The Elder Scrolls III: Morrowind Image
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 970 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: An epic, open-ended single-player game where you create and play any kind of character you can imagine. Be the noble hero embarking on an epic quest, or an insidious thief rising to leadership of his guild. Be a malevolent sorcerer developing the ultimate spell of destruction, or a reverentAn epic, open-ended single-player game where you create and play any kind of character you can imagine. Be the noble hero embarking on an epic quest, or an insidious thief rising to leadership of his guild. Be a malevolent sorcerer developing the ultimate spell of destruction, or a reverent healer searching for the cure to a plague. Your actions define your character, and your gameplay changes and evolves in response to your actions. Confront the assassins' guild, and they take out a contract on you. Impress them, and they try to recruit you instead. No two sagas are the same in the world of Morrowind. [Bethesda Softworks] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. 100
    Morrowind effortlessly grabs the other PC RPGs by the throat, swings them around, and leaves them in a heap on the side of the road.
  2. The most engrossing, deepest and open-ended videogame you’ll see for a very long time, at times it feels like more then a videogame, something to get completely caught up in and realise that time has no importance when you’re playing it.
  3. 94
    Shows more planning, talent (aesthetic, programming, and design) and creative vision than anything I've played in a very long time.
  4. 90
    To put it simply, Morrowind is truly a game of epic proportions and will most likely only be finished by the most hardcore of gamers.
  5. Walking down the steps into one of the larger cities, Balmora, for the first time is a moment that will stay with players for some time to come. It's the best-looking RPG to date, undoubtedly, and certainly ranks among the most graphically-impressive games around.
  6. 89
    It ranks right up there with recent classics such as "Baldur's Gate," "Fallout," "Arcanum," and "Planescape: Torment" in terms of sheer enjoyment, and is a game every role-playing fan needs to own.
  7. At times this sense of freedom is overwhelming, and attending to the minutiae can be tiresome.

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 9 out of 185
  1. QueijoM.
    Oct 22, 2003
    10
    Best RPG ever. Period.
  2. Nov 22, 2011
    10
    Damn this game!! This was my original video game heroin. Before I played this game I only played video games very rarely, like during a longDamn this game!! This was my original video game heroin. Before I played this game I only played video games very rarely, like during a long vacation. But this game gave me a glimpse of what a video game can be when it's at it's best. Ever since I seem to always be on a search to find games that allow me to sink into the world within the game so deeply. There's only be a few games since I played this one a few years back that have captured me so fully. Deus Ex, Gothic 1&2, Mass Effect 1&2 are probably the only other games I've played that would be anywhere near as good as this one. And yes, I like Morrowind a lot more than Oblivion. Oblivion was good, maybe even deserving of a 10 rating also, but the story in this one is much more interesting, and my desire to explore the nooks and crannies of the universe were much greater in this game. I don't know how many hours I spent on this game, but I do remember taking a day or two off from work just so that I could play this game. There's never been another game that has made me quite so lazy. Damn this game! Expand
  3. Jul 1, 2014
    10
    The only game that i would like to bother again.I saw a critic from Games Radar calling "engaged" well they said it wasnt free...How this gameThe only game that i would like to bother again.I saw a critic from Games Radar calling "engaged" well they said it wasnt free...How this game cant be free? U can do anything! Everything! U can change even the history or ruin it if u kill someone special and the game continues , u can choose any spells and play it anyway u want to end the main story.Side quests are not mapped u have to find them on ur own and if u dont succeed on them u simply lose them u cant replay because history is being written already in the game.And every npc in the game has a name , has something to make it unique unlike new games that they put few people around acting like they are living normal life...But u wont see them again they dont have a name...The story is even more epic... 10 for a game of 2004 some people should really check such games and try to make better new games.this is how an open world game must be made. Expand
  4. AdamH.
    Nov 18, 2004
    10
    This is and will remain the best game i have ever played in my entire life. If you dont like this game you can't handle a world of This is and will remain the best game i have ever played in my entire life. If you dont like this game you can't handle a world of possibilities and freedom, therefore you are dumb. Expand
  5. May 19, 2015
    9
    It feels clumsy, slow, disorientating. You need to read huge amounts of text because there is near to no voice acting. You wan't to wipe yourIt feels clumsy, slow, disorientating. You need to read huge amounts of text because there is near to no voice acting. You wan't to wipe your butt with the quest journal because it's that useless. You miss 80 % of your attacks and there is no quick travel per se.

    What a masterpiece of gaming. The best Elder Scrolls game. This should be descreption enough. Morrowind the game makes you wan't to live in Morrowind the world. And would you just listen to the theme?!

    You can mod it extensively as well, progressing it's graphics by about 6 years. Just head over to Nexus or ModDB.

    All time classic, Hall of Famer.
    Expand
  6. kENNETHsWANSON
    Oct 4, 2009
    9
    i AM WRITING THIS REVIEW IN OCT 2009. THIS WAS ONE OF MY ALL TIME FAVEORIT GAMES.THE GRAPHICS ARE A BIT DATED BY NOW BUT THE GAMEPLAY IS STILLi AM WRITING THIS REVIEW IN OCT 2009. THIS WAS ONE OF MY ALL TIME FAVEORIT GAMES.THE GRAPHICS ARE A BIT DATED BY NOW BUT THE GAMEPLAY IS STILL THE BEST.ANY CURRENT PC CAN NOW PLAY THIS GAME FLAWLESSLY AT IT HIGHEST SETTINGS.BUT I WANT TO EMPHASIZE IT IS THE GAMEPLAY AND IMMENSE SIZE AND REPLAYABILTY THAT MAKES THIS A GREAT GAME,ALSO DOES NOT HURT THAT IT CAN NOW BE AQUIRED FOR A BARGAIN PRICE Expand
  7. SalmanA.
    Aug 7, 2008
    0
    15 hours until you get to the main part of the main quest? That's not impressive, that's just poor game design. Vague instructions 15 hours until you get to the main part of the main quest? That's not impressive, that's just poor game design. Vague instructions and directions as to where to go, piss poor combat that leaves you swinging your weapon more minutes at a time before you hit anything, so on. Trying to get some info from a NPC? Be prepared to spend a good 5 minutes getting anything out of them ,if anything. I understand that there may be a good game in here, but there's just too much misery to go through to get to it. This isn't even counting the horrible bugs abd technical issues. Expand

See all 185 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. 30 Games That Emerged from Development Hell

    30 Games That Emerged from Development Hell Image
    Published: June 23, 2011
    After 15 years in development limbo, Duke Nukem Forever finally arrived in stores last week, though game critics aren't rejoicing. We look at that and other long-delayed games that eventually managed to shed their vaporware status, with results ranging from maligned to sublime.