulder have an interesting and useful effect on game play. My only beef with this game is the very campaign (A little under 5 hours) and the disappointing (But surprising) ending. If you want to actually get your 50 dollars worth from this game, bring friends and play through the coop missions (Because they really are worth it). Expand
  48. Feb 25, 2012
    8
    Great sequel to one of of my favorite games of all time. The story is bar none of the best i have seen this year in any medium and i love the stylised graphics. Voicework was great and even the darkling becomes likeable. The only problem for me was it's length. Why did they tack on a vendetta mode instead of fleshing out the story another 4-5 hours?? Doesn't make sense. That aside it wasGreat sequel to one of of my favorite games of all time. The story is bar none of the best i have seen this year in any medium and i love the stylised graphics. Voicework was great and even the darkling becomes likeable. The only problem for me was it's length. Why did they tack on a vendetta mode instead of fleshing out the story another 4-5 hours?? Doesn't make sense. That aside it was one of the best games this year. Expand
  49. Feb 23, 2012
    7
    An overall upgrade to the 5 year old franchise, the darkness 2 provides a fun fps experience albeit the rather short playing time.

    The core and best part of the game involve using your darkness abilities to decimate your enemies. From picking up objects and tossing them at your foes to performing executions, every battle is up for grabs. Sure you can just gun your way through the game but
    An overall upgrade to the 5 year old franchise, the darkness 2 provides a fun fps experience albeit the rather short playing time.

    The core and best part of the game involve using your darkness abilities to decimate your enemies. From picking up objects and tossing them at your foes to performing executions, every battle is up for grabs. Sure you can just gun your way through the game but what would be the fun in that? Upgrading your powers with experience will want you to get the most from your kills, as the more unique the kill the more you get.

    The story is not as good as the first, leaving you with a rather cliffhanger ending that pretty much needs either DLC or a Darkness 3 (hopefully in less that 5 years).

    Some stumbling blocks that the Darkness 2 encounters are the lack of variety in enemies and length, you could easily finish the game in less that 5 hours. The odd use of cell-shaded graphics leaves a mixed bag, it is not overly "cartooned" but some scenes seem less brutal using this.

    The co-op is a fresh step, get a group of friends and the experience in the side campaign is a blast though on the short side.

    If you are looking for a fresh unique fps then this should get you your fill but don't expect fireworks. Can't say I would recommend this game at full price though because of the length.
    Expand
  50. Feb 23, 2012
    10
    I wasn't so keen on the first first Darkness game. it was buggy, the controls where abit rubbish and some of the missions were poorly designed and trying to navigate could sometimes be a problem. The only thing it really had going for it was the story and the gameplay length. The Darkness 2 i can happily was rather good. Graphics are something out of a comic book which really complementsI wasn't so keen on the first first Darkness game. it was buggy, the controls where abit rubbish and some of the missions were poorly designed and trying to navigate could sometimes be a problem. The only thing it really had going for it was the story and the gameplay length. The Darkness 2 i can happily was rather good. Graphics are something out of a comic book which really complements the comic book series of the franchise. The controls are much more likeable. The special kills are really gorey and look amazing. The voice acting is very well done, the story is nicely thought out and the storys behind each of the Darkness relics is also very interesting. The game also has two different endings, one end right away and the other keep you playing for anouther 5 minutes or so to see the true and amazing ending. The only thing that this game does not share with TD1 is that the game feel a couple hours too short. The game also has multiplayer which is a nice co-op experience. The players have to do jobs for Jackie when he is unavalible. Each of the players has a weapon has a weapon that is infused with Darkness energy. The co-op is fun and will keep you busy for a extra couple of hours. It does however feel unnecessary to be intergrated to the storyline as it really isnt needed and you never see the characters in the singleplayer game.I know im only nit-picking but i would have liked it to be alittle more linked to the singleplayer experience than it currantly is. hopefully some free DLC will come out to put more interesting content in. Other than that, this game is a very fun experience and is worth buying. Expand
  51. Feb 22, 2012
    9
    First the bad. The oft-cited spyglass effect is horrendous here. The field of view is set for console/TV use and not for a PC monitor. Consequently it strains the eyes horribly after a few minutes of play. However, I fixed this by using a little program called Widescreen Fixer. Secondly it is short, but perhaps not as short as some are suggesting. Took me about 9 hours to complete withFirst the bad. The oft-cited spyglass effect is horrendous here. The field of view is set for console/TV use and not for a PC monitor. Consequently it strains the eyes horribly after a few minutes of play. However, I fixed this by using a little program called Widescreen Fixer. Secondly it is short, but perhaps not as short as some are suggesting. Took me about 9 hours to complete with difficulty elevated one notch. And you will want to elevate the difficulty a little or it's far too easy. The last thing is the gore. No, I'm not being a wuss here, I actually think the gore has been toned-down post production - it seems as if key frames involving throats/hearts being ripped out have been removed to avoid the censor. If this is indeed the case, it should be a toggle option for gore-lovers like myself.

    Now the good. I've given this game 9, because aside from the above issues it's one of the best games I've played in the last few years. And that's coming from someone who *hates* run-of-the-mill FPS games. It has exceptional characterisation, atmosphere and storyline; I actually got a lump in my throat a little at the end *cough*. The graphical style mentioned by a few here is "Scanner Darkly" cartoon style, and it works very well. The weapons and fights are satisfying, and while many of the environments are "yeah yeah seen this before", the unique style of the game makes them feel new.

    In a nutshell, think Max Payne, Bioshock and the original F.E.A.R combined. If you're thinking of getting it, wait until there's confirmation of the supposedly-soon-to-arrive field of view patch, unless you want to puke from eyestrain while playing it. If the patch does arrive - get this game - it's so awesome you won't care about the other flaws.
    Expand
  52. Feb 21, 2012
    9
    Good although (intentionally) super-corny narrative, extreme violence and a heavily stylized comic graphics. The Darkness II is the sort of game you either love or hate, and luckily they released a demo, so you can simply try it out. The "quad-wielding" mechanic (both your hands can fire weapons and you have two satanic-esque tentacles that can pick up and throw stuff and rip people inGood although (intentionally) super-corny narrative, extreme violence and a heavily stylized comic graphics. The Darkness II is the sort of game you either love or hate, and luckily they released a demo, so you can simply try it out. The "quad-wielding" mechanic (both your hands can fire weapons and you have two satanic-esque tentacles that can pick up and throw stuff and rip people in two) keeps the playing fresh from start to finish. Granted, it only lasts six hours, but all of that is quality time, and you'll be having so much fun you'll start replaying right away (I know I did!). Expand
  53. Feb 20, 2012
    8
    Everything about this game is said in previous reviews. Unique story, great gameplay, decent graphics.. You will really feel connected with Jackie Estacado and all what he does. The plot is well written and executed. It's not so common in shooters anymore. I'll honestly say - The Darkness 2 is one of the most enjoyable FPS i played the last year. It makes You feel powerful, it's bloody asEverything about this game is said in previous reviews. Unique story, great gameplay, decent graphics.. You will really feel connected with Jackie Estacado and all what he does. The plot is well written and executed. It's not so common in shooters anymore. I'll honestly say - The Darkness 2 is one of the most enjoyable FPS i played the last year. It makes You feel powerful, it's bloody as hell, dual-wielding kicks major ass and darkling is pretty funny. Enough of this chaotic mumble, i've got only one serious issue about this game. It's really, really TOO SHORT. I've finished the game on Thug difficulty (guess it's "normal"), then I played it again on the highest difficulty (New Game+ feauture). After that, Vendettas Co-op campaign, Vendettas Hit-list missions... There's 15 h of gameplay on my clock and 50/50 achievements done. So... Nothing else to do. Keep in mind, not everyone will play the whole game two times or finish co-op mode... So, for the of the people, gameplay time will be shorter. Still, great game, 8 points well earned. Expand
  54. Feb 18, 2012
    6
    A game that has its moments, love the art style and graphics in the game and the story is for the most part quite good and is very well narrated. The love story is convincing and i actually did feel part of the pain he must have been going thru. But the irritating weapons system, where it was way to easy to accidentally pic up and replace new weapons combined with the last few chapters ofA game that has its moments, love the art style and graphics in the game and the story is for the most part quite good and is very well narrated. The love story is convincing and i actually did feel part of the pain he must have been going thru. But the irritating weapons system, where it was way to easy to accidentally pic up and replace new weapons combined with the last few chapters of the game where the story telling took a huge downturn makes this game subpar. Its like the first "The Crow" movie just with tentacles and without a good and satisfying ending. Expand
  55. Feb 16, 2012
    9
    This game is awesome, let me get that out of the way. But, as all games do, it struggles in a few areas. The gameplay is awesome. While this game is a first person shooter, it adds some very cool twists to the gameplay. Controlling darkness powers is very fun, addicting, and very gory. The story is also one of the strong points of the game. The connection you get with the characters isThis game is awesome, let me get that out of the way. But, as all games do, it struggles in a few areas. The gameplay is awesome. While this game is a first person shooter, it adds some very cool twists to the gameplay. Controlling darkness powers is very fun, addicting, and very gory. The story is also one of the strong points of the game. The connection you get with the characters is great, and voice acting is exceptional. However, the ending (no spoilers) leaves a bit to be desired. Perhaps they want to leave room for a sequel? Audio is very well done, the darkness is well voiced and music is dark and moody as it should be. Now for the cons. This game is short. VERY short. It took me hours on regular, and I really take my time playing through games. However, coop is fun, and adds for some extra play time, either alone or with friends. There are some glitches. Bodies stuck in walls, things like that, but nothing game breaking at all. Overall this is an awesome game that shouldn't be missed, and I greatly look forward to a sequel! Expand
  56. Feb 16, 2012
    7
    This is a fairly entertaining game with lots of action and pretty good graphics. The story, even though violent and gloomy, was somewhat unique. The cut scenes, however, were too frequent and occasionally annoying. Overall, Darkness II wasn't quite as good as the other games recently released at this price level. I suggest waiting until the price drops a bit before buying this game.
  57. Feb 15, 2012
    9
    The game actually manages to stand out among so many shooters, offering a differentiated and a plot engaging gameplay. The great dialogues and the story well told keeps you stuck to the narrative, while the combat moments allow you to use your creativity to defeat the enemies in several different ways. The reduction in the number of interactions in the dialogues and the absence of openThe game actually manages to stand out among so many shooters, offering a differentiated and a plot engaging gameplay. The great dialogues and the story well told keeps you stuck to the narrative, while the combat moments allow you to use your creativity to defeat the enemies in several different ways. The reduction in the number of interactions in the dialogues and the absence of open world took much of the freedom and made the experience much more linear. Still, the increase of puzzles and greater interactivity have counterbalancing this satisfactorily. The Darkness 2 cannot escape totally from the FPS genre and you end up using their pistols and submachine guns most of the time, but this overshadows the good gameplay and the memorable plot told by host of darkness. Expand
  58. Feb 15, 2012
    8
    The graphics are alot of fun to look at a tad cartoony but not to much that it is a bad thing. There is alot of gore that fuells all the gore people. Does not matter if you like to shoot stuff up or like to rip them open and they their guts out of their bodies. It is alot of fun, the only thing is that it sometimes is quiet hard to use your tentacles, other than that part it is a great game.
  59. Feb 14, 2012
    8
    This game isn´t bad fps game but there is only few graphical settings .i can´t play this game because i hate motion blur. motion blur looks wrong for my computer and i have to wait something update or throw it only rubbish bin.anyway i am played some hours and looks good :)
  60. Feb 13, 2012
    7
    The darkness 2 is about as good as the darkness 1. Which is to say the darkness 2 is fantastic. While on the pc, the controls get a bit cluttered and it's pc-feature light. The core game is great. From some interesting storytelling, to frantic and diverse action - the game is a delight to play. It's painfully short however. Running about 5 hours or slightly less. Visually it's better andThe darkness 2 is about as good as the darkness 1. Which is to say the darkness 2 is fantastic. While on the pc, the controls get a bit cluttered and it's pc-feature light. The core game is great. From some interesting storytelling, to frantic and diverse action - the game is a delight to play. It's painfully short however. Running about 5 hours or slightly less. Visually it's better and worse than the original, the comic book look suits it better - however you lose some of the grit and bleakness as a result. If this was about twice the length with the same pacing - it would be a 9/10. As it stands. 7/10. HIGHLY Reccomended on a sale. Expand
  61. Feb 13, 2012
    9
    So I bought The Darkness 2 and clocked it in around 3-4 hours and here's what I thought:

    Gameplay: Controlling the Darkness feels great, pulling of the executions is easy and heavenly to watch, easy upgrade descriptions and a lovable weapon system that allows you to fire your double wielded weapons and unleash the Darkness at the same time for a bloody masterpiece I also adore the
    So I bought The Darkness 2 and clocked it in around 3-4 hours and here's what I thought:

    Gameplay:
    Controlling the Darkness feels great, pulling of the executions is easy and heavenly to watch, easy upgrade descriptions and a lovable weapon system that allows you to fire your double wielded weapons and unleash the Darkness at the same time for a bloody masterpiece I also adore the ability to choose some Story options later in the game.

    Graphics:
    I'm not a dumb ass kid who judges a game by graphics but anyway the graphics were rather good Although I dont really care for the comic book like visuals, the animations were well done and the gore will put a smile on any blood thirsty gamer's faces Story:
    One of my favorite kind of Story's I want to see in gaming and is the reason I'm a fan of the Darkness games Trying to fight the Demons inside you, the Demons and gangs trying to kill you while you are trying to save your love from hell. Final Verdict:
    The Darkness 2 is a great First Person Shooter Game and a worthy Sequel, I am still thinking about weather I will keep it or return it for a full refund for use on a future game. However the only downside to The Darkness 2 is that the Campaign is too short for a game this good, I hope the sequel is longer. My Score:

    Gameplay = 9/10
    Graphics = 7.5/10
    Story = 9.5/10
    Total = 9/10

    Also so far The Darkness 2 is my favorite First Person Shooter of 2012
    Expand
  62. Feb 13, 2012
    9
    this game was just about the most fun ive had playing a fps game. beats the hell out of COD beats battlefield 3, and id say is almost my favorite game to date. great story, emotion, gameplay, fun, but doesn't have much of anything else.
    gameplay-9, fun-10, story-9.3, upgradability-..., just play the game the FoV isnt even that bad, it just seems bad, when ur trying to shoot a person ur not
    this game was just about the most fun ive had playing a fps game. beats the hell out of COD beats battlefield 3, and id say is almost my favorite game to date. great story, emotion, gameplay, fun, but doesn't have much of anything else.
    gameplay-9, fun-10, story-9.3, upgradability-..., just play the game the FoV isnt even that bad, it just seems bad, when ur trying to shoot a person ur not looking any further than feet away from him so not sure why people complained
    Expand
  63. Feb 13, 2012
    0
    Story is ok but a bit corny and the gameplay is pretty good, however this game is a terrible buy if you pay full price. It looks positively ancient with textures that would even give Xbox owners cause for complaint. The graphics style is nice and the cutscenes are pretty well scripted but like many designed for console games, the cutscenes are a high point of the game. This is one ofStory is ok but a bit corny and the gameplay is pretty good, however this game is a terrible buy if you pay full price. It looks positively ancient with textures that would even give Xbox owners cause for complaint. The graphics style is nice and the cutscenes are pretty well scripted but like many designed for console games, the cutscenes are a high point of the game. This is one of the shortest games I have ever played and I was trying to string it out a bit. Very disappointing as it had some components of a really good game. The field of view was mindblowing. Like looking through a spyhole the whole time. Made this game almost unplayable on its own.

    If your a developer, make careful note of the people in the development team for this game, and ensure they have absolutely no career path if you want to continue selling product.
    Expand
  64. Feb 13, 2012
    9
    The Darkness II - a great game, which takes place in one breath. But, like any other, it has its drawbacks. On them I will not write, because I consider them minor. I am pleased that the game is short, it has added the desire to play in the next, the third part. I put a solid game nine. Have more to such a dynamic and bloody shooters.
  65. Feb 12, 2012
    9
    It only lasts six hours. However, in those six hours you get more action, more intense combat, and more mindf*cks than any other modern shooter out there. Also if the small FoV seriously ruins a gaming experience for you, I just feel sorry for you. Stop whining. The rest of the game is ported fine.
  66. Feb 12, 2012
    10
    The Darkness II is like a good polished diamond. It has a great story with psycho elements, you can get confused easily. Gameplay is excellent, no complains here. You can tear enemy with your demonic arms, kill them with a gun, throw a bucket or metal strips to them, also later you can get more abilities, like use swarm of insects, use energy instead of bullets or drop vortex that willThe Darkness II is like a good polished diamond. It has a great story with psycho elements, you can get confused easily. Gameplay is excellent, no complains here. You can tear enemy with your demonic arms, kill them with a gun, throw a bucket or metal strips to them, also later you can get more abilities, like use swarm of insects, use energy instead of bullets or drop vortex that will suck all around it. But that's not it, you can grab enemy to perform one of four finishing moves, which will grant you different bonus, like health, ammo, shield or faster restore your abilities. It's a nice bloodbath with good variety of gameplay. But I didn't liked the autoaim function, which works even on hardest difficulty and can't be turned off. It helps you when you use a controller, but otherwise it is a nuisance. Slow motion headshot are pretty damn cool, you get the time to looks around for the next enemy. Sounds are done nicely, not like in other games, where if you stand far from talking person you barely hear him. Also killing squishy sounds are cool and of course you will like the "darkness" voice, I can hear it even now! Through the game a darkling demon will help you in some situations, you can even get control of it in some parts of the game. It's about 5-6 hours of gameplay that won't leave you disappointed, the ending will make you excited. One con I found in this game is that there are too many names starting letter J - Jenny, Johny, Jimmy, Jackie, it's annoying. But anyway a game is worth of your time and money. Expand
  67. Feb 11, 2012
    8
    Okay the one point I have to make before I start: if you dont have alot of money and want to pick a game based on content amount, PICK SOMETHING ELSE. This game takes roughly 6 hours to beat, and I played on a hard difficulty and meandered around exploring often. The price is 1.5 of the 2 points I dint give this game, the content is just so lacking that I cant rate it very high. WhatOkay the one point I have to make before I start: if you dont have alot of money and want to pick a game based on content amount, PICK SOMETHING ELSE. This game takes roughly 6 hours to beat, and I played on a hard difficulty and meandered around exploring often. The price is 1.5 of the 2 points I dint give this game, the content is just so lacking that I cant rate it very high. What content there is, is good however. Also as one negative reviewer mentioned, FOV is a slight problem, but its not noticeable for the majority of the gameplay, just in dialogue scenes. If you have the money and want it, buy it, if your pinching pennies, wait for a sale. Expand
  68. Feb 10, 2012
    7
    This game is one of the most unique games out there that you can find. Yes, It's not only unique for an FPS but unique as a game. The FOV problem that we've heard so much about never bothered me, but it can still be a hindrance for others. Although the game is very solid playing on the PC, It still feels a bit more like a port from a console than a full PC game. The Vendettas Co-OpThis game is one of the most unique games out there that you can find. Yes, It's not only unique for an FPS but unique as a game. The FOV problem that we've heard so much about never bothered me, but it can still be a hindrance for others. Although the game is very solid playing on the PC, It still feels a bit more like a port from a console than a full PC game. The Vendettas Co-Op mode seems like a last minute decision in order to cover the lost for the short main campaign, but it is still is a fun experience. Hopefully, Digital Extreme will make a patch and fix the problems. Expand
  69. Feb 9, 2012
    8
    Very good, solid and intriguing. Never played the first part though. The gameplay is fun, darkness powers are awesome and the gore is very satisfying. It may be a bit short but I saw shorter titles. The story is good and interesting. It has nice little twists and a great, dark atmosphere. I truly recommend this game. Had great time playing it. Fun, fun, fun.

    Plus: GORE, story, mechanics,
    Very good, solid and intriguing. Never played the first part though. The gameplay is fun, darkness powers are awesome and the gore is very satisfying. It may be a bit short but I saw shorter titles. The story is good and interesting. It has nice little twists and a great, dark atmosphere. I truly recommend this game. Had great time playing it. Fun, fun, fun.

    Plus: GORE, story, mechanics, gives you the feeling you control something powerful, FUN
    Minus: a bit short, graphics - however they cover it up nicely with cell shading

    BUY!
    Expand
  70. Feb 8, 2012
    10
    The Darkness II
    Beatiful story, graphics are kinda okay, I liked the previous one more, but it fits to the game.
    It's really bloody which I like and violent, yumee, yumee.
  71. Feb 7, 2012
    9
    I think that this is an amazing sequel. The story is great, the darkling is a funny and entertaining companion, and the noir style graphics are awesome. The co op missions are awesome, they are missions that take place in the single player campaign, ex: Jackie wants someone, in co op you get that some one and bring them to him its awesome because in the campaign Vennie says "I'll talk toI think that this is an amazing sequel. The story is great, the darkling is a funny and entertaining companion, and the noir style graphics are awesome. The co op missions are awesome, they are missions that take place in the single player campaign, ex: Jackie wants someone, in co op you get that some one and bring them to him its awesome because in the campaign Vennie says "I'll talk to the new guys". Making me think "thats awesome". The powers are upgradeable and you will always feel powerful, you can do crazy killmoves and dispatch 10 enemies in maybe around a few seconds depending on how good you are. I recommend this game. Expand
  72. Oct 29, 2012
    0
    I have to admit I am honestly and totally suprised by this game. For the longest time I couldn't buy it for 2 reasons...the first being money..and the second I had to wait for it to go on sale again. And after playing it and beating I have to say, this game is effin awesome.
    I know nothing about the Darkness universe. But, something about the story of the game. I will just say this
    I have to admit I am honestly and totally suprised by this game. For the longest time I couldn't buy it for 2 reasons...the first being money..and the second I had to wait for it to go on sale again. And after playing it and beating I have to say, this game is effin awesome.
    I know nothing about the Darkness universe. But, something about the story of the game. I will just say this much about it without spoiling anything. If you have ever truly ever loved a woman before, you will definitely be to relate to it. So let's get to the review shall we-
    Story-I thought the story was awesome. Graphics-Amazing. while I must admit there was some slight issues with screen tearing and vertical sync. Other wise then that it was amazing and It was only on medium. It was kinda Borderlands esque textures if you catch my drift. Awesome
    Voice acting-Awesome.
    Game play-Awesome. The controls do take some getting used to. I used a 360 controller mind you and i just had to get the hang of using both the guns and the powers.
    I can't really think of compaints other then the vsync issue and I can't be sure if that was the game or if that was my system. I will be fair and give this game a 9.0 Definitely get it. Is it worth 50 bucks? I got it when it was on sale so, try and get it on sale and if you can't then if you can afford the 50 bucks go for that baby. Good luck and good gaming
    Collapse
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. Apr 22, 2012
    80
    The Darkness II is a decent shooter, but there is nothing in it that is amazing; it's respectable but mostly predictable.
  2. 75
    The Darkness II is indeed short, but it does achieve part of its goals: a few fun hours for a rainy spring afternoon, with some interesting characters, a dark story and, most of all, two demonic arms always hungry for beating hearts.
  3. Mar 13, 2012
    60
    Exhilarating in its opening sequence, The Darkness 2 quickly loses steam and turns into a 5-hour run through a long corridor.