Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 357 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Inspired by the comic book series, The Darkness II is a first-person shooter that thrusts you into the role of Jackie Estacado, don of a New York crime family and wielder of an ancient chaotic force known as The Darkness. It has been 2 years since Jackie used his power to kill the guys responsible for his girlfriend’s murder. He has been unable to free himself of the memory of Jenny’s death since bottling up The Darkness and now it wants out. A botched attempt to end Jackie’s life opens the door for The Darkness to reemerge and sets Jackie on a brutal journey as he unravels the mystery behind the attack and the motives of The Darkness. [2K Games] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. Feb 21, 2012
    88
    The Darkness 2 is a top quality arcade fps. The artistic component is simply delicious and is currently the best cell shading technique we've seen so far. A good longevity, an adult and engaging storyline and an excellent soundtrack make this title shine in this early 2012.
  2. Feb 8, 2012
    85
    The only aspect of The Darkness 2 which doesn't carry a balancing good/bad caveat are the graphics, which are irrefutably extraordinary.
  3. Feb 7, 2012
    80
    A dark, violent comic book given light and heart. a ripping yarn that tears along as fast as you can tear through bodies.
  4. Apr 22, 2012
    80
    The Darkness II is a decent shooter, but there is nothing in it that is amazing; it's respectable but mostly predictable.
  5. Feb 27, 2012
    75
    The Darkness II is a series of wasted potential. Where it has a great story, it fails in narration. Where it has one of the most amazing gameplay, it fails by being repetitive. Where it manages to give the co-op a nice flavor, it fails with its half-baked execution.
  6. 75
    The Darkness II is indeed short, but it does achieve part of its goals: a few fun hours for a rainy spring afternoon, with some interesting characters, a dark story and, most of all, two demonic arms always hungry for beating hearts.
  7. Mar 13, 2012
    60
    Exhilarating in its opening sequence, The Darkness 2 quickly loses steam and turns into a 5-hour run through a long corridor.

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 59 out of 73
  2. Negative: 7 out of 73
  1. Feb 8, 2012
    10
    The Darkness II
    Beatiful story, graphics are kinda okay, I liked the previous one more, but it fits to the game.
    It's really bloody which I
    like and violent, yumee, yumee. Expand
  2. Jul 17, 2012
    10
    Very good game! The story is great and the storytelling is even better! I simply love the concept of the Darkness! It reminds me somehow of Darksiders (another great game).

    All of the mind shifts that your character is going through makes you wander what's real and whats not (in the world of the game ofc.)

    The game itself is for me mix of Max Payne and Darksiders! I highly recommend!
    Expand
  3. Feb 16, 2014
    9
    Beautiful graphics, good story and voice acting, interesting characters, fast paced and funny for all its length. Can be kind of short if you just rush through the stages and don't take your time exploring or talking with the other characters, which you should, 'cause it yields to some real gems. Expand
  4. Feb 11, 2012
    8
    Okay the one point I have to make before I start: if you dont have alot of money and want to pick a game based on content amount, PICK SOMETHING ELSE. This game takes roughly 6 hours to beat, and I played on a hard difficulty and meandered around exploring often. The price is 1.5 of the 2 points I dint give this game, the content is just so lacking that I cant rate it very high. What content there is, is good however. Also as one negative reviewer mentioned, FOV is a slight problem, but its not noticeable for the majority of the gameplay, just in dialogue scenes. If you have the money and want it, buy it, if your pinching pennies, wait for a sale. Expand
  5. Jul 23, 2013
    8
    the darkness 2 is a great shooter which brings new ideas. the games gameplay is just awesome and unique!!! theres total chaos and its just super fun. the darkness (your powers) are also just awesome. the story is great and interesting, and serves a great motive, but both of the endings are just annoying. the skill trees are also pretty good, and the illusions are great. voice acting is also great. the game does have few problems. its a bit buggy, and theres texture pop-in. i also found the artstyle good, but it just doesnt fit the seriousness of the game. the game is also a bit short, clocking in 5.5 hours (theres also co-op but still this is pretty short).
    overall a great game!!!!!! if your looking for story and gameplay you should buy this!!! if your looking for a different kind of shooter you should definetly buy this!!!!!! just beware that the game is short and that the endings are disappointing. buy this its awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Expand
  6. Feb 10, 2012
    7
    This game is one of the most unique games out there that you can find. Yes, It's not only unique for an FPS but unique as a game. The FOV problem that we've heard so much about never bothered me, but it can still be a hindrance for others. Although the game is very solid playing on the PC, It still feels a bit more like a port from a console than a full PC game. The Vendettas Co-Op mode seems like a last minute decision in order to cover the lost for the short main campaign, but it is still is a fun experience. Hopefully, Digital Extreme will make a patch and fix the problems. Expand
  7. Feb 13, 2012
    0
    Story is ok but a bit corny and the gameplay is pretty good, however this game is a terrible buy if you pay full price. It looks positively ancient with textures that would even give Xbox owners cause for complaint. The graphics style is nice and the cutscenes are pretty well scripted but like many designed for console games, the cutscenes are a high point of the game. This is one of the shortest games I have ever played and I was trying to string it out a bit. Very disappointing as it had some components of a really good game. The field of view was mindblowing. Like looking through a spyhole the whole time. Made this game almost unplayable on its own.

    If your a developer, make careful note of the people in the development team for this game, and ensure they have absolutely no career path if you want to continue selling product.
    Expand

See all 73 User Reviews