Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 321 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Inspired by the comic book series, The Darkness II is a first-person shooter that thrusts you into the role of Jackie Estacado, don of a New York crime family and wielder of an ancient chaotic force known as The Darkness. It has been 2 years since Jackie used his power to kill the guys responsible for his girlfriend’s murder. He has been unable to free himself of the memory of Jenny’s death since bottling up The Darkness and now it wants out. A botched attempt to end Jackie’s life opens the door for The Darkness to reemerge and sets Jackie on a brutal journey as he unravels the mystery behind the attack and the motives of The Darkness. [2K Games] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. Feb 21, 2012
    88
    The Darkness 2 is a top quality arcade fps. The artistic component is simply delicious and is currently the best cell shading technique we've seen so far. A good longevity, an adult and engaging storyline and an excellent soundtrack make this title shine in this early 2012.
  2. Feb 8, 2012
    85
    The only aspect of The Darkness 2 which doesn't carry a balancing good/bad caveat are the graphics, which are irrefutably extraordinary.
  3. Feb 7, 2012
    80
    A dark, violent comic book given light and heart. a ripping yarn that tears along as fast as you can tear through bodies.
  4. Apr 22, 2012
    80
    The Darkness II is a decent shooter, but there is nothing in it that is amazing; it's respectable but mostly predictable.
  5. Feb 27, 2012
    75
    The Darkness II is a series of wasted potential. Where it has a great story, it fails in narration. Where it has one of the most amazing gameplay, it fails by being repetitive. Where it manages to give the co-op a nice flavor, it fails with its half-baked execution.
  6. 75
    The Darkness II is indeed short, but it does achieve part of its goals: a few fun hours for a rainy spring afternoon, with some interesting characters, a dark story and, most of all, two demonic arms always hungry for beating hearts.
  7. Mar 13, 2012
    60
    Exhilarating in its opening sequence, The Darkness 2 quickly loses steam and turns into a 5-hour run through a long corridor.

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 56 out of 67
  2. Negative: 6 out of 67
  1. Feb 8, 2012
    10
    The Darkness II
    Beatiful story, graphics are kinda okay, I liked the previous one more, but it fits to the game.
    It's really bloody which I
    like and violent, yumee, yumee. Expand
  2. Jul 17, 2012
    10
    Very good game! The story is great and the storytelling is even better! I simply love the concept of the Darkness! It reminds me somehow of Darksiders (another great game).

    All of the mind shifts that your character is going through makes you wander what's real and whats not (in the world of the game ofc.)

    The game itself is for me mix of Max Payne and Darksiders! I highly recommend!
    Expand
  3. Jan 19, 2014
    9
    Игра обдуленная люди старались, выпустить нормальную игру, а не какая то сони блядь, написала скрипты к half-life!!!!
  4. Aug 26, 2012
    8
    Good story, cute graphics and good gameplay. That are 3 words to describe Darkness II. Texture quality looks little low which is probably because of console port, but in that GFX style not too important. Most of people complain that game is specially short which is not quite true. Game IS short, bu a lot of games today is, so nothing strange about that.
    But as game is short you should probably wait for some discount and buy then. Not worth 50 euro.
    Expand
  5. Feb 15, 2012
    8
    The graphics are alot of fun to look at a tad cartoony but not to much that it is a bad thing. There is alot of gore that fuells all the gore people. Does not matter if you like to shoot stuff up or like to rip them open and they their guts out of their bodies. It is alot of fun, the only thing is that it sometimes is quiet hard to use your tentacles, other than that part it is a great game. Expand
  6. Feb 25, 2012
    8
    Great sequel to one of of my favorite games of all time. The story is bar none of the best i have seen this year in any medium and i love the stylised graphics. Voicework was great and even the darkling becomes likeable. The only problem for me was it's length. Why did they tack on a vendetta mode instead of fleshing out the story another 4-5 hours?? Doesn't make sense. That aside it was one of the best games this year. Expand
  7. Feb 13, 2012
    0
    Story is ok but a bit corny and the gameplay is pretty good, however this game is a terrible buy if you pay full price. It looks positively ancient with textures that would even give Xbox owners cause for complaint. The graphics style is nice and the cutscenes are pretty well scripted but like many designed for console games, the cutscenes are a high point of the game. This is one of the shortest games I have ever played and I was trying to string it out a bit. Very disappointing as it had some components of a really good game. The field of view was mindblowing. Like looking through a spyhole the whole time. Made this game almost unplayable on its own.

    If your a developer, make careful note of the people in the development team for this game, and ensure they have absolutely no career path if you want to continue selling product.
    Expand

See all 67 User Reviews