Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 64 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 2209 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Experience this epic adventure on your own or together with your friends, guild mates, and thousands of alliance members. Explore dangerous caves and dungeons, embark upon adventurous quests across Tamriel, and engage in massive player versus player battles, where the victors reap the spoils of war.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 64
  2. Negative: 1 out of 64
  1. 90
    A few bugs and balance issues aside, it genuinely feels like its single-player predecessors rather than a cookie cutter MMO, and that in itself is enough to draw back in the weary crowd yearning for something fresh from the genre.
  2. Apr 17, 2014
    83
    Zenimax had a steep mountain to climb: They had to cater to both the expectations of fans of Offline-Tamriel as well as demands of online-mechanics. And even though the result is far from perfect and seems to lose focus here or there, I don’t regret any of the rather large amount of time I’ve spent with TESO.
  3. Apr 15, 2014
    80
    The Elder Scrolls Online is a remarkable MMORPG that keeps the essence of the original series. The game could have been more original in the design of its missions, but its PvP mode and the high quality of its contents are very good.
  4. Apr 15, 2014
    70
    Under the surface, not enough has changed to the formula that separates The Elder Scrolls Online from existing free or established properties, and I would find it genuinely hard to recommend to anyone seeking an experience outside of a cosy, well presented, box.
  5. May 16, 2014
    70
    Something good is being brewed here by Zenimax. The Elder Scrolls Online definitely needs a lot of work just to be able to reach other MMOs, but by playing this game you get a feeling that the online version of this franchise could become a milestone for the genre.
  6. May 5, 2014
    65
    The Elder Scrolls Online is a big game with a lot of work put into its creation. ZeniMax Online has created a large world with many quests and a cool PvP mode. The game tries to satisfy both solo gamers and MMO lovers, but the end result is short of expectations. TESO can be recommended only to the fans of the genre, who accept its flaws: repetitiveness, not very exciting combat and lots of simplifications. This "Skyrim online" is well made, but not very original.
  7. Apr 29, 2014
    40
    Apparently existing only to serve as a strawman for future arguments against the whole genre, Elder Scrolls Online is a game of exposed weaknesses and failed potential. If you’re hankering for Scrolls, I recommend modded Skyrim. If you’re after an MMO, I recommend any other.

See all 64 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Nov 30, 2014
    10
    It's so sad that Skyrim fanboys have dragged this game through the mud! It's a wonderful mmorpg! It's NOT Skyrim online! To be fair there wasIt's so sad that Skyrim fanboys have dragged this game through the mud! It's a wonderful mmorpg! It's NOT Skyrim online! To be fair there was a lot of hatered surrounding the game since it was announced by people who thought it should never be made. Well if you can wrap your head around the fact that this is an MMORPG and not a single player TES game there is no reason to not like it.

    It breaks away from traditional WoW garbage like stareing at cooldowns and DPS charts. It's more about action than waiting for some scripted raid boss to pop it's ability. It offers the freedom of exploration in a gorgeous world with deep lore and a great storyline. Amazing PvP and crafting. This is a great mmorpg so ignore the haters!
    Expand
  2. Apr 5, 2014
    10
    Combat wise, very much like a mixture of a standard mmo (Aion, WoW, Etc.) and GW2. The Difference being the main attacks being executed theCombat wise, very much like a mixture of a standard mmo (Aion, WoW, Etc.) and GW2. The Difference being the main attacks being executed the same way exactly as it would be in an Elder SCrolls game. The rest of the PVE content mimics an Elder Scrolls game very well, more than an MMO. The quests are emotionally driven and well fleshed out, diverse and interesting. Levelling up is fun and challenging, and pvp is outstanding. Played correctly pvp is far better than any other mmo. Flaws in the game being its limits on things such as attack types and weapon mixture attack trees, not really flaws as they are to be expected of a newly released mmo but some people are stupid. Over time all systems in the game can easily be greatly expanded upon as well, the game has a long and exciting future and will most likely not go ftp any time soon :) Expand
  3. Apr 4, 2014
    10
    Did you ever play WoW and wished it wouldn't be so boring levelling up? Welcome to the Elder Scrolls Online. It plays very differently fromDid you ever play WoW and wished it wouldn't be so boring levelling up? Welcome to the Elder Scrolls Online. It plays very differently from traditional MMOs in the sense that there are not quest hubs. This means that it is up to you to find and explore and by doing so level up. The combat is fantastic, there are no cool down timers. It is up to you to dodge, block, interrupt, cast, heal. It's very hectic and very fun, but also true to the Elder Scrolls Combat formula. Being able to play in first person adds immersion. The graphics are fantastic. All quest texts are voiced. The list goes on and on, in short I couldn't be happier with this game. Expand
  4. Xon
    Aug 20, 2014
    7
    Not the worst game ever, but nowhere near the standard set by Skyrim or Oblivion. That said, I have never before played a MMO and probablyNot the worst game ever, but nowhere near the standard set by Skyrim or Oblivion. That said, I have never before played a MMO and probably wouldn't have if not for ESO. Expand
  5. Apr 4, 2014
    4
    I'm very disappointed by this MMO. PvE is so badly unbalanced. Its just frustrating. In some key quests, you fight mobs alone easily, but whenI'm very disappointed by this MMO. PvE is so badly unbalanced. Its just frustrating. In some key quests, you fight mobs alone easily, but when you touch a boss, you need a group or be 10 levels ahead. That's just so frustrating. The fighting is just bad. You cannot really focus on one enemy. The server often lag too much so blocking or evading attacks is just a roll of dice. The weaponry and armor is boring and the _very good_ voice overs cannot compensate the repetitiveness of the quests. I will not go further than the 30 days included with the high price for the game, unless there are a lot of bugfixes and balancings. Expand
  6. Apr 21, 2014
    3
    Im a mmo lover, played all big titles and unfortunately this is not the game i was expecting. I was expecting a fun game, exciting, tons ofIm a mmo lover, played all big titles and unfortunately this is not the game i was expecting. I was expecting a fun game, exciting, tons of things to discover, a game that would glue me to the screen for months .. instead i got a game that made me bored in 1 week game play. 1 week, that's how long you will play this game before you get UBBER bored of questing and farming .. cause that's all you can do. Wow took me months to get bored, even Aion was more fun than this game. Huge disappointment for someone who pre-ordered Imperial Edition. Expand
  7. Jan 22, 2015
    0
    They just went b2p with a cash shop that will include p2w items (e.g. potions, mounts, and respawn gems). No real content development in overThey just went b2p with a cash shop that will include p2w items (e.g. potions, mounts, and respawn gems). No real content development in over a year. So many failed promises. I regret the time wasted on this game and trusing them devs at zos. Expand

See all 810 User Reviews