The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion PC

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2302 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. AlexB.
    Feb 3, 2009
    10
    Easily the best game of any genre on any system I have ever played. The graphics are phenomenal. The gameplay is solid. The storylines for the main quest and each of the guilds are excellent. There are TONS of side quests that can take you tens if not hundreds of hours to complete, and they are almost all very fun and have very good plots. The world is huge and filled with caves and Easily the best game of any genre on any system I have ever played. The graphics are phenomenal. The gameplay is solid. The storylines for the main quest and each of the guilds are excellent. There are TONS of side quests that can take you tens if not hundreds of hours to complete, and they are almost all very fun and have very good plots. The world is huge and filled with caves and dungeons and forests that are all completely exlporable. And don't forget the thousands of mods that can add many more hours of gameplay. The only flaw that even comes close to ruining the gameplay is that it might be too much for lower end PCs to handle, but its simple to change the settings to make it work better. Overall, there is absolutely no reason this is not in every RPG fan's collection. Expand
  2. KeithB
    Mar 3, 2009
    2
    Am I crazy? Or is this game 10 years behind a game like Ultima 7? Horrible, broken character leveling system with all monsters and loot leveling up with you? Lame, discount-fantasy-novel story and unmemorable characters and dialogue? This game is even a huge step down from Morrowind and even farther step down from Daggerfall! What is going on here?
  3. Jamesm
    Apr 12, 2009
    10
    While it does have some issues that come inherent with go anywhere do anything games that have a vast a scope as oblivion (compared to very scripted linear progression rpg's ie jrpg's) oblivion does well as a whole rahter than a sum of it's parts. Throughout the game enemies level as well to sustain a challenge all the way through (Pro tip:complainers who want a cake walk While it does have some issues that come inherent with go anywhere do anything games that have a vast a scope as oblivion (compared to very scripted linear progression rpg's ie jrpg's) oblivion does well as a whole rahter than a sum of it's parts. Throughout the game enemies level as well to sustain a challenge all the way through (Pro tip:complainers who want a cake walk once leveled can just turn the difficulty down). Great looking graphics and artistic design with most towns having thier own building design look. It all comes together very nicely, most dungeosn look the same but these arn't usually required and you'll easily get 80 hours of game play by completing the main missions and exploring the landscape. Expand
  4. JonG.
    May 28, 2009
    10
    As I write this, Oblivion has an average user rating of 7.5. That in and of itself is an absolute travisty. This is a great game. What more do you low raters want? You want the game designers to come to your house and stand on their heads for you? An enormous amount of great content was packed into this game. Also, it has an excellent modding community that is constantly changing every As I write this, Oblivion has an average user rating of 7.5. That in and of itself is an absolute travisty. This is a great game. What more do you low raters want? You want the game designers to come to your house and stand on their heads for you? An enormous amount of great content was packed into this game. Also, it has an excellent modding community that is constantly changing every aspect of the game - keeping it fresh (for free!). You can get this game for $20 now and have $2000 worth of content after a few hours online. Expand
  5. KevinR
    Jun 10, 2009
    10
    People need i grow up and stop your crying, and if you really do not like the game go play something else... its not that hard to do people, or even if you think you can do better make your own game and stop putting down a game that was made for gamers like YOU!!!
  6. JackL
    Jun 17, 2009
    10
    Oblivion isn't perfect, no game is. But I think a 10/10 score is for when it ticks the all the boxes for the player and it certainly does for me. It is surely a step down from Morrowind from an RPG perspective, but I think the game makes up for it with a simplified control system from that which is found in Morrowind and blinds you with copious amounts of bloom. The dialog is Oblivion isn't perfect, no game is. But I think a 10/10 score is for when it ticks the all the boxes for the player and it certainly does for me. It is surely a step down from Morrowind from an RPG perspective, but I think the game makes up for it with a simplified control system from that which is found in Morrowind and blinds you with copious amounts of bloom. The dialog is hopeless but you have to admit that it's alot better than having to read a novel each time you inqure about something. Graphics? Good on the consoles and better on the PC even by 2009 standards. The leveling system is fine and if you don't like it then reduce the difficulty, unless you don't dare to stoop so low as to do something like that. On the whole I think Oblivion tries appeal to a wider audience but ends up alienating some fans of older TES', but is still a very good game and should be tried at least. Expand
  7. NikitaG
    Jun 19, 2009
    10
    This game is arguably the best game I have ever played in my life. The graphics are amazing, there are many revolutionary features, such as the voice overs, but the thing that really won me over was the depth. I bought this game in 2006, and I still play it today. Unmodded, the game has so much content its just mind blowing, and with along with mods, this game could easily last you This game is arguably the best game I have ever played in my life. The graphics are amazing, there are many revolutionary features, such as the voice overs, but the thing that really won me over was the depth. I bought this game in 2006, and I still play it today. Unmodded, the game has so much content its just mind blowing, and with along with mods, this game could easily last you several years. I have noticed that most people either love this game, or hate it. Oblivion's nonlinear and lack of 'in your face' action makes it boring for some people. But you owe it to yourself, give it a try if you have not. Expand
  8. DavidM
    Jun 23, 2009
    10
    Unmodded the game became tedious with the scaling levling system and I quickly put it down. Months later I modded out the scaling and over 100 hours of play.
  9. BobC
    Jul 24, 2009
    2
    Just thinking of the sheer artistic talent and work that went into designing this game makes me very sad to see how lackluster the story, combat, and well, the entire game are. I have reinstalled Oblivion about 6 times now and tried to force myself to play it. Each time I do the Dark Brotherhood and Thieve's Guild quests and then quickly lose interest. I have never been able to stay Just thinking of the sheer artistic talent and work that went into designing this game makes me very sad to see how lackluster the story, combat, and well, the entire game are. I have reinstalled Oblivion about 6 times now and tried to force myself to play it. Each time I do the Dark Brotherhood and Thieve's Guild quests and then quickly lose interest. I have never been able to stay interested long enough to even finish the main story line but I hear it's about as long as some side quests in the game are. And when you're done you're left with a vast world of copy-pasted tunnels and villages and the same fields of grass over and over again occasionally interrupted by some ruins which rapidly become repetitive as well. Overall, I am giving this game a 2 merely out of how pretty it is. The combat is atrocious (mouse button 1 swing, mouse button 2 block - AMAZING FUN!), the voice acting is mediocre at best, and the UI is utter garbage and it is cumbersome to do anything with it. Oh, yeah - the NPCs are supposed to be extremely interesting with daily needs and things like that. They're still dry and boring, just like Morrowind! Only in this game, they have random impossible-to-believe conversations witih eachother such as follows: NPC 1: Did you hear about that Gray Fox thief? NPC 2: Yes NPC 3: Bye now Wow! Cool! Expand
  10. JacobF
    Jul 26, 2009
    3
    Talk about overhyped, by a long shot. Graphically, it's pretty incredible. But all graphics do is sell a game and keep one from poking their eyes out. Anything to with the actual game content is severely lacking. The story is very bland, and honestly, just isn't very good, (which is funny, because it was praised for that). It feels more like a wild goose chase, whether you have Talk about overhyped, by a long shot. Graphically, it's pretty incredible. But all graphics do is sell a game and keep one from poking their eyes out. Anything to with the actual game content is severely lacking. The story is very bland, and honestly, just isn't very good, (which is funny, because it was praised for that). It feels more like a wild goose chase, whether you have to go find someone, or an item. Granted, there are tons of side quests, ruins, and a vast world to explore, which might redeem the problem with the issue, but it does not redeem the gameplay. The gameplay becomes severely repetitive. After you close the fifty-trillionth Oblivion gate, the game becomes very tedious, and is more like a chore than a fun game. In order to expect to go anywhere with success, you must be a spell caster. The incentive to level up is gone, because they scale the enemies to match your level. Yes, this means when you're level 35, with the best sword the game has to offer, you're still going to die trying to fight off a bandit. Also, you're stuck, for the most part, fighting the same lot of enemies the entire game. A couple bandits or wolves here... A few Mystic Dawn cult members there... A heck of a lot of Daedra everywhere... There is very little diversity in what you fight, unless you specifically go looking for something different to fight. The game partially fails in the sound department. Not to say the sounds were bad, by any means, but they were repetitive, and had a few inconsistencies. They used the same actors, over and over. Heck, the one actor they didn't repeat was killed off in the first half-hour of gameplay, and was the best one in the game (Patrick Stewart)! I mentioned some inconsistencies earlier. The conversations and voices often go against the nature of the character. If you talk to a beggar, and she sounds like an uneducated beggar (as she should) at first, wait. Ask her some stuff, and she'll suddenly sound like a well-educated noble. There wasn't a lot of music, but that doesn't bother me as much, since in games like Oblivion and Morrowind, I prefer something a little quiet, just ambience, if at all. Conclusion Overall, Oblivion is a major disappointment, and fails to live up to the hype and praise it's constantly given. The graphics are nice, so I won't deduct points there. The story is crummy, although there are lots of sidequests and things to explore and do. I'll deduct a point for the story anyway, because it can't fully redeem the poorly executed goose chase that Bethesda tried to pass off as a storyline. The gameplay is incredibly repetitive, and is incredibly difficult unless you're a spellcaster. Deduction of two points here. The leveling system is stupid, and has no incentive because of the scaling, so deduction of three points here. The sounds need a little bit of work, due to the inconsistency between conversations, and the overuse of certain actors, and under usage of others (Patrick Stewart, again). They weren't bad, but definitely not perfect. Point deducted here. The lack of tons of music didn't really bother me, so no points were deducted. In short, don't waste your money on this game. It is a blemish to the entire RPG genre, and a proof to the nearsightedness of the entire game critic industry. Expand
  11. EthanKunz
    Jul 28, 2009
    10
    This is probably the best game I've ever played, and I've played them all. While it has some minor flaws in npcs, it makes up for this in almost every other way. What really added to the game for me were the mods that hardcore gamers have been coming up with. I'm still playing it!
  12. AnonymousMC
    Jul 29, 2009
    8
    Good game, great gameplay, nice quest, the expansions are cool (shirvering isles) you get your moneys worth of gameplay (around maybe 250+ hours if u do every quest) but the game isnt perfect, i played it un patached and un modded and even though it rain fairly, i felt the graphics werent as good as i could get them to be (even though i have a lower end dell, i can get insanly goodGood game, great gameplay, nice quest, the expansions are cool (shirvering isles) you get your moneys worth of gameplay (around maybe 250+ hours if u do every quest) but the game isnt perfect, i played it un patached and un modded and even though it rain fairly, i felt the graphics werent as good as i could get them to be (even though i have a lower end dell, i can get insanly good graphics in games like call of duty, and left 4 dead etc) sometimes if i opened it through steam it would close to my desktop wich would be annoying when im exploring a cave because i would need to start over. Also not enough voice actors, one time when i was in cloud ruler temple i heard to charcters with the same voice actor have a conversation. Leveling system can get annoying aswell.
    the quest in the game are good, only memerable ones are the ones such as the main quest line, the dark brotherhood questline (which i play on every charcter i make because of how fun it is) have to admit though some enimes arent real creative, and i think bethsidia gave up too quickly (only one real expansion pack, knights of nine is really more of a bunch of addons on a CD with OBLVION stamped on the cover) campared to a fully expanded Fallout 3, not as good but is still a good game i would pick it up on steam as its at a fair price there.
    Expand
  13. MikeM
    Jul 6, 2009
    10
    Amazing game. In order to fully appreciate it though you must have the game for the PC. The mod community is enormous and some mod creators are awesomely talented. 10 out of 10.
  14. RC
    Aug 1, 2009
    9
    This is a great game. Hell I don;t even need to mod it in order to have a good time. Ive played this game exactly 48 times over and each time was fun. The graphics are a little outdated now, but it's still not bad for today's generation. The quest are fun, but are lacking meaning, you're mostly doing it for money so you can buy new stuff. Some of the quest are just not This is a great game. Hell I don;t even need to mod it in order to have a good time. Ive played this game exactly 48 times over and each time was fun. The graphics are a little outdated now, but it's still not bad for today's generation. The quest are fun, but are lacking meaning, you're mostly doing it for money so you can buy new stuff. Some of the quest are just not interesting. The AI is great (when it came out) today it's ok, considering this was made in 2005. Overall though the game is long and you have a massive modding community to help keep it fresh all in all this game is great and can't wait for the next elder scrolls. Expand
  15. NeilB
    Aug 29, 2009
    3
    I've never voted on anything, but feel strongly that this game is not worth a grade higher than a three for the simple reason that it feels more like a chore than a game. You spend a tremendous amount of time juggling inventory, repairing weapons, opening locks creating potions and cleaning out bland fortresses and ruins. The monsters/enemies are all the same...fighting a skeleton is I've never voted on anything, but feel strongly that this game is not worth a grade higher than a three for the simple reason that it feels more like a chore than a game. You spend a tremendous amount of time juggling inventory, repairing weapons, opening locks creating potions and cleaning out bland fortresses and ruins. The monsters/enemies are all the same...fighting a skeleton is no different than fighting a bandit or a ghost...and the weapons and spells are also incredibly boring, especially compared with the Baldur's Gate series. Pick a weapon (e.g. sword, axe) add some kind of cold/fire/shock damage to it and that's all. Same for the spells...fire a projectile of heat/cold/shock and that's all (other than heal, which you will use constantly). The game offers an enormous number of spells, weapons, armor and potions, but there is nothing to get you excited or make you feel that the quest was worth it. It's an impressive game for the freedoms it offers, but it is extremely boring, repetitive and worst of all, NOT FUN. Expand
  16. SD
    Aug 31, 2009
    7
    Oh dear, oh dear, oh dear. It may be beautiful, but that can scarcely hide the wafer thin plot or the mind-numbing repetition. Creating a great virtual world is one thing, and here this has been achieved. But a great virtual world needs to be inhabited to beings that aren't just clones of each other, and it needs to contain a game that's not just being an armed Fed Ex guy in a Oh dear, oh dear, oh dear. It may be beautiful, but that can scarcely hide the wafer thin plot or the mind-numbing repetition. Creating a great virtual world is one thing, and here this has been achieved. But a great virtual world needs to be inhabited to beings that aren't just clones of each other, and it needs to contain a game that's not just being an armed Fed Ex guy in a pretty mythological world. Expand
  17. JacobL
    Sep 12, 2009
    10
    Oblivion, is simply brilliant game! The plot line is imersive, the gameplay is thrilling, the adventuring is invigerating! When it was first released, most common computer systems had a hard time playing it. But now, with rigs that can play Crysis at 250 FPS, Oblivion's graphics system is merly a tick on ones RAM. I recomend all action/adventure gamers imediatly go to there local Oblivion, is simply brilliant game! The plot line is imersive, the gameplay is thrilling, the adventuring is invigerating! When it was first released, most common computer systems had a hard time playing it. But now, with rigs that can play Crysis at 250 FPS, Oblivion's graphics system is merly a tick on ones RAM. I recomend all action/adventure gamers imediatly go to there local game store and pick up a copy! Bravo Bethesda for creating such a wonderful game! Expand
  18. LeviA.
    Sep 22, 2009
    10
    This is the best game I have ever played. Ignore the whiny little kids with poor grammar skills that rated it low. They probably played it for about 20 minutes before stopping. The game may also require somewhat of an imagination too play. I have had this game for 4 years and still haven't completed the main quest and I still play it once every week. It is the best game ever made.
  19. James
    Sep 5, 2009
    0
    Dull, repetitive, unfinished, not original and MASSIVELY over-hyped! Oblivion is a prime example of the deterioration of quality in the PC gaming industry. Everything about this game is flawed and dislikable. Sure, you have a huge world to roam around and explore but why bother, the landscape design has just been repeated over and over again. Its utterly uninteresting. The dialogue is Dull, repetitive, unfinished, not original and MASSIVELY over-hyped! Oblivion is a prime example of the deterioration of quality in the PC gaming industry. Everything about this game is flawed and dislikable. Sure, you have a huge world to roam around and explore but why bother, the landscape design has just been repeated over and over again. Its utterly uninteresting. The dialogue is laughable. Whos brilliant idea was it to have the same actors (about 5) doing the the voice for the entire game population. And they are rubbish at it. They sound so flat and borring. None of the NPC characters feel like they have any depth. None what so ever! But its not just the voice quality which is poor, its the script as a whole. Its not gripping in the slightest, it feels lifeless. The game art and design is horrible. The characters for instance are for the ugliest Ive ever witnessed in a game. And their movements are all static and robotic, just another element that breaks your immersion from the game. Gameplay is awfull. Combat is a matter of frantic mouse clicking. Attack, block attack block, or as it becomes soon enough, attack, attack, attack, attack... win or run away. There is nothing about it to make you want more. And the leveling system... I mean come on. WHAT WERE YOU THINKING! As you advance level so do your enemies??? So you have no real character development. Its pointless. Theres no reward for gaining skill and no motivation to continue. When you get to the highest skill level you want to be kicking ass. Not to be equal with your opponment like you were when you first started the game. The menus, this is appalling. It forces you into flicking back and forth between each section. No shortcuts. Irriatating in the least. The games story... yawn... nothing compelling in the slightest. Infact I never did complete Oblivion as I lost all interest. Now, I've rated this game a ZERO. It deserves it. I cannot understand why people are rating this game 10/10. My guess is they are kids who still have the fortunate ability to use their imaginations to over come all the short commings this game has. I have however no guess as to why the major industry critics have awarded Oblivion so much. Whatever happened to great game design with new innovative concepts??? Oblivion is a huge dissapointment that was a complete waste of my hard earn money. My advice is dont buy it, and dont be duped by all the 10/10 ratings! Expand
  20. BrandonL
    Jan 17, 2010
    10
    The game is simply amazing from start to beginning. Most of the people that rated this game a 0 had never beat the game. People say the leveling system is flawed, It makes it so you don't have to worry about running into a highend area or a lowend area. you are access new gear at higher levels and New weapons. If you never level in this game you will be missing out on everything in The game is simply amazing from start to beginning. Most of the people that rated this game a 0 had never beat the game. People say the leveling system is flawed, It makes it so you don't have to worry about running into a highend area or a lowend area. you are access new gear at higher levels and New weapons. If you never level in this game you will be missing out on everything in the game, well just about..... The combat system is very simple, you can learn new melee moves and spells are a breeze to use. Character customization is very large and creating your own class is a very interesting thing to use. Basically the sky is the limit in this game. Make your own spells and weapons with special abilites. Monsters play very much like you and everything they wear u can take which i really dig that. Quests are very very deep and not just a simple kill this and kill that. the AI plays very well and play similar to you. There is no shortage of things to do. I mean you can beat the game and hundreds and hundreds of quests. Difficulty can be adjusted. The game is user friendly and isn't difficult at all. Works perfectly on a console. It plays unlike any other RPG out there right now, besides fallout of course. PEOPLE WHO GIVE THIS GAME A 0/10 REALLY DON'T KNOW WHAT MAKES A GOOD RPG A GOOD RPG!!! this game is amazing, graphics, voice acting, enviroment, combat system are all perfected and are amazing. Expand
  21. bosochargedhercegovan
    Nov 4, 2006
    0
    the graphics are drab, unbearable shit. i just want to tear the screen apart when I see them. its almost as if the developers mixed up their own spit and vomit and used that as inspiration. second, the artists are hired from some shitty mental insitution where they have daily art lessons. there is absolutely NOTHING inspiring or captivating about them at all. Decade old games like Mariothe graphics are drab, unbearable shit. i just want to tear the screen apart when I see them. its almost as if the developers mixed up their own spit and vomit and used that as inspiration. second, the artists are hired from some shitty mental insitution where they have daily art lessons. there is absolutely NOTHING inspiring or captivating about them at all. Decade old games like Mario or Zelda have more interesting and for the most part better graphics than oblivion. oblivion makes use of innovations like antialiasing and ASF and thats it.

    second the engine used is shit. gamebryo?? lol are you kidding. the programmers are shit. ever1 that worked on this game were the bottom scrapers of the industry. That is because Bethesda is a cheap-arse company that spends all its money on promotion and making crappy movie tie-ins.

    NWN2 is out now!! its not as good as i thought but kicks Obliviooons arse anyday.
    Expand
  22. JoshAckerman
    Dec 18, 2006
    10
    Oblivion is in my top three all time
  23. PedroViegas
    Dec 28, 2006
    10
    This is the best rpg ever, an innovation and package of brand new experiences for role playing game lovers.
  24. AeliusS.
    Mar 21, 2006
    6
    A step back. The hype was just that. Doom3 and HL2 were both superior games technically speaking. Many of the hyped aspects are poor. The game cannot scale back like D3. The NPCs talk with each othe in non-sequitors, just like the NPCs in Kingping or Postal2. The voice work often sounds like a mod, complete with differing room verb. Some NPCs even speak using a mix-n-match of voices A step back. The hype was just that. Doom3 and HL2 were both superior games technically speaking. Many of the hyped aspects are poor. The game cannot scale back like D3. The NPCs talk with each othe in non-sequitors, just like the NPCs in Kingping or Postal2. The voice work often sounds like a mod, complete with differing room verb. Some NPCs even speak using a mix-n-match of voices depending on the topic. I am so upset that Bethesda would do this to us. Especially after the dissapointing FPS point and click Call Of Cthulu. Expand
  25. Wes
    Mar 21, 2006
    10
    awesome game. The world is giant and I am going a good portion of my life playing this game. This game smashes Morrowind to pieces. Completely meets the hype, and my expectations.
  26. JulesP.
    Mar 22, 2006
    9
    Great game just played it for five houres amazing. Sets a new standard for rpg's
  27. DavidM.
    Mar 22, 2006
    9
    I don't like to attack people in these reviews. However Aelius is completely off-base. First of all let me address one of his points: The NPCs do sometimes talk in non-sequitors or change voice pitches depending on topic. 95 percent of the time however, they are great and a HUGE leap forward over Elder Scrolls 3. That's really the only thing in Aelius's review with merit. I don't like to attack people in these reviews. However Aelius is completely off-base. First of all let me address one of his points: The NPCs do sometimes talk in non-sequitors or change voice pitches depending on topic. 95 percent of the time however, they are great and a HUGE leap forward over Elder Scrolls 3. That's really the only thing in Aelius's review with merit. The world is beautiful. The game has an incredible physics engine. Also, they made the combat much more intense and immediate than the wack-a-mole hits of ES3. Other points: What the heck does "cannot scale back like D3" mean? I don't even know what Aelius is talking about. Aelius's point about Doom 3 and Half Life 2 being technically better than this game is purely objective. This game's interiors match up well with Doom 3. There is realistic shadowing and great texture/animation work. Now against Half Life 2, that is an unfair comparison as HL2 has no free-form outdoor areas. A better comparison would be Far Cry and Oblivion holds it's own there as well. There is a 2 mile draw distance in this game and it looks great. The quests are also interesting and varied. There are problems but is this a 6/10 game? Absolutely not, and only a bitter over-hyped maniac would rate it as such. Expand
  28. JerryN.
    Mar 24, 2006
    10
    This game is amazing. It's been hyped for a long time, and let me tell you, it delivers and then some. The graphics are spectacular. The addition of voice to every bit of dialogue is wonderful. The traveling sytem is great. The quest system is a wonderful improvement over Morrowind. Some of the peopl complain about some seriously rtivial factors. Factors that could only be an issue This game is amazing. It's been hyped for a long time, and let me tell you, it delivers and then some. The graphics are spectacular. The addition of voice to every bit of dialogue is wonderful. The traveling sytem is great. The quest system is a wonderful improvement over Morrowind. Some of the peopl complain about some seriously rtivial factors. Factors that could only be an issue ina game this daring and expansive, as no other has anyhting close to the sheer amount of depth and attention to detail. Even the side quests you'll likely never even find are really well done. The whole thinig just reeks of quality. It runs well on mid range systems, and has very scalable settings. In fact, why are you reading this and not buying/playing Oblivion right now? It's undoubtedly the best RPG ever made. Possibly the best game ever. It's not without it's small flaws, but those are easily dismissed when appreciating this game for what it is. If you can't do that, you are asking way too much and you should go back to playing all the other "perfect" RPGs. Expand
  29. MiKE
    Mar 25, 2006
    10
    WOW WOW WOW!! The graphics are stunning, HUGE enivornments to wonder in, crystal clean music, with voices! Excellent game!!!
  30. HoracioP.
    Mar 25, 2006
    10
    Es exelente. Un juego que no tiene desperdicios
  31. JoshV.
    Mar 27, 2006
    9
    words can not properly describe my love for this game, it is a world into its self. no person can describe this world to someone who hasnt played it. so expansive that i played 45 hours the first weekend that i had it and i completed the main series of quests. it would have gotten a 10 but i tend to stand to close to doors when i open them and on a rare occasion when the door opens tword words can not properly describe my love for this game, it is a world into its self. no person can describe this world to someone who hasnt played it. so expansive that i played 45 hours the first weekend that i had it and i completed the main series of quests. it would have gotten a 10 but i tend to stand to close to doors when i open them and on a rare occasion when the door opens tword me i get smashed into the wall and end up clipping through into a giant ocean below the level also the menu was a pain, i dont need to elaborate on that the only other gripe was that there where too many people that looked too much like martin and i couldnt seem to get my person to look just right. Expand
  32. JasonW.
    Mar 29, 2006
    10
    I have played the 360 version and the pc version, I dont see how anyone would give 360 version a higher rating, when the pc version was 10x more detailed and will be patched etc... while 360 will stick with its sound bugs among others it's having.
  33. RicM.
    Apr 11, 2006
    7
    This game is extremely big, but ultimately extremely empty and without reward. The main story will only take a few hours to beat, regardless of what other people say. Since there is level scaling, there is very little reward for leveling up and because of the scaling you can literally beat the game on level 1 if you so choose. There are a suprising low variety of places to visit (mostly This game is extremely big, but ultimately extremely empty and without reward. The main story will only take a few hours to beat, regardless of what other people say. Since there is level scaling, there is very little reward for leveling up and because of the scaling you can literally beat the game on level 1 if you so choose. There are a suprising low variety of places to visit (mostly just town, cave, ruin or planes to oblivion) and enemies to fight. I got very tired venturing into the gates of oblivion to fight only a handful of enemies each time, even if you level up a lot. The main story, as well as completing any of the guilds, leaves a great deal to be desired. In fact, you do not even get to fight the end boss yourself, you just watch this fight and that's it. Since the story is so weak, the ending is weak and feels like a waste of time. I really wanted to give this game a 10, I had a lot of fun and it was worth the $50 I suppose, but I feel that this is one of those rare games that could've been amazing, but it was only good. While better than Morrowind, it still doesn't have an engaging story. It just feels like you're playing an MMORPG that is only for one player really. Too bad you can't combine the size and beauty of this game with the focus and NPC interactivity of Fable. It's also VERY VERY VERY annoying how every guard everywhere has telepathy and if you stealthy kill one all the sudden there's a 1000 bounty on your head no matter where you go, and the guards will never ever stop pursuing you. This game should've been delayed a long while. Expand
  34. DaveR.
    Apr 12, 2006
    8
    How truly awe-inspiring this game would be if the AI weren't flawed and those sometimes not-so-sublte collision glitches were removed. Once the buzz of freedom ran out, I began wincing occassionally at problems both with gameplay and character creation.
  35. C.Leitch
    Apr 14, 2006
    9
    This is a sweet game overall. however, if there was a list of every aspect of a game, and you had to rate it 0-10, there would be several catagories that would receive rather low, while the rest recieved 10. First up would be the system requirements. even the latest top of the range computer can render this beast at 30 fps on full. thats with a crossfire x1900. therefore, people withThis is a sweet game overall. however, if there was a list of every aspect of a game, and you had to rate it 0-10, there would be several catagories that would receive rather low, while the rest recieved 10. First up would be the system requirements. even the latest top of the range computer can render this beast at 30 fps on full. thats with a crossfire x1900. therefore, people with relativly good pci 16s like 6600s are forced to dramaticaly lower the grapic settings, to the point where the game designers desired atmosphere no longer exists because you can only see as far as you hand, whereas the game allows you to see distand mountains. another is the stability. i would be happy to run this game on full grapics, even if i did get a steady 5fps. only problem, is that it will only last about 5 mintues before it blue-screens on me. Im sure this would change if you had a more powerful graphics card, but it forces you to lower your graphics to the point where it runs well AND dosent constantly crash. another, is that much like its predecessor, if you play this game to win, it gets boring very very quickly. you have to from time to time make up your own rules , and not use the idiotic AI system to your advantage. another is the extreemly short main story line. although there is many many city and guild quests to be done, i found it amazing that i had not even been made to visit evey city before finishing the storyline. I was amazed when i found out that i had actually finished the storyline, rather than just a small section of it, probably because of the length of the morrowind campain. Although im sounding very critical, another thing that annoyed me very much was the character animations. Very many of these problems carry over from ES III. The game engne is just too smilar, almost as though they have taken the morrowind engine and added new graphics and features, but more or less left it as it was. if they had delayed for another couple o months to fix these problems, the game would be endless, because evry little thing you do would be enjoyable, with the current release, all these factors leak through the whole "seamless RPG" thing and tend to make it less absorbing. Having said all this, the graphics and world in this game are amazing. Expand
  36. Jared
    Apr 15, 2006
    10
    Simply stunning. Great way to completely lose your life for a month.
  37. TelyS.
    Apr 23, 2006
    10
    The best computer roleplaying game ever made. I
  38. MercZ
    May 12, 2006
    9
    A great RPG for the ages. There are certain issues I feel, such as the level scaling system which makes it possible to beat the game at level 1. Don't listen to other people that say the game is completely ruined- it is still very fun and is probably the best RPG on the market currently. The graphics are good, the gameplay is great, and everything in the game is good. There are A great RPG for the ages. There are certain issues I feel, such as the level scaling system which makes it possible to beat the game at level 1. Don't listen to other people that say the game is completely ruined- it is still very fun and is probably the best RPG on the market currently. The graphics are good, the gameplay is great, and everything in the game is good. There are issues as I mentioned before, but these can be fixed with patches, expansions, and even mods. Remember, Morrowind wasn't perfect when it was released either. Expand
  39. PaulC.
    May 22, 2006
    9
    Blew me away when I started. Once I was past the eye candy, though, I did think it was more similar to Morrowwind that I had thought it would be. Not a bad thing. It'sjust that I'd already played that instalment to DEATH. Also, add on improvements to Morrowwind like map notes were backed out of this version. So, in some minor respects this is a bit of a step back. Enjoyed the Blew me away when I started. Once I was past the eye candy, though, I did think it was more similar to Morrowwind that I had thought it would be. Not a bad thing. It'sjust that I'd already played that instalment to DEATH. Also, add on improvements to Morrowwind like map notes were backed out of this version. So, in some minor respects this is a bit of a step back. Enjoyed the hell out of it just the same. Expand
  40. BL
    May 31, 2006
    9
    Besides occasional lag issues, this is the most immersive and intriguing game I've played all year.
  41. DerekR.
    Jun 15, 2006
    10
    This game is simply briliant. Not only are you free to do what ever you want but it is increadablly easy to edit the world that the game is played in. Like making weapons and armors custom for your charactor then placing them some where in the world. Most of all this game has beautiful landscapes, well if your computer can run them of course.
  42. HongW.
    Jul 12, 2006
    5
    TES 4: Oblivion is a game that really disappointed me. I played Morrowind for years an thought, Oblivion would also do that. But it doesn't. Well, the graphics and pyhsics are absolutely great. But the most important thing, gameplay, sucks. After 100 hours you played all quests and there is nothing more to discover. Morrowind was much better in that view. The second thing is, that i TES 4: Oblivion is a game that really disappointed me. I played Morrowind for years an thought, Oblivion would also do that. But it doesn't. Well, the graphics and pyhsics are absolutely great. But the most important thing, gameplay, sucks. After 100 hours you played all quests and there is nothing more to discover. Morrowind was much better in that view. The second thing is, that i own the german version. (bad english ^^) You cant count all the translation and layout bugs. After over 4 months finally the patch comes out. And what does this thing do? Nearly nothing! Translation and layout still sucks and no interface mods are working properly anymore. So, patch that fixes some unimprotant things, or user patches (mods) that fix nearly everything? I think the answer is clear, Bethesda has forgotten the community and i hope TES 5 is much more like Morrowind, not Oblivion.. Expand
  43. GlenD.
    Jul 14, 2006
    8
    Pros: Huge sprawling landscape, visually stunning at higher settings. Great storylines for guild quests. Somewhat multi-facetted. Open ended. Incredible mod support, someone with very little experience with the editor can figure out how to create new weapons, even new dungeons and caves! Cons: Requires some serious processing power, both CPU and GPU. The engine used is not very optimized. Pros: Huge sprawling landscape, visually stunning at higher settings. Great storylines for guild quests. Somewhat multi-facetted. Open ended. Incredible mod support, someone with very little experience with the editor can figure out how to create new weapons, even new dungeons and caves! Cons: Requires some serious processing power, both CPU and GPU. The engine used is not very optimized. The main quest is way too short. The fast travel feature is easy to overuse. Heck, the fast travel feature was implemented in a way that eliminates some encounters that were present in Morrowind. Seems like encounters are few and far between now, perhaps the landscape is the reason why, Morrowind was a valley/pass/mountain landscape; Oblivion is a forrest/hills/pretty landscape. Thus, in Oblivion you can easily zig zag to your final destination, in Morrowind there was 1 path. The fast travel feature, once used once, is used over and over! Because, if you take a stand and hoof it to a location, you find you might run into a bandit camp, okay, 3 enemies, or run past an ayleid ruin (a long dungeon with no real 'loot' at the end) Overall a wonderful experience, but I am now 3 weeks from starting the game, I've sent one char through the main quest, got another char to 18 and through the mage quests, another through the dark brotherhood and to level 21, and most recently a vampire to level 9 and through the thieves guild quests, and I have college right now and other responsibilities. So -- yes, with fast travel the game goes fast. Expand
  44. BrandonO.
    Jul 28, 2006
    10
    ok first of all this game is the BEST i have played in total around 130 hours. I have no clue why some people say the gameplay suck i think it is awsome. graphics are perfect. physics are cool. A game like this is neat because you can go out and adventure but then you can also buy a house and 'Live The life'. just be a normal person. i used to have a lvl 32 mage character and ok first of all this game is the BEST i have played in total around 130 hours. I have no clue why some people say the gameplay suck i think it is awsome. graphics are perfect. physics are cool. A game like this is neat because you can go out and adventure but then you can also buy a house and 'Live The life'. just be a normal person. i used to have a lvl 32 mage character and after going into lots of caves getting gold and whatnot I bought the most expensive house and all the furniture for it and it was cool i had collected all the magic items and stored them there. well your probably bored hearing me talk on like this. one last thing. this game is gthe best game i have ever played in my life i havent put another Xbox 360 game into my console since i bought it. BUY THIS GAME!! Expand
  45. AS
    Aug 25, 2006
    8
    Well, by now should be fairly clear that this game was made primarily with Xbox in mind. I must despite the hype about the graphic, I was quite disappointed. The
  46. CH
    Nov 10, 2007
    0
    I keep it short. This game is a piece of bugridden filth. Do not expect to even be able to finish the main quest because of game/plot braking bugs. Stay away from this game.
  47. Toomuchhype
    Nov 10, 2007
    6
    I rented it, then modded it to a six, which means playable, unfortunatley you can't mod the boring storyline, and dialogue. The gameplay out of the box without modding is poor, inferior to Morrowind, not a game for longtime pc rpg fans.
  48. JeffB.
    Nov 19, 2007
    10
    With the proper mods it is an absolute treat.
  49. PCG
    Nov 30, 2007
    10
    Regardless about what all the nay-sayers have said, this game's great. I've played through the main storyline, then began learning to use the toolset, which, is rather fun, actually. People may dislike it, but this game is good--granted, I do prefer to use mods; such as the one that doesn't auto-level everything to make it beatable... That just irritates me... and the Regardless about what all the nay-sayers have said, this game's great. I've played through the main storyline, then began learning to use the toolset, which, is rather fun, actually. People may dislike it, but this game is good--granted, I do prefer to use mods; such as the one that doesn't auto-level everything to make it beatable... That just irritates me... and the non-telepathic guards plugin. Yeah, this game has its problems... But tell me--what game does not? What game is not improved by fan-made content? In closing, I'd like to say that people who play the game for 2 hours, go off the main road three times, and just try to stick to the storyline, they just aren't going to get a fun game. You have to explore the world, see it through the eyes of an adventurer... ... This game has eaten up so much of my free time that it's irritating me. Expand
  50. JK.
    Nov 7, 2007
    10
    Hundreds of hours of amazing game here! Tons of quests, and each one has its own story and interesting characters. Highly recommended.
  51. JustinS.
    Nov 8, 2007
    4
    Dull, dull, dull. The game starts out as beautiful and immersive, but then you realize how cardboard everyone is, even with the so-called "radiant AI." AI can't give them personalities. Only a good writer could do that, and there are no good writers here, as evidenced by the extremely linear fetch-quests, including the main storyline. Not an RPG game for true role-players. Skip this Dull, dull, dull. The game starts out as beautiful and immersive, but then you realize how cardboard everyone is, even with the so-called "radiant AI." AI can't give them personalities. Only a good writer could do that, and there are no good writers here, as evidenced by the extremely linear fetch-quests, including the main storyline. Not an RPG game for true role-players. Skip this snore-a-thon. Expand
  52. CattyC.
    Dec 1, 2007
    7
    The game has lots of bugs that basically discontinue the story (or make it impossible to continue. Other than that its fun for about a month.
  53. J.K.
    Mar 25, 2007
    8
    Oblivion good, but definitely not on the level of the hype it's received. The game is great fun while it lasts, but after playing through the main quest and each of the main factions, you're just about done. Yeah, that's a lot of hours, but the so called "limitless exploration," reviews that you see all over the place really aren't accurate. Definitely worth a buy, but Oblivion good, but definitely not on the level of the hype it's received. The game is great fun while it lasts, but after playing through the main quest and each of the main factions, you're just about done. Yeah, that's a lot of hours, but the so called "limitless exploration," reviews that you see all over the place really aren't accurate. Definitely worth a buy, but this game could have been perfect if there were real roleplaying elements; the quests mostly don't have multiple ways of completion, and player-NPC conversation is limited to single word choices. Expand
  54. JuliusB.
    Jul 26, 2007
    0
    An affront to the Elder Scrolls lore. I absolutely loved Morrowind, but Oblivion was a nightmare. Never have I seen a more sterile and apathic world with no personality in a game. The worst part was that it sold so well... I would bet too many people got disappointed.
  55. AnonymousMC
    Sep 15, 2007
    4
    Mediocre graphics for such a new game. Boring and predictable story line. Repetitive gameplay. Uninspired quests, mostly of the "fetch" and "kill" sort. Bad script writing, except for a very few risquee (but irrelevant) line. Fundamentally flawed character leveling mechanics. The background music wasn't so bad. The main thing I liked about this game was its world size, but evenMediocre graphics for such a new game. Boring and predictable story line. Repetitive gameplay. Uninspired quests, mostly of the "fetch" and "kill" sort. Bad script writing, except for a very few risquee (but irrelevant) line. Fundamentally flawed character leveling mechanics. The background music wasn't so bad. The main thing I liked about this game was its world size, but even that didn't hold my interest. Once I owned a couple of houses, not even the main quest was enough to keep me playing. Collapse
  56. RyanB
    Sep 29, 2007
    10
    Best game I've ever played. Graphics are amazing, almost no lag for the amount of detail is put into everything. Vast amount of weapons, armors, AI, and quests. The weapons have outstanding amount of detail, along with the armors and such. The only real disappointment I had about this game was the short main story. But the 200+ side quests more than make up for it. If I had played Best game I've ever played. Graphics are amazing, almost no lag for the amount of detail is put into everything. Vast amount of weapons, armors, AI, and quests. The weapons have outstanding amount of detail, along with the armors and such. The only real disappointment I had about this game was the short main story. But the 200+ side quests more than make up for it. If I had played through the main quest without stopping to do side quests it maybe would have taken 4-5 hours. But, with the Shivering Isles expansion and the other expansions available for all three consoles, I've played the game for over 50 hours in total. Overall, This game is spectacular. I'd give it a 9.8 out of 10. Expand
  57. AC
    Nov 2, 2008
    5
    A decent attempt to create a open-beautiful-world game The graphics are great. Unfortunately, they made with old style thinking leading to a frustrating leveling system, 90% of the quests is go there and there and kill kill and come back for more. My opinion it is a good game when you have nothing else to do.
  58. AndrewG.
    Jan 13, 2008
    10
    7.6 average? OUTRAGE! Those who say that this game is an Action game, and not an RPG, seem to be unaware that the base mechanics of this series hasn't changed much since Daggerfall - indeed, both Daggerfall and Morrowind had just as much cause for hacking. Simply because Oblivion does it's hacking element more effectively doesn't make it an action game. I mean, duh. 7.6 average? OUTRAGE! Those who say that this game is an Action game, and not an RPG, seem to be unaware that the base mechanics of this series hasn't changed much since Daggerfall - indeed, both Daggerfall and Morrowind had just as much cause for hacking. Simply because Oblivion does it's hacking element more effectively doesn't make it an action game. I mean, duh. However, it has been 'softened' slightly around the corners - some fewer skills, fewer item types, and linear quest lines take this game further from its Daggerfall/Arena premise of a virtual 'world' in which anything goes - it is missing some grit and depth which the others had in abundance. But I cannot give this game anything but a 10, because this is still the best hope there is - the modding community is flourishing, and hopefully Bethesda will make TES:V deeper than this - though, I must stress, the guild questlines are fabulous this time around. I say, superior to Morrowind, but not to Daggerfall, which I where I'm from, actually. OMG - Daggerfall isn't in Metacritic! Why on earth not?? Anyway - I've played 200 hours, and will re-play when I harvest a couple of hundred mods and a better computer to take on the 512mb textures. Expand
  59. LeonardoFerreira
    Oct 16, 2008
    10
    Oblivion is from FAR the best rpg game ive ever played on my whole life ,its all about the freedom;you can either follow the main quest or just say "F*CK OFF" main quest and go and explore the world ,doing LOTS and LOTS of side-quests wich are as good or even better than the main quest ,and are DEFINITELY bigger than the main quest.Also ,there are LOTS of mods wich gives like 2 months orOblivion is from FAR the best rpg game ive ever played on my whole life ,its all about the freedom;you can either follow the main quest or just say "F*CK OFF" main quest and go and explore the world ,doing LOTS and LOTS of side-quests wich are as good or even better than the main quest ,and are DEFINITELY bigger than the main quest.Also ,there are LOTS of mods wich gives like 2 months or more of more gameplay.PLUS ,the construction set (cs) wich comes with the game is absolutely amazing ,it lets completely RETARDS do whole new houses/castles/dungeons/quests/items/etc Expand
  60. GabrieleAccurso
    Dec 23, 2008
    10
    AH Oblivion! The best rpg of all time (i havn't played with morrowind) come out in year 2006 i have played it all year 2007 (all 1 year) the best graphics before crysis. Simply immense, freedom and fantasy style incredible, kinds and kinds of everything... the next generation of RPG!
  61. MichaelU.
    Feb 19, 2008
    5
    This game had so much potential...but a few flaws ultimately broke it. First of all, the leveling system is broken. You have to pick 7 skills and get them up to level up. Therefore, some people will level by fighting, but some people will just run and jump around to get athletics and acrobatics up. Conjuration is overpowered, because you can summon pets and kill them for xp. by the time This game had so much potential...but a few flaws ultimately broke it. First of all, the leveling system is broken. You have to pick 7 skills and get them up to level up. Therefore, some people will level by fighting, but some people will just run and jump around to get athletics and acrobatics up. Conjuration is overpowered, because you can summon pets and kill them for xp. by the time they notice you are killing them they are dead. Another problem is how short it is. by the time i was about 40 hours into the game i had the second best armor. The main quest will only take a few hours to beat, with side-quests being the only thing supporting it. It seems they put very little work into the main quest and just randomly threw side-quests at you. But the side quests usually have little meaning and most are not that fun. The world is actually not that big...It seems even smaller due to fast travel. Fast travel eliminates the use of a horse and makes the game even shorter. The fact that you can simply skip time is useful, but sometimes it makes things too easy. The voice acting is pretty good, but i often see an old man talking and when i ask him something he completely changes his tone and sounds like a 24 year old. The characters all look old and artificial, and there expressions are simply messed up. One person was angry and i had a high disposition with him. The final flaw is the physics. The physics are poorly done and everyone does things slowly. I often hit a goblin with a fire spell and he doesn't even twitch. The second time i do it he flies several meters and then falls extremley slowly. There are very few types of armor and weapons. Overall, this game seemed genre defining, but now it is simply rpg filling. Its a huge shame, really. This might have been one of the best RPGs ever. Although it is very fun for awhile, it will eventually lose charm. I recommend Two worlds, Gothic, or morrowind once your bored with Oblivion. Expand
  62. Kevin
    Jun 12, 2008
    10
    Oblivion is a truly wonderful game. There are countless things to do, and mods can truly add some great experiences. If you like RPGs, you should not miss this game.
  63. AnonymousMC
    Aug 21, 2008
    2
    The ridiculous level system means that things will always be an even match with you... so whats the point of even leveling up? The voices are horrible! The beggars have about 4 different voices which keep changing every sentence. Theres probably about 5 voice actors in the whole game. ALL male nords and orcs sound the same! I cant believe this game has a higher score than proper RPG'sThe ridiculous level system means that things will always be an even match with you... so whats the point of even leveling up? The voices are horrible! The beggars have about 4 different voices which keep changing every sentence. Theres probably about 5 voice actors in the whole game. ALL male nords and orcs sound the same! I cant believe this game has a higher score than proper RPG's like KOTOR. The only thing good about this game is the graphics of the countryside when you travel from town to town... oh wait! theres no point! you can just 'fast travel' which instantly takes you from one part of the world to the other. wtf is the point of buying a horse then? In conclusion, bad AI, no immersion, bad combat, bad physics and bland quests. Expand
  64. EE
    Nov 18, 2009
    10
    Oblivion is an amazing game that lives up to the expectations set down by bethesda's other games such as morrowind and Fallout 3. Amazing graphics, wonderful performance, and hours of great fun. And when you finish with the game, just install a few mods and it is new again! Completely worth $50.
  65. JohnB
    Oct 12, 2009
    7
    The game has a lot of content and enviroments are beautiful. Unfortunately there are some serious flaws. All the npc- characters in the game are ass ugly, generic and they act like robots. There are only adults in the game, and no one has a beard. I'm glad that they didn't include dwarves in this game since they too would propably be as tall as anyone and without beard. The The game has a lot of content and enviroments are beautiful. Unfortunately there are some serious flaws. All the npc- characters in the game are ass ugly, generic and they act like robots. There are only adults in the game, and no one has a beard. I'm glad that they didn't include dwarves in this game since they too would propably be as tall as anyone and without beard. The voice acting is mostly horrendous, and there are 2 or 3 music tracks in the whole game. Expand
  66. RadekK
    Dec 20, 2009
    10
    A little easier and simpler than Morrowind, but I gave 10. I hope that next Elder Scrolls V will be even better.
  67. AlexiK
    Dec 23, 2009
    10
    Usually i find these sort of games to be pritty Nerdy, you know the sorts. Where you plod arround for hours trying to find some wood to construct a hovel out of. Oblivion is the exception however, and is one of the easiest to master RPG's iv played all year round.
  68. MatthewM
    Jun 12, 2009
    10
    likely the single best game i ever played. I shall admit that there were bugs and the sort. I shall admit that after three years the graphics dont hold up. But the sheer thrill of ignoring the main quest, the sides quests and avoiding the guides to track down and become a vampire made Oblivion the most fun i have ever had. On top of the stupidly brilliant free roam structure, the game likely the single best game i ever played. I shall admit that there were bugs and the sort. I shall admit that after three years the graphics dont hold up. But the sheer thrill of ignoring the main quest, the sides quests and avoiding the guides to track down and become a vampire made Oblivion the most fun i have ever had. On top of the stupidly brilliant free roam structure, the game includes the best and most innovative quests i have ever played. A small few of these are the Goblin war quest, The BRILLIANT Dark Brotherhood questline and the oh so killable 'annoying fan'. Sheer gaming gold. Expand
  69. Bor
    Jun 16, 2009
    10
    The Best Game!!!
  70. JonathanR
    Jun 18, 2009
    4
    I'm confused again and again as to why this game is held to such vaulted heights. The biggest flaw are the economics of leveling. It's nearly impossible to raise a skill (or it's ridiculously simple, take your pick), which means you are either underdeveloped on stats or overdeveloped on an uncompetitive basis with the mobs that level alongside you. Magic is my favorite I'm confused again and again as to why this game is held to such vaulted heights. The biggest flaw are the economics of leveling. It's nearly impossible to raise a skill (or it's ridiculously simple, take your pick), which means you are either underdeveloped on stats or overdeveloped on an uncompetitive basis with the mobs that level alongside you. Magic is my favorite class, and without mods the magic system is so unrealistic as to be unusable. Expand
  71. FranckD
    Jul 21, 2009
    3
    Mediocre. Beautifull but ordinary. Loosy combat system based on finger skill. You jaust have to press forward slash backward, sometime sidestep and bingo you ve gone trought all the game. The main quest is lousy and can be completed at lvl 2. Noone offer challenge due to the stupid system that let any of your ennemies ever your level. At least 50% of the classes are unplayable even going Mediocre. Beautifull but ordinary. Loosy combat system based on finger skill. You jaust have to press forward slash backward, sometime sidestep and bingo you ve gone trought all the game. The main quest is lousy and can be completed at lvl 2. Noone offer challenge due to the stupid system that let any of your ennemies ever your level. At least 50% of the classes are unplayable even going very slowly on combat since 90% of quests require bashing. Hail for the king Morrowind. Expand
  72. TimE
    Jul 22, 2009
    4
    The game is huge, but it does not give the proper avenues for allowing you to explore it completely, such as dull quests and the tedious searching for these quests. The game felt very clunky; like when trying to pick up something, I was constantly slowed down from carrying too much. Auto-loot even picks up your enemies 10-ton rusty iron breastplates. Combat was decent and simple, but was The game is huge, but it does not give the proper avenues for allowing you to explore it completely, such as dull quests and the tedious searching for these quests. The game felt very clunky; like when trying to pick up something, I was constantly slowed down from carrying too much. Auto-loot even picks up your enemies 10-ton rusty iron breastplates. Combat was decent and simple, but was also clunky, it felt just like an FPS with a knife. The story was linear, and all the side quests were very "unimportant" and time consuming. With all the hype that this game has got, I believe even with outdated games such as Fallout 2 and Baldur's Gate had a much better 'soul" than this game because I was not able to immerse myself into this world. I was not able to bring myself to finish this game completely, after 8 hours, I was too bored to continue. Expand
  73. AnonymousMC
    Aug 11, 2009
    7
    Very expansive world to explore, and a plethora of side quests to complete make this a very good RPG. Unfortunately, the game is marred by serious design flaws and a main storyline that leaves much to be desired. There are mods to fix the worst of its problems (such as the unbalanced creature leveling), but a game should not have to rely upon its community modders to fix their product. 7/10.
  74. DavidL
    Aug 17, 2009
    5
    I give this game a 5 because it requires "Fan Made Content' to even make it enjoyable, even after having mods toppled over mods it still don't entertain me as much as my other games do. Morrowind was far better than this game. Morrowind kept you busy even if you where not playing the main plot. The problems with oblivion is every thing that they said was good about it. 1.I I give this game a 5 because it requires "Fan Made Content' to even make it enjoyable, even after having mods toppled over mods it still don't entertain me as much as my other games do. Morrowind was far better than this game. Morrowind kept you busy even if you where not playing the main plot. The problems with oblivion is every thing that they said was good about it. 1.I can't walk up "steep hills" when there really not all that steep. Why can't they have the character crawl up the hill at least with coded textures that make the character do stuff when they touch the texture or some thing that makes sense please. 2.You character can't climb up ledges and pull him/her self up. 3.The magic effects are boring. All i have seen was fire balls, thunder bolts and stuff alike etc. I have not seen any thing epic like a meteor shower or a fire storm or fire arrows or a huge shock wave that shakes the ground and makes cracks and stuff etc. 4.Combat is slow and boring. There is a mod that fixes this, but still with out good maneuverability combat will also fail. (Refer to 1) 5.The story line was great and i give them a 10 for it, but it lacked in game play so it was like watching a movie with a single ending. 6. Random encounters took for ever to re spawn or you won't even fight them because only 1-3 monsters spawn at a time. To get any action you had to look for quests and there hard as heck to find for such a big game. So even though you can go any where you still had to do quests to get any real action so technically the game was linear. 7. Why do you even level up? Why do you even have abilities? Why do you even have any thing for this game when you can beat it at level 1? 8. The character creation concept was awesome, but didn't work right because it takes mins to hours to make a good looking character. The facial hair was a complete rip off because it wasn't facial here it was just coloring. Games that are far older than this had beards and more maneuverability like prince of Persia or dungeon lords. 9.This game has some advantages like being huge (Why is there no MP support?) and the graphics. 10.This game is just a walk in the park. Nothing that caught my eye. I care about game play more than visuals all though i do admit that visuals are very very important for games. So even if a game has bad graphics it can still look nice if it has a lot of detail the objects plus the game play to back it up. Games should be great with many features from the start you shouldn't make your customers do all the work by having to mod the thing inside out. I do love modding i don' t mean to stop make modding tools, i mean make a game that is good enough so that we don't have to make overhauls. This is all my opinion of course. Excuse my typing i,am young and not perfect at English even though it is my own language. Expand
  75. GabrielU
    Aug 28, 2009
    5
    This game is a LARGE step back. Everything nerfed, dumbed down, sick level scaling, plenty of choices, where we don't have any choice, destroyed lore (Cyrrodil is and tropical jungle and few things more, not a typical, european woods!). I felt deeply cheated after playing.
  76. HenryS
    Sep 12, 2009
    10
    This is the best RPG ever, EVER. I have finished this game on three difirent platforms (360 (RROD), PS3 (YLOD) and PC. And not once have I found this game repetive. Every time I play again I find a new quest a new itme, or I just repeat the same quests just for the hell of it. Those who think this game is Lacklustre obiously have no taste in games or this isn't their genre for in This is the best RPG ever, EVER. I have finished this game on three difirent platforms (360 (RROD), PS3 (YLOD) and PC. And not once have I found this game repetive. Every time I play again I find a new quest a new itme, or I just repeat the same quests just for the hell of it. Those who think this game is Lacklustre obiously have no taste in games or this isn't their genre for in which case shouldn't be reviewing it. Best RPG ever. Expand
  77. MC
    Nov 12, 2006
    9
    While not perfect (due to a few minor issues with gameplay and a general "emptiness" of the game world), this game is certainly a must-have for all those who like freedom of exploration. Outstanding graphics, excellent soundtrack and the epic scale of the environments (especially outdoors) make Oblivion an excellent sequel to Morrowind. Kudos to Bethesda Software!
  78. ChrisK.
    Nov 12, 2007
    8
    Perfect example for a game saved soley by the contributions of fans. A year or so ago, as soon as I fully realized the grave implications of the leveling system (enemies are always adjusted to your level, making for a very pointless RPG experience), I uninstalled the game in disgust and disappointment (Come to think of it, the mod-less console versions are bound to be horrible) Now, after Perfect example for a game saved soley by the contributions of fans. A year or so ago, as soon as I fully realized the grave implications of the leveling system (enemies are always adjusted to your level, making for a very pointless RPG experience), I uninstalled the game in disgust and disappointment (Come to think of it, the mod-less console versions are bound to be horrible) Now, after randomly breezing through the Oblivion Wiki, I decided to give it another try. And boy, was it worth it. I can fully recommend the game now - with about a ton of mods you can perfectly adjust the it to your preferences as you see fit. Makes for a decent gaming experience, still, just don´t expect anything terribly new or innovative - the game leaves enough room for improvement. Here´s hoping that Bethesda improve with TES V. Expand
  79. AnonymousMC
    Nov 28, 2007
    3
    Do not believe the hype - Oblivion is an action game, NOT an RPG, and a rather poor one at that. The combat and the quests are boring, the writing is abysmal and the Radiant AI is completely retarded. The main quest will have you going from one corner to another of the world over and over again - you may enjoy the traveling for a while, but I'm sure you'll soon get bored andDo not believe the hype - Oblivion is an action game, NOT an RPG, and a rather poor one at that. The combat and the quests are boring, the writing is abysmal and the Radiant AI is completely retarded. The main quest will have you going from one corner to another of the world over and over again - you may enjoy the traveling for a while, but I'm sure you'll soon get bored and start using the fast travel option (which is also stupid - if the world were interesting enough, there would be no need for it). The side quests are mostly variants of Kill 10 Rats or Stalk a Boring NPC For Hours. I'm giving it a 3 for the pretty forests and modability (which, don't understand me wrong, can't save the game). You may enjoy this for a couple of days if you liked Diablo or Dark Messiah; if you're more of a Fallout/Torment or even Morrowind lover, stay the hell away from Oblivion. Expand
  80. JonasH.
    Dec 21, 2007
    9
    It seems that most people voting down this game, are mostly complaining about it being a non-real RPG, presumably because it is a hybrid of a couple of game genres (RPG, sandbox and FPS). As for an introduction I feel like I have to defend this design: Because an RPG is not based on some complex system of chance, defined by a series of attributes, which could not vaguely be understood by It seems that most people voting down this game, are mostly complaining about it being a non-real RPG, presumably because it is a hybrid of a couple of game genres (RPG, sandbox and FPS). As for an introduction I feel like I have to defend this design: Because an RPG is not based on some complex system of chance, defined by a series of attributes, which could not vaguely be understood by anyone who has not played a book or board RPG, does not make it any less of a "true" RPG. And just because the character's ability to aim/time is not only based on "2+1=3 (miss)", but actually is a reflection of the gamer's abilities, it is not necessarily worse than, say, Neverwinter Nights. Hybriding genres rarely brings anything good with it, right, but in some cases, like this, it brings a powerful combination, that delivers months of excellent gameplay. I, for example, did not go stubborn when the Total War series came out, even though it mixed my favourite genre (RTS) with the genre I found the most boring (TBS), I tried it out, and today it has a place among my most favourite game. Yeah, all genres in a hybrid has to give something up, but just because you can't have your advanced roll-a-dice battle systems doesn't make it a complete non-RPG. In fact, I have never felt as much in the role of a character as I feel playing this game. I guess the above paragraph filled more than the rest of the review will, but here we go: The game is, most definitely, the one that by standard is most customisable. YOU decide 100% how you want to look, much like The Sims 2, only the controls are a bit more advanced and hard to manage, you decide what path you'll take, how you would like for yourself to level up etc. etc. What I found most astonishing was the absolute free choice you have regarding how you make money, fight enemies and form alliances. If you want to make money fighting, join the gladiators and you'll make a swift 5000. Want to make money looting robers? Walk by the roads looking for bandit camps. Even as thief you can make a pretty descent living, as long as you train your Security, Alteration and Sneak skills. The choice is pretty much yours, and the best part is: You can do whatever you want, and are NOT locked to following any history as such. The game itself contains a lot of mini games to take care of things like diplomacy (speechcraft) and lockpicking, so it is, again, the gamer's skill and not a random number that decides whether or not you are successful. (Although you can choose to make an attempt based on your security skill alone). The reason, despite my complete obsession with this game, I only give it 9, is the severe amount of bugs existent. It annoyed me beyond reason being told to pay a fine of 1 gold EVERY time I spoke to a guard in the beginning. Although that bug went away after a while. Considering the graphics, I do not have a powerful enough GPU to run it at high/full quality, so I'll avoid commenting on it. Expand
  81. TallDude
    Dec 21, 2007
    10
    Great open ended RPG game, I highly recommend it. Tons of mods available to make the game even better.
  82. SuperMan
    Dec 24, 2009
    10
    Severely underrated game. Graphics and physics and still fast and responsive.
  83. Dec 15, 2010
    9
    Fantastic Game. The freedom we have to mount classes , magics and our own alternative paths and quests in the game are really unique. Plus , instead of other famous RPG like games, it brings us the experience of good first person combat.
  84. Jan 7, 2011
    0
    A pretty ragdoll. This game is one of the biggest waste of good potential I have seen in a long while. The lush graphics are wasted on an empty shell, on a dull, stiff, rigid, lifeless world where there is little to no compulsion to explore or do anything.

    The same can be said about the settings: the background and settings, very promising and incredibly rich, are completely wasted in
    A pretty ragdoll. This game is one of the biggest waste of good potential I have seen in a long while. The lush graphics are wasted on an empty shell, on a dull, stiff, rigid, lifeless world where there is little to no compulsion to explore or do anything.

    The same can be said about the settings: the background and settings, very promising and incredibly rich, are completely wasted in this carapace devoided of any kind of a soul.

    On top of this, the hefty system requirements.

    Stay clear of this.
    Expand
  85. Apr 26, 2011
    10
    Best game ever. I am still playing it. It has bugs, but because it's great mod-ability, mods have fixed all of them. I played hundreds of hours without mods and patches, and I've played hundreds of hours with mods and patches. I have loved every moment.
  86. Sep 18, 2011
    10
    Most engaging game I've ever played. The world is immense and the things to do seem unlimited. I've gotten a lot of playability out of this game. A truly good game for me is one where I can beat it in a different way than my friends will. I love the customization and oblivion has plenty.
  87. Dec 9, 2011
    10
    A FREEEEKEN AWESOME GAME! I still play it now and it still brings fun...................................................................................................................................................................................................
  88. Oct 6, 2012
    10
    TES IV Oblivion is one of the best game that i played ever. This game should be on the same shelf with Mass Effect, Fallout 2, Max Payne and Vice City.
  89. Jan 26, 2013
    9
    TES IV: Oblivion opened the door of a new kind of RPG playing, it's visuals and it's gameplay are wonderful but still, and as many Bethesda games, t's a bit buggy. Even though, I believe this is one of the best games Bethesda ever made.
  90. Jul 26, 2013
    10
    I have played many RPG in my life and this one always remains a classic. This is leaps and bonds over the final fantasy, fables and even Morrowind. Morrowind in terms of combat and atmosphere was alot less enaging than in oblivion. Combat is much more engaging, as it should be for this style of game. Quests are entertaining and tough enemies are very challenging.
  91. Jul 4, 2014
    10
    Одна из самых лучших ролевых игр из когда-либо созданных.

    The Elder Scrolls 4: Oblivion – идеальный пример компромисса между свойственной консолям упрощенностью и старыми добрыми традициями компьютерной ролевой школы. Игра, предоставляющая геймеру максимально широкий выбор – как играть и как проводить свою жизнь в этом мире. Главное, что перед нами по-прежнему самая красивая и самая
    Одна из самых лучших ролевых игр из когда-либо созданных.

    The Elder Scrolls 4: Oblivion – идеальный пример компромисса между свойственной консолям упрощенностью и старыми добрыми традициями компьютерной ролевой школы. Игра, предоставляющая геймеру максимально широкий выбор – как играть и как проводить свою жизнь в этом мире. Главное, что перед нами по-прежнему самая красивая и самая большая ролевая вселенная (онлайновые игры не в счет), полная приключений и интересных возможностей, вселенная, в которой для игрока созданы самые идеальные условия. Серьёзных недостатков у игры просто нет, и не забывайте, что с помощью модов и плагинов можно сделать игру ещё лучше, главное - не переборищть. ;)
    Expand
  92. Sep 10, 2013
    3
    A big step down from Morrowind, its predecessor. Customization is limited--there is only one "best" armor, one "best" weapon, etc, so you ccan't choose yr character's look. Many doors can't be opened, many characters can't be killed, limiting the actual role-playing aspect of the game. The worst part is that everything in the game levels with you, enemies getting stronger and moreA big step down from Morrowind, its predecessor. Customization is limited--there is only one "best" armor, one "best" weapon, etc, so you ccan't choose yr character's look. Many doors can't be opened, many characters can't be killed, limiting the actual role-playing aspect of the game. The worst part is that everything in the game levels with you, enemies getting stronger and more numerous, and weapons getting better, so there is no sense of mystery in any of the dungeons, no hope of finding that powerful sword or item as there was in Morrowind. There is no incentive to level up at all. The plots are predictable (HINT: someone is going to betray and attack you at the end), and the characters ugly. There is little good to say except that the stealth/assassination aspect of the game is somewhat entertaining and the spell-making is fun. Expand
  93. Feb 16, 2015
    10
    This game is most likely the greatest game I've ever played. I put many hours and lots of my computer's storage into beating this game. Music, Graphics, Quests, Character Creation: all the best of its time. I tell all my friends to play it.
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 54 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 54 out of 54
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 54
  3. Negative: 0 out of 54
  1. It’s just so damned big. That’s what you’ll say after playing Oblivion for more than an hour. Or, for that matter, 50 hours.
  2. Oblivion is by far the closest I have come to playing D&D Sunday afternoons with my friends (yes, I did that, though I’m on medication now), all wrapped up in a stunning package with tens of thousands of lines of spoken dialog and good music.
  3. 100
    I honestly have to say that I am in favour of most of the changes and I think Oblivion is an awesome achievement from Bethesda.