Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 64 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 2309 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Experience this epic adventure on your own or together with your friends, guild mates, and thousands of alliance members. Explore dangerous caves and dungeons, embark upon adventurous quests across Tamriel, and engage in massive player versus player battles, where the victors reap the spoils of war.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 64
  2. Negative: 1 out of 64
  1. 90
    A few bugs and balance issues aside, it genuinely feels like its single-player predecessors rather than a cookie cutter MMO, and that in itself is enough to draw back in the weary crowd yearning for something fresh from the genre.
  2. Apr 17, 2014
    83
    Zenimax had a steep mountain to climb: They had to cater to both the expectations of fans of Offline-Tamriel as well as demands of online-mechanics. And even though the result is far from perfect and seems to lose focus here or there, I don’t regret any of the rather large amount of time I’ve spent with TESO.
  3. Apr 15, 2014
    80
    The Elder Scrolls Online is a remarkable MMORPG that keeps the essence of the original series. The game could have been more original in the design of its missions, but its PvP mode and the high quality of its contents are very good.
  4. Apr 15, 2014
    70
    Under the surface, not enough has changed to the formula that separates The Elder Scrolls Online from existing free or established properties, and I would find it genuinely hard to recommend to anyone seeking an experience outside of a cosy, well presented, box.
  5. May 16, 2014
    70
    Something good is being brewed here by Zenimax. The Elder Scrolls Online definitely needs a lot of work just to be able to reach other MMOs, but by playing this game you get a feeling that the online version of this franchise could become a milestone for the genre.
  6. May 5, 2014
    65
    The Elder Scrolls Online is a big game with a lot of work put into its creation. ZeniMax Online has created a large world with many quests and a cool PvP mode. The game tries to satisfy both solo gamers and MMO lovers, but the end result is short of expectations. TESO can be recommended only to the fans of the genre, who accept its flaws: repetitiveness, not very exciting combat and lots of simplifications. This "Skyrim online" is well made, but not very original.
  7. Apr 29, 2014
    40
    Apparently existing only to serve as a strawman for future arguments against the whole genre, Elder Scrolls Online is a game of exposed weaknesses and failed potential. If you’re hankering for Scrolls, I recommend modded Skyrim. If you’re after an MMO, I recommend any other.

See all 64 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. May 6, 2015
    10
    Easily the best MMO I've played and one of the best ES games. Don't listen to the people that are trying to compare this to the previousEasily the best MMO I've played and one of the best ES games. Don't listen to the people that are trying to compare this to the previous games, as if they had made skyrim literally an MMO, or skyrim with co-op. That is not what this i, and if you review it as such, you will only be dissappointed as many others have.

    Now if we review it as an MMO, that all changes. Since becoming B2P, the game has minor micro-transactions that are absolutely non-freemium/paytowin. Seriously there's like 5 pets and a few weak potions.

    Gameplay wise, it's magnificent how much of the ElderScrolls they've managed to cram into the thing. Lorewise, it's incredible. 80% of Tamriel is explorable and there's lore all throughout. The environment is one of the most beautifully crafted in any game, so much more so than the massive amount of re-used assets in Skyrim. There's sneaking, stealing, magic, melee, all the armors, bows, etc... that you would expect from an ESO game, but now with raiding, guilds, and trading you expect with an MMO.

    In general, I've played many MMOs, and I could never get into any of them. The ESO is my favorite MMO, and just as good as any previous games of the series, but not the same type at all.
    Expand
  2. Apr 4, 2014
    10
    this game is so good and bad assthis game is so good and bad ass ................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................... Expand
  3. Apr 4, 2014
    10
    Did you ever play WoW and wished it wouldn't be so boring levelling up? Welcome to the Elder Scrolls Online. It plays very differently fromDid you ever play WoW and wished it wouldn't be so boring levelling up? Welcome to the Elder Scrolls Online. It plays very differently from traditional MMOs in the sense that there are not quest hubs. This means that it is up to you to find and explore and by doing so level up. The combat is fantastic, there are no cool down timers. It is up to you to dodge, block, interrupt, cast, heal. It's very hectic and very fun, but also true to the Elder Scrolls Combat formula. Being able to play in first person adds immersion. The graphics are fantastic. All quest texts are voiced. The list goes on and on, in short I couldn't be happier with this game. Expand
  4. Mar 27, 2015
    7
    It would be a 5 or 6 if wasn't buy to play now. They have made a lot of changes since beta/launch so I'd give it a try for the $40-60 you canIt would be a 5 or 6 if wasn't buy to play now. They have made a lot of changes since beta/launch so I'd give it a try for the $40-60 you can find the game for. If anything wait for a steam sale! Expand
  5. Nov 11, 2014
    5
    I give this game a 5 because of the fact that this is one of the most disgusting example of a MMO, but i enjoyed the game.
    You have to pay on
    I give this game a 5 because of the fact that this is one of the most disgusting example of a MMO, but i enjoyed the game.
    You have to pay on release day a good $60 with also monthly subscriptions. When i started the game, you received a moment for choosing your class. You get the choice of 4 classes, while one of them is already locked if you pay another 15 to 20 dollars for unlockable content. This game is more a walking simulator than an action rpg game. The looting system shows us that you better pay another 20 dollars because the old feeling of hours of work is not that important anymore.
    Is this how you treat a franchise like TESC? There are a lot of other franchises who have been destroyed because of the same thing Bethesda tried to.
    If you love this franchise, go and buy it. But for people who just love MMOs, think twice before you go to a store.
    Expand
  6. May 6, 2014
    3
    It's probably a great MMO - I dunno I don't play them but it isn't the same experience as the traditional Elder Scrolls game. I just couldn'tIt's probably a great MMO - I dunno I don't play them but it isn't the same experience as the traditional Elder Scrolls game. I just couldn't get into it

    I hope to the gods they don't do this with Fallout.
    Expand
  7. Jul 3, 2015
    0
    I bought this on PS4 on Thursday and prepare to play it on weekend. Played it 2 hours on Friday (game play very laggy), then got disconnectedI bought this on PS4 on Thursday and prepare to play it on weekend. Played it 2 hours on Friday (game play very laggy), then got disconnected and cannot login for 8 hours. Took the disc off and never want to play it again. Expand

See all 857 User Reviews