User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 362 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 38 out of 362

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 7, 2012
    9
    I think that this is an amazing sequel. The story is great, the darkling is a funny and entertaining companion, and the noir style graphics are awesome. The co op missions are awesome, they are missions that take place in the single player campaign, ex: Jackie wants someone, in co op you get that some one and bring them to him its awesome because in the campaign Vennie says "I'll talk toI think that this is an amazing sequel. The story is great, the darkling is a funny and entertaining companion, and the noir style graphics are awesome. The co op missions are awesome, they are missions that take place in the single player campaign, ex: Jackie wants someone, in co op you get that some one and bring them to him its awesome because in the campaign Vennie says "I'll talk to the new guys". Making me think "thats awesome". The powers are upgradeable and you will always feel powerful, you can do crazy killmoves and dispatch 10 enemies in maybe around a few seconds depending on how good you are. I recommend this game. Expand
  2. Feb 8, 2012
    10
    The Darkness II
    Beatiful story, graphics are kinda okay, I liked the previous one more, but it fits to the game.
    It's really bloody which I like and violent, yumee, yumee.
  3. Feb 13, 2012
    0
    Story is ok but a bit corny and the gameplay is pretty good, however this game is a terrible buy if you pay full price. It looks positively ancient with textures that would even give Xbox owners cause for complaint. The graphics style is nice and the cutscenes are pretty well scripted but like many designed for console games, the cutscenes are a high point of the game. This is one ofStory is ok but a bit corny and the gameplay is pretty good, however this game is a terrible buy if you pay full price. It looks positively ancient with textures that would even give Xbox owners cause for complaint. The graphics style is nice and the cutscenes are pretty well scripted but like many designed for console games, the cutscenes are a high point of the game. This is one of the shortest games I have ever played and I was trying to string it out a bit. Very disappointing as it had some components of a really good game. The field of view was mindblowing. Like looking through a spyhole the whole time. Made this game almost unplayable on its own.

    If your a developer, make careful note of the people in the development team for this game, and ensure they have absolutely no career path if you want to continue selling product.
    Expand
  4. Feb 10, 2012
    7
    This game is one of the most unique games out there that you can find. Yes, It's not only unique for an FPS but unique as a game. The FOV problem that we've heard so much about never bothered me, but it can still be a hindrance for others. Although the game is very solid playing on the PC, It still feels a bit more like a port from a console than a full PC game. The Vendettas Co-OpThis game is one of the most unique games out there that you can find. Yes, It's not only unique for an FPS but unique as a game. The FOV problem that we've heard so much about never bothered me, but it can still be a hindrance for others. Although the game is very solid playing on the PC, It still feels a bit more like a port from a console than a full PC game. The Vendettas Co-Op mode seems like a last minute decision in order to cover the lost for the short main campaign, but it is still is a fun experience. Hopefully, Digital Extreme will make a patch and fix the problems. Expand
  5. Feb 18, 2012
    6
    A game that has its moments, love the art style and graphics in the game and the story is for the most part quite good and is very well narrated. The love story is convincing and i actually did feel part of the pain he must have been going thru. But the irritating weapons system, where it was way to easy to accidentally pic up and replace new weapons combined with the last few chapters ofA game that has its moments, love the art style and graphics in the game and the story is for the most part quite good and is very well narrated. The love story is convincing and i actually did feel part of the pain he must have been going thru. But the irritating weapons system, where it was way to easy to accidentally pic up and replace new weapons combined with the last few chapters of the game where the story telling took a huge downturn makes this game subpar. Its like the first "The Crow" movie just with tentacles and without a good and satisfying ending. Collapse
  6. Feb 9, 2012
    8
    Very good, solid and intriguing. Never played the first part though. The gameplay is fun, darkness powers are awesome and the gore is very satisfying. It may be a bit short but I saw shorter titles. The story is good and interesting. It has nice little twists and a great, dark atmosphere. I truly recommend this game. Had great time playing it. Fun, fun, fun.

    Plus: GORE, story, mechanics,
    Very good, solid and intriguing. Never played the first part though. The gameplay is fun, darkness powers are awesome and the gore is very satisfying. It may be a bit short but I saw shorter titles. The story is good and interesting. It has nice little twists and a great, dark atmosphere. I truly recommend this game. Had great time playing it. Fun, fun, fun.

    Plus: GORE, story, mechanics, gives you the feeling you control something powerful, FUN
    Minus: a bit short, graphics - however they cover it up nicely with cell shading

    BUY!
    Expand
  7. Feb 13, 2012
    7
    The darkness 2 is about as good as the darkness 1. Which is to say the darkness 2 is fantastic. While on the pc, the controls get a bit cluttered and it's pc-feature light. The core game is great. From some interesting storytelling, to frantic and diverse action - the game is a delight to play. It's painfully short however. Running about 5 hours or slightly less. Visually it's better andThe darkness 2 is about as good as the darkness 1. Which is to say the darkness 2 is fantastic. While on the pc, the controls get a bit cluttered and it's pc-feature light. The core game is great. From some interesting storytelling, to frantic and diverse action - the game is a delight to play. It's painfully short however. Running about 5 hours or slightly less. Visually it's better and worse than the original, the comic book look suits it better - however you lose some of the grit and bleakness as a result. If this was about twice the length with the same pacing - it would be a 9/10. As it stands. 7/10. HIGHLY Reccomended on a sale. Expand
  8. Feb 20, 2012
    8
    Everything about this game is said in previous reviews. Unique story, great gameplay, decent graphics.. You will really feel connected with Jackie Estacado and all what he does. The plot is well written and executed. It's not so common in shooters anymore. I'll honestly say - The Darkness 2 is one of the most enjoyable FPS i played the last year. It makes You feel powerful, it's bloody asEverything about this game is said in previous reviews. Unique story, great gameplay, decent graphics.. You will really feel connected with Jackie Estacado and all what he does. The plot is well written and executed. It's not so common in shooters anymore. I'll honestly say - The Darkness 2 is one of the most enjoyable FPS i played the last year. It makes You feel powerful, it's bloody as hell, dual-wielding kicks major ass and darkling is pretty funny. Enough of this chaotic mumble, i've got only one serious issue about this game. It's really, really TOO SHORT. I've finished the game on Thug difficulty (guess it's "normal"), then I played it again on the highest difficulty (New Game+ feauture). After that, Vendettas Co-op campaign, Vendettas Hit-list missions... There's 15 h of gameplay on my clock and 50/50 achievements done. So... Nothing else to do. Keep in mind, not everyone will play the whole game two times or finish co-op mode... So, for the of the people, gameplay time will be shorter. Still, great game, 8 points well earned. Expand
  9. Feb 12, 2012
    10
    The Darkness II is like a good polished diamond. It has a great story with psycho elements, you can get confused easily. Gameplay is excellent, no complains here. You can tear enemy with your demonic arms, kill them with a gun, throw a bucket or metal strips to them, also later you can get more abilities, like use swarm of insects, use energy instead of bullets or drop vortex that willThe Darkness II is like a good polished diamond. It has a great story with psycho elements, you can get confused easily. Gameplay is excellent, no complains here. You can tear enemy with your demonic arms, kill them with a gun, throw a bucket or metal strips to them, also later you can get more abilities, like use swarm of insects, use energy instead of bullets or drop vortex that will suck all around it. But that's not it, you can grab enemy to perform one of four finishing moves, which will grant you different bonus, like health, ammo, shield or faster restore your abilities. It's a nice bloodbath with good variety of gameplay. But I didn't liked the autoaim function, which works even on hardest difficulty and can't be turned off. It helps you when you use a controller, but otherwise it is a nuisance. Slow motion headshot are pretty damn cool, you get the time to looks around for the next enemy. Sounds are done nicely, not like in other games, where if you stand far from talking person you barely hear him. Also killing squishy sounds are cool and of course you will like the "darkness" voice, I can hear it even now! Through the game a darkling demon will help you in some situations, you can even get control of it in some parts of the game. It's about 5-6 hours of gameplay that won't leave you disappointed, the ending will make you excited. One con I found in this game is that there are too many names starting letter J - Jenny, Johny, Jimmy, Jackie, it's annoying. But anyway a game is worth of your time and money. Expand
  10. Feb 15, 2012
    8
    The graphics are alot of fun to look at a tad cartoony but not to much that it is a bad thing. There is alot of gore that fuells all the gore people. Does not matter if you like to shoot stuff up or like to rip them open and they their guts out of their bodies. It is alot of fun, the only thing is that it sometimes is quiet hard to use your tentacles, other than that part it is a great game.
  11. Mar 21, 2012
    8
    I really like this game a lot. From the visual graphic novel style graphics to the gun and tentacle toting game-play to the stereotyped mob characters to the much better than average voice acting this game has provided me with hours of entertainment. The game isn't perfect but it's a hell of a lot of fun. The story is just deep enough to keep you interested, the characters are just deepI really like this game a lot. From the visual graphic novel style graphics to the gun and tentacle toting game-play to the stereotyped mob characters to the much better than average voice acting this game has provided me with hours of entertainment. The game isn't perfect but it's a hell of a lot of fun. The story is just deep enough to keep you interested, the characters are just deep enough for you to actually like them, the environments are nicely varied but the game play is it's strong point with it's unique "quad wielding" combat. All in all everything adds up to a game that I will definitely play more than once. Expand
  12. Feb 21, 2012
    9
    Good although (intentionally) super-corny narrative, extreme violence and a heavily stylized comic graphics. The Darkness II is the sort of game you either love or hate, and luckily they released a demo, so you can simply try it out. The "quad-wielding" mechanic (both your hands can fire weapons and you have two satanic-esque tentacles that can pick up and throw stuff and rip people inGood although (intentionally) super-corny narrative, extreme violence and a heavily stylized comic graphics. The Darkness II is the sort of game you either love or hate, and luckily they released a demo, so you can simply try it out. The "quad-wielding" mechanic (both your hands can fire weapons and you have two satanic-esque tentacles that can pick up and throw stuff and rip people in two) keeps the playing fresh from start to finish. Granted, it only lasts six hours, but all of that is quality time, and you'll be having so much fun you'll start replaying right away (I know I did!). Expand
  13. Mar 16, 2012
    5
    It's a common gameplay that got me bored in the Demo, since it's predictable. Sounds like a good story, but like a lot of games (Deus EX, Assassin's Creed), it's just a repetition of the basics you learn in the beginning. When you learn the fastest way to earn most points, you will always do it.
  14. Jul 18, 2012
    9
    I havent played the first darkness game so I didnt know what to expect but I can honestly say it blew me away. I knew I was going to get mixed up with the story so I was just playing it for what it was, a FPS. The game comes with a "Previously on" bit at the start so it fills you in with all the mumbo jumbo of the other game which was VERY useful (I wish most other games thought of this).I havent played the first darkness game so I didnt know what to expect but I can honestly say it blew me away. I knew I was going to get mixed up with the story so I was just playing it for what it was, a FPS. The game comes with a "Previously on" bit at the start so it fills you in with all the mumbo jumbo of the other game which was VERY useful (I wish most other games thought of this). I lept straight in and loved it from the very start. The gameplay was amazing, story was fantastic and I feel I really made an emotional connection with the character and his situation. There were lots of twists and turns in this game which kept you enticed playing it will make you not want to put it down (I bought it and didnt come off it untill I finished it, about 6 hours of play time :S). But was totally worth it. It wasnt too short and I didnt feel like any parts dragged or any parts were too hurried. The little choices in the game were interesting especially towards the end of the game (but I wont spoil it). I thought the animations were spot on and the whole tentacle thing while using guns worked very well with the control scheme (you just have to get used to multitasking a wee bit). But I would recommend this game to anyone who loves a good story or even just to kick the sh*t out of some bad guys. Honestly dont know how this only has critic rating of 7.7 because Im rating it a 9. Expand
  15. Jul 16, 2012
    9
    This game is one of the best ive played for a FPS in a long time. The graphics have a comical style to it, the voice acting is good, gameplay is phenomenal, the weapons have a real feel to them, and the demons...well thats what makes it all, such a unique idea (i never played the first). I got this game off steam on the summer sale for 75% off so it only costed $12.49 and man was it worthThis game is one of the best ive played for a FPS in a long time. The graphics have a comical style to it, the voice acting is good, gameplay is phenomenal, the weapons have a real feel to them, and the demons...well thats what makes it all, such a unique idea (i never played the first). I got this game off steam on the summer sale for 75% off so it only costed $12.49 and man was it worth it. The only reason this game loses a point is because its to short, to short for 13 bucks? no. To short to pay $50 yes, and so i feel the other users reviews on this issue. If you can find this game on a sale or similar sale as Steam did then youd be stupid not to buy this. Great game :) i love it. Expand
  16. Mar 22, 2012
    2
    Graphics aside (horrible models as for a previous generation game while the textures... even the gamecube has seen better), i like the general atmosphere but that's all the game has. The gameplay's extremely fun in the first half hour then it's just plain repetitive, you do the same thing, and even the levels seem identical (there are about 2 enemy models recycled again and again, andGraphics aside (horrible models as for a previous generation game while the textures... even the gamecube has seen better), i like the general atmosphere but that's all the game has. The gameplay's extremely fun in the first half hour then it's just plain repetitive, you do the same thing, and even the levels seem identical (there are about 2 enemy models recycled again and again, and their interaction patterns are extremely predictable). It lacks the least degree variation (in level design and battles) provided by what's called (for a good reason) a blockbuster.

    The story's very diluted for a game whose gameplay isn't that engaging, sadly i rarely give up on a game without finishing it but after 4 hours i was plagued with boredom (the story up until that point could have been summed up in a few lines) and i'd rather spend the rest of the time i had left to finish it playing a point and click adventure. The Darkness and Witchblade have great potential and if they'd reimagine the gameplay the next Darkness could be great but i haven't seen much progress since the first one.

    I felt as if Dead Space's story had more consistence and let's be honest, you could sum up Dark Space 1 and 2 in a 20 minutes animation, and still capture the whole "depth" of the characters and lore (at least the gameplay's engaging in Dead Space and you don't feel the lack of story).
    Expand
  17. Mar 25, 2012
    9
    Great FPS, one of the best in this last time. Very good story, executions, weapons. A game very correct. Leaves the line of the classic "shooter" by adding a personal touch that stands out from the rest. VERY VERY recommended.

    (translated by google)
  18. Dec 8, 2012
    10
    Very nice game, fun to play, very interactive and a very nice scenario. I got glued from the moment I started playing until I finished it. And even then, I restarted it because you can keep your player and continue to advance your darkness powers and play more challenging game difficulties. Also, some great additions like the challenge mode where you can use different characters, weaponsVery nice game, fun to play, very interactive and a very nice scenario. I got glued from the moment I started playing until I finished it. And even then, I restarted it because you can keep your player and continue to advance your darkness powers and play more challenging game difficulties. Also, some great additions like the challenge mode where you can use different characters, weapons and powers. Expand
  19. Feb 22, 2013
    10
    I think the game was great. The atmosphere in the game is saved and shocking. The game is interesting, but something is not enough. Good game but I wanted to hear the music better.
  20. Feb 15, 2012
    9
    The game actually manages to stand out among so many shooters, offering a differentiated and a plot engaging gameplay. The great dialogues and the story well told keeps you stuck to the narrative, while the combat moments allow you to use your creativity to defeat the enemies in several different ways. The reduction in the number of interactions in the dialogues and the absence of openThe game actually manages to stand out among so many shooters, offering a differentiated and a plot engaging gameplay. The great dialogues and the story well told keeps you stuck to the narrative, while the combat moments allow you to use your creativity to defeat the enemies in several different ways. The reduction in the number of interactions in the dialogues and the absence of open world took much of the freedom and made the experience much more linear. Still, the increase of puzzles and greater interactivity have counterbalancing this satisfactorily. The Darkness 2 cannot escape totally from the FPS genre and you end up using their pistols and submachine guns most of the time, but this overshadows the good gameplay and the memorable plot told by host of darkness. Expand
  21. Mar 14, 2012
    9
    I am not a big fan of games adapted from comics, but I really loved playing this game. The action makes fun, even if the game is really brutal. I enjoyed the large variety of levels, the graphics, the sound and the style which suite the game. This is nice and fresh compared to many other games. I think the only thing is disliked is the really small FOV.
  22. BoG
    Jul 17, 2012
    9
    Pure and streamlined fun. If you're like me and can sometimes have a short attention span for games, The Darkness II is absolutely perfect in pitch and pace. The story, though not airtight, is extremely compelling and gameplay is smooth and fast paced. I think I beat it on the hardest difficulty available in about seven hours. Real good time and worth the ten bucks I paid for it.
  23. May 12, 2012
    8
    Darkness II is bad ass! I never played the first one so I didn't really know what to expect. It's complete evil--torture, mutilation, humiliation, and death. The campaign is depressingly short, even though the action is tight and the story is a complete trip. That's the trend nowadays--charge more...provide less.

    The graphics are slightly cartoonish which I'm pretty sure was the effect
    Darkness II is bad ass! I never played the first one so I didn't really know what to expect. It's complete evil--torture, mutilation, humiliation, and death. The campaign is depressingly short, even though the action is tight and the story is a complete trip. That's the trend nowadays--charge more...provide less.

    The graphics are slightly cartoonish which I'm pretty sure was the effect they were going for since the game is based on a comic book. Voice acting is well done. There is a separate 4-player coop campaign element which is pretty fun, but I haven't fully experienced it yet due to a lack of players. All-in-all it's a pretty amazing game, but the short campaign didn't allow me to unlock all the special abilities in a single play through. Not that I won't enjoy playing it again!
    Expand
  24. Oct 29, 2012
    9
    I have to admit I am honestly and totally suprised by this game. For the longest time I couldn't buy it for 2 reasons...the first being money..and the second I had to wait for it to go on sale again. And after playing it and beating I have to say, this game is effin awesome.
    I know nothing about the Darkness universe. But, something about the story of the game. I will just say this
    I have to admit I am honestly and totally suprised by this game. For the longest time I couldn't buy it for 2 reasons...the first being money..and the second I had to wait for it to go on sale again. And after playing it and beating I have to say, this game is effin awesome.
    I know nothing about the Darkness universe. But, something about the story of the game. I will just say this much about it without spoiling anything. If you have ever truly ever loved a woman before, you will definitely be to relate to it. So let's get to the review shall we-
    Story-I thought the story was awesome. Graphics-Amazing. while I must admit there was some slight issues with screen tearing and vertical sync. Other wise then that it was amazing and It was only on medium. It was kinda Borderlands esque textures if you catch my drift. Awesome
    Voice acting-Awesome.
    Game play-Awesome. The controls do take some getting used to. I used a 360 controller mind you and i just had to get the hang of using both the guns and the powers.
    I can't really think of compaints other then the vsync issue and I can't be sure if that was the game or if that was my system. I will be fair and give this game a 9.0 Definitely get it. Is it worth 50 bucks? I got it when it was on sale so, try and get it on sale and if you can't then if you can afford the 50 bucks go for that baby. Good luck and good gaming
    Expand
  25. Feb 12, 2012
    9
    It only lasts six hours. However, in those six hours you get more action, more intense combat, and more mindf*cks than any other modern shooter out there. Also if the small FoV seriously ruins a gaming experience for you, I just feel sorry for you. Stop whining. The rest of the game is ported fine.
  26. Mar 30, 2012
    6
    I loved The Darkness for Xbox. Amazing game. In this sequel, the story is preserved, the pacing is great, the graphics are fun, the game play is fun. The whole concept of quad-wielding I laughed at initially, but it was put into play amazingly well. The story progressed well enough, if not being a little short. The characters were reasonable, but a little flat compared to the last game. II loved The Darkness for Xbox. Amazing game. In this sequel, the story is preserved, the pacing is great, the graphics are fun, the game play is fun. The whole concept of quad-wielding I laughed at initially, but it was put into play amazingly well. The story progressed well enough, if not being a little short. The characters were reasonable, but a little flat compared to the last game. I really just had fun with the engine and cutting people in two with my tentacle slash. The ending is an obvious tie-in for a sequel, though, rather than tying up the game nicely. Story could've used some depth. Expand
  27. Feb 14, 2012
    8
    This game isn´t bad fps game but there is only few graphical settings .i can´t play this game because i hate motion blur. motion blur looks wrong for my computer and i have to wait something update or throw it only rubbish bin.anyway i am played some hours and looks good :)
  28. Feb 16, 2012
    7
    This is a fairly entertaining game with lots of action and pretty good graphics. The story, even though violent and gloomy, was somewhat unique. The cut scenes, however, were too frequent and occasionally annoying. Overall, Darkness II wasn't quite as good as the other games recently released at this price level. I suggest waiting until the price drops a bit before buying this game.
  29. Feb 13, 2012
    9
    this game was just about the most fun ive had playing a fps game. beats the hell out of COD beats battlefield 3, and id say is almost my favorite game to date. great story, emotion, gameplay, fun, but doesn't have much of anything else.
    gameplay-9, fun-10, story-9.3, upgradability-..., just play the game the FoV isnt even that bad, it just seems bad, when ur trying to shoot a person ur not
    this game was just about the most fun ive had playing a fps game. beats the hell out of COD beats battlefield 3, and id say is almost my favorite game to date. great story, emotion, gameplay, fun, but doesn't have much of anything else.
    gameplay-9, fun-10, story-9.3, upgradability-..., just play the game the FoV isnt even that bad, it just seems bad, when ur trying to shoot a person ur not looking any further than feet away from him so not sure why people complained
    Expand
  30. Feb 25, 2012
    8
    Great sequel to one of of my favorite games of all time. The story is bar none of the best i have seen this year in any medium and i love the stylised graphics. Voicework was great and even the darkling becomes likeable. The only problem for me was it's length. Why did they tack on a vendetta mode instead of fleshing out the story another 4-5 hours?? Doesn't make sense. That aside it wasGreat sequel to one of of my favorite games of all time. The story is bar none of the best i have seen this year in any medium and i love the stylised graphics. Voicework was great and even the darkling becomes likeable. The only problem for me was it's length. Why did they tack on a vendetta mode instead of fleshing out the story another 4-5 hours?? Doesn't make sense. That aside it was one of the best games this year. Expand
  31. Feb 18, 2012
    0
    A game that has its moments, love the art style and graphics in the game and the story is for the most part quite good and is very well narrated. The love story is convincing and i actually did feel part of the pain he must have been going thru. But the irritating weapons system, where it was way to easy to accidentally pic up and replace new weapons combined with the last few chapters ofA game that has its moments, love the art style and graphics in the game and the story is for the most part quite good and is very well narrated. The love story is convincing and i actually did feel part of the pain he must have been going thru. But the irritating weapons system, where it was way to easy to accidentally pic up and replace new weapons combined with the last few chapters of the game where the story telling took a huge downturn makes this game subpar. Its like the first "The Crow" movie just with tentacles and without a good and satisfying ending. Collapse
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. Apr 22, 2012
    80
    The Darkness II is a decent shooter, but there is nothing in it that is amazing; it's respectable but mostly predictable.
  2. 75
    The Darkness II is indeed short, but it does achieve part of its goals: a few fun hours for a rainy spring afternoon, with some interesting characters, a dark story and, most of all, two demonic arms always hungry for beating hearts.
  3. Mar 13, 2012
    60
    Exhilarating in its opening sequence, The Darkness 2 quickly loses steam and turns into a 5-hour run through a long corridor.