Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 64 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 2323 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Experience this epic adventure on your own or together with your friends, guild mates, and thousands of alliance members. Explore dangerous caves and dungeons, embark upon adventurous quests across Tamriel, and engage in massive player versus player battles, where the victors reap the spoils of war.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 64
  2. Negative: 1 out of 64
  1. 90
    A few bugs and balance issues aside, it genuinely feels like its single-player predecessors rather than a cookie cutter MMO, and that in itself is enough to draw back in the weary crowd yearning for something fresh from the genre.
  2. Apr 17, 2014
    83
    Zenimax had a steep mountain to climb: They had to cater to both the expectations of fans of Offline-Tamriel as well as demands of online-mechanics. And even though the result is far from perfect and seems to lose focus here or there, I don’t regret any of the rather large amount of time I’ve spent with TESO.
  3. Apr 15, 2014
    80
    The Elder Scrolls Online is a remarkable MMORPG that keeps the essence of the original series. The game could have been more original in the design of its missions, but its PvP mode and the high quality of its contents are very good.
  4. Apr 15, 2014
    70
    Under the surface, not enough has changed to the formula that separates The Elder Scrolls Online from existing free or established properties, and I would find it genuinely hard to recommend to anyone seeking an experience outside of a cosy, well presented, box.
  5. May 16, 2014
    70
    Something good is being brewed here by Zenimax. The Elder Scrolls Online definitely needs a lot of work just to be able to reach other MMOs, but by playing this game you get a feeling that the online version of this franchise could become a milestone for the genre.
  6. May 5, 2014
    65
    The Elder Scrolls Online is a big game with a lot of work put into its creation. ZeniMax Online has created a large world with many quests and a cool PvP mode. The game tries to satisfy both solo gamers and MMO lovers, but the end result is short of expectations. TESO can be recommended only to the fans of the genre, who accept its flaws: repetitiveness, not very exciting combat and lots of simplifications. This "Skyrim online" is well made, but not very original.
  7. Apr 29, 2014
    40
    Apparently existing only to serve as a strawman for future arguments against the whole genre, Elder Scrolls Online is a game of exposed weaknesses and failed potential. If you’re hankering for Scrolls, I recommend modded Skyrim. If you’re after an MMO, I recommend any other.

See all 64 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. May 6, 2015
    10
    Easily the best MMO I've played and one of the best ES games. Don't listen to the people that are trying to compare this to the previousEasily the best MMO I've played and one of the best ES games. Don't listen to the people that are trying to compare this to the previous games, as if they had made skyrim literally an MMO, or skyrim with co-op. That is not what this i, and if you review it as such, you will only be dissappointed as many others have.

    Now if we review it as an MMO, that all changes. Since becoming B2P, the game has minor micro-transactions that are absolutely non-freemium/paytowin. Seriously there's like 5 pets and a few weak potions.

    Gameplay wise, it's magnificent how much of the ElderScrolls they've managed to cram into the thing. Lorewise, it's incredible. 80% of Tamriel is explorable and there's lore all throughout. The environment is one of the most beautifully crafted in any game, so much more so than the massive amount of re-used assets in Skyrim. There's sneaking, stealing, magic, melee, all the armors, bows, etc... that you would expect from an ESO game, but now with raiding, guilds, and trading you expect with an MMO.

    In general, I've played many MMOs, and I could never get into any of them. The ESO is my favorite MMO, and just as good as any previous games of the series, but not the same type at all.
    Expand
  2. Apr 15, 2014
    10
    I've played since beta and this game is like none other that I've seen before it. I've played Wow, SWTOR, LOTR online, GuildWars 2 and otherI've played since beta and this game is like none other that I've seen before it. I've played Wow, SWTOR, LOTR online, GuildWars 2 and other MMO's and this one is like no other. A friendly reminder though, this game is not like it's predecessor in that it's an MMO, not a single player game. The game play is fun and I find myself enjoying the casual questing and foraging. The PvE is really cool and and offers allot more than what I actually thought it would when I had just heard of the game. I'd give this game a higher score, but with the amount of bugs to be fixed are quite staggering and a few balancing issues should be noted. All that aside I don't mind paying 15.00$ a month for this MMO because I know it's going towards fixing those bugs and balancing. Expand
  3. Apr 4, 2014
    10
    Did you ever play WoW and wished it wouldn't be so boring levelling up? Welcome to the Elder Scrolls Online. It plays very differently fromDid you ever play WoW and wished it wouldn't be so boring levelling up? Welcome to the Elder Scrolls Online. It plays very differently from traditional MMOs in the sense that there are not quest hubs. This means that it is up to you to find and explore and by doing so level up. The combat is fantastic, there are no cool down timers. It is up to you to dodge, block, interrupt, cast, heal. It's very hectic and very fun, but also true to the Elder Scrolls Combat formula. Being able to play in first person adds immersion. The graphics are fantastic. All quest texts are voiced. The list goes on and on, in short I couldn't be happier with this game. Expand
  4. Jul 27, 2014
    7
    I still have a subscription... because I had to buy game time in order to get my free time, the game store only had two month cards available.I still have a subscription... because I had to buy game time in order to get my free time, the game store only had two month cards available. I just logged on after not playing for 2 weeks to see if it had improved, I have not crashed for awhile but the game still seems just boring. I tried to ignore the buy in price of 120 when I got it just so I could see if I like it, I tried to ignore the first two weeks when I was constantly being dropped and having issues that didn't seem to exist in bug forums. But then i kept playing and I just got bored.

    Near the end of my playing I wasn't even reading what the missions were anymore, just check my map run there do whatever, get small reward, repeat. This does not feel like Elder Scrolls, the pvp was amusing for awhile and if it goes free to play might be worth it just for that, but I feel I am wasting time that could be better spent on games I will enjoy. Won't renew, might try again some day if they do a reboot like ffxiv did but otherwise I will just hope they still come out with single player games.

    ps the pvp was pretty good but not worth the near 120 price(game + time + tax) and hours of boredom to get to.
    Expand
  5. Apr 16, 2014
    5
    I am giving ESO a 5 out of 10 because it has a potential. The crafting for once is a useful thing, I wish it was in more MMOs, the storylineI am giving ESO a 5 out of 10 because it has a potential. The crafting for once is a useful thing, I wish it was in more MMOs, the storyline is great and the quests are interesting. The problem with it is the clunky interface, horrible animations and sadly just terrible gameplay. I wish I spent the money on Wildstar instead, it's in beta but it's so much better. Expand
  6. May 6, 2014
    3
    It's probably a great MMO - I dunno I don't play them but it isn't the same experience as the traditional Elder Scrolls game. I just couldn'tIt's probably a great MMO - I dunno I don't play them but it isn't the same experience as the traditional Elder Scrolls game. I just couldn't get into it

    I hope to the gods they don't do this with Fallout.
    Expand
  7. Sep 28, 2014
    0
    I hated the economy. For example no way to sell to strangers beside spamming trade chat with WTS. And the fans from the elder scrolls seriesI hated the economy. For example no way to sell to strangers beside spamming trade chat with WTS. And the fans from the elder scrolls series don't want to play an MMO and the game reflects it. Expand

See all 859 User Reviews