User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 53 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 49 out of 53
  2. Negative: 1 out of 53

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 27, 2010
    8
    Daggerfall is a great game. Though seriously dated by today's standards... it was a huge leap forward in free-roaming RPGs when it was released. Of course it was realeased with a huge amount of bugs as well.

    It looked great when it came out... and it was absolutely huge. After being patched (though never completely fixed) it was a great game. You can play through the story (which is
    fairly good) or you can just wander around and do what you want. This is an older game, so getting it to run on new hardware/software may be daunting unless you know what you're doing. But if you can take off your "graphics-goggles" and take your time... Daggerfall is a game worht playing. There are still people playing this game to this day... and you could literally play it for years and not see everything. Expand
  2. Aug 13, 2012
    10
    Daggerfall is one of the greatest RPG's ever made. The amount of content, things to do, quality of content, and story were all overwhelming and memorable. The game's explorable land is actually twice the size of Great Britain, making it the largest, non-generated, landmass of any game of all time. It takes two real world weeks to walk form one side of the map to the other. That is pretty damn big. With multiple way to go through the main story, Daggerfall was truly built around the players wishes. As a roleplaying game, this was when PC gaming was at its greatest, with Daggerfall as a flagship game for this genre. Class creation and role playing as a character is amazing in the game. In my opinion, in comparison to modern games, the combat is pretty bad. But This is one of the most influential and amazing games of all time. Expand
  3. May 1, 2013
    10
    It is like god of RPG went down to the developers and gave them the knowledge of a perfect RPG. Leveling, lots of awesome characters skills, deep lore, ability to buy any building, naked women, great story and so on. All this things, that recently appeared in modern games. And then developers tried to put all this knowledge into one big game... That were are all the problems started. You can't make a perfect RPG with mortal hands. :)
    Still, 10 out of 10, because its great and worth every hour of playing.
    Expand
  4. Aug 31, 2012
    10
    Elder Scrolls II: Daggerfall: This game was released in 1996 and deservingly won a Game of the Year Award. This game was my favourite game of all time until Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim came out and replaced it as my favourite. This game was a very ambitious attempt to create a massive interactive realistic RPG world where your actions would have consequences in the game. How you chose to talk to someone would change how they respond to you. Talk rude to a noble person they would not like you, talk noble to a rogue like character they wouldn't like you either, get it right and they would like you. If you went around murdering every innocent NPC you came across then the assassin's guild would try to recruit you. Pick pocket a lot of people then the thieves guild would try to recruit you, etc. You had to be careful what you did. If you joined the mages guild you were not supposed to kill or steal so if they found out you also joined the thives guild and/or assassin's guild you could get kicked out so your actions had real consequences. Also, if you murdered a lot of people in a town you could be arrested or if the town really didn't like you the guards would just try to kill you as soon as they saw you. If you got bit by a werewolf or a vampire you might turn into one permanently. The dungeons were so huge that you could get lost in them for days. The direction your rolled your computer mouse determined how you slashed your sword against your enemy. The questing in the game was pretty much free form, you talked to people in towns and they asked you to do stuff for them. many quests were exciting, you would do stuff like get and item out of the end of a dungeons, rescue hostages, do an assassination, etc. This was the days before MMOs and there lame go here and pick 10 flowers kinds of quests lol. You got better at the skills you used. If you swam a lot you became a good swimmer. If you used a sword a lot you became an expert at using a sword, etc. You could create your own spells and enchantments. When creating a character you could 1) pick a class, 2) answer a bunch of questions and have the game pick the class that matched your personality best or 3) create a completely custom character where you choose all of the stats and abilities yourself. Now this game has really bad graphics by today's standards (it was written for DOS since it was released prior to Windows 95) and it was the buggyist game I have ever played (you had to cheat with the console to complete some of the quests sometimes), but for its time this game was so ambitious and ahead of its time I have to give it a 10/10. Expand
  5. May 4, 2013
    9
    I'm a huge fan of the TES games, but I really do believe this to be one of Bethesda's best, and one of the best RPGs ever made, just a few steps behind games such as the Baldur's Gate Saga, Torment, and Diablo II. Sure, it's an old game, with mediocre graphics, but the variety of game play options is just astounding. You can be a noble knight, a grave-robbing criminal, or pretty much anything you want to be. The game world is so extremely large, it will boggle your mind. The ONLY reason I didn't rate this a perfect 10, is because there is no third person view option, (something I enjoy in RPGs), but it's not that big of a deal, especially for such a fantastic game. Furthermore, unlike the last three TES games, this one actually has an ending. I like that in an RPG. So, the replay value is extremely high. The biggest problem with Daggerfall is it's HARD, and is one of the reasons I quit playing a few times, but I always go back to it eventually. Awesome game which no RPG fan should miss. Expand
  6. Jun 3, 2014
    10
    I got the anthology elder scrolls set and thought it would be fun to play this old, dated awful looking game! i started playing just to poke fun at the graphics and laugh at how cheap the music sounded. There were a lot of glitches and saving problems until i downloaded the DOS 32 a file but still had a couple of issues of the game. But somehow i just could not leave this game alone, the sneering stopped and i started to fall in love with this game. I am currently well over 100 hours in this world and have to say that this game has captured my imagination more than any of the other games in the elder scrolls anthology!! it's a shame there are so many glitches and saving errors still but what bethesda game doesn't? you sort of get used to this by playing bethesda games, excellent games but glitches galore, i hope that they work this out in the future but i doubt it. they will charge you for a game that might not finish and then charge you again for the add on that will fix the problem. But i cant keep away as these games are just fantastic. Expand
  7. Jun 20, 2014
    9
    This game is ridiculously fun and immersive except for ONE big flaw: the dungeons are HUGE and there's no in-game guidance to help you explore them. If they were a bit smaller, or had less arbitrary paths that led to nothing, or had some help that pointed you toward your objective, then this game is easily a 10. It's just a drag when you want to do a small side-quest that involves going into a dungeon, and it ends up taking an hour because there are so many pathways and you have to wander aimlessly until you find what you're looking for. Expand
  8. Oct 2, 2014
    7
    Pros: Biggest and most realistic in scale fantasy game world I've ever seen; fun first-person combat; great roleplaying mechanics; keeps things unpredictable and fresh; the dungeons were always terrifying and ominous to go into; very deep gameplay, mechanics and story.

    Cons: Bad graphics by modern standards; some of the music is annoying; hard to figure out controls; steep learning
    curve.

    Score Breakdown: Horror 10/10, Loading Screens and Frame Rate 9/10, Plot Development 9/10, Gameplay 8/10, Replay Value 8/10, Background Story 8/10, Voice Acting 8/10, Game Stability 7/10, Realism 7/10, Sound Effects and Music 3/10, Graphics 3/10, Total Score 7.3/10

    Conclusion: A good game if you can get past the obsolete graphics, sometimes annoying music, the controls and the steep learning curve. This is a much better game than Bethesda's modern offerings, despite the bad graphics in this old game. Bethesda should take notes of what they've forgotten from here instead of trying to disguise worse games in fancy graphics.
    Expand
  9. Oct 7, 2014
    9
    Closest experience I've had that's between reading and playing... Get this game, it's free, what can you lose? Never seen a game so huge and immersive... Bugs can kill your saves though, therefor ruining the entire game, but it's something we are willing to take for the experience of living in another world, that's literally the size of Great Britain.

There are no critic reviews yet.