Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 63 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1888 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Experience this epic adventure on your own or together with your friends, guild mates, and thousands of alliance members. Explore dangerous caves and dungeons, embark upon adventurous quests across Tamriel, and engage in massive player versus player battles, where the victors reap the spoils of war.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 63
  2. Negative: 1 out of 63
  1. 90
    A few bugs and balance issues aside, it genuinely feels like its single-player predecessors rather than a cookie cutter MMO, and that in itself is enough to draw back in the weary crowd yearning for something fresh from the genre.
  2. May 9, 2014
    84
    Despite its problems ESO is a game that's fun for more than 100 hours and if Zenimax listens to the players, it can even become a great game.
  3. Apr 18, 2014
    80
    ZeniMax and Bethesda did a great job turning the Elder Scrolls into in an MMORPG. The amount of players doesn’t always match with what TESO’s trying to do, but when it works, it works really well. With its mountain of content it’ll be long before you’ll get bored with it.
  4. Apr 21, 2014
    70
    Visually, the game is consistent, but that consistency is boring and drab. The game itself is punctuated with exciting moments, but overall it's just above average and I have a hard time recommending that in a subscription MMO. If you're a big Elder Scrolls fan, give it a try. If not, there are better choices out there.
  5. May 19, 2014
    70
    The Elder Scrolls Online is a good MMO, but it is not the masterpiece it could have been if ZeniMax dared more, and if they did not hurry to release it.
  6. Apr 14, 2014
    68
    A few well-designed systems struggle to overcome lifeless presentation. Capable, but ultimately hard to recommend.
  7. Apr 29, 2014
    40
    Apparently existing only to serve as a strawman for future arguments against the whole genre, Elder Scrolls Online is a game of exposed weaknesses and failed potential. If you’re hankering for Scrolls, I recommend modded Skyrim. If you’re after an MMO, I recommend any other.

See all 63 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. May 5, 2014
    10
    J'ai terminé les zones de ma faction, arriver au niveau 50 on passe automatiquement vétéran 1 et on peut aller jusqu'à vétéran 10 (vétéran 12 avec la nouvelle zone qui arrive dans quelques jours) donc 61 lvl. Déjà, à ce niveau-là (vétéran 3), ce que j'ai vu du jeu était juste immense, vraiment immense est super beau...

    Maintenant je dois faire les zones vétéran, c'est-à-dire faire les maps des deux autres camps (coeur ébène et aldmeri pour moi) et là on en voit même plus le bout tellement c'est immense...

    On peut aussi évoquer Cyrodiil pour le PVP, que dire ? Ben quand on est à cheval au milieu d'une plaine et que l'on regarde sa carte pour voir où il y a de l'action et qu'ensuite on remarque une cinquantaine de cavaliers allier qui se dirige vers un fort ennemi, ben du coup on va avec eux pour participer à la fête, on est en plein seigneur des anneaux 0_0

    Bref, le jeu est très beau, vraiment immense, les quêtes sont scénarisées et parfois bien délirante, le doublage des voix en français est excellent, des milliers de **** livres en français, du monde partout preuve d'un jeu vivant et même bien plus... Des donjon vraiment excellent, le genre et renouveler c'est sûr et c'est juste l'un des meilleurs jeux auquel j'ai joué depuis plusieurs années.

    Donc je n'ai vraiment pas peur de dire que ce jeu est une bombe, vraiment du très très lourd et quand je lis certains commentaires sur certains sites j'ai le sourire, car je me rends compte que parmi les personnes qui critiquent le jeu, pas beaucoup y ont joué. Je n'ai même pas fini les deux autres zones et il me reste beaucoup à faire en cyrodiil...

    Ce jeu est fait pour rester sur la durée et il va clairement y rester.

    Maintenant les points négatifs :

    - Le mégaserveur EU est situé aux USA et ça lag beaucoup. Il faut donc patienter, car le megaserveur va arriver en Europe, mais quand, c'est une autre histoire. Normalement à la sortie du jeu sur console en Juin, mais ça c'est mon avis.

    - Pas mal de BOT (personnage contrôlé par logiciel) qui reste sur des points de pop (d'apparition) de boss de donjon public (pas les donjons de groupe) et qui reste là à taper pour monter en xp et j'imagine que ça doit ramasser automatiquement les objets aussi. (problème de moins en moins fréquent)

    - Des bugs, oui, il y en a eu pas mal, beaucoup ont été corrigés et c'est toujours comme ça à la sortie d'un mmo. Des bugs il en reste et ils seront corrigés à leur tour. Mais comment il ne pourrait pas y avoir de bug franchement ? C'est impossible, le jeu est immense, c'est colossal et on ne peut pas tester à fond ce genre de jeux sans qu'il y ait des milliers de joueurs qui se baladent dessus pour justement identifier les défauts. Un mmorpg de cette qualité et peut-être quatre ou cinq fois plus compliqués à faire qu'un jeu solo, aussi beau et grand soit-il. Aucun bug ne m'a bloqué dans ma progression.

    Franchement c'est le jeu que beaucoup de personnes attendait, on n'est pas dans un lancement foireux d'un mmo quelconque. Les possibilités sont sans fin, on peut devenir vampire ou loup-garou, participé à des batailles épiques genre seigneur des anneaux en pvp, le pve est excellent est vraiment super bien scénarisée, le craft des métiers est vraiment pas mal du tout, toutes les classes sont sympa à jouer, il y en a pour tous les goûts, énormément d'émotes en jeu (pour faire le mort c'est /faint ; ), bref...

    L'un des meilleurs jeux auquel j'ai joué.

    Le meilleur mmorpg auquel j'ai joué.
    Expand
  2. Apr 6, 2014
    10
    Wow is all i can say! This game has it all from pve to pvp. I've seen some people
    talk about how you can't explore? Bull...you even have
    runes for better exploration!
    And my god the game is huge! I started last sunday for the 5 day head start and i'm now
    at level 24 and i have been putting 10-12 hours a day in. There are some people who have max
    but thats your die hards who were beta tester's from when the game was in alpha and
    know all the tricks and did no crafting or exploring lol! And i love finding chests and trying to open em.

    The game graphics are top notch and the music is great! The combat is about same i've seen in games
    so nothing special there but thats ok with me. UI top notch! And the pvp area is not just for pvp as
    there are resources there for crafting and dungeons all over the place! LOL! Just make sure you got a good horse cause its freaking big! Don't understand the hate for this game....must be the kiddies cause they like
    everything to be free lol!
    Expand
  3. Apr 4, 2014
    10
    Did you ever play WoW and wished it wouldn't be so boring levelling up? Welcome to the Elder Scrolls Online. It plays very differently from traditional MMOs in the sense that there are not quest hubs. This means that it is up to you to find and explore and by doing so level up. The combat is fantastic, there are no cool down timers. It is up to you to dodge, block, interrupt, cast, heal. It's very hectic and very fun, but also true to the Elder Scrolls Combat formula. Being able to play in first person adds immersion. The graphics are fantastic. All quest texts are voiced. The list goes on and on, in short I couldn't be happier with this game. Expand
  4. Apr 7, 2014
    7
    ESO is a passable MMO which competently recreates the world of Tamriel. There is unfortunately very little here to distinguish this from it's competitors in this market, and while it does nothing wrong, it does nothing to make it stand out. The content is solid, but I very much doubt I will be renewing my subscription with this game, when I can play Guild Wars 2 with more content and no monthly charge. Expand
  5. May 2, 2014
    5
    So I have been playing this game off an on including the Beta. There are some elements that the game does very well at and some that it fails spectacularly at. I will talk about the good things first.

    First of all, I love the class system and progression of your character. You can use any weapon with any class and there are tons of abilities to choose from. It really makes you think when it comes to choosing new abilities. I also really like the crafting system. I was extremely disappointed with the GW2 crafting system. It ultimately pushed me to get ESO because it was so disappointing. However, I will say that researching traits can get confusing when trying to remember which traits you have already researched but you can easily find an add on for that which is another positive note. The add on system is really easy to use. Just drag and drop into your add ons folder and you are done.

    On a side note, PVP is very highly regarded in this game. I will admit I never really got to try it much. I went there as a low level and I didn't really like the experience. Sometimes there are players hiding and waiting to ambush you as you are on your way to the objective. I had a very hard time adjusting to the combat and understanding how I was supposed to play. I think it just takes some getting used to.

    Now on to the negatives. First of all, I find the questing system to be EXTREMELY bland and boring. I appreciate that all of the quests are voice acted, but I don't feel like I am having any real influence on the world. Much of the quest text seems very played out and bland. I do not get immersed in the story.

    Another thing is the graphics. They are not bad, but they are not amazing either. For some reason the view distance seems to be less effective over 60-70%. The water and shadows look amazing. But I was expecting more. Also I find the character models to be bland as well. I have never met an ugly NPC. They are all supermodels.

    Another thing to note is that there just aren't enough choices in this game. This is supposed to be an Elder Scrolls game but I can't attack guards or steal. It would be neat if they implemented a crime system or some kind of morality system.

    All in all I find this game very bland and uninspiring. I do regret paying for it but something inside me keeps wanting to give it another chance. Maybe if I level up more and get to the next area things will be more exciting. I might still do that but at some point I am going to cut it off. I am very hesitant to say that this game is worth $15 a month.
    Expand
  6. May 23, 2014
    3
    As an Elder Scrolls fan and player of MMO's I am disappointed in this game in both aspects.
    I nearly stopped playing immediately, but
    continued. The recent craiglorn patch has made things even worse, unfortunately.

    Main negative aspects:
    -Many bots, even on the higher maps and strong reliance on the client for security. There is no focus on removing this problem.
    -Laggy combat; laggiest that I have ever seen in an MMO. (I played SWTOR, Flyff and some others)
    -No way to effectively grind; 2 exp per enemy when grinding, 50 when you kill a lone enemy, or a continuous 20 exp per kill when grinding with 2 players. That is insane.
    -Only 5 hotbar-able skills that me long back to SWTOR, when I strung many skills together
    -Few if any buffs for healers to cast on teammates.

    -Main positive aspects:
    -Good, spoken, dialogues on many if not all characters.
    -Interesting quests, very few repetitive 'kill X of Y' or Gather 'X of Z' quests.
    -Familiar TES environments

    The main 'distinguishing' feature combat and gameplay wise from other MMO's is that you need to aim and can miss. However, I find this a large downside, since it is hard to play this way and far more straining on your mouse arm.
    Expand
  7. Jul 23, 2014
    0
    The developers totally failed to capture the essence of the elder scrolls. On top of that, it is by a country mile the worst MMO I have ever played. The combat is dumb-witted and lacks feedback, the quests are dull beyond belief, the game is riddled with bugs, you will struggle to group up as its bugged to hell, and you will feel the overwhelming regret of wasting your money. TESO is a strong contender for the worst MMO of all time. DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY, AVOID AT ALL COSTS. Expand

See all 722 User Reviews