The Elder Scrolls III: Morrowind Image
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 742 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: An epic, open-ended single-player game where you create and play any kind of character you can imagine. Be the noble hero embarking on an epic quest, or an insidious thief rising to leadership of his guild. Be a malevolent sorcerer developing the ultimate spell of destruction, or a reverent healer searching for the cure to a plague. Your actions define your character, and your gameplay changes and evolves in response to your actions. Confront the assassins' guild, and they take out a contract on you. Impress them, and they try to recruit you instead. No two sagas are the same in the world of Morrowind. [Bethesda Softworks] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. The most engrossing, deepest and open-ended videogame you’ll see for a very long time, at times it feels like more then a videogame, something to get completely caught up in and realise that time has no importance when you’re playing it.
  2. 100
    One of the largest and most richly detailed fantasy worlds ever to wear a set of polygons. There are literally hundreds of hours of gameplay.
  3. 94
    Shows more planning, talent (aesthetic, programming, and design) and creative vision than anything I've played in a very long time.
  4. Comes close to being the massive, sprawling, open-ended, role-playing epic you've always dreamed of. [August 2002, p.68]
  5. An impressive project, and I have an ocean full of respect and admiration for the ambition, energy, and devotion that the developers poured into this game.
  6. 89
    It ranks right up there with recent classics such as "Baldur's Gate," "Fallout," "Arcanum," and "Planescape: Torment" in terms of sheer enjoyment, and is a game every role-playing fan needs to own.
  7. At times this sense of freedom is overwhelming, and attending to the minutiae can be tiresome.

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 9 out of 156
  1. Mar 11, 2011
    10
    Fantastic. Best Action-RPG I've ever played. Story was intricate and there was seemingly no limit to where you could explore. The variety of weapons is nice. I played this game long before oblivion, and I'm disappointed to see that oblivion didn't have spears or throwing weapons. Expand
  2. Dec 9, 2011
    10
    This is the best game I have ever played. Thank you Bethesda!
  3. Dec 25, 2012
    10
    So far the best of all Elderscrolls titles. Skyrim: best engine; Oblivion: bad design, level scaling; Morrowind: best music, world and atmosphere. This game is so beautiful and rich. Simply one of the best RPGs ever made, if not the best. Play it as fully dedicated mage to gather it's full potential. Expand
  4. Nov 28, 2011
    10
    This is still the best elder scrolls game, even after skyrim, how can I word this any other way? I cant put this game into words, thats how cool it is. PS : This game does not have COD AIDS (cod aids is an infection in the video game industry that makes the entire game about shooting anything that moves and ducking behind explosive barrels to magically heal, IN OTHER WORDS, ITS NOT A MAINSTREAM FPS, ALL THE PEOPLE VOTING THIS DOWN WANT A MAINSTREAM FPS) Expand
  5. Feb 4, 2014
    9
    Story: 9 out of 10, Graphics: 8 out of 10, Fun: 9 out of 10, Controls: 8 out of 10, Ease to Learn: 8 out of 10, Length: 8 out of 10, Re-play: 6 out of 10, Value: 9 out of 10 Expand
  6. May 29, 2012
    9
    I can, honestly, say there is only one bad thing about this game, and at this point it is easily overlooked due to a couple mods that can fix this. In all reality it is my second favorite game of all time.

    If you like oldschool rpgs, a very large world, tons of things to do, all quest lines give you only moderate direction of where to go forcing you to have to hunt, and an overall challenge, then pick this up.

    While it is true the hit and miss system is a pain there are so many easy ways around this if you know how, if not look it up. Here is a hint, "master trainers."

    The only thing I can say about this game, and its the reason I must give it a 9 out of 10 instead of a perfect score, is that on release the graphics were not even close to dos related 3d graphics. The whole character models look terrible even by standards set 6 to 10 years before the game came out. This alone is the reason it got knocked down one point.

    Again the only issue can be resolved by mods at this point in time, the better bodies mod, better heads (discontinued but still able to be found) and morrowind enhanced (type mods) actually can make this game look graphically appealing and honestly, lets just say this, I have wasted so much time on this game and I still have not completed everything there is to do, I always find something new and I have played for ages.

    The modding community is, quite possibly, larger than oblivion and skyrim combined but this is to be expected. It is now 20 dollars on steam but I can say it is worth a lot more.

    Just be careful, if you like to be hand fed everything, please go play a bad game now and don't waste your time trying to rate this poorly or play this game, you wont look intelligent.

    Overall playtime for real gamers is expected to be around 1260 hours, give or take.
    Expand
  7. Dec 15, 2010
    1
    Morrowind's combat is broken. It has no quest system. To get into cities you have to levitate into them-not walk through a door. There is no fast travel. It is a tedious and **** game, do not recommend to anyone. Expand

See all 156 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. 30 Games That Emerged from Development Hell

    30 Games That Emerged from Development Hell Image
    Published: June 23, 2011
    After 15 years in development limbo, Duke Nukem Forever finally arrived in stores last week, though game critics aren't rejoicing. We look at that and other long-delayed games that eventually managed to shed their vaporware status, with results ranging from maligned to sublime.