The Darkness II Image
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 474 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Inspired by the comic book series, The Darkness II is a first-person shooter that thrusts you into the role of Jackie Estacado, don of a New York crime family and wielder of an ancient chaotic force known as The Darkness. It has been 2 years since Jackie used his power to kill the guysInspired by the comic book series, The Darkness II is a first-person shooter that thrusts you into the role of Jackie Estacado, don of a New York crime family and wielder of an ancient chaotic force known as The Darkness. It has been 2 years since Jackie used his power to kill the guys responsible for his girlfriend’s murder. He has been unable to free himself of the memory of Jenny’s death since bottling up The Darkness and now it wants out. A botched attempt to end Jackie’s life opens the door for The Darkness to reemerge and sets Jackie on a brutal journey as he unravels the mystery behind the attack and the motives of The Darkness. [2K Games] Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
The Darkness II - Swarm Exclusive Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. Feb 21, 2012
    88
    The Darkness 2 is a top quality arcade fps. The artistic component is simply delicious and is currently the best cell shading technique we've seen so far. A good longevity, an adult and engaging storyline and an excellent soundtrack make this title shine in this early 2012.
  2. Feb 8, 2012
    85
    The only aspect of The Darkness 2 which doesn't carry a balancing good/bad caveat are the graphics, which are irrefutably extraordinary.
  3. Feb 7, 2012
    80
    A dark, violent comic book given light and heart. a ripping yarn that tears along as fast as you can tear through bodies.
  4. Apr 22, 2012
    80
    The Darkness II is a decent shooter, but there is nothing in it that is amazing; it's respectable but mostly predictable.
  5. Feb 27, 2012
    75
    The Darkness II is a series of wasted potential. Where it has a great story, it fails in narration. Where it has one of the most amazing gameplay, it fails by being repetitive. Where it manages to give the co-op a nice flavor, it fails with its half-baked execution.
  6. 75
    The Darkness II is indeed short, but it does achieve part of its goals: a few fun hours for a rainy spring afternoon, with some interesting characters, a dark story and, most of all, two demonic arms always hungry for beating hearts.
  7. Mar 13, 2012
    60
    Exhilarating in its opening sequence, The Darkness 2 quickly loses steam and turns into a 5-hour run through a long corridor.

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 62 out of 85
  2. Negative: 5 out of 85
  1. Feb 8, 2012
    10
    The Darkness II
    Beatiful story, graphics are kinda okay, I liked the previous one more, but it fits to the game.
    It's really bloody which I
    The Darkness II
    Beatiful story, graphics are kinda okay, I liked the previous one more, but it fits to the game.
    It's really bloody which I like and violent, yumee, yumee.
    Expand
  2. Apr 20, 2018
    10
    é um jogo incrível, realmente vc ira se surpreender com ele e com sua narrativa ..
  3. Oct 29, 2012
    9
    I have to admit I am honestly and totally suprised by this game. For the longest time I couldn't buy it for 2 reasons...the first beingI have to admit I am honestly and totally suprised by this game. For the longest time I couldn't buy it for 2 reasons...the first being money..and the second I had to wait for it to go on sale again. And after playing it and beating I have to say, this game is effin awesome.
    I know nothing about the Darkness universe. But, something about the story of the game. I will just say this much about it without spoiling anything. If you have ever truly ever loved a woman before, you will definitely be to relate to it. So let's get to the review shall we-
    Story-I thought the story was awesome. Graphics-Amazing. while I must admit there was some slight issues with screen tearing and vertical sync. Other wise then that it was amazing and It was only on medium. It was kinda Borderlands esque textures if you catch my drift. Awesome
    Voice acting-Awesome.
    Game play-Awesome. The controls do take some getting used to. I used a 360 controller mind you and i just had to get the hang of using both the guns and the powers.
    I can't really think of compaints other then the vsync issue and I can't be sure if that was the game or if that was my system. I will be fair and give this game a 9.0 Definitely get it. Is it worth 50 bucks? I got it when it was on sale so, try and get it on sale and if you can't then if you can afford the 50 bucks go for that baby. Good luck and good gaming
    Expand
  4. Jun 22, 2016
    8
    2/13/2012: It had been a long time since I'd played the first Darkness, so I was surprised when I heard a sequel was coming. As someone with2/13/2012: It had been a long time since I'd played the first Darkness, so I was surprised when I heard a sequel was coming. As someone with no experience in the comic book that inspired the series, I feel like I got a pretty good introduction in the first game. I think the developers knew that, because Darkness II builds wonderfully on that foundation and covers several comic elements that the first game did not, such as the Darkness itself's opposite number, the Angelus. The campaign belongs to a breed of story-driven, cinematic shooter that I have always loved, and indeed does a good job of making you feel terrifyingly powerful while still challenging you to fight creatively. And when that's over, you have an excellent co-op mode with a group of four entertaining characters, each with their own distinct Dark weapon. Especially endearing to me is the psychopathic, perpetually drunk Scotsman Jimmy Wilson, armed with his foe-cleaving Dark Axe that he can throw and summon back to him at will. Expand
  5. Mar 3, 2012
    8
    Darkness 2 is a good game, but it has some flaws.
    Firstly, the graphics are good but, sometimes the "light effect" can ruin it. It simply is
    Darkness 2 is a good game, but it has some flaws.
    Firstly, the graphics are good but, sometimes the "light effect" can ruin it. It simply is there to distract you.
    Secondly, the little minion or whatever was it's name is BRITISH. Why would you ever make a dark ugly monster british. It ruins the feel a bit.
    Thirdly, there is no replay ability, well maybe the multiplayer, but the story hasn't got it.
    Also the boss fights were too easy.
    About the multiplayer, you really aren't going to stick around long with it cause it hasn't much to offer.
    Now on the other hand, the game is brutally awesome.
    The death scenes are original and gory.
    Story has some original ideas and I loved the voice acting.
    Controls are perfect and the gunplay is fast and brutal.
    Music just fits in there and the sound effects are pretty good too.
    So if you are looking something original, not some typical Call of Duty or Battlefield, this game is just made for you then.
    Beware, if you hate gore, skip this title
    Expand
  6. Feb 10, 2012
    7
    This game is one of the most unique games out there that you can find. Yes, It's not only unique for an FPS but unique as a game. The FOVThis game is one of the most unique games out there that you can find. Yes, It's not only unique for an FPS but unique as a game. The FOV problem that we've heard so much about never bothered me, but it can still be a hindrance for others. Although the game is very solid playing on the PC, It still feels a bit more like a port from a console than a full PC game. The Vendettas Co-Op mode seems like a last minute decision in order to cover the lost for the short main campaign, but it is still is a fun experience. Hopefully, Digital Extreme will make a patch and fix the problems. Expand
  7. Jul 23, 2013
    0
    the darkness 2 is a great shooter which brings new ideas. the games gameplay is just awesome and unique!!! theres total chaos and its justthe darkness 2 is a great shooter which brings new ideas. the games gameplay is just awesome and unique!!! theres total chaos and its just super fun. the darkness (your powers) are also just awesome. the story is great and interesting, and serves a great motive, but both of the endings are just annoying. the skill trees are also pretty good, and the illusions are great. voice acting is also great. the game does have few problems. its a bit buggy, and theres texture pop-in. i also found the artstyle good, but it just doesnt fit the seriousness of the game. the game is also a bit short, clocking in 5.5 hours (theres also co-op but still this is pretty short).
    overall a great game!!!!!! if your looking for story and gameplay you should buy this!!! if your looking for a different kind of shooter you should definetly buy this!!!!!! just beware that the game is short and that the endings are disappointing. buy this its awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Expand

See all 85 User Reviews