The Elder Scrolls III: Morrowind Image
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 750 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: An epic, open-ended single-player game where you create and play any kind of character you can imagine. Be the noble hero embarking on an epic quest, or an insidious thief rising to leadership of his guild. Be a malevolent sorcerer developing the ultimate spell of destruction, or a reverent healer searching for the cure to a plague. Your actions define your character, and your gameplay changes and evolves in response to your actions. Confront the assassins' guild, and they take out a contract on you. Impress them, and they try to recruit you instead. No two sagas are the same in the world of Morrowind. [Bethesda Softworks] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. The most engrossing, deepest and open-ended videogame you’ll see for a very long time, at times it feels like more then a videogame, something to get completely caught up in and realise that time has no importance when you’re playing it.
  2. 100
    One of the largest and most richly detailed fantasy worlds ever to wear a set of polygons. There are literally hundreds of hours of gameplay.
  3. 94
    Shows more planning, talent (aesthetic, programming, and design) and creative vision than anything I've played in a very long time.
  4. Comes close to being the massive, sprawling, open-ended, role-playing epic you've always dreamed of. [August 2002, p.68]
  5. An impressive project, and I have an ocean full of respect and admiration for the ambition, energy, and devotion that the developers poured into this game.
  6. 89
    It ranks right up there with recent classics such as "Baldur's Gate," "Fallout," "Arcanum," and "Planescape: Torment" in terms of sheer enjoyment, and is a game every role-playing fan needs to own.
  7. At times this sense of freedom is overwhelming, and attending to the minutiae can be tiresome.

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 9 out of 157
  1. Mar 11, 2011
    10
    Fantastic. Best Action-RPG I've ever played. Story was intricate and there was seemingly no limit to where you could explore. The variety of weapons is nice. I played this game long before oblivion, and I'm disappointed to see that oblivion didn't have spears or throwing weapons. Expand
  2. Dec 9, 2011
    10
    This is the best game I have ever played. Thank you Bethesda!
  3. Dec 31, 2012
    10
    In my opinion there is no better game. It is more diverse in magic, clothing/armor, weapons, skills, and dungeons than in any other modern RPG I've ever seen. The few loading screens that do happen (when entering dungeons/buildings, not when entering towns by foot) are very quick. The "invincible essential characters" that limits the player greatly in it's predecessors is nonexistent, meaning that you can kill absolutely anyone in the game (although, it will still effect gameplay). There are definitely glitches in the game, but Bethesda has such great mod support that it's hardly a problem after a few downloads. Expand
  4. Nov 28, 2011
    10
    This is still the best elder scrolls game, even after skyrim, how can I word this any other way? I cant put this game into words, thats how cool it is. PS : This game does not have COD AIDS (cod aids is an infection in the video game industry that makes the entire game about shooting anything that moves and ducking behind explosive barrels to magically heal, IN OTHER WORDS, ITS NOT A MAINSTREAM FPS, ALL THE PEOPLE VOTING THIS DOWN WANT A MAINSTREAM FPS) Expand
  5. Jan 10, 2012
    9
    What the people don't understand who are writing bad comments about this game is that the game was designed that way, the hit and miss combat style was a common combat style for games in 2002 and the glitches, its hard to patch a game WITH NO ONLINE its not like its connected to steam, and this game didnt have voice actors so if its SO HARD to read thats your problem, go to school kids, I personally find this game to actually be a challenge unlike the casual scrub game SKYRIM with its **** 4 hour story line that has the EASIEST boss fight I'VE EVER, so with that I conclude all negative reviews are scrub kids! Expand
  6. Aug 17, 2012
    9
    What makes Morrowind so brilliant? It's very hard to define what makes this game stand out for many people; often it's something which needs to be experienced rather than explained. The actual mechanics of this game are actually quite bad; the combat is so abysmal that you'll be tempted to cheat just to avoid slogging though it and the controls feel clunky and difficult. So if you want good combat and tight mechanics then Morrowind isn't for you. But let's actually move onto positive thoughts. You start the game as an unknown prisoner being transported to the mysterious island of Vvardenfell: upon your arrival you are slowly introduced to the different mechanics and pick each aspect of your character (name, race, class) before you're given the simple task of delivering a letter to a certain individual a few miles down the road. That's it. That's the entire opening sequence that introduces you to this strange world. The main quest, like may parts of the game, is like a jigsaw puzzle; at first obscure, all the different pieces come together to reveal the bigger picture. Even the simplest of quests have a hand-crafted feel to them, making each and every one special in their own way. The design of the world is fantastical; one moment you might be wandering through a washed-up village and then find yourself in a forest of giant mushrooms with surreal 'cattle' roaming the fields. It's hard to describe here why all this is significant; the subtleties are what made Morrowind so special. Neither the technology nor the graphics are what define this game; it's that sense of being a small part of a big world, being in a land like no other, doing more than just grinding a set of numbers and stats. Everything feels unique and that feeling of awe as you wonder what lies beyond this village is what draws you in. This is something the later games (particularly Oblivion) didn't quite get; setting defines the story. It's not about how advanced the graphics are whether there are spears or stats in the game; it's about the world. How does it look? How does it feel? What part are we to play in it? This Bethesda, is why we play these games: we want to enter this alien, conflicting land and more importantly, become a part of it. Expand
  7. Dec 15, 2010
    1
    Morrowind's combat is broken. It has no quest system. To get into cities you have to levitate into them-not walk through a door. There is no fast travel. It is a tedious and **** game, do not recommend to anyone. Expand

See all 157 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. 30 Games That Emerged from Development Hell

    30 Games That Emerged from Development Hell Image
    Published: June 23, 2011
    After 15 years in development limbo, Duke Nukem Forever finally arrived in stores last week, though game critics aren't rejoicing. We look at that and other long-delayed games that eventually managed to shed their vaporware status, with results ranging from maligned to sublime.