User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 76 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 72 out of 76
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 76
  3. Negative: 4 out of 76

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 23, 2010
    10
    An amazing version of this game bringing together so much content it's kind of ridiculous. I still play this game to this age and have content left to do.
  2. Jul 19, 2011
    10
    A game with a ridiculous amount of content just got even more. The GOTY version of Morrowind allows players to travel to the capital city of Mournhold and the island of Solstheim. Combine this with the huge, open world of the original game and you have a game that will keep you busy for weeks. Character classes and skills are diverse, there are different factions and countless missions to undertake, and tons of items to collect and sell. The only downside of this game is its lackluster combat but i feel compelled to give it a 10 regardless, as it is an enthralling and infinitely replayable game. Expand
  3. Jul 13, 2011
    10
    This game is bloody amazing. I wish everyone would try this game at one point, as this is the richest RPG you're ever going to play. I wouldn't even call it a game anymore, it breathes on it's own.
  4. Apr 25, 2013
    10
    This was my favorite game until the Witcher 2 came out in 2011. And for the most part, Morrowind has the best gameplay I’ve ever experienced in the video game. But unfortunately, not everyone will agree with me. This is because Morrowind has very complicated gameplay mechanics. It’s basically a small step simpler than a pen-and-paper RPG. Skyrim may have been dumbed down a little to attract a wider audience, but that was done flawlessly and appealed to everyone. I, however, miss the old features that were cut out from the franchise, like the Mysticism school of magic, or the large variety of combat skills, like Spears and Hand-to-Hand. I enjoyed planning out which skills to improve before I level up and maximize my attribute multipliers. The story about the Nerevarine Prophesy and how the blight pandemic was swallowing the Morrowind province whole was compelling and sensationally narrated. I often found myself lost reading about Morrowind’s history. The game had more factions than there were in New Vegas, and the rivalries between these factions add more excitement to the game. And finally, Morrowind’s DLCs are magnificent and are perhaps the best expansions I’ve played in a video game. I’ve clocked hundreds and hundreds of hours into my Xbox version of Morrowind, and the modding community fixes and enhances the PC version for an even better experience. An Elder Scrolls fan must pick this up immediately, but any RPG fan should direct their attention to my personal game of the decade. Expand
  5. Sep 4, 2012
    10
    Utterly amazing, Bethesda managed to create a world that is just familiar enough that you dont feel uneasy, but alien enough that you are driven to explore, and will never know what you will find next. Coupled with lengthy quest lines and a very large number of side quests, you will never lack for something to do. The two expansions add significant content, to keep you busy for many many more hours. Expand
  6. Oct 9, 2012
    10
    I cannot say enough good things about this game. I have a lot of friends who do not like this game because it lacks the arrows telling them where to go. Zomg, you have to read books, listen to dialogue, and in some cases search for hours for a particular cave that has a skull in it (early mages guild quest), and omg I love the suspense, the horror, the tragedy, the dwemer ruins, the foreboding deadric ruins, insert everything MINUS Cliffracers. Thank you St. Juib for killing them. Of course, the whole Ministry of Truth falling into Vivec causing Red Mountain to explode, etc etc probably wiped out everything living. I cannot say enough except you haven't lived unless you have played this game and it's two expansions. Skryim may be beautiful, but this game is without comparison. Is there a positive infinity option for score?? I must have put 2,000 hours into this game, and that doesn't include the time I spent modding the game making houses for myself. Expand
  7. May 13, 2013
    10
    I've played and modded this game since it was released and I'm sure many disagree, but I believe TES III: Morrowind to be the best in the series thus far. The story line is just amazing and keeps you hooked from beginning to end. Sure, the combat system is a little dull and clunky, but there's mods to fix that and many other things. Many people have complained about the npcs just standing around doing nothing, as with Oblivion they run on a schedule. Well, a mod called, "Living Cities of Vvardenfell fixes that." Actually, with the right mods running, Morrowind can look and play better than Oblivion any day. And the factions are great, the side quests are all fun. In Oblivion, you don't even need to run out and find your quest target; they tell you where it's at! Not in Morrowind. With most quests, they give you a hint (if you're lucky) and it's your job to find the place, person, etc., which could take days or weeks mind you and that to me is fun and exciting. See, with Oblivion's fast travel system to most quests, it took the fun out of exploration and discovery. This is what I absolutely love about Morrowind. You just never know what might happen, what you might run into, or how long it may take you to complete your goal. It's just fantastic. Also, as I mentioned in my Oblivion review, the npcs in Morrowind are so colorful and alive. They talk about everything and comment on just about everything, from the weather, a disease you may have contracted, or if your character decided to wear his/her birthday suit out that day. They even shoot off random comments and crack jokes out of the blue. First time I visited Solstheim and heard an Imperial guard making a joke about the cold, no sun, and ugly women, I nearly fell off my chair I was laughing so hard. I've nothing negative to say about this game. 10/10. Expand
  8. May 31, 2011
    10
    tubie pretty much summed it up below however, id like further say that this is a game that many true gamers believed defined this genre of gaming. people still play this game and even modding is still popular if not more so than its descendant oblivion. it is the most complex sotryline ive eva experienced - racism, sexism, assassination, politics, blood, religion, power, money and everything else in between. no game can claim to have such complexity to it none cant rate it higher Expand
  9. Jul 10, 2011
    10
    The game that I keep replaying ever now and then. And the best part is that there is still an enormous amount that I haven't seen/played in this game in five play-troughs. It is a must-have-played title.
  10. Aug 5, 2013
    10
    My favorite game in the TES series, the atmosphere, the lore, the quest design are all fantastic. This is definitely a contender for my favorite RPG of all time.

    Also I recommend getting the graphics and sound overhaul, adds a lot of nice updated textures and sounds.
  11. Sep 8, 2011
    10
    you thought Deus Ex was too long a game? Ha - don't even touch this one then; despite putting around 100 hrs into this game i never finished it; not for diminishing fun - real life simply wanted its share of time at some point; perhaps wasn't the best of games to be my first ever full RPG (as opposed to games that have RPG aspects such as System Shock etc) - simply because it sets the bar so incredibly high! what i actually liked about the game is how in the very beginning i was clueless on what to do and especially on how to heal! because later on that actually gave me the feeling (after i figured out what to do and obtained ways to regenerate health) of having become a part of the world of Morrowind - talk about immersion! reagarding the expansions: tribunal was OK (i like the outdoors setting of Morrowind much better than the city setting of Tribunal), but i loved bloodmoon because of its gorgeous winter setting and new gameplay elements; one interesting hint/warning: if you ever decide to give the king in Tribunal what he had coming to him then try to save that for the end of the game or at least do not take and use his enchanted item - that's when i stopped playing the game simply because there would not have been any point to it anymore (just to clarify a little: this action does not break the game, but rather the item is simply too powerful and if you have most of the story still ahead of you using it would simply ruin the fun); one thing that really bothers me about this game and others (fallout) is the lack of voice recordings - especially in this game there is TONS of conversation material but yet it's all just reading; the reason i don't take off points for that is because i realize that the huge amount of voice acting and recording this would require would be prohibitively expensive; the other con would perhaps be that this game simply isn't worth playing if you don't have a lot of time to play - you simply won't be able to get your character developed or any appreciable amount of the main and side quests done Expand
  12. Nov 13, 2012
    9
    Got this game for next to nothing installed the Morrowind Overhaul Project and played through it for the first time from start to finish. For sheer adventure, exploration also having to use your brain to solve quests for a change this is a must gaming experience.
  13. Dec 24, 2012
    10
    The Elder Scrolls series has always been known for its size, depth and story and Morrowind is no stranger to this. While not as large as Daggerfall, Morrowind makes up for it by having an engaging and deep story that keeps you entertained long after it has ended. Morrowind puts you in the roll of a Prisoner as they reach Seyda Neen and attempt to start their new life. You are given a blank slate; a way to reforge your new life whether it's a murderous assassin or honorable paladin, the only limited parts to Morrowind is your imagination. Morrowind isn't like typical RPGs where you pick a role and are limited based on that role (Fighter, Cleric, etc). Morrowind allows you the freedom to be whatever you wish. During is time, Morrowind pushed even the most powerful hardware and to this day looks alien and mysterious. Morrowind continues to live on through the efforts of talented modders and fans alike. It is my opinion that Morrowind catches all magic and depth of every Elder Scrolls title and is the best Elder Scrolls title yet. Expand
  14. Sep 18, 2013
    10
    AMAZING ON PC, they added the new improved journal system, and with the expansions and Patches, its literally has no bugs
    amazing story that rivals that of the successors to the franchise.
    great voice acting
    a pure RPG game, the combat is a little unbalanced, but its because the game adds into effect your attributes and your luck, and your skill with your current weapon.
  15. Feb 12, 2014
    10
    A classic, still an excellent title to this day. Those used to Skyrim might find the learning curve a bit steep, but it you can overcome the retroness, this game is really tons of fun. Graphics are very impressive for their day, and the music is top notch, even by today's standards. Just like any other TES game, the multitude of different playstyles are really what make the game what it is.

There are no critic reviews yet.