The Darkness II PC

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 453 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 39 out of 453
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 12, 2016
    9
    Very short game and indeed indepth and the story line will most likely mess with your head. Kind of gives a different feel considering it is supposed to be a game about a man going insane. Endings are weird, won't spoil anything. Still waiting for the darkness 3
  2. Jul 21, 2016
    8
    I picked this game up for 26p in the Humble Bundle sale and I loved it, way more than I expected to. The voice acting is some of the best in recent memory and the script is really well written. All the characters feel so real and alive which really adds to the experience. The gameplay itself is solid, the weapons feel and sound beefy, your demon abilities are absolutely brutal and you canI picked this game up for 26p in the Humble Bundle sale and I loved it, way more than I expected to. The voice acting is some of the best in recent memory and the script is really well written. All the characters feel so real and alive which really adds to the experience. The gameplay itself is solid, the weapons feel and sound beefy, your demon abilities are absolutely brutal and you can earn additional buffs and abilities throughout the game by spending essence which you collect by getting kills and eating hearts (yummy!). Overall it's just a very fun shooter with a good story and incredible voice work, and even though it's 4 years old it holds up well today thanks to its stylised visuals. Expand
  3. Jun 22, 2016
    8
    2/13/2012: It had been a long time since I'd played the first Darkness, so I was surprised when I heard a sequel was coming. As someone with no experience in the comic book that inspired the series, I feel like I got a pretty good introduction in the first game. I think the developers knew that, because Darkness II builds wonderfully on that foundation and covers several comic elements2/13/2012: It had been a long time since I'd played the first Darkness, so I was surprised when I heard a sequel was coming. As someone with no experience in the comic book that inspired the series, I feel like I got a pretty good introduction in the first game. I think the developers knew that, because Darkness II builds wonderfully on that foundation and covers several comic elements that the first game did not, such as the Darkness itself's opposite number, the Angelus. The campaign belongs to a breed of story-driven, cinematic shooter that I have always loved, and indeed does a good job of making you feel terrifyingly powerful while still challenging you to fight creatively. And when that's over, you have an excellent co-op mode with a group of four entertaining characters, each with their own distinct Dark weapon. Especially endearing to me is the psychopathic, perpetually drunk Scotsman Jimmy Wilson, armed with his foe-cleaving Dark Axe that he can throw and summon back to him at will. Expand
  4. Feb 28, 2016
    8
    I got this game as part of a Humble Bundle, and there it sat in my Steam library for over a year. Last week, mostly out of boredom, I decided to give it a try, A very pleasant surprise, indeed. Overall the game is a linear action/horror first person shooter similar to games like Bulletstorm in it's (fun as hell) selection of ways to kill the enemy. The story is no Oscar winner, but keepsI got this game as part of a Humble Bundle, and there it sat in my Steam library for over a year. Last week, mostly out of boredom, I decided to give it a try, A very pleasant surprise, indeed. Overall the game is a linear action/horror first person shooter similar to games like Bulletstorm in it's (fun as hell) selection of ways to kill the enemy. The story is no Oscar winner, but keeps one entertained, and the skills wheel makes you want to give the rather short 6 hour campaign another run. Graphics can't compete with with other major titles out there, BUT the cartoony graphics style fits perfectly to this game. If part 3 would come out I'd buy it at launch..... Expand
  5. Dec 27, 2015
    8
    They have many of these hitlist missions and they can be played with friends as well and as any of the 4 new characters. All together there is MORE than enough content and Vendetta campaign and hitlists are not tacked on they are fully fleshed out and fun. Overall this is a very enjoyable FPS and it deserved more in sales and more from the reviewers i.e. game informer giving it a 7.They have many of these hitlist missions and they can be played with friends as well and as any of the 4 new characters. All together there is MORE than enough content and Vendetta campaign and hitlists are not tacked on they are fully fleshed out and fun. Overall this is a very enjoyable FPS and it deserved more in sales and more from the reviewers i.e. game informer giving it a 7. something this game deserves better and it is Not a seven. I played the 360 version and experience ZERO bugs, stylish cell shaded graphics (after all it is a comic book) (see top cow) and an overall great time. 9.25/10 the Darkness 2 Expand
  6. Jul 17, 2015
    9
    This is one of those games that I would put into the same classification of bulletstorm. It is just plain fun. I mean the gun-play is great and the addition of the darkness powers makes it even more satisfying to mow through hordes of enemies. The story is smart and the characters are interesting. It is somewhat short but a great game none the less.
  7. Aug 21, 2014
    10
    Pretty good graphics, fun gunfights, good performance, little to no bugs, decent amount of content - worth buying. I enjoyed this game and recommend to those interested in a story driven first person shooter.
  8. Aug 19, 2014
    8
    Ok, the game itself its quite good. It has an amazing story, especially for a more or less Mafia tale, the characters are all top notch, and all the lines are well preformed. The graphics look pretty good, with some bad textures from time to time, but its all cell shaded, which makes it look a lot like Borderlands. But that would only be if Borderlands was bloody. No joke, there was lessOk, the game itself its quite good. It has an amazing story, especially for a more or less Mafia tale, the characters are all top notch, and all the lines are well preformed. The graphics look pretty good, with some bad textures from time to time, but its all cell shaded, which makes it look a lot like Borderlands. But that would only be if Borderlands was bloody. No joke, there was less gore in saving private Ryan. Limbs get torn off, people get impaled, and its all in this bloody mess. Which is good, by the way. Anyway, the gameplay is very arcade like shoot em up, with your demon arm to help impale people. Even on the lowest difficulty setting, its still a hard game, coming from a seasoned DkS2 vet,and well, ya. The only gripe I have with the gameplay is that ammo is semi-scare in early game, which well, just feels weird in an FPS.
    Overall, if you find the game on a sale, pick up up without hesitation.
    If you dont, well, here comes one of my only gripes. Single Player length. It will last only about 6 hours on Med. I get that its not that big of a deal, but well, for a game with not to much replay value...I mean, it does have a coop mode, but when I picked it up, the coop was dead.
    Expand
  9. Jul 30, 2014
    9
    Funny, interesting, dynamic, brutal FPS. Game standing playing without stopping until it passed. There are different endings.

    pros: -A variety of gameplay (weapons, abilities, pumping, there's a game on the network) -Interesting story -It is cruel -Graphics-cartoon, but cool cons: -Speeding, the most difficult mode, the game held a maximum of 6H -Enemies is stupid -IMHO pile
    Funny, interesting, dynamic, brutal FPS. Game standing playing without stopping until it passed. There are different endings.

    pros:
    -A variety of gameplay (weapons, abilities, pumping, there's a game on the network)
    -Interesting story
    -It is cruel
    -Graphics-cartoon, but cool

    cons:
    -Speeding, the most difficult mode, the game held a maximum of 6H
    -Enemies is stupid
    -IMHO pile management
    Expand
  10. Feb 27, 2014
    8
    A fun, enjoyable shooter. If you`re looking to play an FPS but don`t want CoD/BF experience, you can always play The Darkness II. This game is original, interesting and challenging for the first 12-13 hours. I would summ it up as smoething different, you know, such as Borderlands is for the FPS genre and that is becaouse I give it 8 out of 10.

    GAMEPLAY It is one of the better sides of
    A fun, enjoyable shooter. If you`re looking to play an FPS but don`t want CoD/BF experience, you can always play The Darkness II. This game is original, interesting and challenging for the first 12-13 hours. I would summ it up as smoething different, you know, such as Borderlands is for the FPS genre and that is becaouse I give it 8 out of 10.

    GAMEPLAY
    It is one of the better sides of this title. There are enough guns to keep the shooting interesting and the gunplay itself is fun. Every gun is a little different so the player can customize his inventory to certain situations. In addition, you can dual wield just about any two guns, be it the same type or different.
    You can shoot freehand or you can aim down the sights, both modes are ok. Ofcourse there`s no selecting between burst/singleshot modes but this is nothing that would take away from the gunplay.
    Gun animations such as reloading and arming are also there and well made. No real flaws here.

    AI, as this is mostly a singleplayer game, should be at least ok. IMO it is ok. There are many different types of cannonfodder here, so you have to change weapons and killing ways to make it interesting long enough. The enemies change their positions, take cover and move a lot. If I had any complaints here, it would be that they are too tough, especially in the later parts of the game.

    Here I come to the biggest flaw of this game. The levels are different and interesting, but no longer than after 2,5 hours the game ditches the changes of environment and just throws more and more enemies at you in different combinations. There are lot of scripts where the drones appear from different directions and spots and you can`t tell when this happens. As a result, you often end up encircled by enemies you thought you killed just moments ago. At about half through the singleplayer mode, this tends to get silly with waves and waves of enemies thrown at you, and you are repeatedly outnumbered with little ammo to spare. Even worse, those drones almost everytime come with guys who flash their lights at you, making you blind and ripped off your special powers. That doesn`t make the experience any better and just iritated me, because I very often felt underpowered, had to retreat and hide just not to die. Hardly the experience of an evil guy with mad superpowers.

    Lastly, the "tentacles" of Darkness are very cool, giving great interesting skills, many kill animations. Howegver as said above, the game itself often prevents the player from using them, which is a bad choice.

    The player is given some special abilities like creating a black hole. Most of them are "meh" but I wouldn`t sum it up as needless. They don`t make the game any worse, at times they make it better, so why not.

    STORY
    It is something I`ve never seen before and I liked it a lot. Jackie as the protagonist is very cool. You are the evil one who is making carnage everywhere. Everyone`s afraid of you. At the same time Jenny makes you show your human side whenever she appears. There are some different missions with classic "kill xxx drones and reach the level boss" style and there are some not fighting levels like the asylum where the player mostly talks with othere characters. Switching between the two makes the player really confused as to what is factually going on and that is a very good thing. The story swallowed me whole thanks to this and some of the memorable characters (Jackie`s henchmen).
    I finished the story in 8 hours, I rate it as good overall.

    GRAPHICS
    Playing through the game in 2014, I did not see anything particulary wrong here. The game is pretty, textures are ok. Guns and levels look good, character models are well detailed. Nothing like Far Cry 3 or Crysis but at the same time nothing that would take away from the enjoyment.
    Expand
  11. Feb 16, 2014
    9
    Beautiful graphics, good story and voice acting, interesting characters, fast paced and funny for all its length. Can be kind of short if you just rush through the stages and don't take your time exploring or talking with the other characters, which you should, 'cause it yields to some real gems.
  12. Sep 1, 2013
    9
    Great game! Love the style story and characters. I enjoyed the first one but I think they improved on the game play mechanics quite a bit for the sequel. I enjoyed the length of the game I prefer a game following a story as opposed to giant open levels that you forget why your even there is the first place. I enjoyed the power tree and how you can kinda chose the style you want to playGreat game! Love the style story and characters. I enjoyed the first one but I think they improved on the game play mechanics quite a bit for the sequel. I enjoyed the length of the game I prefer a game following a story as opposed to giant open levels that you forget why your even there is the first place. I enjoyed the power tree and how you can kinda chose the style you want to play through. The multiplayer characters have their own smaller skill tree's and add a lil bit more to the game if your looking for a new more missions. I enjoyed the little extra time in the extra missions since you got new powers and weapons. The darkling sidekick is awesome but somewhat repetitive constantly peeing on people, and farting I feel he could have something else thrown in there but he does help you kill people by distracting them or (if you unlock the power you can hurl him on your enemies for a kill Expand
  13. Jul 9, 2013
    8
    this game will screw your mind.

    The whole story(mm... maybe without ending?) is very stable n creative.

    and there is no dissatisfaction for brutal action.
  14. Jun 9, 2013
    10
    A TRULY FUN ATMOSPHERIC GAME OOZING WITH 90's NOSTALGIA AND NYC STYLE. This game carves out its own interesting mythology that is very fascinating with the darkness and the angelus. The atmosphere is engrossing and dark and anyone who experienced the 90's for real will love the what 90's nyc has to offer from dialogue to Jane's addiction playing on the radio in the backround. More so thanA TRULY FUN ATMOSPHERIC GAME OOZING WITH 90's NOSTALGIA AND NYC STYLE. This game carves out its own interesting mythology that is very fascinating with the darkness and the angelus. The atmosphere is engrossing and dark and anyone who experienced the 90's for real will love the what 90's nyc has to offer from dialogue to Jane's addiction playing on the radio in the backround. More so than that this game tells a great story that will have you questioning your (Jackie Estacado)'s sanity more than once. It has great plot twists and leaves room for a sequel (fingers crossed) though i doubt it as it under sold due to people playing truly unique story driven shooters instead like Call of Doody (because the difference from modern warfare2 to modernwarfare 3 is so immense that admittedly they use the same exact game engine year to year hence the graphics neeever improving, where as look at how beautifully battlefield's graphics improve,frostbite1-gorgeous frostbite2 )so anyway back to FPS's that are actually fun, the Darkness 2 has the most fun and unique combat i have ever played in a FPS more so than bioshock. To what turns out to be a kind of quad wielding with regular satisfying dual wielding guns and two beautifully hideous snake like demon arms with demon heads on them growing out of your back in the dark (which is most of the game). The demon arms can flatout destroy and they steal the show with a multitude of capabilities from slashing a man in two to lacerating to eating a man's head to pick up objects like barrels and men and throwing them to grabbing car doors and using them as a shield they are simply amazing. They have a variety of finishing moves and they can even be used to throw your monkey like(even though he calls you monkey) demon pet at enemies and watch him rip them apart. Granted it is linear and it is rather short, it should be played on hard otherwise it is too easy. Jackie has multiple skill trees as well with unique upgradable powers and new abilities. The short single player campaign is more than tolerable considering there is a plethora of story advancing play to be had after the regular campaign. They have a vendetta campaign with 4 other playable characters which you can play alone or in coop. Either way it is very enjoyable playing and advancing other unique darkness empowered characters and further advancing the story. These are fully fleshed out characters with large skill trees, unique weapons, and distinct personalities. This mode extends the main story and is about half the length of the main story but with 4 different characters to try out. If that wasn't enough the game has a hitlist mode where you are placed in large semi levels tasked with ultimately taking out a boss like target after dispatching his henchmen. They have many of these hitlist missions and they can be played with friends as well and as any of the 4 new characters. All together there is MORE than enough content and Vendetta campaign and hitlists are not tacked on they are fully fleshed out and fun. Overall this is a very enjoyable FPS and it deserved more in sales and more from the reviewers i.e. game informer giving it a 7. something this game deserves better and it is Not a seven. I played the 360 version and experience ZERO bugs, stylish cell shaded graphics (after all it is a comic book) (see top cow) and an overall great time. 9.25/10 the Darkness 2 Expand
  15. May 17, 2013
    10
    I love this game You need to play this game on PC it has beutiful graphichs i love the cxontrols and gameplay And the Darkness is cool BUY IT!
  16. Mar 19, 2013
    8
    The Story is really something special. At first, you think its just shooter with blood and guts but then later you get some interesting backstory and twists. You really start to get why 'Jackie' is so twisted. Side characters were also very important to your progression into the story. It can be a bit confusing for people that never played the first Darkness game however. Graphics areThe Story is really something special. At first, you think its just shooter with blood and guts but then later you get some interesting backstory and twists. You really start to get why 'Jackie' is so twisted. Side characters were also very important to your progression into the story. It can be a bit confusing for people that never played the first Darkness game however. Graphics are great, with excellent lighting and shadows. Gameplay is fast paced and feels like an arcade shooter. You get 'Essence' points for pulling off awesome kills using weapons, environment, and skills. And you get to unlock new and more deadly skills with more Essence. Overall, a great game with enjoyable shooting but more enjoyable because of it's intricate story. Game is similar to that of 'Bulletstorm' in the gameplay and art style. Expand
  17. Feb 23, 2013
    9
    This game has one of the best gameplays I've ever saw.
    I enjoyed so much as I played it. Not even sure why. I've found it one of the most enjoyable games I've tried.
    Also loved the story and characters very much, and the Darkness/Angelus story. I never got to play the first one, as I just like PC far more than consoles, but this game held amazingly on it's own. I definitely think it
    This game has one of the best gameplays I've ever saw.
    I enjoyed so much as I played it. Not even sure why. I've found it one of the most enjoyable games I've tried.
    Also loved the story and characters very much, and the Darkness/Angelus story.
    I never got to play the first one, as I just like PC far more than consoles, but this game held amazingly on it's own.
    I definitely think it deserves a 10, but there was just one thing that prevented me from granting it that score The length.
    It was so darn short.
    I enjoyed it so much, but why was it so short???
    Anyway, BUY IT.
    Expand
  18. Feb 22, 2013
    10
    I think the game was great. The atmosphere in the game is saved and shocking. The game is interesting, but something is not enough. Good game but I wanted to hear the music better.
  19. Feb 13, 2013
    8
    The Darkness II is a FPS very funny, with innovative gameplay and a great story. The introduction of the two demonic arms is a very interesting innovation, which gives the player a very wide set of actions available during the battles that range from pure shooting, slashing, magic. The AI ​​is quite advanced. Anyway, is the story the strong point of this game: a story very well written andThe Darkness II is a FPS very funny, with innovative gameplay and a great story. The introduction of the two demonic arms is a very interesting innovation, which gives the player a very wide set of actions available during the battles that range from pure shooting, slashing, magic. The AI ​​is quite advanced. Anyway, is the story the strong point of this game: a story very well written and well-acted, exciting, catching up the player's attention.
    The length of the main story is around 8-10 hours, but there is a chance to play the side-missions, in single player or multiplayer, can using 4 new characters with special abilities.
    Expand
  20. Dec 8, 2012
    10
    Very nice game, fun to play, very interactive and a very nice scenario. I got glued from the moment I started playing until I finished it. And even then, I restarted it because you can keep your player and continue to advance your darkness powers and play more challenging game difficulties. Also, some great additions like the challenge mode where you can use different characters, weaponsVery nice game, fun to play, very interactive and a very nice scenario. I got glued from the moment I started playing until I finished it. And even then, I restarted it because you can keep your player and continue to advance your darkness powers and play more challenging game difficulties. Also, some great additions like the challenge mode where you can use different characters, weapons and powers. Expand
  21. Oct 29, 2012
    9
    I have to admit I am honestly and totally suprised by this game. For the longest time I couldn't buy it for 2 reasons...the first being money..and the second I had to wait for it to go on sale again. And after playing it and beating I have to say, this game is effin awesome.
    I know nothing about the Darkness universe. But, something about the story of the game. I will just say this
    I have to admit I am honestly and totally suprised by this game. For the longest time I couldn't buy it for 2 reasons...the first being money..and the second I had to wait for it to go on sale again. And after playing it and beating I have to say, this game is effin awesome.
    I know nothing about the Darkness universe. But, something about the story of the game. I will just say this much about it without spoiling anything. If you have ever truly ever loved a woman before, you will definitely be to relate to it. So let's get to the review shall we-
    Story-I thought the story was awesome. Graphics-Amazing. while I must admit there was some slight issues with screen tearing and vertical sync. Other wise then that it was amazing and It was only on medium. It was kinda Borderlands esque textures if you catch my drift. Awesome
    Voice acting-Awesome.
    Game play-Awesome. The controls do take some getting used to. I used a 360 controller mind you and i just had to get the hang of using both the guns and the powers.
    I can't really think of compaints other then the vsync issue and I can't be sure if that was the game or if that was my system. I will be fair and give this game a 9.0 Definitely get it. Is it worth 50 bucks? I got it when it was on sale so, try and get it on sale and if you can't then if you can afford the 50 bucks go for that baby. Good luck and good gaming
    Expand
  22. Sep 9, 2012
    10
    I absolutely loved the first Darkness, developed by Starbreeze. The Darkness 2 absolutely matches the amazingness of the first game. The Darkness 2 is an absolutely phenomenal game in every way. The only nitpick I have is that its a bit short(I beat it in 6.8 hours), but my god it was so good I don't even care. BUY THIS GAME! 10/10!
  23. Sep 3, 2012
    10
    This game is awesome :D better to play with friends! Great for anyone who loves fps games with a twist. I think this games score was rated to low at least an 8.5 would be good. The only thing I can say was that the game was too short
  24. Sep 2, 2012
    8
    I managed to pick this game up on one of Steams weekend sales, admittedly for only $12.49 (I would have easily paid full price). Having played the first, being compelled to play the sequel was an inevitably easy choice... one that did not disappoint. The cell shading and artistic direction in the graphic department was a stroke of genius, you didn't just feel like you were reading theI managed to pick this game up on one of Steams weekend sales, admittedly for only $12.49 (I would have easily paid full price). Having played the first, being compelled to play the sequel was an inevitably easy choice... one that did not disappoint. The cell shading and artistic direction in the graphic department was a stroke of genius, you didn't just feel like you were reading the comic but a part of it. The story was extremely enjoyable but I must admit it was much too short and left you only wanting more. The game-play came very easy after a couple minutes and seamed to flow (even though you managed to pick of weapons you didn't want). The only real drawbacks to this game is the length (6 hours, and that's with exploring), the game was also much more linear then the first time around. This game is sure to appease the story and/or FPS fans out there (us fans of the comics as well). Expand
  25. Aug 26, 2012
    8
    Good story, cute graphics and good gameplay. That are 3 words to describe Darkness II. Texture quality looks little low which is probably because of console port, but in that GFX style not too important. Most of people complain that game is specially short which is not quite true. Game IS short, bu a lot of games today is, so nothing strange about that.
    But as game is short you should
    Good story, cute graphics and good gameplay. That are 3 words to describe Darkness II. Texture quality looks little low which is probably because of console port, but in that GFX style not too important. Most of people complain that game is specially short which is not quite true. Game IS short, bu a lot of games today is, so nothing strange about that.
    But as game is short you should probably wait for some discount and buy then. Not worth 50 euro.
    Expand
  26. urf
    Jul 19, 2012
    9
    This is one those games that sound ridiculous on paper -- a mafia guy possessed by an ancient evil spirit, a dozen ultra-violent ways to rip your enemies apart by using your demonic eel-appendages, etc -- yet turns out too good to dismiss when you actually play it.

    Apart from sometimes having too much voice acting during the shooting (five guys shouting their over-the-top lines at the
    This is one those games that sound ridiculous on paper -- a mafia guy possessed by an ancient evil spirit, a dozen ultra-violent ways to rip your enemies apart by using your demonic eel-appendages, etc -- yet turns out too good to dismiss when you actually play it.

    Apart from sometimes having too much voice acting during the shooting (five guys shouting their over-the-top lines at the same time, even when they're already dead), there's not much to dislike. It's very pretty, the story is told in a manner that doesn't get too much in the way (and really isn't half as bad as it sounds like), and, what is most important, the action is fast-paced and challenging.

    It's not teh high arts, but it's very convincingly built. I've played a lot of boring, generic shooters. This is definitely one of the fresher first-person games available. Check it out.
    Expand
  27. Jul 18, 2012
    9
    I havent played the first darkness game so I didnt know what to expect but I can honestly say it blew me away. I knew I was going to get mixed up with the story so I was just playing it for what it was, a FPS. The game comes with a "Previously on" bit at the start so it fills you in with all the mumbo jumbo of the other game which was VERY useful (I wish most other games thought of this).I havent played the first darkness game so I didnt know what to expect but I can honestly say it blew me away. I knew I was going to get mixed up with the story so I was just playing it for what it was, a FPS. The game comes with a "Previously on" bit at the start so it fills you in with all the mumbo jumbo of the other game which was VERY useful (I wish most other games thought of this). I lept straight in and loved it from the very start. The gameplay was amazing, story was fantastic and I feel I really made an emotional connection with the character and his situation. There were lots of twists and turns in this game which kept you enticed playing it will make you not want to put it down (I bought it and didnt come off it untill I finished it, about 6 hours of play time :S). But was totally worth it. It wasnt too short and I didnt feel like any parts dragged or any parts were too hurried. The little choices in the game were interesting especially towards the end of the game (but I wont spoil it). I thought the animations were spot on and the whole tentacle thing while using guns worked very well with the control scheme (you just have to get used to multitasking a wee bit). But I would recommend this game to anyone who loves a good story or even just to kick the sh*t out of some bad guys. Honestly dont know how this only has critic rating of 7.7 because Im rating it a 9. Expand
  28. Jul 17, 2012
    10
    Very good game! The story is great and the storytelling is even better! I simply love the concept of the Darkness! It reminds me somehow of Darksiders (another great game).

    All of the mind shifts that your character is going through makes you wander what's real and whats not (in the world of the game ofc.)

    The game itself is for me mix of Max Payne and Darksiders! I highly recommend!
  29. BoG
    Jul 17, 2012
    9
    Pure and streamlined fun. If you're like me and can sometimes have a short attention span for games, The Darkness II is absolutely perfect in pitch and pace. The story, though not airtight, is extremely compelling and gameplay is smooth and fast paced. I think I beat it on the hardest difficulty available in about seven hours. Real good time and worth the ten bucks I paid for it.
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. Apr 22, 2012
    80
    The Darkness II is a decent shooter, but there is nothing in it that is amazing; it's respectable but mostly predictable.
  2. 75
    The Darkness II is indeed short, but it does achieve part of its goals: a few fun hours for a rainy spring afternoon, with some interesting characters, a dark story and, most of all, two demonic arms always hungry for beating hearts.
  3. Mar 13, 2012
    60
    Exhilarating in its opening sequence, The Darkness 2 quickly loses steam and turns into a 5-hour run through a long corridor.