User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 830 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 31 out of 830

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 15, 2010
    1
    Morrowind's combat is broken. It has no quest system. To get into cities you have to levitate into them-not walk through a door. There is no fast travel. It is a tedious and **** game, do not recommend to anyone.
  2. Feb 10, 2012
    4
    This game has good and bad things about it. Mostly bad.
    On the large island of Morrowind things are getting interesting. With a large population of bugs and other animals this game is mostly fighting thugs, worms, and other stupid animals. The combat in this game is probably the worst ever. Unless you are a natural at it, prepare to die. A lot. The combat made me so mad, I quit. After
    about three hours of solid gameplay, I made a good conculsion:

    This game might have been good in 2002, but now it's a disgrace to Bethesda's name and title.
    Expand
  3. Nov 25, 2013
    3
    There is a lot of content here but no direction. The majority of the island's inhabitants hate you and all foreigners (not in a "you dirty thief" way but like a black-man-in-early-1900s-south way) unless you literally pay them to play nice or dump stats into speech skills. Quests start out interesting because they force you to explore and dig in places you normally wouldn't think of going, but later devolve into fetch quests that require you to go to the other side of the world to steal something and then travel back. Guild advancement is unrewarding. I usually got 10 times more loot & gold from thoroughly exploring the area i was sent to than I received from the quest reward. Combat tends to be a damage race of spamming left click while cycling magical weapons. I didn't like this game 10 years ago when I first played it and I don't like it now. With enough mods the bad graphics (even for it's time) can be fixed, but I wouldn't recommend playing it since better games of it's type have come out since. Collapse
  4. Mar 7, 2014
    4
    Beyond overrated, don't listen to these nostaliga goggle wearing retards. It's awful, and has aged awfuly.

    This game literally has no redeeming qualities other than the setting, and that isn't saying much.
  5. Jan 15, 2013
    2
    I am giving this a score of 2 as it does have technical merit. The designers put a HUGE amount of work into this game and as all the other reviews state this is a massive and very intricately designed world. However, with the risk of being controversial it is an outdated game and I found it overall a very bleak and depressing experience. The world feels soulless and like some fantasy world post nuclear apocalypse. There is so much reading to do that after a while you feel you should be curled up on the sofa with a Tolkien trilogy and a good glass of wine instead of trying to play a game. As a result tedium sets in very quickly and with the by today's standards rather ugly and disjointed graphics it just becomes too much of slog to get to the end. I think you either love or hate this game. The haters are obviously the minority but we do exist - sorry! Expand
  6. Nov 25, 2013
    0
    There is a lot of content here but no direction. The majority of the island's inhabitants hate you and all foreigners (not in a "you dirty thief" way but like a black-man-in-early-1900s-south way) unless you literally pay them to play nice or dump stats into speech skills. Quests start out interesting because they force you to explore and dig in places you normally wouldn't think of going, but later devolve into fetch quests that require you to go to the other side of the world to steal something and then travel back. Guild advancement is unrewarding. I usually got 10 times more loot & gold from thoroughly exploring the area i was sent to than I received from the quest reward. Combat tends to be a damage race of spamming left click while cycling magical weapons. I didn't like this game 10 years ago when I first played it and I don't like it now. With enough mods the bad graphics (even for it's time) can be fixed, but I wouldn't recommend playing it since better games of it's type have come out since. Collapse
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. One of those games that just visually takes your breath away. It has some of the most detailed, and well realistically rendered environments and characters ever seen in a computer game.
  2. The Elder Scrolls tech support forum is overflowing with user complaints about compatibility issues. At any rate, this is still the biggest, deepest, most detailed RPG to hit the PC since Daggerfall, and for that, earns high marks.
  3. This is a game that can stay on your hard drive for six months, still offering new experiences.