The Elder Scrolls III: Morrowind Image
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 934 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: An epic, open-ended single-player game where you create and play any kind of character you can imagine. Be the noble hero embarking on an epic quest, or an insidious thief rising to leadership of his guild. Be a malevolent sorcerer developing the ultimate spell of destruction, or a reverentAn epic, open-ended single-player game where you create and play any kind of character you can imagine. Be the noble hero embarking on an epic quest, or an insidious thief rising to leadership of his guild. Be a malevolent sorcerer developing the ultimate spell of destruction, or a reverent healer searching for the cure to a plague. Your actions define your character, and your gameplay changes and evolves in response to your actions. Confront the assassins' guild, and they take out a contract on you. Impress them, and they try to recruit you instead. No two sagas are the same in the world of Morrowind. [Bethesda Softworks] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. 100
    Morrowind effortlessly grabs the other PC RPGs by the throat, swings them around, and leaves them in a heap on the side of the road.
  2. The most engrossing, deepest and open-ended videogame you’ll see for a very long time, at times it feels like more then a videogame, something to get completely caught up in and realise that time has no importance when you’re playing it.
  3. 94
    Shows more planning, talent (aesthetic, programming, and design) and creative vision than anything I've played in a very long time.
  4. 90
    To put it simply, Morrowind is truly a game of epic proportions and will most likely only be finished by the most hardcore of gamers.
  5. Walking down the steps into one of the larger cities, Balmora, for the first time is a moment that will stay with players for some time to come. It's the best-looking RPG to date, undoubtedly, and certainly ranks among the most graphically-impressive games around.
  6. 89
    It ranks right up there with recent classics such as "Baldur's Gate," "Fallout," "Arcanum," and "Planescape: Torment" in terms of sheer enjoyment, and is a game every role-playing fan needs to own.
  7. At times this sense of freedom is overwhelming, and attending to the minutiae can be tiresome.

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 9 out of 181
  1. QueijoM.
    Oct 22, 2003
    10
    Best RPG ever. Period.
  2. Jan 8, 2012
    10
    My favourite game of all time. It took me a while to get into it, because it is so confusing at first, but well worth it. I enjoyed being partMy favourite game of all time. It took me a while to get into it, because it is so confusing at first, but well worth it. I enjoyed being part of the guilds much more than in Oblivion and Skyrim because: foremost that you had to be a certain skill level to rise the ranks, secondly that it had ranks at all (Skyrim), and thirdly because of the long time you spent with the guild made you more loyal to them, and your guildmates. Expand
  3. Jul 11, 2014
    10
    The first open world RPG I ever played. Whilst Oblivion and Skyrim have obviously improved graphically and in size, Morrowind without doubtThe first open world RPG I ever played. Whilst Oblivion and Skyrim have obviously improved graphically and in size, Morrowind without doubt remains the best of the bunch. Expand
  4. GrantH.
    Apr 18, 2005
    10
    This game kicks as much butt as Jet Li.
  5. Feb 2, 2015
    9
    Let's see... oh! My first true open-world RPG. Wow, that was massive. Unbelievable, how big this world is, and how realistic it feels. It isLet's see... oh! My first true open-world RPG. Wow, that was massive. Unbelievable, how big this world is, and how realistic it feels. It is true immersion, that I've really been looking for in games for so long. And Morrowind brought it. At least, until the Nostalghia fades.

    Everyone who has played this game knows its weaknesses, and I want to point out the most serious one: Modding is very important to do (because such a giant title leaves wishes open necessarily) - but it is such a mess! Time-consuming work, from learning to use the needed tools, to endless testing sessions, before you get to really enjoy a realistic gameplay as it should be. This continued through the series, unfortunately, and naturally prevents all those titles from a perfect 10.

    But I should mention: it IS possible to create my favourite RPG experience with Morrowind.
    Expand
  6. May 7, 2011
    9
    Truly impressive. The game is dated, but features some elements that Oblivion lacks. And while Oblivion gives a few of those moral choicesTruly impressive. The game is dated, but features some elements that Oblivion lacks. And while Oblivion gives a few of those moral choices quests, Morrowind really features them like you'd expect. The world feels so real and authentic With some of the patches and mods available, the game can look more like you'd hope for this day and age. Some things like lockpicking and fistfighting are unbalanced and lack compared to Oblivion, but both games are truly great. If they could be combined with the best features of both, we would have RPG perfection. Expand
  7. SalmanA.
    Aug 7, 2008
    0
    15 hours until you get to the main part of the main quest? That's not impressive, that's just poor game design. Vague instructions 15 hours until you get to the main part of the main quest? That's not impressive, that's just poor game design. Vague instructions and directions as to where to go, piss poor combat that leaves you swinging your weapon more minutes at a time before you hit anything, so on. Trying to get some info from a NPC? Be prepared to spend a good 5 minutes getting anything out of them ,if anything. I understand that there may be a good game in here, but there's just too much misery to go through to get to it. This isn't even counting the horrible bugs abd technical issues. Expand

See all 181 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. 30 Games That Emerged from Development Hell

    30 Games That Emerged from Development Hell Image
    Published: June 23, 2011
    After 15 years in development limbo, Duke Nukem Forever finally arrived in stores last week, though game critics aren't rejoicing. We look at that and other long-delayed games that eventually managed to shed their vaporware status, with results ranging from maligned to sublime.