User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 119 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 7 out of 119
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 25, 2013
    10
    This was my favorite game until the Witcher 2 came out in 2011. And for the most part, Morrowind has the best gameplay I’ve ever experienced in the video game. But unfortunately, not everyone will agree with me. This is because Morrowind has very complicated gameplay mechanics. It’s basically a small step simpler than a pen-and-paper RPG. Skyrim may have been dumbed down a little toThis was my favorite game until the Witcher 2 came out in 2011. And for the most part, Morrowind has the best gameplay I’ve ever experienced in the video game. But unfortunately, not everyone will agree with me. This is because Morrowind has very complicated gameplay mechanics. It’s basically a small step simpler than a pen-and-paper RPG. Skyrim may have been dumbed down a little to attract a wider audience, but that was done flawlessly and appealed to everyone. I, however, miss the old features that were cut out from the franchise, like the Mysticism school of magic, or the large variety of combat skills, like Spears and Hand-to-Hand. I enjoyed planning out which skills to improve before I level up and maximize my attribute multipliers. The story about the Nerevarine Prophesy and how the blight pandemic was swallowing the Morrowind province whole was compelling and sensationally narrated. I often found myself lost reading about Morrowind’s history. The game had more factions than there were in New Vegas, and the rivalries between these factions add more excitement to the game. And finally, Morrowind’s DLCs are magnificent and are perhaps the best expansions I’ve played in a video game. I’ve clocked hundreds and hundreds of hours into my Xbox version of Morrowind, and the modding community fixes and enhances the PC version for an even better experience. An Elder Scrolls fan must pick this up immediately, but any RPG fan should direct their attention to my personal game of the decade. Expand
  2. May 31, 2011
    10
    tubie pretty much summed it up below however, id like further say that this is a game that many true gamers believed defined this genre of gaming. people still play this game and even modding is still popular if not more so than its descendant oblivion. it is the most complex sotryline ive eva experienced - racism, sexism, assassination, politics, blood, religion, power, money andtubie pretty much summed it up below however, id like further say that this is a game that many true gamers believed defined this genre of gaming. people still play this game and even modding is still popular if not more so than its descendant oblivion. it is the most complex sotryline ive eva experienced - racism, sexism, assassination, politics, blood, religion, power, money and everything else in between. no game can claim to have such complexity to it none cant rate it higher Expand
  3. Aug 5, 2013
    10
    My favorite game in the TES series, the atmosphere, the lore, the quest design are all fantastic. This is definitely a contender for my favorite RPG of all time.

    Also I recommend getting the graphics and sound overhaul, adds a lot of nice updated textures and sounds.
  4. Oct 9, 2012
    10
    I cannot say enough good things about this game. I have a lot of friends who do not like this game because it lacks the arrows telling them where to go. Zomg, you have to read books, listen to dialogue, and in some cases search for hours for a particular cave that has a skull in it (early mages guild quest), and omg I love the suspense, the horror, the tragedy, the dwemer ruins, theI cannot say enough good things about this game. I have a lot of friends who do not like this game because it lacks the arrows telling them where to go. Zomg, you have to read books, listen to dialogue, and in some cases search for hours for a particular cave that has a skull in it (early mages guild quest), and omg I love the suspense, the horror, the tragedy, the dwemer ruins, the foreboding deadric ruins, insert everything MINUS Cliffracers. Thank you St. Juib for killing them. Of course, the whole Ministry of Truth falling into Vivec causing Red Mountain to explode, etc etc probably wiped out everything living. I cannot say enough except you haven't lived unless you have played this game and it's two expansions. Skryim may be beautiful, but this game is without comparison. Is there a positive infinity option for score?? I must have put 2,000 hours into this game, and that doesn't include the time I spent modding the game making houses for myself. Expand
  5. May 13, 2013
    10
    I've played and modded this game since it was released and I'm sure many disagree, but I believe TES III: Morrowind to be the best in the series thus far. The story line is just amazing and keeps you hooked from beginning to end. Sure, the combat system is a little dull and clunky, but there's mods to fix that and many other things. Many people have complained about the npcs just standingI've played and modded this game since it was released and I'm sure many disagree, but I believe TES III: Morrowind to be the best in the series thus far. The story line is just amazing and keeps you hooked from beginning to end. Sure, the combat system is a little dull and clunky, but there's mods to fix that and many other things. Many people have complained about the npcs just standing around doing nothing, as with Oblivion they run on a schedule. Well, a mod called, "Living Cities of Vvardenfell fixes that." Actually, with the right mods running, Morrowind can look and play better than Oblivion any day. And the factions are great, the side quests are all fun. In Oblivion, you don't even need to run out and find your quest target; they tell you where it's at! Not in Morrowind. With most quests, they give you a hint (if you're lucky) and it's your job to find the place, person, etc., which could take days or weeks mind you and that to me is fun and exciting. See, with Oblivion's fast travel system to most quests, it took the fun out of exploration and discovery. This is what I absolutely love about Morrowind. You just never know what might happen, what you might run into, or how long it may take you to complete your goal. It's just fantastic. Also, as I mentioned in my Oblivion review, the npcs in Morrowind are so colorful and alive. They talk about everything and comment on just about everything, from the weather, a disease you may have contracted, or if your character decided to wear his/her birthday suit out that day. They even shoot off random comments and crack jokes out of the blue. First time I visited Solstheim and heard an Imperial guard making a joke about the cold, no sun, and ugly women, I nearly fell off my chair I was laughing so hard. I've nothing negative to say about this game. 10/10. Expand
  6. Oct 23, 2010
    10
    An amazing version of this game bringing together so much content it's kind of ridiculous. I still play this game to this age and have content left to do.
  7. Jul 13, 2011
    10
    This game is bloody amazing. I wish everyone would try this game at one point, as this is the richest RPG you're ever going to play. I wouldn't even call it a game anymore, it breathes on it's own.
  8. Sep 4, 2012
    10
    Utterly amazing, Bethesda managed to create a world that is just familiar enough that you dont feel uneasy, but alien enough that you are driven to explore, and will never know what you will find next. Coupled with lengthy quest lines and a very large number of side quests, you will never lack for something to do. The two expansions add significant content, to keep you busy for many manyUtterly amazing, Bethesda managed to create a world that is just familiar enough that you dont feel uneasy, but alien enough that you are driven to explore, and will never know what you will find next. Coupled with lengthy quest lines and a very large number of side quests, you will never lack for something to do. The two expansions add significant content, to keep you busy for many many more hours. Expand
  9. Feb 6, 2015
    8
    The ultimate Elder Scrolls accomplishment, even if it's severely lacking in gameplay mechanics. On the other hand - I don't recall an open-world role play game that doesn't let you break your character into some kind of demi-god status.
    It's a benchmark title for the series because of the perfect world writing and design. The fact it's a real open-world game that doesn't hold your hand on
    The ultimate Elder Scrolls accomplishment, even if it's severely lacking in gameplay mechanics. On the other hand - I don't recall an open-world role play game that doesn't let you break your character into some kind of demi-god status.
    It's a benchmark title for the series because of the perfect world writing and design. The fact it's a real open-world game that doesn't hold your hand on every step you make. It doesn't shovel cool stuff down your throat like Skyrim does. There's no "HEY WANNA SOME DAEDRA LORD QUESTS? KILL SOME VAMPIRES I MARKED ON THE MAP" dog quest giving just outside the character creation sequence. The game is small scaled by today's standards, but the epicness of the story line, the feel of a living world despite having wood-stiff NPCs, is unmatched. Hell, it's the only game that even a soundtrack subtlety tells the story. The reason why main tracks in Oblivion and Skyrim failed miserably trying to copy-paste it. The moment you get to know the reason of all the mess in Vvardenfell and listen to the main track doesn't have its equivalents in sequels, where antagonist reveals in the first seconds/minutes of the gameplay in a cheesy way. A demon wants to destroy the world! A dragon wants to destroy the worlds! It shoots fire! Guards, what do you see?
    Who are you? I am your emperor, random prisoner. Now, take my amulet on which the world's fate depends and take it somewhere. Oh, is that what emperor told you, random prisoner? And he died just after I left him with you? Well, seems legit. Take it and go, I will stay in the sewer. I'm the member of the secred guild protecting the empire. I will happily assign this the most important mission ever to some random prisoner I met few minutes ago and was the only man next to the emperor when he died.
    Yeah. Epic.

    Morrowind is also the most stable production in the series. Also it's taken seriously by the community. The lack of porn mods proves it. Now count nude, horse dicks, bdsm, anime bs mods to Oblivion and Skyrim.
    Expand
  10. Jul 19, 2011
    10
    A game with a ridiculous amount of content just got even more. The GOTY version of Morrowind allows players to travel to the capital city of Mournhold and the island of Solstheim. Combine this with the huge, open world of the original game and you have a game that will keep you busy for weeks. Character classes and skills are diverse, there are different factions and countless missions toA game with a ridiculous amount of content just got even more. The GOTY version of Morrowind allows players to travel to the capital city of Mournhold and the island of Solstheim. Combine this with the huge, open world of the original game and you have a game that will keep you busy for weeks. Character classes and skills are diverse, there are different factions and countless missions to undertake, and tons of items to collect and sell. The only downside of this game is its lackluster combat but i feel compelled to give it a 10 regardless, as it is an enthralling and infinitely replayable game. Expand
  11. Sep 18, 2013
    10
    AMAZING ON PC, they added the new improved journal system, and with the expansions and Patches, its literally has no bugs
    amazing story that rivals that of the successors to the franchise.
    great voice acting
    a pure RPG game, the combat is a little unbalanced, but its because the game adds into effect your attributes and your luck, and your skill with your current weapon.
  12. Jul 10, 2011
    10
    The game that I keep replaying ever now and then. And the best part is that there is still an enormous amount that I haven't seen/played in this game in five play-troughs. It is a must-have-played title.
  13. Sep 8, 2011
    10
    you thought Deus Ex was too long a game? Ha - don't even touch this one then; despite putting around 100 hrs into this game i never finished it; not for diminishing fun - real life simply wanted its share of time at some point; perhaps wasn't the best of games to be my first ever full RPG (as opposed to games that have RPG aspects such as System Shock etc) - simply because it sets the baryou thought Deus Ex was too long a game? Ha - don't even touch this one then; despite putting around 100 hrs into this game i never finished it; not for diminishing fun - real life simply wanted its share of time at some point; perhaps wasn't the best of games to be my first ever full RPG (as opposed to games that have RPG aspects such as System Shock etc) - simply because it sets the bar so incredibly high! what i actually liked about the game is how in the very beginning i was clueless on what to do and especially on how to heal! because later on that actually gave me the feeling (after i figured out what to do and obtained ways to regenerate health) of having become a part of the world of Morrowind - talk about immersion! reagarding the expansions: tribunal was OK (i like the outdoors setting of Morrowind much better than the city setting of Tribunal), but i loved bloodmoon because of its gorgeous winter setting and new gameplay elements; one interesting hint/warning: if you ever decide to give the king in Tribunal what he had coming to him then try to save that for the end of the game or at least do not take and use his enchanted item - that's when i stopped playing the game simply because there would not have been any point to it anymore (just to clarify a little: this action does not break the game, but rather the item is simply too powerful and if you have most of the story still ahead of you using it would simply ruin the fun); one thing that really bothers me about this game and others (fallout) is the lack of voice recordings - especially in this game there is TONS of conversation material but yet it's all just reading; the reason i don't take off points for that is because i realize that the huge amount of voice acting and recording this would require would be prohibitively expensive; the other con would perhaps be that this game simply isn't worth playing if you don't have a lot of time to play - you simply won't be able to get your character developed or any appreciable amount of the main and side quests done Expand
  14. Dec 24, 2012
    10
    The Elder Scrolls series has always been known for its size, depth and story and Morrowind is no stranger to this. While not as large as Daggerfall, Morrowind makes up for it by having an engaging and deep story that keeps you entertained long after it has ended. Morrowind puts you in the roll of a Prisoner as they reach Seyda Neen and attempt to start their new life. You are given a blankThe Elder Scrolls series has always been known for its size, depth and story and Morrowind is no stranger to this. While not as large as Daggerfall, Morrowind makes up for it by having an engaging and deep story that keeps you entertained long after it has ended. Morrowind puts you in the roll of a Prisoner as they reach Seyda Neen and attempt to start their new life. You are given a blank slate; a way to reforge your new life whether it's a murderous assassin or honorable paladin, the only limited parts to Morrowind is your imagination. Morrowind isn't like typical RPGs where you pick a role and are limited based on that role (Fighter, Cleric, etc). Morrowind allows you the freedom to be whatever you wish. During is time, Morrowind pushed even the most powerful hardware and to this day looks alien and mysterious. Morrowind continues to live on through the efforts of talented modders and fans alike. It is my opinion that Morrowind catches all magic and depth of every Elder Scrolls title and is the best Elder Scrolls title yet. Expand
  15. Feb 12, 2014
    10
    A classic, still an excellent title to this day. Those used to Skyrim might find the learning curve a bit steep, but it you can overcome the retroness, this game is really tons of fun. Graphics are very impressive for their day, and the music is top notch, even by today's standards. Just like any other TES game, the multitude of different playstyles are really what make the game what it is.
  16. Aug 18, 2014
    9
    Bethesda's transition from randomly-generated sprite based graphical RPGs (Arena, Daggerfall) to fully 3D is successfully reflected in this superb, if venerable title.

    By today's standards, the games graphics and gameplay may seem a little "archaic", but don't let that perturb you. A marvelous adventure awaits you within. First I want to get across that the game demands time spent
    Bethesda's transition from randomly-generated sprite based graphical RPGs (Arena, Daggerfall) to fully 3D is successfully reflected in this superb, if venerable title.

    By today's standards, the games graphics and gameplay may seem a little "archaic", but don't let that perturb you. A marvelous adventure awaits you within.

    First I want to get across that the game demands time spent getting used to the game's "D&D" style combat system. There's no way around it. If you've spent hundreds of hours in Skyrim and are considering playing Morrowind, the change will be a jarring one. However you'll get used to it fairly quickly.

    The storyline of the game is well written and quite engaging, if a bit slow to start. (in my opinion, the story here is stronger than that in Oblivion)

    Most dialogue is text-based, so expect to spend a fair amount of time reading what NPCs have to say. Honestly it's a nice change from the now-ubiquitous voice acting that has become a standard in today's games. However, most NPCs do have some voiced lines, so it's not at all entirely silent.

    The world, Vvardenfell, being a subdivision of the Tamrielic province of Morrowind, is slightly smaller in total size than Skyrim, but there's a lot of space and (relative) diversity indoors that expands the experience and still makes exploration a real asset.

    Morrowind is not without its flaws though. For one, the combat system can occasionally frustrate the hell out of you. However this problem more or less becomes alleviated as you progress.

    Even by 2002's standards, many character models and objects in-game look dated.

    And finally, with the lack of a level scaling system, it's entirely possible to get a set of extremely powerful gear at level 1, which can either diminish the experience or enhance it... depending on what the player wants of the game. For me, getting overpowered gear at level 1 doesn't make for a very fun experience.

    All that said, the flaws are ultimately minor and don't do much to tarnish the experience you'll have as you play Morrowind.
    Expand
  17. Apr 13, 2016
    10
    I will be honest and say that when i first booted this game up half a year ago or so, i didnt like it. But then i decided that 30min-1 hr without really trying to learn how the stats system works wasnt enough. So i gave it another go with a clear mind and as of now i am totally hooked.

    the first thing people will ask how does it compare to skyrim and i say its better. I have 450 + hrs
    I will be honest and say that when i first booted this game up half a year ago or so, i didnt like it. But then i decided that 30min-1 hr without really trying to learn how the stats system works wasnt enough. So i gave it another go with a clear mind and as of now i am totally hooked.

    the first thing people will ask how does it compare to skyrim and i say its better. I have 450 + hrs on skyrim on ps3. And despite me playing this for less i still think this game is better and no this isnt a comparion between this and skyrim.

    The good:
    Story: I will begin with the story and is one of the best stories in an open-world game. One of the best main stories i have seen in a open world game second only to witcher 3 , but this game has a far better lore. The story touches upon drug use, gods, religion, racism , good and evil is always not as clear as it seems. As someone pointed out who is good guys here are you the good guy or are you helping some evil killing off the good , well is up to you to decide , but in this game it isnt clear who the villain really is.

    Quests: In this game compared to many games i have played i really feel like doing all the side quests, i feel i help the world in someway, makes it a better place. There are alot of different side quests, from assasination, getting something, clearing a tomb, steal something , persuade someone etc. The main quest is great and the side quests doesnt feel forced and you will probably on numerous times find out that you rather do the side quests then the main quests. Or like what happens to me alot i do a main quest then suddently i get to a new area were i get tons of new side quests, or some of the side quests i have can be completed in the area or close to it. Some of the best quests i have seen in a long time. As i said previously only Witcher 3 comes close.

    Atmosphere: The atmosphere is fantastic. Every city feels like unique, almost every place feels unique. The landscape , the world is huge and you really feel like you are there , also because of the music. When it comes to the places you visit you got the huge place called Vivec , small towns like Balamora and Peligrad, different forts, a huge mushroom that alot of shops and homes is in.

    You can walk from a huge town then you suddently finda a field with steam or you have come to a volcano. And the weather system needs to be mentioned too. It can go from bright daylight - to ash storms - to rainy nights.

    Music: The soundtrack is fantastic and really helps creating this fantastic world.

    Gameplay: Well lets starts with when you hit someone it use a dice based system and a variety of factors and it works. It will probably get smashed by today standards if developers did this in todays games, but if you get around the idea you will find a gameplay that is pretty great and still works al right today.

    The skill system is great, with major, minor and misc skills. Major and Minor skills levels up your overall level so you can have more strenght, luck , agilit etc Misc skills is just some skills that still will help you dont focus on them too much. Your skills depnds on the class.

    I will also like to add that the use journal and talk to the people to find the directions to a town or do a quest without any hand holding is great.

    You can enchant boots or a ring with levitate makes you levitate/ fly for as long as you want. You can make for some stupid reason that when you hit and enemy he will turn inviniclbe. You can enchant so you have more strength.

    The fast traveling in this game is pretty great, instead of what alot of todays game do that you simply click on a location you have visit previously and teleporting there for a magical reason you will in this game have to either use a mage guild, slit strider, use scrolls, boat or a mark and spot with a spell then teleport you to that spot again later.So yeah its old school but adds to the exploration.

    Cons:
    As of my update as i have played tribunal and almost completed it, at the later hrs i have encountered a lot more time falling trough the floor, inside buildings and so on, at the worst time i am stuck and have to teleport out.

    Score
    So for me i rate this a 9.8/10
    Skyrim if you wonder 9.4/10

    One of the best open world game i have played.

    N.B: When i wrote my fallout 2 review or the one for deus ex i had hard time imagining that i would fine a new game that i would enjoy this much on pc and this one did ( not going to be surprised if days of the tentacle, total war rome will be up there too,maybe the old gta`s too). Despite whatever flaws people find in this game i will still say is a masterpiece of a game.
    Expand
  18. Apr 12, 2015
    10
    Morrowind may be the greatest RPG ever created; it is not without its flaws, and requires dedication and patience to play, but it rewards that dedication like no other game.

    Morrowind is a game for explorers: set mostly on the island of Vvardenfell, it immerses you in perhaps the richest game world created to date, with kilometres of geography to explore from the claustrophobic swamps
    Morrowind may be the greatest RPG ever created; it is not without its flaws, and requires dedication and patience to play, but it rewards that dedication like no other game.

    Morrowind is a game for explorers: set mostly on the island of Vvardenfell, it immerses you in perhaps the richest game world created to date, with kilometres of geography to explore from the claustrophobic swamps of the Bitter Coast, to the sparkling beauty of the Ascadian Isles, to the harsh wastes of the Ashlands and much, much more. The lore of the world is equally rich, with a complex historical, political and cultural background that will take you hours and hours to fully understand, if you ever do. The best part is that this lore isn't just there for interest - it's directly relevant to both the main and the myriad 'side' quests, which are often just as immersive as the main quest, and constitute a full game in their own right.

    Vvardenfell is a harsh, unforgiving place. The native dark elves, or Dunmer, are a gravelly-voiced, proud and reserved people who by-and-large regard outlanders, such as yourself, with little more than disdain. That is, until you prove yourself to them. This is perhaps a reflection of the land they inhabit, a volcanic island infested with all sorts of nasty predator, and plagued by constant infighting between the great houses of the Dunmer, as well as countless other factions such as the Temple, the Empire, the Cammona Tong etc., most of which you can join. The history of the world is incredibly rich and original, and is tangled in the conflicting lies of those who wrote it - whose side you believe is up to your own interpretation. There are hundreds of books scattered throughout the game world to help you with this, but most of it is picked up in a sort of osmosis as you wander through the island, which is so alive with its own history, perhaps due to the rather backward-looking inhabitants.

    The gameplay is equally harsh and unforgiving. You are thrust into the world with vague directions to see a guy in Balmora, and no equipment but what you can beg, steal and eventually earn. You are not handheld, there is no levelling system, and stumbling into fights you can't win is a common feature of your early days. This imparts a sense of vulnerability that's lacking in later titles, and a sense that the world wasn't just created for you to beat - it's been there long before you arrived and will still be there long after you're gone. It feels like a real place. There's no fast travel and no quest markers - finding things in the world means listening carefully to instructions you're given by NPCs, and this makes questing feel like real exploration - frustrating and long-winded but full of surprises due to the rich game world. This is not a game you can sleepwalk through; for even the basic quests you need to be switched on.

    For players of Skyrim I'd liken TES:V to a trip to the zoo and Morrowind to a safari. Sure, it's more effort, and it's dangerous, and the lions aren't marked out with a big sign, but that's sort of the point.

    This all makes it so much more rewarding when you reach your full potential - a god-like mortal wielding artefacts of legendary power, many of which you may have created yourself. The lack of levelling is not a missing feature - it's there to keep you on edge when you enter a fight, not knowing for sure if you can win, and make you feel like a badass when you're a high level, because you've earned it. That's not to say you won't be surprised now and again - there's always a bigger fish if you go looking for it.

    The quests are generally interesting, designed not just as excuses to send you down a dungeon to kill more undead, but as chances to expose you to the varied environments and lore of the world (all of which is detailed wonderfully in your journal for reference). This is fortunate, because the gameplay is easily the most lacking part of the game. Combat can be a chore, as it is essentially a click-fest. Whether you damage the enemy is decided by your skill levels, and this can mean repeatedly swinging your sword or spear or whatever only to see it harmlessly pass through your target. This is probably the game's greatest flaw, and one that I would unreservedly change to the updated system of Skyrim, or perhaps something like Dark Messiah.

    The graphics are a little dated, though still beautiful in their own way, and this can be fixed with mods. Animation and AI have aged badly too, and seeing NPCs standing facing a wall for, well sometimes forever, day and night, is also a little immersion breaking at times.

    But look beyond past these flaws, and you will be rewarded with the most immersive, rewarding and fascinating experience. An adventure like no other where you earn your place in a harsh world that at first seems totally alien, but gradually starts to feel like home as you grow to know and understand its people, its history, its gods and its soul. Oh, and do try the mods.
    Expand

There are no critic reviews yet.