The Dream Machine PC

Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Aug 28, 2013
    95
    I played dozens of point’n’click games over the years and The Dream Machine might be the best of them all. [CD-Action 10/2013, p.68]
  2. Sep 24, 2013
    87
    Thoughtful in execution, The Dream Machine avoids falling for clichéd pitfalls oft seen in point-and-clicks.
  3. Nov 20, 2014
    86
    With a very satisfyingly long runtime, excellent, challenging puzzles designed for hardcore adventure game players and it's inimitable mood, atmosphere and graphic presentation, the Dream Machine is only held back from "instant classic" status by it's lack of recorded voice-overs. Everything else in this surreal odyssey of the mind is simply top notch and guaranteed to find a place in the hearts of true adventure gamers everywhere.
  4. 84
    Unfortunately, point-and-click games don't lend themselves to replayability. The time you spend with The Dream Machine, though, will be immensely enjoyable.
  5. Jun 18, 2012
    80
    A mysterious adventure that creeps under you skin, thus makes you comfortable, and finally catch you off guard to bring you deeper in the invisible place where all dreams are tailored.
  6. May 25, 2012
    80
    The Dream Machine has it's hook in my mouth, and I'm really excited to see the dreamscapes that are conjured up in the next two chapters.
  7. Feb 22, 2011
    80
    The Dream Machine is probably the best browser game we've played, and lives up to all expectations one might have of a modern adventure game.
  8. Feb 22, 2011
    75
    It's a game, then, that so far stops just short of being excellent.
User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 28 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Aug 15, 2012
    9
    [The Dream Machine: Episodes 1 to 3 on Steam / PC] This is a real Gem. A point and click mystery adventure the way it needs to be done. I love[The Dream Machine: Episodes 1 to 3 on Steam / PC] This is a real Gem. A point and click mystery adventure the way it needs to be done. I love games that force you to stop, think and get into the developer Full Review »
  2. May 25, 2012
    9
    In the vast market of indie games, occasionally you'll find a gem of a game that stands out from other games which you'll remember for yearsIn the vast market of indie games, occasionally you'll find a gem of a game that stands out from other games which you'll remember for years to come. The Dream Machine is one such game, it utilizes it's unique art style of clay and cardboard, blended together with a rich story, simple controls, and challenging puzzles to create a great, but slightly short game as far as chapters 1-3 go. If you enjoy point and click adventure games and got 15 bucks to spend, then I would say it's well worth it. Full Review »
  3. Mar 9, 2015
    8
    As with many of the games in my Steam catalog, I got this one in a bundle. Not being a huge fan of 'point and click' games I decided to giveAs with many of the games in my Steam catalog, I got this one in a bundle. Not being a huge fan of 'point and click' games I decided to give 'Dream Machine' and chance one rainy afternoon when I was bored with the usual third or first person shooters, and was pleasantly surprised with my discovery. For starters, the artistic direction that was chosen for this game suits the tone of the story perfectly and does nothing but add to the overall creepiness factor of the characters and the setting. The game is also pretty challenging at times and really makes you think. I almost felt like a detective while playing. I also found it refreshing that the game was broken up into several different chapters, each entirely different than the one that preceded it. Overall, the stories here are pretty interesting for a few hours, and for five dollars I can recommend 'Dream Machine' to those who are at this page right now, interested in this game, considering a new addition to their Steam catalog. Full Review »