The Darkness II PC

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 438 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 39 out of 438
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 7, 2012
    9
    I think that this is an amazing sequel. The story is great, the darkling is a funny and entertaining companion, and the noir style graphics are awesome. The co op missions are awesome, they are missions that take place in the single player campaign, ex: Jackie wants someone, in co op you get that some one and bring them to him its awesome because in the campaign Vennie says "I'll talk toI think that this is an amazing sequel. The story is great, the darkling is a funny and entertaining companion, and the noir style graphics are awesome. The co op missions are awesome, they are missions that take place in the single player campaign, ex: Jackie wants someone, in co op you get that some one and bring them to him its awesome because in the campaign Vennie says "I'll talk to the new guys". Making me think "thats awesome". The powers are upgradeable and you will always feel powerful, you can do crazy killmoves and dispatch 10 enemies in maybe around a few seconds depending on how good you are. I recommend this game. Expand
  2. May 17, 2013
    10
    I love this game You need to play this game on PC it has beutiful graphichs i love the cxontrols and gameplay And the Darkness is cool BUY IT!
  3. Jun 9, 2013
    10
    A TRULY FUN ATMOSPHERIC GAME OOZING WITH 90's NOSTALGIA AND NYC STYLE. This game carves out its own interesting mythology that is very fascinating with the darkness and the angelus. The atmosphere is engrossing and dark and anyone who experienced the 90's for real will love the what 90's nyc has to offer from dialogue to Jane's addiction playing on the radio in the backround. More so thanA TRULY FUN ATMOSPHERIC GAME OOZING WITH 90's NOSTALGIA AND NYC STYLE. This game carves out its own interesting mythology that is very fascinating with the darkness and the angelus. The atmosphere is engrossing and dark and anyone who experienced the 90's for real will love the what 90's nyc has to offer from dialogue to Jane's addiction playing on the radio in the backround. More so than that this game tells a great story that will have you questioning your (Jackie Estacado)'s sanity more than once. It has great plot twists and leaves room for a sequel (fingers crossed) though i doubt it as it under sold due to people playing truly unique story driven shooters instead like Call of Doody (because the difference from modern warfare2 to modernwarfare 3 is so immense that admittedly they use the same exact game engine year to year hence the graphics neeever improving, where as look at how beautifully battlefield's graphics improve,frostbite1-gorgeous frostbite2 )so anyway back to FPS's that are actually fun, the Darkness 2 has the most fun and unique combat i have ever played in a FPS more so than bioshock. To what turns out to be a kind of quad wielding with regular satisfying dual wielding guns and two beautifully hideous snake like demon arms with demon heads on them growing out of your back in the dark (which is most of the game). The demon arms can flatout destroy and they steal the show with a multitude of capabilities from slashing a man in two to lacerating to eating a man's head to pick up objects like barrels and men and throwing them to grabbing car doors and using them as a shield they are simply amazing. They have a variety of finishing moves and they can even be used to throw your monkey like(even though he calls you monkey) demon pet at enemies and watch him rip them apart. Granted it is linear and it is rather short, it should be played on hard otherwise it is too easy. Jackie has multiple skill trees as well with unique upgradable powers and new abilities. The short single player campaign is more than tolerable considering there is a plethora of story advancing play to be had after the regular campaign. They have a vendetta campaign with 4 other playable characters which you can play alone or in coop. Either way it is very enjoyable playing and advancing other unique darkness empowered characters and further advancing the story. These are fully fleshed out characters with large skill trees, unique weapons, and distinct personalities. This mode extends the main story and is about half the length of the main story but with 4 different characters to try out. If that wasn't enough the game has a hitlist mode where you are placed in large semi levels tasked with ultimately taking out a boss like target after dispatching his henchmen. They have many of these hitlist missions and they can be played with friends as well and as any of the 4 new characters. All together there is MORE than enough content and Vendetta campaign and hitlists are not tacked on they are fully fleshed out and fun. Overall this is a very enjoyable FPS and it deserved more in sales and more from the reviewers i.e. game informer giving it a 7. something this game deserves better and it is Not a seven. I played the 360 version and experience ZERO bugs, stylish cell shaded graphics (after all it is a comic book) (see top cow) and an overall great time. 9.25/10 the Darkness 2 Expand
  4. Feb 16, 2014
    9
    Beautiful graphics, good story and voice acting, interesting characters, fast paced and funny for all its length. Can be kind of short if you just rush through the stages and don't take your time exploring or talking with the other characters, which you should, 'cause it yields to some real gems.
  5. Feb 22, 2013
    10
    I think the game was great. The atmosphere in the game is saved and shocking. The game is interesting, but something is not enough. Good game but I wanted to hear the music better.
  6. Feb 8, 2012
    10
    The Darkness II
    Beatiful story, graphics are kinda okay, I liked the previous one more, but it fits to the game.
    It's really bloody which I like and violent, yumee, yumee.
  7. Feb 15, 2012
    8
    The graphics are alot of fun to look at a tad cartoony but not to much that it is a bad thing. There is alot of gore that fuells all the gore people. Does not matter if you like to shoot stuff up or like to rip them open and they their guts out of their bodies. It is alot of fun, the only thing is that it sometimes is quiet hard to use your tentacles, other than that part it is a great game.
  8. Feb 21, 2012
    9
    Good although (intentionally) super-corny narrative, extreme violence and a heavily stylized comic graphics. The Darkness II is the sort of game you either love or hate, and luckily they released a demo, so you can simply try it out. The "quad-wielding" mechanic (both your hands can fire weapons and you have two satanic-esque tentacles that can pick up and throw stuff and rip people inGood although (intentionally) super-corny narrative, extreme violence and a heavily stylized comic graphics. The Darkness II is the sort of game you either love or hate, and luckily they released a demo, so you can simply try it out. The "quad-wielding" mechanic (both your hands can fire weapons and you have two satanic-esque tentacles that can pick up and throw stuff and rip people in two) keeps the playing fresh from start to finish. Granted, it only lasts six hours, but all of that is quality time, and you'll be having so much fun you'll start replaying right away (I know I did!). Expand
  9. Feb 20, 2012
    8
    Everything about this game is said in previous reviews. Unique story, great gameplay, decent graphics.. You will really feel connected with Jackie Estacado and all what he does. The plot is well written and executed. It's not so common in shooters anymore. I'll honestly say - The Darkness 2 is one of the most enjoyable FPS i played the last year. It makes You feel powerful, it's bloody asEverything about this game is said in previous reviews. Unique story, great gameplay, decent graphics.. You will really feel connected with Jackie Estacado and all what he does. The plot is well written and executed. It's not so common in shooters anymore. I'll honestly say - The Darkness 2 is one of the most enjoyable FPS i played the last year. It makes You feel powerful, it's bloody as hell, dual-wielding kicks major ass and darkling is pretty funny. Enough of this chaotic mumble, i've got only one serious issue about this game. It's really, really TOO SHORT. I've finished the game on Thug difficulty (guess it's "normal"), then I played it again on the highest difficulty (New Game+ feauture). After that, Vendettas Co-op campaign, Vendettas Hit-list missions... There's 15 h of gameplay on my clock and 50/50 achievements done. So... Nothing else to do. Keep in mind, not everyone will play the whole game two times or finish co-op mode... So, for the of the people, gameplay time will be shorter. Still, great game, 8 points well earned. Expand
  10. Feb 9, 2012
    8
    Very good, solid and intriguing. Never played the first part though. The gameplay is fun, darkness powers are awesome and the gore is very satisfying. It may be a bit short but I saw shorter titles. The story is good and interesting. It has nice little twists and a great, dark atmosphere. I truly recommend this game. Had great time playing it. Fun, fun, fun.

    Plus: GORE, story, mechanics,
    Very good, solid and intriguing. Never played the first part though. The gameplay is fun, darkness powers are awesome and the gore is very satisfying. It may be a bit short but I saw shorter titles. The story is good and interesting. It has nice little twists and a great, dark atmosphere. I truly recommend this game. Had great time playing it. Fun, fun, fun.

    Plus: GORE, story, mechanics, gives you the feeling you control something powerful, FUN
    Minus: a bit short, graphics - however they cover it up nicely with cell shading

    BUY!
    Collapse
  11. Mar 21, 2012
    8
    I really like this game a lot. From the visual graphic novel style graphics to the gun and tentacle toting game-play to the stereotyped mob characters to the much better than average voice acting this game has provided me with hours of entertainment. The game isn't perfect but it's a hell of a lot of fun. The story is just deep enough to keep you interested, the characters are just deepI really like this game a lot. From the visual graphic novel style graphics to the gun and tentacle toting game-play to the stereotyped mob characters to the much better than average voice acting this game has provided me with hours of entertainment. The game isn't perfect but it's a hell of a lot of fun. The story is just deep enough to keep you interested, the characters are just deep enough for you to actually like them, the environments are nicely varied but the game play is it's strong point with it's unique "quad wielding" combat. All in all everything adds up to a game that I will definitely play more than once. Expand
  12. Jul 18, 2012
    9
    I havent played the first darkness game so I didnt know what to expect but I can honestly say it blew me away. I knew I was going to get mixed up with the story so I was just playing it for what it was, a FPS. The game comes with a "Previously on" bit at the start so it fills you in with all the mumbo jumbo of the other game which was VERY useful (I wish most other games thought of this).I havent played the first darkness game so I didnt know what to expect but I can honestly say it blew me away. I knew I was going to get mixed up with the story so I was just playing it for what it was, a FPS. The game comes with a "Previously on" bit at the start so it fills you in with all the mumbo jumbo of the other game which was VERY useful (I wish most other games thought of this). I lept straight in and loved it from the very start. The gameplay was amazing, story was fantastic and I feel I really made an emotional connection with the character and his situation. There were lots of twists and turns in this game which kept you enticed playing it will make you not want to put it down (I bought it and didnt come off it untill I finished it, about 6 hours of play time :S). But was totally worth it. It wasnt too short and I didnt feel like any parts dragged or any parts were too hurried. The little choices in the game were interesting especially towards the end of the game (but I wont spoil it). I thought the animations were spot on and the whole tentacle thing while using guns worked very well with the control scheme (you just have to get used to multitasking a wee bit). But I would recommend this game to anyone who loves a good story or even just to kick the sh*t out of some bad guys. Honestly dont know how this only has critic rating of 7.7 because Im rating it a 9. Expand
  13. Jul 16, 2012
    9
    This game is one of the best ive played for a FPS in a long time. The graphics have a comical style to it, the voice acting is good, gameplay is phenomenal, the weapons have a real feel to them, and the demons...well thats what makes it all, such a unique idea (i never played the first). I got this game off steam on the summer sale for 75% off so it only costed $12.49 and man was it worthThis game is one of the best ive played for a FPS in a long time. The graphics have a comical style to it, the voice acting is good, gameplay is phenomenal, the weapons have a real feel to them, and the demons...well thats what makes it all, such a unique idea (i never played the first). I got this game off steam on the summer sale for 75% off so it only costed $12.49 and man was it worth it. The only reason this game loses a point is because its to short, to short for 13 bucks? no. To short to pay $50 yes, and so i feel the other users reviews on this issue. If you can find this game on a sale or similar sale as Steam did then youd be stupid not to buy this. Great game :) i love it. Expand
  14. Dec 8, 2012
    10
    Very nice game, fun to play, very interactive and a very nice scenario. I got glued from the moment I started playing until I finished it. And even then, I restarted it because you can keep your player and continue to advance your darkness powers and play more challenging game difficulties. Also, some great additions like the challenge mode where you can use different characters, weaponsVery nice game, fun to play, very interactive and a very nice scenario. I got glued from the moment I started playing until I finished it. And even then, I restarted it because you can keep your player and continue to advance your darkness powers and play more challenging game difficulties. Also, some great additions like the challenge mode where you can use different characters, weapons and powers. Expand
  15. Oct 29, 2012
    9
    I have to admit I am honestly and totally suprised by this game. For the longest time I couldn't buy it for 2 reasons...the first being money..and the second I had to wait for it to go on sale again. And after playing it and beating I have to say, this game is effin awesome.
    I know nothing about the Darkness universe. But, something about the story of the game. I will just say this
    I have to admit I am honestly and totally suprised by this game. For the longest time I couldn't buy it for 2 reasons...the first being money..and the second I had to wait for it to go on sale again. And after playing it and beating I have to say, this game is effin awesome.
    I know nothing about the Darkness universe. But, something about the story of the game. I will just say this much about it without spoiling anything. If you have ever truly ever loved a woman before, you will definitely be to relate to it. So let's get to the review shall we-
    Story-I thought the story was awesome. Graphics-Amazing. while I must admit there was some slight issues with screen tearing and vertical sync. Other wise then that it was amazing and It was only on medium. It was kinda Borderlands esque textures if you catch my drift. Awesome
    Voice acting-Awesome.
    Game play-Awesome. The controls do take some getting used to. I used a 360 controller mind you and i just had to get the hang of using both the guns and the powers.
    I can't really think of compaints other then the vsync issue and I can't be sure if that was the game or if that was my system. I will be fair and give this game a 9.0 Definitely get it. Is it worth 50 bucks? I got it when it was on sale so, try and get it on sale and if you can't then if you can afford the 50 bucks go for that baby. Good luck and good gaming
    Expand
  16. Sep 1, 2013
    9
    Great game! Love the style story and characters. I enjoyed the first one but I think they improved on the game play mechanics quite a bit for the sequel. I enjoyed the length of the game I prefer a game following a story as opposed to giant open levels that you forget why your even there is the first place. I enjoyed the power tree and how you can kinda chose the style you want to playGreat game! Love the style story and characters. I enjoyed the first one but I think they improved on the game play mechanics quite a bit for the sequel. I enjoyed the length of the game I prefer a game following a story as opposed to giant open levels that you forget why your even there is the first place. I enjoyed the power tree and how you can kinda chose the style you want to play through. The multiplayer characters have their own smaller skill tree's and add a lil bit more to the game if your looking for a new more missions. I enjoyed the little extra time in the extra missions since you got new powers and weapons. The darkling sidekick is awesome but somewhat repetitive constantly peeing on people, and farting I feel he could have something else thrown in there but he does help you kill people by distracting them or (if you unlock the power you can hurl him on your enemies for a kill Expand
  17. Feb 23, 2013
    9
    This game has one of the best gameplays I've ever saw.
    I enjoyed so much as I played it. Not even sure why. I've found it one of the most enjoyable games I've tried.
    Also loved the story and characters very much, and the Darkness/Angelus story. I never got to play the first one, as I just like PC far more than consoles, but this game held amazingly on it's own. I definitely think it
    This game has one of the best gameplays I've ever saw.
    I enjoyed so much as I played it. Not even sure why. I've found it one of the most enjoyable games I've tried.
    Also loved the story and characters very much, and the Darkness/Angelus story.
    I never got to play the first one, as I just like PC far more than consoles, but this game held amazingly on it's own.
    I definitely think it deserves a 10, but there was just one thing that prevented me from granting it that score The length.
    It was so darn short.
    I enjoyed it so much, but why was it so short???
    Anyway, BUY IT.
    Expand
  18. Feb 12, 2012
    10
    The Darkness II is like a good polished diamond. It has a great story with psycho elements, you can get confused easily. Gameplay is excellent, no complains here. You can tear enemy with your demonic arms, kill them with a gun, throw a bucket or metal strips to them, also later you can get more abilities, like use swarm of insects, use energy instead of bullets or drop vortex that willThe Darkness II is like a good polished diamond. It has a great story with psycho elements, you can get confused easily. Gameplay is excellent, no complains here. You can tear enemy with your demonic arms, kill them with a gun, throw a bucket or metal strips to them, also later you can get more abilities, like use swarm of insects, use energy instead of bullets or drop vortex that will suck all around it. But that's not it, you can grab enemy to perform one of four finishing moves, which will grant you different bonus, like health, ammo, shield or faster restore your abilities. It's a nice bloodbath with good variety of gameplay. But I didn't liked the autoaim function, which works even on hardest difficulty and can't be turned off. It helps you when you use a controller, but otherwise it is a nuisance. Slow motion headshot are pretty damn cool, you get the time to looks around for the next enemy. Sounds are done nicely, not like in other games, where if you stand far from talking person you barely hear him. Also killing squishy sounds are cool and of course you will like the "darkness" voice, I can hear it even now! Through the game a darkling demon will help you in some situations, you can even get control of it in some parts of the game. It's about 5-6 hours of gameplay that won't leave you disappointed, the ending will make you excited. One con I found in this game is that there are too many names starting letter J - Jenny, Johny, Jimmy, Jackie, it's annoying. But anyway a game is worth of your time and money. Expand
  19. Mar 25, 2012
    9
    Great FPS, one of the best in this last time. Very good story, executions, weapons. A game very correct. Leaves the line of the classic "shooter" by adding a personal touch that stands out from the rest. VERY VERY recommended.

    (translated by google)
  20. May 12, 2012
    8
    Darkness II is bad ass! I never played the first one so I didn't really know what to expect. It's complete evil--torture, mutilation, humiliation, and death. The campaign is depressingly short, even though the action is tight and the story is a complete trip. That's the trend nowadays--charge more...provide less.

    The graphics are slightly cartoonish which I'm pretty sure was the effect
    Darkness II is bad ass! I never played the first one so I didn't really know what to expect. It's complete evil--torture, mutilation, humiliation, and death. The campaign is depressingly short, even though the action is tight and the story is a complete trip. That's the trend nowadays--charge more...provide less.

    The graphics are slightly cartoonish which I'm pretty sure was the effect they were going for since the game is based on a comic book. Voice acting is well done. There is a separate 4-player coop campaign element which is pretty fun, but I haven't fully experienced it yet due to a lack of players. All-in-all it's a pretty amazing game, but the short campaign didn't allow me to unlock all the special abilities in a single play through. Not that I won't enjoy playing it again!
    Expand
  21. Feb 25, 2012
    8
    Great sequel to one of of my favorite games of all time. The story is bar none of the best i have seen this year in any medium and i love the stylised graphics. Voicework was great and even the darkling becomes likeable. The only problem for me was it's length. Why did they tack on a vendetta mode instead of fleshing out the story another 4-5 hours?? Doesn't make sense. That aside it wasGreat sequel to one of of my favorite games of all time. The story is bar none of the best i have seen this year in any medium and i love the stylised graphics. Voicework was great and even the darkling becomes likeable. The only problem for me was it's length. Why did they tack on a vendetta mode instead of fleshing out the story another 4-5 hours?? Doesn't make sense. That aside it was one of the best games this year. Expand
  22. Jul 9, 2012
    8
    A bit underrated game. The story is nice: atmosphere+graphic style helps a lot. Game includes short review of what happened in the previous game, which is good for those who haven't played it. Campaign is relatively short (around 5 hours) but you can play Vendetta mod (focuses on other characters during the campaign and adds more to the story). In overall it took me 19 hours (oneA bit underrated game. The story is nice: atmosphere+graphic style helps a lot. Game includes short review of what happened in the previous game, which is good for those who haven't played it. Campaign is relatively short (around 5 hours) but you can play Vendetta mod (focuses on other characters during the campaign and adds more to the story). In overall it took me 19 hours (one playtrough on Hard, second on Don-Very Hard, third partial playtrough for finishing achievements + Vendetta campaign). I bought the game on Amazon for 12.5USD and it was well worth it. If you like FPS with interesting story, great atmosphere, comics graphic and with a lot of blood, Darkness II is way to go. Expand
  23. Feb 27, 2012
    8
    I really enjoyed this game. It had a wonderful back and forth story that makes the player unsure of their own sanity, all the characters are believable and interesting to talk to, and having two demon eel heads (Or something) on either shoulder have an interesting and useful effect on game play. My only beef with this game is the very campaign (A little under 5 hours) and theI really enjoyed this game. It had a wonderful back and forth story that makes the player unsure of their own sanity, all the characters are believable and interesting to talk to, and having two demon eel heads (Or something) on either shoulder have an interesting and useful effect on game play. My only beef with this game is the very campaign (A little under 5 hours) and the disappointing (But surprising) ending. If you want to actually get your 50 dollars worth from this game, bring friends and play through the coop missions (Because they really are worth it). Expand
  24. Mar 3, 2012
    8
    Darkness 2 is a good game, but it has some flaws.
    Firstly, the graphics are good but, sometimes the "light effect" can ruin it. It simply is there to distract you.
    Secondly, the little minion or whatever was it's name is BRITISH. Why would you ever make a dark ugly monster british. It ruins the feel a bit. Thirdly, there is no replay ability, well maybe the multiplayer, but the story
    Darkness 2 is a good game, but it has some flaws.
    Firstly, the graphics are good but, sometimes the "light effect" can ruin it. It simply is there to distract you.
    Secondly, the little minion or whatever was it's name is BRITISH. Why would you ever make a dark ugly monster british. It ruins the feel a bit.
    Thirdly, there is no replay ability, well maybe the multiplayer, but the story hasn't got it.
    Also the boss fights were too easy.
    About the multiplayer, you really aren't going to stick around long with it cause it hasn't much to offer.
    Now on the other hand, the game is brutally awesome.
    The death scenes are original and gory.
    Story has some original ideas and I loved the voice acting.
    Controls are perfect and the gunplay is fast and brutal.
    Music just fits in there and the sound effects are pretty good too.
    So if you are looking something original, not some typical Call of Duty or Battlefield, this game is just made for you then.
    Beware, if you hate gore, skip this title
    Expand
  25. Mar 6, 2012
    8
    From Russia with love (Google Translate sry)
    The Darkness II, first it got me interested enough, and should priznatsya I do not even dare to buy it for the reason that I am not a fan of horror movies, and games like it. But later I saw some gameplay videos, and decided to play on their "own" risk. The game I was pleasantly surprised, it turns out, I do not have pryatatsya from monsters,
    From Russia with love (Google Translate sry)
    The Darkness II, first it got me interested enough, and should priznatsya I do not even dare to buy it for the reason that I am not a fan of horror movies, and games like it. But later I saw some gameplay videos, and decided to play on their "own" risk. The game I was pleasantly surprised, it turns out, I do not have pryatatsya from monsters, but rather to frighten people out of the darkness, I even felt a little funny. Despite some moments, such as graphics, that I was cutting the eyes, I liked the game in general. The plot is quite interesting, and despite all tuzhu schedule, and in the picture was a pleasant surprise as a whole ... umm narisovannasti, cartoon chtoli. Yes there are some clichés of the plot, but in general it's not bad, especially this latest note paid in the entire history of this crazy hospital. Frustration has brought me, is that some points on the levels when I was getting a bit boring, So the ending (right) made it clear that we wait for the third part, and I think this project should not begin to make out of a series. Collecting all the pros and cons, I put this game 8 points, though with more stretch 7.5. But my decision is completely thought out, in general, it is a good game, and I recommend it to friends, and all the players in Russia and vrintsipe world. This concludes my Review) From Russia with Love)
    Expand
  26. Sep 9, 2012
    10
    I absolutely loved the first Darkness, developed by Starbreeze. The Darkness 2 absolutely matches the amazingness of the first game. The Darkness 2 is an absolutely phenomenal game in every way. The only nitpick I have is that its a bit short(I beat it in 6.8 hours), but my god it was so good I don't even care. BUY THIS GAME! 10/10!
  27. Mar 14, 2012
    9
    I am not a big fan of games adapted from comics, but I really loved playing this game. The action makes fun, even if the game is really brutal. I enjoyed the large variety of levels, the graphics, the sound and the style which suite the game. This is nice and fresh compared to many other games. I think the only thing is disliked is the really small FOV.
  28. BoG
    Jul 17, 2012
    9
    Pure and streamlined fun. If you're like me and can sometimes have a short attention span for games, The Darkness II is absolutely perfect in pitch and pace. The story, though not airtight, is extremely compelling and gameplay is smooth and fast paced. I think I beat it on the hardest difficulty available in about seven hours. Real good time and worth the ten bucks I paid for it.
  29. Feb 22, 2012
    9
    First the bad. The oft-cited spyglass effect is horrendous here. The field of view is set for console/TV use and not for a PC monitor. Consequently it strains the eyes horribly after a few minutes of play. However, I fixed this by using a little program called Widescreen Fixer. Secondly it is short, but perhaps not as short as some are suggesting. Took me about 9 hours to complete withFirst the bad. The oft-cited spyglass effect is horrendous here. The field of view is set for console/TV use and not for a PC monitor. Consequently it strains the eyes horribly after a few minutes of play. However, I fixed this by using a little program called Widescreen Fixer. Secondly it is short, but perhaps not as short as some are suggesting. Took me about 9 hours to complete with difficulty elevated one notch. And you will want to elevate the difficulty a little or it's far too easy. The last thing is the gore. No, I'm not being a wuss here, I actually think the gore has been toned-down post production - it seems as if key frames involving throats/hearts being ripped out have been removed to avoid the censor. If this is indeed the case, it should be a toggle option for gore-lovers like myself.

    Now the good. I've given this game 9, because aside from the above issues it's one of the best games I've played in the last few years. And that's coming from someone who *hates* run-of-the-mill FPS games. It has exceptional characterisation, atmosphere and storyline; I actually got a lump in my throat a little at the end *cough*. The graphical style mentioned by a few here is "Scanner Darkly" cartoon style, and it works very well. The weapons and fights are satisfying, and while many of the environments are "yeah yeah seen this before", the unique style of the game makes them feel new.

    In a nutshell, think Max Payne, Bioshock and the original F.E.A.R combined. If you're thinking of getting it, wait until there's confirmation of the supposedly-soon-to-arrive field of view patch, unless you want to puke from eyestrain while playing it. If the patch does arrive - get this game - it's so awesome you won't care about the other flaws.
    Expand
  30. Jul 17, 2012
    10
    Very good game! The story is great and the storytelling is even better! I simply love the concept of the Darkness! It reminds me somehow of Darksiders (another great game).

    All of the mind shifts that your character is going through makes you wander what's real and whats not (in the world of the game ofc.)

    The game itself is for me mix of Max Payne and Darksiders! I highly recommend!
  31. Feb 9, 2012
    0
    Very good, solid and intriguing. Never played the first part though. The gameplay is fun, darkness powers are awesome and the gore is very satisfying. It may be a bit short but I saw shorter titles. The story is good and interesting. It has nice little twists and a great, dark atmosphere. I truly recommend this game. Had great time playing it. Fun, fun, fun.

    Plus: GORE, story, mechanics,
    Very good, solid and intriguing. Never played the first part though. The gameplay is fun, darkness powers are awesome and the gore is very satisfying. It may be a bit short but I saw shorter titles. The story is good and interesting. It has nice little twists and a great, dark atmosphere. I truly recommend this game. Had great time playing it. Fun, fun, fun.

    Plus: GORE, story, mechanics, gives you the feeling you control something powerful, FUN
    Minus: a bit short, graphics - however they cover it up nicely with cell shading

    BUY!
    Collapse
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. Apr 22, 2012
    80
    The Darkness II is a decent shooter, but there is nothing in it that is amazing; it's respectable but mostly predictable.
  2. 75
    The Darkness II is indeed short, but it does achieve part of its goals: a few fun hours for a rainy spring afternoon, with some interesting characters, a dark story and, most of all, two demonic arms always hungry for beating hearts.
  3. Mar 13, 2012
    60
    Exhilarating in its opening sequence, The Darkness 2 quickly loses steam and turns into a 5-hour run through a long corridor.