Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 64 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 2104 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Experience this epic adventure on your own or together with your friends, guild mates, and thousands of alliance members. Explore dangerous caves and dungeons, embark upon adventurous quests across Tamriel, and engage in massive player versus player battles, where the victors reap the spoils of war.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 64
  2. Negative: 1 out of 64
  1. 90
    A few bugs and balance issues aside, it genuinely feels like its single-player predecessors rather than a cookie cutter MMO, and that in itself is enough to draw back in the weary crowd yearning for something fresh from the genre.
  2. Apr 17, 2014
    83
    Zenimax had a steep mountain to climb: They had to cater to both the expectations of fans of Offline-Tamriel as well as demands of online-mechanics. And even though the result is far from perfect and seems to lose focus here or there, I don’t regret any of the rather large amount of time I’ve spent with TESO.
  3. Apr 15, 2014
    80
    The Elder Scrolls Online is a remarkable MMORPG that keeps the essence of the original series. The game could have been more original in the design of its missions, but its PvP mode and the high quality of its contents are very good.
  4. Apr 15, 2014
    70
    Under the surface, not enough has changed to the formula that separates The Elder Scrolls Online from existing free or established properties, and I would find it genuinely hard to recommend to anyone seeking an experience outside of a cosy, well presented, box.
  5. May 16, 2014
    70
    Something good is being brewed here by Zenimax. The Elder Scrolls Online definitely needs a lot of work just to be able to reach other MMOs, but by playing this game you get a feeling that the online version of this franchise could become a milestone for the genre.
  6. May 5, 2014
    65
    The Elder Scrolls Online is a big game with a lot of work put into its creation. ZeniMax Online has created a large world with many quests and a cool PvP mode. The game tries to satisfy both solo gamers and MMO lovers, but the end result is short of expectations. TESO can be recommended only to the fans of the genre, who accept its flaws: repetitiveness, not very exciting combat and lots of simplifications. This "Skyrim online" is well made, but not very original.
  7. Apr 29, 2014
    40
    Apparently existing only to serve as a strawman for future arguments against the whole genre, Elder Scrolls Online is a game of exposed weaknesses and failed potential. If you’re hankering for Scrolls, I recommend modded Skyrim. If you’re after an MMO, I recommend any other.

See all 64 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Veo
    Dec 14, 2014
    10
    First i have to say this review was written after update 5.
    The game has improved so much since release its incredible!
    Nearly all bugs are
    First i have to say this review was written after update 5.
    The game has improved so much since release its incredible!
    Nearly all bugs are fixed and they added some new content already.
    Update 6 is coming soon and i cant wait to see the new improvements!
    If you are an mmo fan this game is well worth a buy since update 5!
    Expand
  2. Apr 5, 2014
    10
    Finally an MMO to explore and have fun in. I don't understand why people are calling it a WoW clone. I guess because its online everything nowFinally an MMO to explore and have fun in. I don't understand why people are calling it a WoW clone. I guess because its online everything now has to be a WoW clone but whatever. First off I must say that the people hating on this game probably only played the beta's. I played during beta and it almost made me want to not get this game, and after being burnt by Final Fantasy 14:A Realm Reborn (A True WoW Clone), I was reluctant to try it again. I am so glad I did. Huge open zones that can be explored, tons of quests, hidden items, probably the best crafting system I have ever seen in an MMO (Simple but deep), so much customization you can create almost any character you want (would have liked more hair options). I have put in around 40 hours since early access and I'm only level 16 haven't gotten to zone 3, and haven't even touched PVP yet. I love that I don't need 6 hotbars for all my skills. I Personally chose 5 skills 1 ultimate and have just been upgrading them. There are hundreds of skills and you can swap them out but for me it was easier to just choose a few i like and morph them. Morphing abilities makes them stronger unlike other mmos where you get a new ability and previous ones become obsolete. The combat is very nicely done. You can dodge Aoe's, attack, block, stun and even do group synergy attacks which is just awesome. Love getting together with a group and killing the world monsters or helping out when chains come down from the sky. I wish I could stop talking about how awesome this game is but I can't. And the bugs oh yes the bugs, still one of the smoothest launches I have ever been a part of and they are getting things done quick, On 1st day of early access there was a quest that was bugged and I couldn't turn it in, well I went to work and came back 4 hours later to it being fixed and I could turn it in. And the gold spammer omg in FF14 ARR The spammers would create accounts faster than you could block them. In this game I blocked 3 spammers the first day 3 spammers the second day and I have yet to see one since launch. I'm sure they are around but I have not heard a gold spammer in the past 20 hours of gaming. No other MMO can say that. Are there bugs YES! are they getting fixed faster than any other MMO ont he market? You bet your sweet ass. Will there be more? I don't doubt it. Will those be fixed to? I guarantee it. So long as the cheap bastards who don't want to pay for a quality game and are fine with being blocked from content go back to their F2P MMOS and stay away from this one I will be happy. There are 2 opinions about ESO those that love it and those that can't get their parents to pay their monthly sub. Expand
  3. Apr 4, 2014
    10
    Did you ever play WoW and wished it wouldn't be so boring levelling up? Welcome to the Elder Scrolls Online. It plays very differently fromDid you ever play WoW and wished it wouldn't be so boring levelling up? Welcome to the Elder Scrolls Online. It plays very differently from traditional MMOs in the sense that there are not quest hubs. This means that it is up to you to find and explore and by doing so level up. The combat is fantastic, there are no cool down timers. It is up to you to dodge, block, interrupt, cast, heal. It's very hectic and very fun, but also true to the Elder Scrolls Combat formula. Being able to play in first person adds immersion. The graphics are fantastic. All quest texts are voiced. The list goes on and on, in short I couldn't be happier with this game. Expand
  4. May 2, 2014
    7
    First my background. Played WoW for almost 7 years, was involved in the Rift Beta, SWTOR, Tera, and currently involved in the Beta ofFirst my background. Played WoW for almost 7 years, was involved in the Rift Beta, SWTOR, Tera, and currently involved in the Beta of Wildstar, I've always enjoyed the Elder Scrolls series, so what's not to like with ESO? Well, for me, it's quite a bit. Having been a part of several of the Beta weekends before launch I, as well as others, had several issues which were never really addressed until after the game went live, but as of today, May 1st, there're still correcting issues that should have been corrected before launch. In fact some issues even got worse before release and the worse part is the developers never really listened to us Beta testers since the survey forms never changed and there was no forum to voice our opinion on what was going on. First of all the graphics are amazing, the voice acting is good. The way the quests are handled, etc. is just like playing a Elder Scrolls game, so it's real easy to jump in and start playing, however... Everything seems to be the same color palate. Armor, buildings, other people, all seem to be made up of the same color combinations, boring and lifeless. Combat, to me, is really badly done. As stated by others, you only get 5 combat options, and it seems everyone is a magic user. It doesn't matter if your a staff user or a warrior, everyone it seems has some sort of ranged attack. On the surface it may seem good, but it isn't! Combat is really bad in the game. The combat reminds me of WoW, but worse. Tera on the other hand has a great combat system, but has other issues. Fighting one on one is not a big deal, but when you face several bad guys at once you'd better be very good on your feet and have health potions or you'll die, and die ALL the time, even though they're at your level. Good luck killing that "boss" person to complete that chain quest. You get my point! There's no combo attack moves, even weapons don't seem to be much different from each other. I love challenges, but I find the combat system lacking. Quests are still being fixed, my favorite being a character who appears and talks to you in German... Crafting in the game is really boring. I feel the game has promise, but most people feel they "rushed" the game to market. I think if they spent another 6 months on the game it would be a lot better then it is currently. The flip side is Wildstar! The game doesn't release until June, but the game is rock solid at this point with very very few bugs of ANY sort. Expand
  5. Nov 11, 2014
    5
    I give this game a 5 because of the fact that this is one of the most disgusting example of a MMO, but i enjoyed the game.
    You have to pay on
    I give this game a 5 because of the fact that this is one of the most disgusting example of a MMO, but i enjoyed the game.
    You have to pay on release day a good $60 with also monthly subscriptions. When i started the game, you received a moment for choosing your class. You get the choice of 4 classes, while one of them is already locked if you pay another 15 to 20 dollars for unlockable content. This game is more a walking simulator than an action rpg game. The looting system shows us that you better pay another 20 dollars because the old feeling of hours of work is not that important anymore.
    Is this how you treat a franchise like TESC? There are a lot of other franchises who have been destroyed because of the same thing Bethesda tried to.
    If you love this franchise, go and buy it. But for people who just love MMOs, think twice before you go to a store.
    Expand
  6. Apr 21, 2014
    3
    Im a mmo lover, played all big titles and unfortunately this is not the game i was expecting. I was expecting a fun game, exciting, tons ofIm a mmo lover, played all big titles and unfortunately this is not the game i was expecting. I was expecting a fun game, exciting, tons of things to discover, a game that would glue me to the screen for months .. instead i got a game that made me bored in 1 week game play. 1 week, that's how long you will play this game before you get UBBER bored of questing and farming .. cause that's all you can do. Wow took me months to get bored, even Aion was more fun than this game. Huge disappointment for someone who pre-ordered Imperial Edition. Expand
  7. Oct 2, 2014
    0
    This game gets a 0 on principal of existing. Oh I need at least 150 characters hunh. WELL HERE WE GO KIDDOS. If you want to play an MMO I feelThis game gets a 0 on principal of existing. Oh I need at least 150 characters hunh. WELL HERE WE GO KIDDOS. If you want to play an MMO I feel bad for you, but play anyone but this. WoW is the best timesink, SWTOR is the biggest dissapointmenti with the best space combat. Guild Wars 2 is the best until you reach the level cap when there is nothing to do. Basicly, if your into MMO's don't play this one because it is bad. If your not into MMO's don't get into them. Just go play KOTOR or a good old RPG. Expand

See all 796 User Reviews