Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 76 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Knights of the Nine is a compilation that includes all the other Oblivion downloadable content released to date: Horse Armor, The Orrery, Wizard’s Tower, Vile Lair, Thieves Den, Mehrunes' Razor, and Spell Tomes. Knights of the Nine features an all-new faction and quests for noble characters and answers many of the questions surrounding the Ayleid ruins found throughout Oblivion. Players can join a new faction and found their own order of holy knights – leading them into battle against a sorcerer-king and his demonic minions while exploring massive dungeons and searching for legendary relics – the holy armor and weapons of the Divine Crusader. [Bethesda Softworks] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. This quest line is the biggest yet and keeps you hooked right to the end. While the dungeons are not as big or as maze-like as the previous expansions, the chance to really explore Cyrodiil really makes this quest much more effective and allows for a greater appreciation of the graphical tweaks and new locations.
  2. The beauty of the game, as well as the depth of the immersion and the fun of the gameplay, is still here in abundance. Knights of the Nine is an essential addition for any Elder Scrolls fan.
  3. Yes, it’s a bit on the short side but it’s a compelling quest with all the things we love about the many sub-quests found in the game.
  4. But even with so much free material competing for the attention of Oblivion fans, Knights of the Nine offers a compelling package of polished content. [Mar 2007, p.64]
  5. Knights of the Nine isn’t in the same league as stellar Morrowind add-ons like "Tribunal" and "Bloodmoon" but any fresh reason to revisit the world of Oblivion once again is all right by us.
  6. Just more of the same beautiful game, but will remind you why you loved Oblivion like your own family in the first place. [Jan 2007, p.60]
  7. The problem is that most of the downloadable content is aimed at specific character types: a pure combat character probably won't give a stuff about spell tomes or a Wizard's tower, while the average mage will find the powerful new quest items totally useless. You're far better off just choosing the content you want online, and this works out a hell of a lot cheaper too, even if you buy everything (£12).

See all 12 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 10
  2. Negative: 2 out of 10
  1. Sebastian
    May 24, 2007
    10
    I think its the best game ever between Morrowind(with Tribunal and Bloodmoon) and World of Warcraft.
  2. Mathew
    Apr 10, 2007
    10
    Bethesda Softworks did an amazing job with this expansion. I've seen a lot of people complain about it, but what do you expect an expansion to be, an entirely new game? That would require them to release The Elder Scrolls V: (insert name here), which they have not done yet. It's an expansion; it expands on the original story with a great set of new options and features. I say, for everyone who liked oblivion check this out. You will not regret it. Collapse
  3. BobJ.
    Dec 26, 2007
    9
    I think this game is even better than Morrowind. The storyline is shorter and makes more sense. You have easier ways to travel. In Morrowind you usually just wonder around searching everywhere for your location. Unlike Oblivion which guides you to where you want to go. This game has many more features and to me is much easier and better. Expand
  4. JamesH.
    Dec 12, 2006
    7
    This expansion shows extreme promise, but as many subsequent reviews will concede, it is entirely too short. This expansion presumably is aimed at seasoned players of Oblivion who are eager for new quests and not for new players who will be occupied for hours to come, so with that in mind the brevity of thie new quest is quite unnerving. Two leisurely evenings, perhaps 2 or 3 hours total is all it took to complete this quest. There are a few new models, but the areas and maps seem to be mostly recycled from existing Oblivion models and textures. The shear magnitude of the player's quest, which is to face a new demigod evil foe on par with Mehrunes Dagon (the existing bad guy in Oblivion) makes the the shortness and extreme ease of the quest seem all the more ludicrous. However, it did satiate my desire for more Oblivion, but only just barely. The scope of the storyline indicates a new facet of culture in Cyrodil, yet the populace seems unaware or unaffected by the presence of this new knightly order nor the danger posed by Umaril. Once you complete the quest, it's over and done with and no longer has any lasting significance for the overall game (take the lasting effect of the guild quests: guildmaster role, income, etc.) Bethesda really needs to put in overtime and produce expansions that don't nickel and dime their players $9.99 at a time. They should follow the model of Bioware and Neverwinter Nights, whose expansions were extremely creative, timely, and most importantly very long and occupying. Expand
  5. Aug 2, 2014
    7
    Knights of the Nine is a nice big quest line, smoothly implemented right into the main game if you play the GOTY version, so I didn't even know I'm playing a DLC and I was perfectly happy with it, enjoying it more than Shivering Isles. On the other hand, I see where disappointment for some people is coming from if they had to specifically paid for this, but I mostly prefer DLC's that expand on the main game rather than trying something completely different, so as a part of GOTY, this worked flawlessly for me. 7/10 Expand
  6. Aug 6, 2012
    6
    Compared with the Bethesda DLC which came before - Bloodmoon, or even Tribunal - KOTN seems disappointingly insubstantial. The quests have some great moments, but they're mostly just a series of fetches with a handful of interesting dungeons. I don't mind the DLC's size, but Knights of the Nine doesn't really offer that great of a questline compared with most available in the main game. The armour set is interesting, but the whole expansion suffers from the same generic vibe that plagued Oblivion: I just find it out of place when terms like "Katana" and "Crusader" are used in what is meant to be a completely different world. KOTN is by no means bad, but I'd have to rate it lower than any other TES DLC I've played. Best to buy it with the GOTY edition. Expand
  7. BobH.
    Jan 14, 2007
    1
    I agree with Susie and I'll take it a step further and say that both games are inferior to daggerfall. Especially in scope, both Morrowind and Oblivion feel miniscule. And while Morrowind's expansions were nice, this downloadable junk for Oblivion is downright pathetic. Expand

See all 10 User Reviews