Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 64 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 2274 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Experience this epic adventure on your own or together with your friends, guild mates, and thousands of alliance members. Explore dangerous caves and dungeons, embark upon adventurous quests across Tamriel, and engage in massive player versus player battles, where the victors reap the spoils of war.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 64
  2. Negative: 1 out of 64
  1. 90
    A few bugs and balance issues aside, it genuinely feels like its single-player predecessors rather than a cookie cutter MMO, and that in itself is enough to draw back in the weary crowd yearning for something fresh from the genre.
  2. Apr 17, 2014
    83
    Zenimax had a steep mountain to climb: They had to cater to both the expectations of fans of Offline-Tamriel as well as demands of online-mechanics. And even though the result is far from perfect and seems to lose focus here or there, I don’t regret any of the rather large amount of time I’ve spent with TESO.
  3. Apr 15, 2014
    80
    The Elder Scrolls Online is a remarkable MMORPG that keeps the essence of the original series. The game could have been more original in the design of its missions, but its PvP mode and the high quality of its contents are very good.
  4. Apr 15, 2014
    70
    Under the surface, not enough has changed to the formula that separates The Elder Scrolls Online from existing free or established properties, and I would find it genuinely hard to recommend to anyone seeking an experience outside of a cosy, well presented, box.
  5. May 16, 2014
    70
    Something good is being brewed here by Zenimax. The Elder Scrolls Online definitely needs a lot of work just to be able to reach other MMOs, but by playing this game you get a feeling that the online version of this franchise could become a milestone for the genre.
  6. May 5, 2014
    65
    The Elder Scrolls Online is a big game with a lot of work put into its creation. ZeniMax Online has created a large world with many quests and a cool PvP mode. The game tries to satisfy both solo gamers and MMO lovers, but the end result is short of expectations. TESO can be recommended only to the fans of the genre, who accept its flaws: repetitiveness, not very exciting combat and lots of simplifications. This "Skyrim online" is well made, but not very original.
  7. Apr 29, 2014
    40
    Apparently existing only to serve as a strawman for future arguments against the whole genre, Elder Scrolls Online is a game of exposed weaknesses and failed potential. If you’re hankering for Scrolls, I recommend modded Skyrim. If you’re after an MMO, I recommend any other.

See all 64 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Apr 4, 2014
    10
    Did you ever play WoW and wished it wouldn't be so boring levelling up? Welcome to the Elder Scrolls Online. It plays very differently fromDid you ever play WoW and wished it wouldn't be so boring levelling up? Welcome to the Elder Scrolls Online. It plays very differently from traditional MMOs in the sense that there are not quest hubs. This means that it is up to you to find and explore and by doing so level up. The combat is fantastic, there are no cool down timers. It is up to you to dodge, block, interrupt, cast, heal. It's very hectic and very fun, but also true to the Elder Scrolls Combat formula. Being able to play in first person adds immersion. The graphics are fantastic. All quest texts are voiced. The list goes on and on, in short I couldn't be happier with this game. Collapse
  2. Apr 5, 2014
    10
    A positive spin on the MMO genre. You won't find boring quests like "kill ten rats" or anything like that. Other nice things are you can craftA positive spin on the MMO genre. You won't find boring quests like "kill ten rats" or anything like that. Other nice things are you can craft with all the materials in the bank, thus saving inventory space. Great graphics and story based quests with an Elder Scrolls feel. Definitely recommend this game. Expand
  3. Apr 4, 2014
    9
    I honestly made an account just to say, it's really good game, I'm not much of a fan of MMO's, nor do I often enjoy them, However this is oneI honestly made an account just to say, it's really good game, I'm not much of a fan of MMO's, nor do I often enjoy them, However this is one of the few that really makes it really special, the world is beautiful, the combat is great, PvP has been awesome so far, it has quests that aren't always find or kill, it does vary, Character Creation is great, story plays out well and even the community is mature, the subscription fee does put people off but it's still great, I'd almost give it a 10 if it wasn't for the sub fee, I truly believe this is the MMO that Elder Scrolls deserve, that's coming from a fan who has been playing since Daggerfall Expand
  4. Apr 28, 2014
    7
    This is my first review on Metacritic, so bear with me. I'm old school (from the days when CJayC still ran GameFAQs), so I'll be givingThis is my first review on Metacritic, so bear with me. I'm old school (from the days when CJayC still ran GameFAQs), so I'll be giving separate scores for each category.

    My score ranges are: 9-10: The best on the market, or pretty close to it (because nothing's perfect)
    7-8: Good / Very good. With a few tweaks here and there, could have been a 9-10.
    5-6: Decent. Not bad. Not great. A lot of generic stuff that is both unoffensive (read: not terrible) and uninspired falls here
    1-4: Varying levels of suck. Something is inherently broken, blatantly bad, or just plain not fun.
    0: A game so terrible that it rivals the awfulness of both E.T. and Big Rigs: Over the Road Racing games

    Overall score: Not an average, but usually pretty close. The overall score is just my overall opinion of the game. It may or may not be an average, as sometimes games are more (or less) than the sum of their parts.

    Graphics: 8. The graphics aren't exactly the best on the market, but they ARE the best I've ever seen in an MMO. Given the size of the zones and scaling issues inherent in MMOs, the ESO team did a great job. From a technical standpoint, the graphics are great. From an artistic standpoint, they're pretty good, but could have had a bit more flavor.

    Story: 7. This one was a tough call between a 7 and 8. The story is relatively derivative, as many ES titles are. The voice work is hit or miss. However, the fact that the entire game is voice-acted and (to an extent) interactive pushed it over the edge for me. It's by no means a GREAT story, but it is better than you'll find in most MMOs.

    Gameplay: 8. The combat system is in the vein of TERA, albeit a bit more sluggish. The crafting system is a nice change of pace from the "create all" and wait game of a certain other MMO I used to play, and the questing is a nice change of pace from "kill/fetch X of Y". That being said, the quests could have been more varied, as so many of the quests involve the same basic premise (if you play it, you'll understand; otherwise, I'd rather keep this spoiler-free). Also, while the game is a themepark MMO, it actively promotes exploration through level-appropriate zones by way of offering extra skill points for those that do. The character creation is great, and the game supports add-ons much the same way WoW did. The bad news? The skill bar is ridiculously short (five slots, one reserved for "ultimate" abilities). Grouping, while fun for endgame, PvP, and dungeons, is broken for open-world leveling/questing due to the manner in which the phasing system was implemented.

    Bugs: 4. It's an MMO launch. There are tons of bugs. Nothing breaks immersion and fun like having to re-log because the item you need for your quest either won't work or won't show up on the screen. That being said, these bugs are being fixed quickly. I'll update this in about a month in order to reflect any progress made. While the dev team is fixing bugs quickly, that doesn't change the fact that many are still there and annoying as hell.

    Overall: The game doesn't feel like an Elder Scrolls title, but it IS a solid game in its own right. It's not the best MMO ever, but it's definitely not bad. It also has quite a bit of potential, which is not reflected in the review score (potential != current state). If you're looking for a fresh MMO to add to your collection, definitely give ESO a shot.... just wait a month or so for them to work the kinks out first.
    Expand
  5. Oct 11, 2014
    5
    After playing out a six month subscription to this game, I think I'm entitled to an honest review. The idea for the game was great. There wasAfter playing out a six month subscription to this game, I think I'm entitled to an honest review. The idea for the game was great. There was a lot of potential there. Unfortunately, there's nothing here that lives up to that potential. Why the developers thought a theme park mmo that stems from a series of single player sandbox rpgs would be a good idea is beyond me. It's a crash grab. We're half a year in, and devs are more focused on working on future content than fixing current content. Endgame is pvp. Pve trials and pve arena are terrible. The game is full of exploiters and macro users who go unpunished. This ruins any purpose in progressing or playing through the game legitimately. This game might have a better chance on consoles, if that project doesn't get abandoned. It's already been postponed for six months, and we haven't heard a word about console release since it was postponed 4 months ago. Expand
  6. Apr 24, 2014
    3
    This game is boring and painfully 'average'. For a game that promised to break the mold of MMO's, it hasn't done anything new. I won't goThis game is boring and painfully 'average'. For a game that promised to break the mold of MMO's, it hasn't done anything new. I won't go into some long winded rant about why I'm only giving this a 3, as Angry Joe and Francis/Boogie summed it up better than I could and I suggest going to watch their reviews. Maybe Wildstar will prove to be better implemented. Expand
  7. Apr 1, 2015
    0
    I bought the game yesterday and played for a couple of hours. I tried to login today and was told that my account was banned, that I wouldn'tI bought the game yesterday and played for a couple of hours. I tried to login today and was told that my account was banned, that I wouldn't be told why I was banned and that their decision is final, the customer support was extremely rude to me. This game and its developers are shameless scam artists that need to be brought to justice. Expand

See all 838 User Reviews