The Elder Scrolls Online PC

Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 64 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 2332 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Experience this epic adventure on your own or together with your friends, guild mates, and thousands of alliance members. Explore dangerous caves and dungeons, embark upon adventurous quests across Tamriel, and engage in massive player versus player battles, where the victors reap the spoils of war.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 64
  2. Negative: 1 out of 64
  1. 90
    A few bugs and balance issues aside, it genuinely feels like its single-player predecessors rather than a cookie cutter MMO, and that in itself is enough to draw back in the weary crowd yearning for something fresh from the genre.
  2. Apr 17, 2014
    83
    Zenimax had a steep mountain to climb: They had to cater to both the expectations of fans of Offline-Tamriel as well as demands of online-mechanics. And even though the result is far from perfect and seems to lose focus here or there, I don’t regret any of the rather large amount of time I’ve spent with TESO.
  3. Apr 15, 2014
    80
    The Elder Scrolls Online is a remarkable MMORPG that keeps the essence of the original series. The game could have been more original in the design of its missions, but its PvP mode and the high quality of its contents are very good.
  4. Apr 15, 2014
    70
    Under the surface, not enough has changed to the formula that separates The Elder Scrolls Online from existing free or established properties, and I would find it genuinely hard to recommend to anyone seeking an experience outside of a cosy, well presented, box.
  5. May 16, 2014
    70
    Something good is being brewed here by Zenimax. The Elder Scrolls Online definitely needs a lot of work just to be able to reach other MMOs, but by playing this game you get a feeling that the online version of this franchise could become a milestone for the genre.
  6. May 5, 2014
    65
    The Elder Scrolls Online is a big game with a lot of work put into its creation. ZeniMax Online has created a large world with many quests and a cool PvP mode. The game tries to satisfy both solo gamers and MMO lovers, but the end result is short of expectations. TESO can be recommended only to the fans of the genre, who accept its flaws: repetitiveness, not very exciting combat and lots of simplifications. This "Skyrim online" is well made, but not very original.
  7. Apr 29, 2014
    40
    Apparently existing only to serve as a strawman for future arguments against the whole genre, Elder Scrolls Online is a game of exposed weaknesses and failed potential. If you’re hankering for Scrolls, I recommend modded Skyrim. If you’re after an MMO, I recommend any other.

See all 64 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. May 6, 2015
    10
    Easily the best MMO I've played and one of the best ES games. Don't listen to the people that are trying to compare this to the previousEasily the best MMO I've played and one of the best ES games. Don't listen to the people that are trying to compare this to the previous games, as if they had made skyrim literally an MMO, or skyrim with co-op. That is not what this i, and if you review it as such, you will only be dissappointed as many others have.

    Now if we review it as an MMO, that all changes. Since becoming B2P, the game has minor micro-transactions that are absolutely non-freemium/paytowin. Seriously there's like 5 pets and a few weak potions.

    Gameplay wise, it's magnificent how much of the ElderScrolls they've managed to cram into the thing. Lorewise, it's incredible. 80% of Tamriel is explorable and there's lore all throughout. The environment is one of the most beautifully crafted in any game, so much more so than the massive amount of re-used assets in Skyrim. There's sneaking, stealing, magic, melee, all the armors, bows, etc... that you would expect from an ESO game, but now with raiding, guilds, and trading you expect with an MMO.

    In general, I've played many MMOs, and I could never get into any of them. The ESO is my favorite MMO, and just as good as any previous games of the series, but not the same type at all.
    Expand
  2. Apr 15, 2014
    10
    I've played since beta and this game is like none other that I've seen before it. I've played Wow, SWTOR, LOTR online, GuildWars 2 and otherI've played since beta and this game is like none other that I've seen before it. I've played Wow, SWTOR, LOTR online, GuildWars 2 and other MMO's and this one is like no other. A friendly reminder though, this game is not like it's predecessor in that it's an MMO, not a single player game. The game play is fun and I find myself enjoying the casual questing and foraging. The PvE is really cool and and offers allot more than what I actually thought it would when I had just heard of the game. I'd give this game a higher score, but with the amount of bugs to be fixed are quite staggering and a few balancing issues should be noted. All that aside I don't mind paying 15.00$ a month for this MMO because I know it's going towards fixing those bugs and balancing. Expand
  3. Apr 4, 2014
    10
    Did you ever play WoW and wished it wouldn't be so boring levelling up? Welcome to the Elder Scrolls Online. It plays very differently fromDid you ever play WoW and wished it wouldn't be so boring levelling up? Welcome to the Elder Scrolls Online. It plays very differently from traditional MMOs in the sense that there are not quest hubs. This means that it is up to you to find and explore and by doing so level up. The combat is fantastic, there are no cool down timers. It is up to you to dodge, block, interrupt, cast, heal. It's very hectic and very fun, but also true to the Elder Scrolls Combat formula. Being able to play in first person adds immersion. The graphics are fantastic. All quest texts are voiced. The list goes on and on, in short I couldn't be happier with this game. Expand
  4. Mar 26, 2015
    7
    My old review in September 2014 gave this a 6/10 because making money was very hard and playing with friends was harder. However, the cameMy old review in September 2014 gave this a 6/10 because making money was very hard and playing with friends was harder. However, the came has come a long way and I feel that I need to update the review. I give it a 7/10 now because the money making and friend playing is still more difficult than it needs to be, but with them dropping the subscription fee as well as fixing many of the issues at launch, it is definitely a fun game to play with your friends and worthy of your time. Expand
  5. Apr 26, 2014
    5
    i must say, my first elder scrolls game was skyrim. i played it, liked it and then teso came out. when i heared it had a monthly fee, ii must say, my first elder scrolls game was skyrim. i played it, liked it and then teso came out. when i heared it had a monthly fee, i thought: this guys had a success with sp only games, every one of them. heck, skyrim is the only game that is sp only that is played more then 50000 players everyday, which is bizzare. but bethesa is becoming money hungry. they want money and they want to get it just like ea and activi$ion does. if the fee keeps running, i wont even bother with the new elder scrolls game. they let me down this time. Expand
  6. Jul 18, 2014
    3
    First of all, I did not play any of the Elder Scrolls games before Skyrim ... but I absolutely fell in love with Skyrim, so I was anxious toFirst of all, I did not play any of the Elder Scrolls games before Skyrim ... but I absolutely fell in love with Skyrim, so I was anxious to try this game. The only previous experience I have had with MMO's was WoW and I only played that for maybe a month if that. I did NOT enjoy ESO for several reasons. First of all, the quests are relatively uninteresting and not compelling. Second, it really isn't an open world: if you stray too far from your origin at a low level you will not survive long at all. Third, you are pretty much forced in to crafting your items because you cannot buy specific items. You cannot buy ore or ingots. You have to search for ore, mine it, then use it for crafting. If you want decent weapons or armor you have to spend hours and hours scouring the landscape to find the ore, mine it etc ... it becomes monotonous and a waste of time. Lastly the combat system is clunky and you are stuck with goofy special abilities to try to defeat your opponents. As a game, for me, it was a complete failure and I shelled out $80 to play it. Yes, I fell for the "Imperial Edition" figuring it would be a wise investment considering the hundreds (over a thousand) hours that I played Skyrim. I played this game maybe 60 hours before I gave up in disgust. I give it 3 points because the graphics are astounding, and the huge world is quite a feat of graphics and design. Unfortunately it's not a world worth staying in very long. Huge failure on the part of Bethesda and Zenimax as far as I'm concerned. I will think twice about shelling out my hard earned cash for future Elder Scrolls products, as it seem likely Skyrim was the jewel of the lot. (I have since attempted to play Oblivion and didn't last in that one more than maybe 3 hours ... I did not like it either.) Expand
  7. Jun 12, 2015
    0
    If you're a big fan of Elder Scrolls, you will more definitely hate this game. If however you're just a fan of MMORPGs, well you'll likelyIf you're a big fan of Elder Scrolls, you will more definitely hate this game. If however you're just a fan of MMORPGs, well you'll likely think this is below par at best...who was this game targeted to again? On the plus side, you can play as an Imperial for the low low price of $95 for your first month! Expand

See all 860 User Reviews