The Elder Scrolls Online PC

The Elder Scrolls Online Image
Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 64 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 2430 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Experience this epic adventure on your own or together with your friends, guild mates, and thousands of alliance members. Explore dangerous caves and dungeons, embark upon adventurous quests across Tamriel, and engage in massive player versus player battles, where the victors reap the spoils of war.
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 64
  2. Negative: 1 out of 64
  1. 90
    A few bugs and balance issues aside, it genuinely feels like its single-player predecessors rather than a cookie cutter MMO, and that in itself is enough to draw back in the weary crowd yearning for something fresh from the genre.
  2. Apr 17, 2014
    83
    Zenimax had a steep mountain to climb: They had to cater to both the expectations of fans of Offline-Tamriel as well as demands of online-mechanics. And even though the result is far from perfect and seems to lose focus here or there, I don’t regret any of the rather large amount of time I’ve spent with TESO.
  3. Apr 15, 2014
    80
    The Elder Scrolls Online is a remarkable MMORPG that keeps the essence of the original series. The game could have been more original in the design of its missions, but its PvP mode and the high quality of its contents are very good.
  4. Apr 15, 2014
    70
    Under the surface, not enough has changed to the formula that separates The Elder Scrolls Online from existing free or established properties, and I would find it genuinely hard to recommend to anyone seeking an experience outside of a cosy, well presented, box.
  5. May 16, 2014
    70
    Something good is being brewed here by Zenimax. The Elder Scrolls Online definitely needs a lot of work just to be able to reach other MMOs, but by playing this game you get a feeling that the online version of this franchise could become a milestone for the genre.
  6. May 5, 2014
    65
    The Elder Scrolls Online is a big game with a lot of work put into its creation. ZeniMax Online has created a large world with many quests and a cool PvP mode. The game tries to satisfy both solo gamers and MMO lovers, but the end result is short of expectations. TESO can be recommended only to the fans of the genre, who accept its flaws: repetitiveness, not very exciting combat and lots of simplifications. This "Skyrim online" is well made, but not very original.
  7. Apr 29, 2014
    40
    Apparently existing only to serve as a strawman for future arguments against the whole genre, Elder Scrolls Online is a game of exposed weaknesses and failed potential. If you’re hankering for Scrolls, I recommend modded Skyrim. If you’re after an MMO, I recommend any other.

See all 64 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Apr 4, 2014
    10
    Did you ever play WoW and wished it wouldn't be so boring levelling up? Welcome to the Elder Scrolls Online. It plays very differently fromDid you ever play WoW and wished it wouldn't be so boring levelling up? Welcome to the Elder Scrolls Online. It plays very differently from traditional MMOs in the sense that there are not quest hubs. This means that it is up to you to find and explore and by doing so level up. The combat is fantastic, there are no cool down timers. It is up to you to dodge, block, interrupt, cast, heal. It's very hectic and very fun, but also true to the Elder Scrolls Combat formula. Being able to play in first person adds immersion. The graphics are fantastic. All quest texts are voiced. The list goes on and on, in short I couldn't be happier with this game. Collapse
  2. Apr 22, 2014
    10
    ESO is a very, very good MMO. When you read a review on this site from a user who has scored ESO zero, what you're witnessing is a threatenedESO is a very, very good MMO. When you read a review on this site from a user who has scored ESO zero, what you're witnessing is a threatened neckbeard; those wow players who are aware of three things:

    A) they've invested incredible amounts of time and energy into wow. Maybe they've achieved a lot of cultural capital and status on their server.
    B)Wow subscriptions are inflated, servers are closing left right and center, and wow is dying.
    C) elder scrolls is the first MMO that can and will supplant wow as the world's favorite MMO.

    What these users are hoping to do is to bastardize ESO so that you--yes you, the potential wow player, or existing wow player, won't be tempted to leave azeroth. Ignore them; ESO is a better game than wow ever is, was or ever will be. It looks better. It isn't a grind. The combat is more fun and kinesthetically based--this means that no longer will you be beaten by some keyboard warrior who has ten thousand key bindings; it's a level playing field. No cookie cutter specs. No worrying about patches which will nerf the class you're spent a year building into oblivion.

    It's a fresh, new, beautiful world. I played wow from Vanilla, and ESO compared to vanilla wow is like comparing the horse and cart to the ship that landed at roswell. I mean ESO is just so, so much better than that. Yes it has some bugs, and yes they are systematically and rapidly being ironed out. And here's something the devs are doing that blizzard never did and never will do; listening to the community, and trying to work with it--not telling it what should happen. The game is young. It's already great, and it is going to get better. ESO is the most well executed MMO release in history.

    Don't listen to the neckbeards. Get a copy, and go play. The game really, really picks up after level 13. PVP is fantastic. Crafting is fun, not a chore. Profession grinding anybody? Gone. ESO let's you skip the parts you hated about wow, and play the parts you loved about it. It's a great achievement. Here's to the future!
    Expand
  3. Apr 4, 2014
    9
    Would give a 10 if it the game wasn't shush a money grab fest. However ill pay the monthly fee cause its worth it more then wow that i playedWould give a 10 if it the game wasn't shush a money grab fest. However ill pay the monthly fee cause its worth it more then wow that i played for 4 years. I'm actually reading all the quests texts from NPCs cause they are imersive. Game is what i expected and more. I know even there are a few bugs and the end game isn't still perfect i trust Bethesda to know that they will solve game issues. They worked hard to get the game at an acceptable level at the release and hearing the community was they banner. Expand
  4. Mar 27, 2015
    7
    It would be a 5 or 6 if wasn't buy to play now. They have made a lot of changes since beta/launch so I'd give it a try for the $40-60 you canIt would be a 5 or 6 if wasn't buy to play now. They have made a lot of changes since beta/launch so I'd give it a try for the $40-60 you can find the game for. If anything wait for a steam sale! Expand
  5. Jul 18, 2014
    5
    Ohhhhhh boy. ESO. What to say about this game...First of all, the amount of money you have to pay to play this game is simply out of thisOhhhhhh boy. ESO. What to say about this game...First of all, the amount of money you have to pay to play this game is simply out of this world. The gameplay the game provides you with doesn't justify the heavy costs. For the rest, well, its all meh...PvP has potential, but you often end up alone, bugged out or on foot. Oh and PvP without a horse is unplayable... The PvE is good old classic Elder Scrolls PvE, which is good. The problem is that you don't get the ONLINE feel in PvE... The game doesn't really favorise the Online PvE neither. Honestly, as a Skyrim player, this game is a huge letdown. If you want to discover the Elder Scrolls franchise, get Skyrim. This game isn't worth it. Expand
  6. Apr 21, 2014
    3
    Im a mmo lover, played all big titles and unfortunately this is not the game i was expecting. I was expecting a fun game, exciting, tons ofIm a mmo lover, played all big titles and unfortunately this is not the game i was expecting. I was expecting a fun game, exciting, tons of things to discover, a game that would glue me to the screen for months .. instead i got a game that made me bored in 1 week game play. 1 week, that's how long you will play this game before you get UBBER bored of questing and farming .. cause that's all you can do. Wow took me months to get bored, even Aion was more fun than this game. Huge disappointment for someone who pre-ordered Imperial Edition. Expand
  7. Jan 7, 2017
    0
    A bad time for casuals.

    This game started off as having more of a casual focus, sure. Since One Tamriel, though, it's been supremely
    A bad time for casuals.

    This game started off as having more of a casual focus, sure. Since One Tamriel, though, it's been supremely exclusionary of casuals. Dungeons scale to appeal to end-game PvE players, balance changes that regularly wreck concept builds to appeal to PvP players, and world bosses that used to be soloable that now require a large group. If you're a very competitive sort, you'll love it. It's just too toxic of an environment for casuals. It's moving ever more and more toward appealing to the people who play WoW and League of Legends.

    Crafting used to be a level above all drops, so it was easy to craft great armour. Crafting stats have been nerfed, and crafted gear is the same level as what drops now (and inferior in every way). This is something they promised they wouldn't do, but hey, it's just too easy to get good gear and the high-end PvE players don't like that. They added duelling, which meant that roleplayers are now getting trolled all the time by people checking roleplaying site schedules and having duels there. Unlike Champions Online, it doesn't even have no-duel zones. You can duel anywhere.

    The only thing that ESO still has going for it is slightly above sub par writing.

    If you want the MMO that is all the things ESO promised to be? Hm, that's hard. TSW is a good choice, and it's more in line with casual players than ESO is now. So... I'd suggest giving that a try instead. Just keep in mind that ESO has gone in a Bold New Direction, the management at Zenimax Online Studios now wants that sweet, sweet WoW money. And we all know how well that worked out for Champions Online, Wildstar, Warhammer Online, et al, right?

    So don't bother with ESO and ignore the promises made about it. It used to be a casual game, not any more.
    Expand

See all 892 User Reviews