Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 64 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1910 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Experience this epic adventure on your own or together with your friends, guild mates, and thousands of alliance members. Explore dangerous caves and dungeons, embark upon adventurous quests across Tamriel, and engage in massive player versus player battles, where the victors reap the spoils of war.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 64
  2. Negative: 1 out of 64
  1. 90
    A few bugs and balance issues aside, it genuinely feels like its single-player predecessors rather than a cookie cutter MMO, and that in itself is enough to draw back in the weary crowd yearning for something fresh from the genre.
  2. Apr 17, 2014
    83
    Zenimax had a steep mountain to climb: They had to cater to both the expectations of fans of Offline-Tamriel as well as demands of online-mechanics. And even though the result is far from perfect and seems to lose focus here or there, I don’t regret any of the rather large amount of time I’ve spent with TESO.
  3. Apr 15, 2014
    80
    The Elder Scrolls Online is a remarkable MMORPG that keeps the essence of the original series. The game could have been more original in the design of its missions, but its PvP mode and the high quality of its contents are very good.
  4. Apr 15, 2014
    70
    Under the surface, not enough has changed to the formula that separates The Elder Scrolls Online from existing free or established properties, and I would find it genuinely hard to recommend to anyone seeking an experience outside of a cosy, well presented, box.
  5. May 16, 2014
    70
    Something good is being brewed here by Zenimax. The Elder Scrolls Online definitely needs a lot of work just to be able to reach other MMOs, but by playing this game you get a feeling that the online version of this franchise could become a milestone for the genre.
  6. May 5, 2014
    65
    The Elder Scrolls Online is a big game with a lot of work put into its creation. ZeniMax Online has created a large world with many quests and a cool PvP mode. The game tries to satisfy both solo gamers and MMO lovers, but the end result is short of expectations. TESO can be recommended only to the fans of the genre, who accept its flaws: repetitiveness, not very exciting combat and lots of simplifications. This "Skyrim online" is well made, but not very original.
  7. Apr 29, 2014
    40
    Apparently existing only to serve as a strawman for future arguments against the whole genre, Elder Scrolls Online is a game of exposed weaknesses and failed potential. If you’re hankering for Scrolls, I recommend modded Skyrim. If you’re after an MMO, I recommend any other.

See all 64 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Jul 23, 2014
    10
    Very unique MMO that does feel a lot like an Elder Scrolls game. Quest, crafting and graphics are the best I have seen in an MMO and the combat is a lot of fun. If you love MMOs as well as the Elder Scrolls series then this is the game for you. Expand
  2. Apr 6, 2014
    10
    I was pleasantly surprised by this game, it manages to keep the exploration elements from the single player series while mixing the social aspects from other MMOs. The RvR combat is the best I've seen since DAoC. One of the first MMOs that I feel has broken away from the "static themepark" feel that's been so obvious in this genre since WoW came out. Expand
  3. Apr 4, 2014
    10
    Did you ever play WoW and wished it wouldn't be so boring levelling up? Welcome to the Elder Scrolls Online. It plays very differently from traditional MMOs in the sense that there are not quest hubs. This means that it is up to you to find and explore and by doing so level up. The combat is fantastic, there are no cool down timers. It is up to you to dodge, block, interrupt, cast, heal. It's very hectic and very fun, but also true to the Elder Scrolls Combat formula. Being able to play in first person adds immersion. The graphics are fantastic. All quest texts are voiced. The list goes on and on, in short I couldn't be happier with this game. Expand
  4. Apr 17, 2014
    7
    As a person who has been playing World of Warcraft since 2007 and hopping MMORPGs for a little longer, I can honestly say that Elder Scrolls Online is a breath of fresh air. That being said, there are areas that it definitely can improve on, the bulk of which are unpolished and bugged quests which block progression in certain areas. These bugs can definitely put you off the game entirely, but if you can look past what Zenimax are working on fixing, the game is a definite look-at. The days of one-button-spam and win is over. This game is a genuine challenge, and as you level up the mobs become progressively harder and greater in number, and require more thought and tactic to overcome.

    The quests themselves are interesting and immersive, although clearly because it is an MMORPG not as many quests are as great and epic as they were in Oblivion and Skyrim, but this is to be expected as it was said early on that this game was a spin-off of the Elder Scrolls Universe, not a new game in the series. That being said, if you don't like this game, don't feel the need not to buy the next game (Elder Scrolls VI) because you were put off by this game.

    By far, my favourite part of this game is the crafting system. In WoW the only way to gain materials to make stuff and progress through a profession was to go out into the world and mine nodes or trade with players via them or the Auction House (which this game does not have, thank the Nine). This game has that too, but it allows you to "deconstruct" items, which in turn give you the materials, as well as levelling the profession at the same time. You may find your inventory chock-a-block full of items from quests and drops, and instead of selling these items to a vendor for a tiny profit, you can deconstruct them, and in turn, make better items for yourself and your friends.

    This game deserves a solid 7/10, and I've waited until I hit the max level to write this review, so that way I had a better grasp on the game than people that release a review two days after it's release. Zenimax needs to address the issues within the game, and if they do so, this game could very well be around for a long time.
    Expand
  5. May 2, 2014
    5
    Shallow, flavorless, generic, bland, uninspiring and, monotonous.

    Cons:
    Flooded with Bots and gold farmers at launch.
    Really slow
    response from GM's.
    Multi broken and bugged Quests sometimes for days on end.
    Boring repetitive quest system.
    Boring Combat system and Weak AI.... Mash 2 buttons FTW.
    Repetitive Scenery and landscape.
    Monotone and very uninspiring NPC's.

    Pros:
    Very visually appealing.
    Crafting system is decent
    That's about all I can think of... Really not much more got my attention.

    This game missed the Hype by leaps and bounds, what we have is a $15 a month game that offers less than many of the massive amount of free to play Asian MMO's ripoffs. I felt as though I was playing a game based 12 years ago, there is nothing at all new about this title nothing inspiring or memorable that would make me want to keep playing.
    Expand
  6. Apr 22, 2014
    3
    Terrible. Just awful. It's embarrassing to have a title as large as elderscrolls be associated with such a boring mediocre game. Hopefully the next Elder Scrolls Is done right. Expand
  7. Jul 24, 2014
    0
    50 Quid .. .......... .......... .......... .......... .......... .......... .......... .......... .......... .......... .......... .......... .......

See all 731 User Reviews