User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 1160 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. RobertT
    Jan 3, 2010
    10
    An amazing game; full of an awesome storyline that takes you through an enticing magical world... the person who reviewed before me has no idea of how great this game is...
  2. AlitaA.
    Jun 17, 2002
    10
    Wooo Hooo!!!!!!!!! (I think that says it all)
  3. BasK.
    May 8, 2003
    10
    Now this is more like it!
  4. J
    May 9, 2005
    10
    This is probbaly the greatest crafted RPG you could hope for, too bad it was single player only, but Elder scrolls players are not open minded and turn down the idea. The storyline took me 3 months to figure out, and a lot of moving. It also presents you with interesting challenges like not being bale to instantly travel to every city. Items were not overpowered, and many looked awesome This is probbaly the greatest crafted RPG you could hope for, too bad it was single player only, but Elder scrolls players are not open minded and turn down the idea. The storyline took me 3 months to figure out, and a lot of moving. It also presents you with interesting challenges like not being bale to instantly travel to every city. Items were not overpowered, and many looked awesome for tis time. Morrowind is definently the rpg for the average gamer. Expand
  5. UlliL.
    Aug 20, 2007
    10
    In my opinion Morrowind is even better than the better-looking oblivion.
  6. TynanL.
    Mar 14, 2003
    10
    This game is by far one of the best games i have ever seen the graphics are amazing, the game play is involved and it just keeps calling you back to play it over and over again.
  7. BrendanT.
    Jul 2, 2003
    10
    Im nowhere near done the game but from what I have played, It kills all other Pc Games(that I have)
  8. MindaugasT.
    Jul 8, 2004
    10
    BEST GAME!!!
  9. D.1
    Oct 8, 2005
    10
    The best.
  10. AlistairD.
    Jun 9, 2005
    10
    best game EVER. Only problem is my computer isn't quite up to full specs needed. Will have to buy new computer before oblivion comes out.
  11. AsbjørnS.
    May 22, 2007
    10
    There's not much to say. The most impressive and complex RPG that I've played, and I feel so lucky to have stumbled upon it back in 2002.
  12. SavvasV.
    Aug 13, 2007
    10
    Magical. I played this game so many times and I still find it magical. What I find annoying is the creatures reapearing soon after you kill them.
  13. ChrisR
    Jul 6, 2009
    10
    Fantastic story, amazing graphics with an astonishing range of beautifully detailed environments. Literally hundreds of hours of interesting side-quests. You can master everything with one character so there's no need to play though several times. You can literally become an invincible godlike figure and still encounter various challenges. Dwarfs virtually every other RPG i've Fantastic story, amazing graphics with an astonishing range of beautifully detailed environments. Literally hundreds of hours of interesting side-quests. You can master everything with one character so there's no need to play though several times. You can literally become an invincible godlike figure and still encounter various challenges. Dwarfs virtually every other RPG i've ever played. A truely incredible feat of game engineering. My favourite game of all time. Expand
  14. PrimeXenon
    Jan 16, 2010
    10
    There's games that are criticised by intelligent people for genuine reasons, and then there's games like Morrowind that are criticised by frankly daft people with an IQ clearly lower than Ned Flanders garden hedge. The main criticism seems to be the combat - (and in-game NPC's even say this about a zillion times) to hit enemies you need a high lvl of fatigue. When you think There's games that are criticised by intelligent people for genuine reasons, and then there's games like Morrowind that are criticised by frankly daft people with an IQ clearly lower than Ned Flanders garden hedge. The main criticism seems to be the combat - (and in-game NPC's even say this about a zillion times) to hit enemies you need a high lvl of fatigue. When you think theres enemies about slow to a WALK. Is that really too taxing on your brain? Nearly every "review" I've read has criticised not being "able to hit things", I cant believe theres people still criticising the game for this a Decade after its release... It truly is pathetic. Perhaps they ought to think about bringing that Rover back? Expand
  15. JohnY
    Jan 24, 2010
    10
    This game is absolutely the best RPG I ever played. I played the console version 2 times through with different characters and the PC version once through. And STILL have NOT done every quest there is to do. It is a huge open world and the expansions add to it. There is countless replayability, and endless customization for making characters. And even still has a nice graphics engine for This game is absolutely the best RPG I ever played. I played the console version 2 times through with different characters and the PC version once through. And STILL have NOT done every quest there is to do. It is a huge open world and the expansions add to it. There is countless replayability, and endless customization for making characters. And even still has a nice graphics engine for it's time. It has a long and in depth story and really indulges you into the game world. I believe this is a must buy for any RPG fan and will not disappoint. Easily a 10 out of 10. Expand
  16. Reximal
    May 31, 2002
    10
    Outstanding...
  17. KevinM.
    Jun 10, 2002
    10
    Simply outstanding. Incredible breadth of character creation and gameplay options combine with hundreds of quests and a huge, hand-crafted gameworld to deliver a game that's a winner in every way. Run, do not walk, to buy this one now.
  18. JakeM.
    Jun 16, 2002
    10
    This game is a masterpiece, completely non-linear. You do as you wish, you can kill who you want, or help a man of need. This game indeed has made a new genre of games its self, or just established the old one and made it shine.
  19. QueijoM.
    Oct 22, 2003
    10
    Best RPG ever. Period.
  20. SeanW.
    Feb 16, 2003
    10
    A wonderful game in scope and gameplay. Tech issue there are but maybe more people should take the time to read the system req. and not just the fluff about a game.
  21. DavidL.
    Mar 18, 2003
    10
    I spend all my time playing this game!!!
  22. TweetyT.
    Mar 22, 2006
    10
    The best RPG game I ever played, enough for months of playing. With plugins, such as Better Bodies it looks awesome.
  23. ChrisE.
    May 10, 2007
    10
    This game was not only good in warfare but the graphics where at its peak.
  24. Serra
    May 15, 2002
    10
    Best RPG to date...cleans up a lot of junk floating around in Daggerfall to become a very tight (but open, especially with the Construction Set) game.
  25. DavidW.
    Nov 27, 2004
    10
    Morrowind is a fantastic RPG! I prefered it to every other game I have ever played (tomb raider, half life, doom, neverwinter, etc). The world is beautifully drawn, exciting quests, and just plain fun to wander. Be sure to check out the islands far out in the oceans!
  26. GrantH.
    Apr 18, 2005
    10
    This game kicks as much butt as Jet Li.
  27. TempletonT.
    Mar 11, 2006
    10
    I have played this game more than any other in the history of videogames.
  28. ArandomRPGlover
    Jun 18, 2006
    10
    This just has to the the best ever game in the world! Everything about it is just so brill, it is faultless in every way, a beautiful game, love it to bits! Played to death, I will soon have to buy a new copy! I can't wait to get Oblivion!
  29. RyanS.
    Sep 25, 2006
    10
    Absolutely fantastic game, one of (if not THE) best game I have ever played. Open-ended and incredibly free, the sense of character development and exploration is incredible.
  30. FranckD
    Jul 21, 2009
    10
    There s no game yet, that have come to the deepness and size of Morrowind. Especially for those that don tlike to be grabbed by the hand and understand the real meaning of an adventure and understand concept of P&P Role Playing Game... Oblivion compared to Morrowind is a failure. And still today 2009 due to the awesome quantity of mods, i still play Morrowind, while Oblivion has been sold There s no game yet, that have come to the deepness and size of Morrowind. Especially for those that don tlike to be grabbed by the hand and understand the real meaning of an adventure and understand concept of P&P Role Playing Game... Oblivion compared to Morrowind is a failure. And still today 2009 due to the awesome quantity of mods, i still play Morrowind, while Oblivion has been sold after 3 weeks of weak gameplay, options and tale. I hope, but surely ain t waiting, that Oblivion V will be as grand as Morrowind. IF the company can only backtrack to its RPG heart as were Daggerfall and its predecessor i´ll be happy. Expand
  31. AdamH.
    Nov 18, 2004
    10
    This is and will remain the best game i have ever played in my entire life. If you dont like this game you can't handle a world of possibilities and freedom, therefore you are dumb.
  32. [Anonymous]
    Dec 22, 2007
    10
    This is the best game in the world. Way better than oblivion, but thats my opinion.
  33. Brandon
    Dec 16, 2008
    10
    This only game that I have replayed several times using other player classes and haven't even finished the main quest! This is because, with the numerous guilds, its ridiculous, if not impossible, to experience them properly the first time through. Bought it was it was released in 02', still playing it now in 08' with unfortunately(?) nothing to replace it. I've tried This only game that I have replayed several times using other player classes and haven't even finished the main quest! This is because, with the numerous guilds, its ridiculous, if not impossible, to experience them properly the first time through. Bought it was it was released in 02', still playing it now in 08' with unfortunately(?) nothing to replace it. I've tried the better bodies mods which actually look better than Oblivion bodies but with one caveat - you must have clothes meshes. Expand
  34. Oct 8, 2010
    10
    this game was awesome. gameplay was exceptional and i couldnt stop playing it. still plenty of places to explore and ares and things i have not even yet touched on. replayable through the years and mods to keep going at for years still lol
  35. Jul 6, 2012
    10
    This is one of my top 10 games that I have played. It is one of those games that defines what you look for in other games and often makes you feel something is lacking until you go back to it.
  36. Sep 9, 2014
    10
    10 for the time.

    Can we really review the classics from our standing? In this game's period it made the absolute best of the time, the best of the engine, the best of the origin (the setting was originally a notD&D campaign! lol) and managed to make something crazy, neat and dense. Yeah it took a lot of drugs and alcohol to hammer out the lore and setting, but if you read the
    10 for the time.

    Can we really review the classics from our standing?

    In this game's period it made the absolute best of the time, the best of the engine, the best of the origin (the setting was originally a notD&D campaign! lol) and managed to make something crazy, neat and dense.

    Yeah it took a lot of drugs and alcohol to hammer out the lore and setting, but if you read the books, if you follow the hints, you will realize that the game wants to be more; literally in game, it can be found that the game acknowledges itself as a game on a CD. This is lore friendly. This is canon

    If you can balance the line between unforgiving engine, creator-ego, spiderweb multi-layer hidden-layer secret code lore, then you can really get this game.

    You can lose, and lose, and really lose and still win here. I figured some of this out before there was a real internet.

    He was not born a god. He chose this path of his own free will.

    ALMSIVI
    Expand
  37. Oct 2, 2010
    10
    This game is one of the best games of all time in my personal list. I still play it every now and then out of pure nostalgia. I can't even begin to imagine how many hours I've poured into this!
  38. Feb 23, 2013
    10
    It's a sad day when you realize that we will never see a game like this again. Oblivion and Skyrim have dumbed down the games RPG and combat elemets to "click on the quest marker" exploring and "popamole" combat. Morrowind itself is not the deepest, it's an action RPG after all, but the scope of what you can do, who you can interact with, choices with CONSEQUENCES, real value and pride inIt's a sad day when you realize that we will never see a game like this again. Oblivion and Skyrim have dumbed down the games RPG and combat elemets to "click on the quest marker" exploring and "popamole" combat. Morrowind itself is not the deepest, it's an action RPG after all, but the scope of what you can do, who you can interact with, choices with CONSEQUENCES, real value and pride in the items you find rather than every random mob wearing lootable Daedric Armour like in Oblivion (why? how dis that make any sense?). If you can get over the graphics then MW is still the best single player action RPG on the PC (or anywhere else for that matter) and like I sad at the top we will not see a game like this again....ever of that I'm certain. Expand
  39. Oct 10, 2010
    10
    Morrowind is for passionate gamers who like the idea of deep role play. If you were to feel proud when you have served a faction or ordinary citizen, confronted and destroyed evil deities, uncovered conspiracies in religions, like the idea of fantasy politics, and more, get this game if you are a storyline centered person. If your first experience was with Oblivion and now you feel as ifMorrowind is for passionate gamers who like the idea of deep role play. If you were to feel proud when you have served a faction or ordinary citizen, confronted and destroyed evil deities, uncovered conspiracies in religions, like the idea of fantasy politics, and more, get this game if you are a storyline centered person. If your first experience was with Oblivion and now you feel as if you have run out of things to do, get Morrowind. Expand
  40. Jul 2, 2011
    10
    I can't say enough good things about this classic First Person RPG. This game is beyond epic. Any serious RPG fan must play this. Oblivion may have better graphics but Morrowind has true heart and soul. It's just a must-play! So buy this, download mods, then play for 100+ hours. This game deserves a Metacritic score of around 95; it's that good.
  41. Nov 28, 2011
    10
    This is still the best elder scrolls game, even after skyrim, how can I word this any other way? I cant put this game into words, thats how cool it is. PS : This game does not have COD AIDS (cod aids is an infection in the video game industry that makes the entire game about shooting anything that moves and ducking behind explosive barrels to magically heal, IN OTHER WORDS, ITS NOT AThis is still the best elder scrolls game, even after skyrim, how can I word this any other way? I cant put this game into words, thats how cool it is. PS : This game does not have COD AIDS (cod aids is an infection in the video game industry that makes the entire game about shooting anything that moves and ducking behind explosive barrels to magically heal, IN OTHER WORDS, ITS NOT A MAINSTREAM FPS, ALL THE PEOPLE VOTING THIS DOWN WANT A MAINSTREAM FPS) Expand
  42. May 17, 2011
    10
    A true classic of legendary proportions. Brilliant game made even better by tons of modding community support.

    A much loved classic which always brings back good memories of actually having something fun to do on Sundays. *and just about every other chance I got.
  43. Mar 11, 2011
    10
    Fantastic. Best Action-RPG I've ever played. Story was intricate and there was seemingly no limit to where you could explore. The variety of weapons is nice. I played this game long before oblivion, and I'm disappointed to see that oblivion didn't have spears or throwing weapons.
  44. May 20, 2011
    10
    Probably the best, or one of the best games I played in my life. I was lost to the world for 2 or 3 weeks when playing Morrowind. Ooops, sorry - not playing. I was LIVING in there for these 2 weeks... Huge area to visit (I totally LOVE to tour nice game worlds), filled with creatures living their own lives and stories, filled with both farms, houses, regular villages, as well as mysteriousProbably the best, or one of the best games I played in my life. I was lost to the world for 2 or 3 weeks when playing Morrowind. Ooops, sorry - not playing. I was LIVING in there for these 2 weeks... Huge area to visit (I totally LOVE to tour nice game worlds), filled with creatures living their own lives and stories, filled with both farms, houses, regular villages, as well as mysterious ruins, caves, crazy buildings. I also live the background of this world - history, races, religion, etc. Every cRPG fan (and I think also every RPG fan ;) ) that has 2 or 3 weeks of free time should play this game. Expand
  45. Jun 10, 2011
    10
    this is the best game I've ever played. I guess modern gamers don't like it because the combat system is bad, also they want lots of action and don't want to wait very long in order to get a character that cannot miss enemies. for me the story is interesting and rich. the feeling and the adventure are best parts of this game.

    you should find help in the unofficial elder scrolls pages
    this is the best game I've ever played. I guess modern gamers don't like it because the combat system is bad, also they want lots of action and don't want to wait very long in order to get a character that cannot miss enemies. for me the story is interesting and rich. the feeling and the adventure are best parts of this game.

    you should find help in the unofficial elder scrolls pages website if you need help with this game
    Expand
  46. Sep 11, 2012
    10
    Morrowind is one of the best RPG games on PC. Ever. The game is incredibly immersive. Without fast travel the game forces you to explore, in a good way. Combat is hard and challenging, perfect for old-school players. The lands of Morrowind are huge and art design does not fail, but provides beautiful scenery. Graphics are outdated but when the game was new it had one of the best engines onMorrowind is one of the best RPG games on PC. Ever. The game is incredibly immersive. Without fast travel the game forces you to explore, in a good way. Combat is hard and challenging, perfect for old-school players. The lands of Morrowind are huge and art design does not fail, but provides beautiful scenery. Graphics are outdated but when the game was new it had one of the best engines on the market. Must buy for hardcore RPG players. Expand
  47. Jul 5, 2011
    10
    I have to be honest here this game from what i can barely remember( High Times) was just awesome it sucked you right in best Action RPG of its time huge World, Great mechanics, Story that you could follow or disregard and wreak havoc on anything that moves.
  48. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    Morrowind has a couple of features that make it stand out above any other RPG I have played. First the story is intertwined with history as set out in books and quests and is just like reading human history. There are different accounts, different opinions, ambiguous reports. The picture you build up is incomplete and often makes you revise your judgements about which historical charactersMorrowind has a couple of features that make it stand out above any other RPG I have played. First the story is intertwined with history as set out in books and quests and is just like reading human history. There are different accounts, different opinions, ambiguous reports. The picture you build up is incomplete and often makes you revise your judgements about which historical characters are good and which are evil. Eventually you realize that just as in real life, there is often no clear boundary. Second, the game world is so convincing and lifelike, it draws you in until you feel like you have actually been there and witnessed the events. All RPGs try to do this but Morrowind (and Oblivion) do it better because the physics is better. Most games impose limits on what a character can do e.g. there is an object, therefore you cannot go there. In Morrowind, you can move anything if it is light enough and not fastened, jump on anything if your jumping skill is good enough, climb any terrain if your you have the capability. You have to try this. It is very realistic, and fun. Expand
  49. Aug 8, 2011
    10
    I loved Oblivion until I played Morrowind. Now I can't help but think what Oblivion could have been. Absolute masterpiece.
  50. Jan 8, 2012
    10
    My favourite game of all time. It took me a while to get into it, because it is so confusing at first, but well worth it. I enjoyed being part of the guilds much more than in Oblivion and Skyrim because: foremost that you had to be a certain skill level to rise the ranks, secondly that it had ranks at all (Skyrim), and thirdly because of the long time you spent with the guild made you moreMy favourite game of all time. It took me a while to get into it, because it is so confusing at first, but well worth it. I enjoyed being part of the guilds much more than in Oblivion and Skyrim because: foremost that you had to be a certain skill level to rise the ranks, secondly that it had ranks at all (Skyrim), and thirdly because of the long time you spent with the guild made you more loyal to them, and your guildmates. Expand
  51. Oct 26, 2011
    10
    Absolutely amazing game after all these years. The depth of the game and lore are astounding. The open world holds hundreds of hours worth of entertainment and even more can be added with the mods from the still-active community. This is the sandbox game that all other open world rpgs should aspire to be.
  52. Dec 9, 2011
    10
    This is the best game I have ever played. Thank you Bethesda!
  53. Nov 22, 2011
    10
    Damn this game!! This was my original video game heroin. Before I played this game I only played video games very rarely, like during a long vacation. But this game gave me a glimpse of what a video game can be when it's at it's best. Ever since I seem to always be on a search to find games that allow me to sink into the world within the game so deeply. There's only be a few games since IDamn this game!! This was my original video game heroin. Before I played this game I only played video games very rarely, like during a long vacation. But this game gave me a glimpse of what a video game can be when it's at it's best. Ever since I seem to always be on a search to find games that allow me to sink into the world within the game so deeply. There's only be a few games since I played this one a few years back that have captured me so fully. Deus Ex, Gothic 1&2, Mass Effect 1&2 are probably the only other games I've played that would be anywhere near as good as this one. And yes, I like Morrowind a lot more than Oblivion. Oblivion was good, maybe even deserving of a 10 rating also, but the story in this one is much more interesting, and my desire to explore the nooks and crannies of the universe were much greater in this game. I don't know how many hours I spent on this game, but I do remember taking a day or two off from work just so that I could play this game. There's never been another game that has made me quite so lazy. Damn this game! Expand
  54. Nov 18, 2012
    10
    An amazing game which beats oblivion in every aspect except for graphics. If only games were made like this these days. Once again the only problem that the game has is its graphics.
  55. Jul 15, 2012
    10
    A masterpiece, truly. I played many games and many RPG. But it is really hard to find a game, in which you actually want to return to. Now, even RPG started to be simple. Just another game to entertain you for a dozen of hours. Meh. Morrowind offer you a world so deep, that you can drown in it. There was a lot of games after Morrowind. It all better looking (Morrowind was released in 2001,A masterpiece, truly. I played many games and many RPG. But it is really hard to find a game, in which you actually want to return to. Now, even RPG started to be simple. Just another game to entertain you for a dozen of hours. Meh. Morrowind offer you a world so deep, that you can drown in it. There was a lot of games after Morrowind. It all better looking (Morrowind was released in 2001, many people forgetting it). Some of them quite interesting. But here I am again, making my way through Ashlands, keeping my eye on this cliff racers or trying to sell a stolen silver vase to a Breton trader in Peligiad... Its a nostalgia, that making players to start this game over and over again. To dive in a world of fading beauty, immerse landscapes, loneliness and adventures, waiting for you to make few steps toward it.
    Is it boring? Well, yes. If you used to hack and slash games, that pretending to be RPG, and waiting for game to spit a world right into your face, this one is not for you.
    Try to understand, that Morrowind truly offer you a different world. Explore it. Live in it. And you will be rewarded with one of the best RPG of generation.
    P.S. Than, if you want to try something new - try Tamriel Rebuilt (or other mods). Or create your own mod for Morrowind with TES Construction Set)
    Expand
  56. Mar 1, 2012
    10
    Hands down, the best open-world RPG to date. A huge world with many hidden secrets to explore. The side quests can keep you entertained for hours, and there are several factions that you can join and rise through the ranks. You have absolute freedom in building your character and progressing through the game. It's possible to put in hundreds of hours of gameplay without even touching theHands down, the best open-world RPG to date. A huge world with many hidden secrets to explore. The side quests can keep you entertained for hours, and there are several factions that you can join and rise through the ranks. You have absolute freedom in building your character and progressing through the game. It's possible to put in hundreds of hours of gameplay without even touching the main quest line. There are mods that make the game even better. Definitely superior to Oblivion; can't say anything about Skyrim, as I haven't played it yet. Expand
  57. Apr 25, 2012
    10
    I loved this game. As older game in modern gaming society, it seems really tedious and boring. But as a more classic RPG, this game is the best. What I like most about it is not so much the combat, but the imagination, history, and freedom put into it. Plus when you've played it a million-something times (like i have) you can just download a mod/ quest pack, and the game becomes new again!I loved this game. As older game in modern gaming society, it seems really tedious and boring. But as a more classic RPG, this game is the best. What I like most about it is not so much the combat, but the imagination, history, and freedom put into it. Plus when you've played it a million-something times (like i have) you can just download a mod/ quest pack, and the game becomes new again! Personally, i rate all other RPG's against this game. Expand
  58. May 4, 2012
    10
    I signed up just to post a review after seeing the complaints of some people, Morrowind's charm is not the same charm oblivion, or skyrim has exactly, the combat is indeed flawed, though normal for the time, people are comparing a 2001 game with 2011 Skyrim. But the real strength of Morrowind is the world, I truly believe the devs went balance be damned, lets make a world.

    From the very
    I signed up just to post a review after seeing the complaints of some people, Morrowind's charm is not the same charm oblivion, or skyrim has exactly, the combat is indeed flawed, though normal for the time, people are comparing a 2001 game with 2011 Skyrim. But the real strength of Morrowind is the world, I truly believe the devs went balance be damned, lets make a world.

    From the very start you can find very powerful items just by chance, or you can go though the entire town and rob everything in sight, turn around and buy gear. In Oblivion rare items were tied to your level so not to be unbalancing, and everything had a "Reasonable price" but in morrowind if you are smart enough, and quick enough, while exploring a random cave, find a very powerful artifact, worth more then every merchant in the game owns. Balanced? Probably not, but that sort of incentive to explore every cave, collect every artifact, makes this game truly a gem. In the two following games, the reason to explore is just simply gone, As artifacts are really not worth the effort made to obtain them, Nor are they hidden away.
    Expand
  59. Oct 6, 2012
    10
    It's my favorite game of all time, despite its drawbacks. Open, diverse and climatic world, full of mysterious places wants to be discovered. Also the music is awesome.
  60. Jun 2, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I just do not understand those people who do not like the Elder Scrolls series and the third part of this magnificent epic Morrowind in particular.Ð Expand
  61. May 15, 2012
    10
    My first 10, really one of the best games Ive played. Was disappointed with Oblivion and Skyrim, but they had tough shoes to fill...
    My only complaint is the **** cliff racers!
  62. Sep 22, 2012
    10
    AMAZING GAME! Great story, Bloodmoon and Tribunal were excellent expansions. A huge open world, many unique factions to join. Still, was a little bugged that I couldn't join House Dagoth and rule as a God-King without a mod.
  63. Jun 11, 2012
    10
    The most in-depth customary system I've ever seen. Not only do you get to choose exactly what kind of character you want to be, you can also customize what you wear and what your weapon does. The best Elder Scrolls game of all time, and also my very favorite game. No matter how much I play it, I always find new things to do. There are hilarious, dramatic, and OMGWHUTDOIDO moments thatThe most in-depth customary system I've ever seen. Not only do you get to choose exactly what kind of character you want to be, you can also customize what you wear and what your weapon does. The best Elder Scrolls game of all time, and also my very favorite game. No matter how much I play it, I always find new things to do. There are hilarious, dramatic, and OMGWHUTDOIDO moments that always shake it up, no matter what kind of character you are. Expand
  64. Jun 28, 2012
    10
    Even years after it's release and many hours of gameplay later, I still find myself going back to this game. I think this game gave me more enjoyment then any other RPG I've ever played. Truthfully I think the only improvements Bethesda made in Oblivion or Skyrim were the graphics and combat system. Otherwise I would say that Morrowind is far better then the later sequels. The storyline,Even years after it's release and many hours of gameplay later, I still find myself going back to this game. I think this game gave me more enjoyment then any other RPG I've ever played. Truthfully I think the only improvements Bethesda made in Oblivion or Skyrim were the graphics and combat system. Otherwise I would say that Morrowind is far better then the later sequels. The storyline, quests, and factions are very deep and I loved being a wizard with a levitate spell flying all across the land. Each town has its own distinct feel and the towns don't feel copy pasted like they do in Oblivion. Perhaps the greatest thing about this game is it gave you the feeling of a treasure hunter as you could find any item at any level unlike Skyrim and Oblivion where both monsters and items level up with you. This game is a game I will always remember as a true RPG. It wasn't just a game it was an experience. Expand
  65. Feb 13, 2016
    10
    This is the deepest, most immersive RPG I have ever played in my life. Install the Morrowind Graphics Overhaul to bring new life to this incredible game. Playing this game is like playing your way through an enthralling, 700 page novel. I can't recommend the GOTY version of this game highly enough.
  66. Jul 16, 2012
    10
    It really is a great game, though if you prefer more action than a great story try Skyrim. If you think the combat is too hard just turn down the difficulty. I think anyone should try and get past a few bugs and some low quality graphics.
  67. Jun 13, 2015
    10
    You will never find a better RPG experience that takes you to another world and makes you want to stay there forever. What Morrowind gave me was an unbeatable sense of immersion and fantasy, the likes of which the gaming world will probably never see again.
  68. Oct 5, 2012
    10
    It takes an effort of patience to re-adjust to the 2002 production values of the game. And then it takes some play time to actually begin uncovering the plots and the possibilities. I hope many of you can find the patience to endure the reprogramming. The game that lies behind the years is truly worth the effort required to find it. Morrowind is so much better than Skyrim it's positivelyIt takes an effort of patience to re-adjust to the 2002 production values of the game. And then it takes some play time to actually begin uncovering the plots and the possibilities. I hope many of you can find the patience to endure the reprogramming. The game that lies behind the years is truly worth the effort required to find it. Morrowind is so much better than Skyrim it's positively surprising. This begins with character development that is INFINITELY more enjoyable. Then it goes on with the lore, the plots and the details of NPC writing which are far superior. One can only conclude after delving deeply into this game that superior graphics and bloom effects have made game designers lazy. Because 3Dmodels, textures and animations can make everything look so great, far far less effort and time is being spent writing and thinking about all the elements that need to flow through a game world to engage the players. The craziest thing to my eyes is that Bethesda made this game and they own it, but they seem to have forgotten the very things that made Morrowind great. How can designers be happy with character progression system of Skyrim when their own previous efforts were SO MUCH more fun? How can they have inflicted the horrible UI of Skyrim on us, when they had a near perfect and much better UI with Oblivion? Its past the time for design studios to protect their integrity and stop sucking up to the shareholders of their parent companies, with eyes only for bigger demographics, and the endless degradation of games to something ever simpler, ever less intriguing and ever easier for little kids and bored housewifes to play. The studio heads need to grow some testicles and demand the right to make the best games they can, not these gutted, superficial carcasses of games that 'anyone' can play. My case is not helped by the flippant ease with which most gamers throw a game like Skyrim a 10/10 because of the pretty clouds and butterflies, then come here and throw this game 3/10 after 20 minutes because they are spoiled by high end graphics and don't even read any of the text or care about the stories. The financial and critical success of Skyrim is worrying since it confirms a bias and invites replication. The narrative and creative achievments of Morrowind, are easily ignored and forgotten. A tragic amnesia. One answer which would satisfy ALL PLAYERS would be a powerful GAME OPTION function that actually CUSTOMISED the level of player control over character progression. Thus a game could be played with the cretin-version of levelling Skyrim was infected with (red, green blue for the win), but also to allow totally open level progress, as we had in Morrowind, as a HARDCORE option. Since gaming graphics will not go back, and are stiill headed for perfection, such a design feature would ensure that games better than Morrowind could be made, and those without a deeper interest in the mechanics of character progress could still have a fun, in a more superficial manner. Since more choice in games is always good, a profoundly different level of choice in how the game is played will always be a good thing and will ALWAYS lead to more sales, since all levels of interest and all styles of gamers are catered for. Thus the financial incentive should be a great way to twist the arms of the accountants into finding the extra budget needed. The depth of character development lost from Morrowind is the prime thing that has been lost from this era. It should be restored. I'm writing this directly to Tod Howard of course, who is probably the only person in Bethesda that Zenimax will listen to. Please Tod. Heed the grot. Orctowngrot. Tim Rawlins. timtimjp@yahoo.com Expand
  69. Jun 20, 2013
    10
    Morrowind is the most deserving of cult classic status of any RPG. If you can get past the first couple hours, get the overhaul mod and don't need to sophisticated of a combat system, this game opens up and becomes the most incredible adventure ever realized in an RPG. I played this after Oblivion and Skyrim, and even in it's own dated world, it is far superior to the two proceeding ElderMorrowind is the most deserving of cult classic status of any RPG. If you can get past the first couple hours, get the overhaul mod and don't need to sophisticated of a combat system, this game opens up and becomes the most incredible adventure ever realized in an RPG. I played this after Oblivion and Skyrim, and even in it's own dated world, it is far superior to the two proceeding Elder Scrolls titles. Oblivion is notorious among ES fans for being an extremely oversimplified, bland version of it's predecessor. Skyrim, while improving on everything that made Oblivion awful (level scaling, bland environments, lack of depth in culture, terrible writing) still proved to be mindless as an RPG. Morrowind doesn't hold your hand. It's a real adventure. No quest markers, level scaling or limits in what you can do. It's engine lacks, but the world doesn't. Bethesda may be on stupid pills nowadays (hated Oblivion and FO3, Skyrim was dumbed down but still very fun) but Morrowind is a brilliant magnum opus. Actual imaginative quests, beautifully written lore and stories, amazing depth in the politics of it's world(there is so much depth and detail in the culture and politics of Morrowind's world it's frightening) and a series high Houses, Clans and guilds to join come together to make an experience that makes every other Elder Scrolls title look like a dud. I don't have any nostalgia for this game. I played Skyrim BEFORE Morrowind, but went back based on the huge following it had. I loved Skyrim when I first started playing but over the few months I played it, I began to develop a craving for more cryptic, old school RPGS. I went back to Morrowind and gave it some time. Once I saw what this game really was, I was hooked. It's fantastically written, the atmosphere and world design are incredible and make me laugh at how mediocre every Bethesda title has been since in that regard. Morrowind is beautifully composed, beautifully written, beautifully deep and has the most unique and ominous landscape possible to explore in any RPG. Ignore the combat (every ES game has swing at air combat, dont complain about the combat in this if youre a fan of the other games) and give it time. Once you get some decent loot and begin to crack into the depth of Morrowind's guild structure, world and well realized politics, you will understand why most ES fanboys still hold this title close to them as the best. it is. It's better than Oblivion by a long shot. It's better than Skyrim. Better than Arena, and prolly Daggerfall. Morrowind combines cryptic RPG playstyle and hardcore role playing roots with an incredibly detailed world. Morrowind has in atmosphere, personality and character what Oblivion and Skyrim fail to deliver. Morrowind walks with a limp, but has a heart of gold. A pleasure to experience, and if you have patience, the World of Morrowind offers an amount of depth and role playing brilliance that makes it impossible not to come back to. I may be rambling now but for any old school CRPG fan who has played Oblivion or Skyrim and laughed at it's simplicity and mind numbing dumbness, or for any already ES fan who wants to visit a world far more complex and mystical than any other ES title, get the MGS3.0 Morrowind Overhaul and start playing the game. To some it's boring and inaccessible, but get past it's technical shortcomings, and dive into what is perhaps the most unique and jaw dropping game world ever put together. RPGS are getting dumber. They treat gamers like morons. Play Morrowind. It's the closest you can get to a real adventure. Expand
  70. Nov 16, 2012
    10
    This game made The Elder Scrolls what it is now. A true masterpiece of RPG genre. Even in 2012, it's pretty innovative, epic, atmospheric game to play. I can't believe it has got worse rating than Skyrim or Oblivion, as this game started the era for Elder Scrolls and in my opinion it's even better than the newest TES setups.
  71. Nov 23, 2012
    10
    Morrowind is one of my top (if not *the* top) favorite games of all time and I enjoyed it far far more than I did Oblivion. I had wanted to check out the new Sound and Graphics Overhaul and I opened my Steam account because I couldn't find any other retail shop that still had the game in stock.

    This was my 3rd or 4th playthrough of the game and along with the Overhaul Mod I used the
  72. Dec 17, 2012
    10
    This was and has remained my favorite Elder Scrolls game to date. Please ignore all the chuckle heads who say this game is "too big for itself" or has "no direction". This game came out when a free roaming RPG was exactly that. Just because the game doesn't hold your hand and lead you around every corner with a motherly kiss on the forehead doesn't mean the game deserves a lesser score.This was and has remained my favorite Elder Scrolls game to date. Please ignore all the chuckle heads who say this game is "too big for itself" or has "no direction". This game came out when a free roaming RPG was exactly that. Just because the game doesn't hold your hand and lead you around every corner with a motherly kiss on the forehead doesn't mean the game deserves a lesser score. This game is worth whatever you can get it for. And now through the magic of mods you can have a much more stable experience. All the same, save often. Expand
  73. Nov 21, 2012
    10
    This game rocks with the latest overhaul mod:
    http://morrowind.nexusmods.com/mods/36945/
    Mods have made it up there with skyrim. The wonderful thing with mods is that they can iron out issues and you get to customise the quality of the game such that it becomes perfect. This game is the benchmark for RPGs, along with baldur's gate, the original fallout, the 1st mass effect, deus ex and
    This game rocks with the latest overhaul mod:
    http://morrowind.nexusmods.com/mods/36945/

    Mods have made it up there with skyrim. The wonderful thing with mods is that they can iron out issues and you get to customise the quality of the game such that it becomes perfect. This game is the benchmark for RPGs, along with baldur's gate, the original fallout, the 1st mass effect, deus ex and system shock 2
    Expand
  74. Jun 6, 2013
    10
    Ah Morrowind, also known as The Elder Scrolls III:Not dumbed down. This is a deep game. There's a lot of elements and planning and thinking involved, if you want to do well and know what's going on you'll have to pay attention. If you can manage to do that your reward is a huge incredibly unique and beautiful (though admittedly dated looking) world to explore. This is a Wrpg for theAh Morrowind, also known as The Elder Scrolls III:Not dumbed down. This is a deep game. There's a lot of elements and planning and thinking involved, if you want to do well and know what's going on you'll have to pay attention. If you can manage to do that your reward is a huge incredibly unique and beautiful (though admittedly dated looking) world to explore. This is a Wrpg for the hardcore, it almost feels like a cross between W and Jrpgs. It's good great story and a great villain, it's soundtrack is average but at the very least mood setting. And any flaw you have with the game can be modded out on the PC version (the best version), from modernizing the outdated combat to making the game look better than Oblivion. Get it if you dare Expand
  75. Dec 24, 2012
    10
    The Elder Scrolls series has always been known for its size, depth and story and Morrowind is no stranger to this. While not as large as Daggerfall, Morrowind makes up for it by having an engaging and deep story that keeps you entertained long after it has ended.

    Morrowind puts you in the roll of a Prisoner as they reach Seyda Neen and attempt to start their new life. You are given a
    The Elder Scrolls series has always been known for its size, depth and story and Morrowind is no stranger to this. While not as large as Daggerfall, Morrowind makes up for it by having an engaging and deep story that keeps you entertained long after it has ended.

    Morrowind puts you in the roll of a Prisoner as they reach Seyda Neen and attempt to start their new life. You are given a blank slate; a way to reforge your new life whether it's a murderous assassin or honorable paladin, the only limited parts to Morrowind is your imagination.

    Morrowind isn't like typical RPGs where you pick a role and are limited based on that role (Fighter, Cleric, etc). Morrowind allows you the freedom to be whatever you wish. During is time, Morrowind pushed even the most powerful hardware and to this day looks alien and mysterious. Morrowind continues to live on through the efforts of talented modders and fans alike.

    It is my opinion that Morrowind catches all magic and depth of every Elder Scrolls title and is the best Elder Scrolls title yet.
    Expand
  76. Dec 24, 2012
    10
    The Elder Scrolls series has always been known for its size, depth and story and Morrowind is no stranger to this. While not as large as Daggerfall, Morrowind makes up for it by having an engaging and deep story that keeps you entertained long after it has ended. Morrowind puts you in the roll of a Prisoner as they reach Seyda Neen and attempt to start their new life. You are given a blankThe Elder Scrolls series has always been known for its size, depth and story and Morrowind is no stranger to this. While not as large as Daggerfall, Morrowind makes up for it by having an engaging and deep story that keeps you entertained long after it has ended. Morrowind puts you in the roll of a Prisoner as they reach Seyda Neen and attempt to start their new life. You are given a blank slate; a way to reforge your new life whether it's a murderous assassin or honorable paladin, the only limited parts to Morrowind is your imagination. Morrowind isn't like typical RPGs where you pick a role and are limited based on that role (Fighter, Cleric, etc). Morrowind allows you the freedom to be whatever you wish. During is time, Morrowind pushed even the most powerful hardware and to this day looks alien and mysterious. Morrowind continues to live on through the efforts of talented modders and fans alike. It is my opinion that Morrowind catches all magic and depth of every Elder Scrolls title and is the best Elder Scrolls title yet. Expand
  77. Dec 25, 2012
    10
    So far the best of all Elderscrolls titles. Skyrim: best engine; Oblivion: bad design, level scaling; Morrowind: best music, world and atmosphere. This game is so beautiful and rich. Simply one of the best RPGs ever made, if not the best. Play it as fully dedicated mage to gather it's full potential.
  78. Apr 8, 2014
    10
    It's an experience that anyone who's played it doesn't want to describe. No description could do it justice. Let's just say it's awesome and then have you go give it a try.
  79. Dec 31, 2012
    10
    In my opinion there is no better game. It is more diverse in magic, clothing/armor, weapons, skills, and dungeons than in any other modern RPG I've ever seen. The few loading screens that do happen (when entering dungeons/buildings, not when entering towns by foot) are very quick. The "invincible essential characters" that limits the player greatly in it's predecessors is nonexistent,In my opinion there is no better game. It is more diverse in magic, clothing/armor, weapons, skills, and dungeons than in any other modern RPG I've ever seen. The few loading screens that do happen (when entering dungeons/buildings, not when entering towns by foot) are very quick. The "invincible essential characters" that limits the player greatly in it's predecessors is nonexistent, meaning that you can kill absolutely anyone in the game (although, it will still effect gameplay). There are definitely glitches in the game, but Bethesda has such great mod support that it's hardly a problem after a few downloads. Expand
  80. Jaz
    Feb 24, 2013
    10
    The best Elder Scroll game. One of the best RPGs. It had both a huge, immersing (and unique) world to explore and a great story. Set the standards far too high for the other games of the series. PS Very, very few bugs too, especially compared to Daggerfall!!
  81. Mar 29, 2013
    10
    THE FIRST GAME of mine and one of the best with tons and tons of content where you can get lost. Moja prvá hra a jedna z najlepších. Hodiny a hodiny zábavy, v ktorej sa môžete stratiť.
  82. Nov 8, 2013
    10
    A must play game for every RPG fan and the best elder scrolls game that been made. So if you're ok with outdated graphics (and even if you are a graphic wh*re MGE and countless mods are here for you) go and grab this one. DO IT!
  83. May 31, 2013
    10
    A fantastic game. Gameplay is a lit bit unusual for a modern gamer but I acclimatized quickly and found it liberating that there was no fast travel as it encourages one to explore the world. Brilliant world design and the story is fantastically told giving room for multiple endings if you choose, or even to avoid it if it doesn't interest you. The Bloodmoon and Tribunal add-ons are good,A fantastic game. Gameplay is a lit bit unusual for a modern gamer but I acclimatized quickly and found it liberating that there was no fast travel as it encourages one to explore the world. Brilliant world design and the story is fantastically told giving room for multiple endings if you choose, or even to avoid it if it doesn't interest you. The Bloodmoon and Tribunal add-ons are good, Bloodmoon in particular. On the whole excellent a must buy. Expand
  84. Jun 8, 2013
    10
    Game offers large variety of armor and weapons, huge load of different gameplay aspects and a large island to explore. Some people consider the ''must make'' choices as cons for the game, but I prefer them as replay value. The DLC's add nice touch and the modding community keeps the game still very alive.
  85. Nov 22, 2015
    10
    What is the best RPG ever? My first 2 answers: Baldurs Gate 2 and Morrowind. Gameplay is complex, the char creation very free, unfortunately has some weaknesses, but anyway there are a lot of possibilities. You can do a lot of things, even creat new spells. The world is amazing, open world at its best: there are so many things to discover and rewarding. There is so many content to discoverWhat is the best RPG ever? My first 2 answers: Baldurs Gate 2 and Morrowind. Gameplay is complex, the char creation very free, unfortunately has some weaknesses, but anyway there are a lot of possibilities. You can do a lot of things, even creat new spells. The world is amazing, open world at its best: there are so many things to discover and rewarding. There is so many content to discover and understand, epic in onw word. And the whole world is adult, very immersive. No childish dialogs, no arrows above NPCs and so on. Music perfect, I still listen to the main theme in my car. Graphic is good even today, but only if you put a lot of mods, otherwise is very outdated. Normally I dont like games that demands 100 or 200 hours of your life, but this game made it. I dont know any better open world RPG. Thank you Bethesda. Expand
  86. Jun 30, 2013
    10
    This is what a skyrim fanboy will say to this game: ewww the graphics look like barf, you cant fast travel, and blah blah blah. This is what il say to this game the best rpg that ever existed so what if you can fast travel in the game my friend owns far cry 3 and he never fast traveled and I have played 70+ plus hours of this game without fast traveling and graphics well at least they'reThis is what a skyrim fanboy will say to this game: ewww the graphics look like barf, you cant fast travel, and blah blah blah. This is what il say to this game the best rpg that ever existed so what if you can fast travel in the game my friend owns far cry 3 and he never fast traveled and I have played 70+ plus hours of this game without fast traveling and graphics well at least they're better then today's graphics cough cod. dont worry about those negative reviews they're just skyrim fanboys whining about how awesome this game is compared to skyrim
    Definitely worth your money and its definitely the best old school game i have played besides conker's bad fur day, quake, and zelda games
    Expand
  87. Jul 30, 2013
    10
    For me, to this day, still the best RPG ever made. The world, the lore, the atmosphere, the characters, the surroundings are just fantastic. The storytelling may be so-so, but this does not really matter when you have such a stunning world to explore. Even the excellent sequels are no match, Morrowind is far better when it comes to variation in the environment, the tasks and quests, andFor me, to this day, still the best RPG ever made. The world, the lore, the atmosphere, the characters, the surroundings are just fantastic. The storytelling may be so-so, but this does not really matter when you have such a stunning world to explore. Even the excellent sequels are no match, Morrowind is far better when it comes to variation in the environment, the tasks and quests, and deserves to be called, by many players, the best part of the Elder Scrolls series. Expand
  88. Sep 18, 2013
    10
    AMAZING ON PC, doesn't have the new improved journal system that came with the expansions,
    amazing story that rivals that of the successors to the franchise.
    great voice acting
    a pure RPG game, the combat is a little unbalanced, but its because the game adds into effect your attributes and your luck, and your skill with your current weapon.
    id advise you to get the DLC/Expansions for this game
  89. Sep 21, 2013
    10
    Greatest game i've ever played. It has amazing graphics, amazing gameplay, everything about it is amazing, I highly recommend you get it, it's worth the money.
  90. Dec 27, 2013
    10
    I started playing the Elder Scrolls series when I bought Skyrim around two years today, and so I molded into it's action-heavy style of RPG. I started hearing about Morrowind, so I decided to try it out and see it for myself, and personally I feel it deserves to be called the best Elder Scrolls game to date. As far as story line, Morrowind blows Skyrim out of water with a much deeper plotI started playing the Elder Scrolls series when I bought Skyrim around two years today, and so I molded into it's action-heavy style of RPG. I started hearing about Morrowind, so I decided to try it out and see it for myself, and personally I feel it deserves to be called the best Elder Scrolls game to date. As far as story line, Morrowind blows Skyrim out of water with a much deeper plot that is slowly uncovered, making quests more like an adventure. Another thing is the overall feel of a game; Morrowind seem to be much more of a true RPG, like a tabletop RPG in an immensely large world. The only con I could ever see with this game would be the graphics, which would only apply to today's standards, and can be upgraded with mods. Expand
  91. Oct 20, 2013
    10
    This game basically defined my life from 2004 (when I finally decided to dive in) all the way into the present. I've always been the kind of person who would roleplay through chatrooms and forums, and this game struck all the right chords in my head as a game I could really get into. The world is vast, and the landscape breathtaking. The lore is by far the most detailed of any game I'veThis game basically defined my life from 2004 (when I finally decided to dive in) all the way into the present. I've always been the kind of person who would roleplay through chatrooms and forums, and this game struck all the right chords in my head as a game I could really get into. The world is vast, and the landscape breathtaking. The lore is by far the most detailed of any game I've played. It sucks you in, and never lets you go. You live the game for the time you interact with it.

    The other Elder Scrolls games are just that. Games They will never be able to recreated the experience Morrowind created. It is, and always will be, the best of the series, and one of the greatest games ever made.
    Expand
  92. Jul 15, 2014
    10
    The Elder Scrolls 3: Morrowind is the best RPG ive ever played. I'm a very young, have played Skyrim at the first time and I thought, that it was the best time-consuming game i've ever pushed into the drive. But no. Oblivion wasn't my game, because the world was too "plastic". But Morrowind was a masterpiece. You can explore the world more than 100 hours. Yes, i know, the story was not theThe Elder Scrolls 3: Morrowind is the best RPG ive ever played. I'm a very young, have played Skyrim at the first time and I thought, that it was the best time-consuming game i've ever pushed into the drive. But no. Oblivion wasn't my game, because the world was too "plastic". But Morrowind was a masterpiece. You can explore the world more than 100 hours. Yes, i know, the story was not the best and you can play it through in 1 hour, but the RPG gameplay was revolutionary in this age of time and for me. The graphics are today irrelevant, when you are a real RPG-player.

    The Elder Scrolls have changed my life.

    Sorry for translation errors
    Expand
  93. Nov 14, 2013
    10
    Not only is this my favorite game of all time, but it is the best RPG of all time. I will never forget the grand adventures Morrowind offered me and the scope of the story. I will never forget my times in Balmora. Ald-ruhn, and strange Telvanni Towers. Slaying the leaders of ancient Vampire clans, and storming the Sixth House cults. Then when the expansions came out I couldnt believeNot only is this my favorite game of all time, but it is the best RPG of all time. I will never forget the grand adventures Morrowind offered me and the scope of the story. I will never forget my times in Balmora. Ald-ruhn, and strange Telvanni Towers. Slaying the leaders of ancient Vampire clans, and storming the Sixth House cults. Then when the expansions came out I couldnt believe such a great thing could get even greater. Even though this game may look aged to newer gamers and fans of newer TES games, I would recommend getting it and installing a few mods to make it more palletable (Morrowind Overhaul). You will see why this is the Father of modern RPG's. Expand
  94. Aug 2, 2014
    10
    A Masterpiece! By far the best chapter in The Elder Scrolls series as well as one of the best RPG's of all time. Bethesda created a beautiful, huge and unique world of Morrowind that catches you, immerses you and won't let you out so easily and when it does, you will be blessed with a fantasy experience to remember. The world and the creatures inhabiting it were all so unique, atmosphereA Masterpiece! By far the best chapter in The Elder Scrolls series as well as one of the best RPG's of all time. Bethesda created a beautiful, huge and unique world of Morrowind that catches you, immerses you and won't let you out so easily and when it does, you will be blessed with a fantasy experience to remember. The world and the creatures inhabiting it were all so unique, atmosphere so mysterious, politics between the houses intriguing, main Nerevarine story very epic, game mechanics amazingly complex with so much freedom, creating your own spells, mixing potions, joining countless factions and doing quests, building your own stronghold and living there including taking care of your own staff, flying all over the world, just doing what the hell you want to do. Morrowind was also the first time The Elder Scrolls introduced talented Jeremy Soule, his spectacular soundtrack and theme that continued to be amazing and one of the trademarks of the entire series, but it was exceptionally good here. I love Morrowind and it's definitely not just nostalgia, recently I played through this again after playing through all the other TES chapters and it only proved my opinion that Morrowind is without a doubt the best of them all. 10/10 Expand
  95. Jul 31, 2016
    10
    There is only one Elder Scrolls worth playing and it's Morrowind. To be honest, I regret spending my time on Oblivion and Skyrim and wish I had only played Morrowind. Oblivion and Skyrim are the dumbed down versions of Morrowind and everything gets boring very fast. I'd get a HD mod of Morrowind and play it again!
  96. Feb 22, 2016
    10
    This game is great i dont know why every one hates this game, this should be rated event higher than what it should be rated, i cant event find the right algorithm to fill the 10/10 for rating this game.
  97. Mar 11, 2014
    10
    We all know Morrowind is the best, but why is it? Because of the imagination used to create it. The world is interesting and varied, there is enough to do and see to keep you exploring and the quests are more than 'go here and kill/fetch that'. The story is more than 'go save the world from the evil thing': the 'evil' used to be good but was betrayed by the 'good' when they sought theWe all know Morrowind is the best, but why is it? Because of the imagination used to create it. The world is interesting and varied, there is enough to do and see to keep you exploring and the quests are more than 'go here and kill/fetch that'. The story is more than 'go save the world from the evil thing': the 'evil' used to be good but was betrayed by the 'good' when they sought the power it was protecting. There are shades of grey everywhere and often you'll wonder if you're doing the right thing. Expand
  98. Nov 1, 2014
    10
    First let me start with saying that Skyrim's combat is sh*t. It takes away the feeling that you are developing a character, that you help contribute to your character, that this is Your character. I am talking about investing points into Agility and seeing your character hit more often, those sort of things that create attachment to the game. Skyrim lacks the attachment part because asFirst let me start with saying that Skyrim's combat is sh*t. It takes away the feeling that you are developing a character, that you help contribute to your character, that this is Your character. I am talking about investing points into Agility and seeing your character hit more often, those sort of things that create attachment to the game. Skyrim lacks the attachment part because as long as You have the skills, You can do anything (from picking master locks, to hitting every time with the bow) which leaves you without a reason to care for this world, no attachment...

    In Skyrim earlier perks completely say 'FU' to the difficulty and the need of finding better gear by giving you more damage, less mana requirements for spell usage (some perks are good).

    Why Morrowind is better: from finding your own way via reading the journal, to more interesting architecture, more diverse and interesting locations, better made dungeons, better weapons, armor and loot, loot with value (for example glass or daedric loot was nearly impossible to sell due to its high value (1 daedric bolt is 4000 gold!)), more diverse and interesting magics, better and deeper stories, harder and more interesting puzzles (lockpicking was level based and if your Security skill was low forget about lvl100 Master locks unless with a magic scroll), harsher consequences for your actions and therefore more choices (you can kill anyone for example plot characters rendering the main plot impossible to complete unless you reloaded a save or found some other way; also NPCs were interesting because you could do more with them - if you were to increase the disposition of an NPC and your Personality was high enough you might find newer quests for example and new dialog. NPCs would offend you if they didnt like you and shopkeepers wont barter with you if you had items they disapproved like Skooma; if you had no stamina and were under attack you would fall to the ground unable to act until some stamina comes back).
    Expand
  99. Apr 21, 2014
    10
    This is the greatest moment in all of the early 2000s videogames

    Great gameplay, incredible story, and awesome open world to explore. I have never enjoyed a game on my PC as much as this.
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. One of those games that just visually takes your breath away. It has some of the most detailed, and well realistically rendered environments and characters ever seen in a computer game.
  2. The Elder Scrolls tech support forum is overflowing with user complaints about compatibility issues. At any rate, this is still the biggest, deepest, most detailed RPG to hit the PC since Daggerfall, and for that, earns high marks.
  3. This is a game that can stay on your hard drive for six months, still offering new experiences.