The Elder Scrolls III: Morrowind Image
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 830 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: An epic, open-ended single-player game where you create and play any kind of character you can imagine. Be the noble hero embarking on an epic quest, or an insidious thief rising to leadership of his guild. Be a malevolent sorcerer developing the ultimate spell of destruction, or a reverent healer searching for the cure to a plague. Your actions define your character, and your gameplay changes and evolves in response to your actions. Confront the assassins' guild, and they take out a contract on you. Impress them, and they try to recruit you instead. No two sagas are the same in the world of Morrowind. [Bethesda Softworks] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. The most engrossing, deepest and open-ended videogame you’ll see for a very long time, at times it feels like more then a videogame, something to get completely caught up in and realise that time has no importance when you’re playing it.
  2. 100
    One of the largest and most richly detailed fantasy worlds ever to wear a set of polygons. There are literally hundreds of hours of gameplay.
  3. 94
    Shows more planning, talent (aesthetic, programming, and design) and creative vision than anything I've played in a very long time.
  4. Comes close to being the massive, sprawling, open-ended, role-playing epic you've always dreamed of. [August 2002, p.68]
  5. An impressive project, and I have an ocean full of respect and admiration for the ambition, energy, and devotion that the developers poured into this game.
  6. 89
    It ranks right up there with recent classics such as "Baldur's Gate," "Fallout," "Arcanum," and "Planescape: Torment" in terms of sheer enjoyment, and is a game every role-playing fan needs to own.
  7. At times this sense of freedom is overwhelming, and attending to the minutiae can be tiresome.

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 9 out of 168
  1. QueijoM.
    Oct 22, 2003
    10
    Best RPG ever. Period.
  2. PrimeXenon
    Jan 16, 2010
    10
    There's games that are criticised by intelligent people for genuine reasons, and then there's games like Morrowind that are criticised by frankly daft people with an IQ clearly lower than Ned Flanders garden hedge. The main criticism seems to be the combat - (and in-game NPC's even say this about a zillion times) to hit enemies you need a high lvl of fatigue. When you think theres enemies about slow to a WALK. Is that really too taxing on your brain? Nearly every "review" I've read has criticised not being "able to hit things", I cant believe theres people still criticising the game for this a Decade after its release... It truly is pathetic. Perhaps they ought to think about bringing that Rover back? Expand
  3. Jul 1, 2014
    10
    I love this game. It's story, characters, and world are absolutely beautiful, and the game has aged amazingly. When I finished the vanilla world, I couldn't stop, so I got mods to continue gameplay. (and I even started making some of my own.) With most games, I play awhile and I'm done. With this, I just can't stop. I recommend this game for everyone. Expand
  4. Oct 5, 2012
    10
    It takes an effort of patience to re-adjust to the 2002 production values of the game. And then it takes some play time to actually begin uncovering the plots and the possibilities. I hope many of you can find the patience to endure the reprogramming. The game that lies behind the years is truly worth the effort required to find it. Morrowind is so much better than Skyrim it's positively surprising. This begins with character development that is INFINITELY more enjoyable. Then it goes on with the lore, the plots and the details of NPC writing which are far superior. One can only conclude after delving deeply into this game that superior graphics and bloom effects have made game designers lazy. Because 3Dmodels, textures and animations can make everything look so great, far far less effort and time is being spent writing and thinking about all the elements that need to flow through a game world to engage the players. The craziest thing to my eyes is that Bethesda made this game and they own it, but they seem to have forgotten the very things that made Morrowind great. How can designers be happy with character progression system of Skyrim when their own previous efforts were SO MUCH more fun? How can they have inflicted the horrible UI of Skyrim on us, when they had a near perfect and much better UI with Oblivion? Its past the time for design studios to protect their integrity and stop sucking up to the shareholders of their parent companies, with eyes only for bigger demographics, and the endless degradation of games to something ever simpler, ever less intriguing and ever easier for little kids and bored housewifes to play. The studio heads need to grow some testicles and demand the right to make the best games they can, not these gutted, superficial carcasses of games that 'anyone' can play. My case is not helped by the flippant ease with which most gamers throw a game like Skyrim a 10/10 because of the pretty clouds and butterflies, then come here and throw this game 3/10 after 20 minutes because they are spoiled by high end graphics and don't even read any of the text or care about the stories. The financial and critical success of Skyrim is worrying since it confirms a bias and invites replication. The narrative and creative achievments of Morrowind, are easily ignored and forgotten. A tragic amnesia. One answer which would satisfy ALL PLAYERS would be a powerful GAME OPTION function that actually CUSTOMISED the level of player control over character progression. Thus a game could be played with the cretin-version of levelling Skyrim was infected with (red, green blue for the win), but also to allow totally open level progress, as we had in Morrowind, as a HARDCORE option. Since gaming graphics will not go back, and are stiill headed for perfection, such a design feature would ensure that games better than Morrowind could be made, and those without a deeper interest in the mechanics of character progress could still have a fun, in a more superficial manner. Since more choice in games is always good, a profoundly different level of choice in how the game is played will always be a good thing and will ALWAYS lead to more sales, since all levels of interest and all styles of gamers are catered for. Thus the financial incentive should be a great way to twist the arms of the accountants into finding the extra budget needed. The depth of character development lost from Morrowind is the prime thing that has been lost from this era. It should be restored. I'm writing this directly to Tod Howard of course, who is probably the only person in Bethesda that Zenimax will listen to. Please Tod. Heed the grot. Orctowngrot. Tim Rawlins. timtimjp@yahoo.com Expand
  5. May 2, 2013
    9
    This game may be old but it can still entertain anyone who loves The Elder Scrolls series and has the patience to deal with a less user-friendly game. In my opinion, this makes it a BETTER game than Oblivion (haven't played Skyrim yet) because more is expected of you. OMG no fast travel OMG not much voice acting OMG it's so complicated...that's how it's supposed to be. Morrowind offers you a chance to dive into a world that is complex and dangerous WITHOUT HOLDING YOUR LITTLE BABY HANDS along the way. You have to learn to be resourceful, find ways to avoid death and disease, figure out where to go WITHOUT A STUPID ARROW ON THE MAP. Morrowind is the raw version of Elder Scrolls, not tailored to gamers that can't think for themselves. Yes the combat is dated, graphics dated, less cool features, etc. but if you want to play an Elder Scrolls games that features (1) a unique world with unfamiliar creatures (2) no mercy or hand holding and (3) hours freedom to play as you please, then get this game! I think that it has many advantages over Oblivion and possibly Skyrim and is worth giving a try. DON'T BUY THIS GAME IF YOU SUCK AT FIGURING THINGS OUT! If you're not sure about it, wait for a steam sale! Expand
  6. Sep 20, 2011
    9
    Morrowind is such a strange, backwards experience. Most games start out flashy, and then after a while you realize how boring it really is. Morrowind is sort of the opposite. You start in the ugliest, dingiest town in the game, and it builds its way up from there. You don't really know what you're supposed to be doing when you start out--the main quest isn't even really revealed til later--so the game motivates you to try different things and go exploring. But boy when that main quest line starts revealing itself, it is one epic tale, and it would have made as great a novel as it does a game. The sheer attention to detail in this is mind-blowing. Every area of the game feels hand-crafted, with hidden areas to explore; items, weapons and armor to collect; all sorts of enemies to test your power against; a story full of religion, politics, and conflict; and an extremely complex and rich society. It doesn't hurt that you can explore every region of the map at any point (you just might not live through the encounters you face) and uncover some very strange and exotic locales. And on that note, it's hard to have strong diversity in a game and still keep it feeling like a uniform and unique region all on its own. Once again this game succeeds, with desolation, swamp, coastline, open pastures and the like. The only criticism I have for this game is the combat. I personally do not mind the by-the-numbers real-time combat, where a low skill means you might miss, but I think transitions between melee/ranged and magic could have been better. I also would have appreciated a reason not to simply click the "best attack" button on options, and in this respect I think Daggerfall had better combat. Overall however, Morrowind is classic. Anybody who has the patience for reading a great novel would love this game, as it winds up being a game of epic proportions. Expand
  7. SalmanA.
    Aug 7, 2008
    0
    15 hours until you get to the main part of the main quest? That's not impressive, that's just poor game design. Vague instructions and directions as to where to go, piss poor combat that leaves you swinging your weapon more minutes at a time before you hit anything, so on. Trying to get some info from a NPC? Be prepared to spend a good 5 minutes getting anything out of them ,if anything. I understand that there may be a good game in here, but there's just too much misery to go through to get to it. This isn't even counting the horrible bugs abd technical issues. Expand

See all 168 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. 30 Games That Emerged from Development Hell

    30 Games That Emerged from Development Hell Image
    Published: June 23, 2011
    After 15 years in development limbo, Duke Nukem Forever finally arrived in stores last week, though game critics aren't rejoicing. We look at that and other long-delayed games that eventually managed to shed their vaporware status, with results ranging from maligned to sublime.