Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 64 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1962 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Experience this epic adventure on your own or together with your friends, guild mates, and thousands of alliance members. Explore dangerous caves and dungeons, embark upon adventurous quests across Tamriel, and engage in massive player versus player battles, where the victors reap the spoils of war.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 64
  2. Negative: 1 out of 64
  1. 90
    A few bugs and balance issues aside, it genuinely feels like its single-player predecessors rather than a cookie cutter MMO, and that in itself is enough to draw back in the weary crowd yearning for something fresh from the genre.
  2. Apr 17, 2014
    83
    Zenimax had a steep mountain to climb: They had to cater to both the expectations of fans of Offline-Tamriel as well as demands of online-mechanics. And even though the result is far from perfect and seems to lose focus here or there, I don’t regret any of the rather large amount of time I’ve spent with TESO.
  3. Apr 15, 2014
    80
    The Elder Scrolls Online is a remarkable MMORPG that keeps the essence of the original series. The game could have been more original in the design of its missions, but its PvP mode and the high quality of its contents are very good.
  4. Apr 15, 2014
    70
    Under the surface, not enough has changed to the formula that separates The Elder Scrolls Online from existing free or established properties, and I would find it genuinely hard to recommend to anyone seeking an experience outside of a cosy, well presented, box.
  5. May 16, 2014
    70
    Something good is being brewed here by Zenimax. The Elder Scrolls Online definitely needs a lot of work just to be able to reach other MMOs, but by playing this game you get a feeling that the online version of this franchise could become a milestone for the genre.
  6. May 5, 2014
    65
    The Elder Scrolls Online is a big game with a lot of work put into its creation. ZeniMax Online has created a large world with many quests and a cool PvP mode. The game tries to satisfy both solo gamers and MMO lovers, but the end result is short of expectations. TESO can be recommended only to the fans of the genre, who accept its flaws: repetitiveness, not very exciting combat and lots of simplifications. This "Skyrim online" is well made, but not very original.
  7. Apr 29, 2014
    40
    Apparently existing only to serve as a strawman for future arguments against the whole genre, Elder Scrolls Online is a game of exposed weaknesses and failed potential. If you’re hankering for Scrolls, I recommend modded Skyrim. If you’re after an MMO, I recommend any other.

See all 64 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. May 5, 2014
    10
    J'ai terminé les zones de ma faction, arriver au niveau 50 on passe automatiquement vétéran 1 et on peut aller jusqu'à vétéran 10 (vétéran 12 avec la nouvelle zone qui arrive dans quelques jours) donc 61 lvl. Déjà, à ce niveau-là (vétéran 3), ce que j'ai vu du jeu était juste immense, vraiment immense est super beau...

    Maintenant je dois faire les zones vétéran, c'est-à-dire faire les maps des deux autres camps (coeur ébène et aldmeri pour moi) et là on en voit même plus le bout tellement c'est immense...

    On peut aussi évoquer Cyrodiil pour le PVP, que dire ? Ben quand on est à cheval au milieu d'une plaine et que l'on regarde sa carte pour voir où il y a de l'action et qu'ensuite on remarque une cinquantaine de cavaliers allier qui se dirige vers un fort ennemi, ben du coup on va avec eux pour participer à la fête, on est en plein seigneur des anneaux 0_0

    Bref, le jeu est très beau, vraiment immense, les quêtes sont scénarisées et parfois bien délirante, le doublage des voix en français est excellent, des milliers de **** livres en français, du monde partout preuve d'un jeu vivant et même bien plus... Des donjon vraiment excellent, le genre et renouveler c'est sûr et c'est juste l'un des meilleurs jeux auquel j'ai joué depuis plusieurs années.

    Donc je n'ai vraiment pas peur de dire que ce jeu est une bombe, vraiment du très très lourd et quand je lis certains commentaires sur certains sites j'ai le sourire, car je me rends compte que parmi les personnes qui critiquent le jeu, pas beaucoup y ont joué. Je n'ai même pas fini les deux autres zones et il me reste beaucoup à faire en cyrodiil...

    Ce jeu est fait pour rester sur la durée et il va clairement y rester.

    Maintenant les points négatifs :

    - Le mégaserveur EU est situé aux USA et ça lag beaucoup. Il faut donc patienter, car le megaserveur va arriver en Europe, mais quand, c'est une autre histoire. Normalement à la sortie du jeu sur console en Juin, mais ça c'est mon avis.

    - Pas mal de BOT (personnage contrôlé par logiciel) qui reste sur des points de pop (d'apparition) de boss de donjon public (pas les donjons de groupe) et qui reste là à taper pour monter en xp et j'imagine que ça doit ramasser automatiquement les objets aussi. (problème de moins en moins fréquent)

    - Des bugs, oui, il y en a eu pas mal, beaucoup ont été corrigés et c'est toujours comme ça à la sortie d'un mmo. Des bugs il en reste et ils seront corrigés à leur tour. Mais comment il ne pourrait pas y avoir de bug franchement ? C'est impossible, le jeu est immense, c'est colossal et on ne peut pas tester à fond ce genre de jeux sans qu'il y ait des milliers de joueurs qui se baladent dessus pour justement identifier les défauts. Un mmorpg de cette qualité et peut-être quatre ou cinq fois plus compliqués à faire qu'un jeu solo, aussi beau et grand soit-il. Aucun bug ne m'a bloqué dans ma progression.

    Franchement c'est le jeu que beaucoup de personnes attendait, on n'est pas dans un lancement foireux d'un mmo quelconque. Les possibilités sont sans fin, on peut devenir vampire ou loup-garou, participé à des batailles épiques genre seigneur des anneaux en pvp, le pve est excellent est vraiment super bien scénarisée, le craft des métiers est vraiment pas mal du tout, toutes les classes sont sympa à jouer, il y en a pour tous les goûts, énormément d'émotes en jeu (pour faire le mort c'est /faint ; ), bref...

    L'un des meilleurs jeux auquel j'ai joué.

    Le meilleur mmorpg auquel j'ai joué.
    Expand
  2. Apr 5, 2014
    10
    This game is simply awesome. There are a few bugs that are slightly annoying, but it is all normal for a game that just launched. It has that Elder Scrolls feel, but with the ability to join a large community with it.

    I would recommend this game to all of my friends.
    Expand
  3. Apr 4, 2014
    10
    Did you ever play WoW and wished it wouldn't be so boring levelling up? Welcome to the Elder Scrolls Online. It plays very differently from traditional MMOs in the sense that there are not quest hubs. This means that it is up to you to find and explore and by doing so level up. The combat is fantastic, there are no cool down timers. It is up to you to dodge, block, interrupt, cast, heal. It's very hectic and very fun, but also true to the Elder Scrolls Combat formula. Being able to play in first person adds immersion. The graphics are fantastic. All quest texts are voiced. The list goes on and on, in short I couldn't be happier with this game. Expand
  4. Apr 21, 2014
    7
    I'm a bit disappointed with the game. PvE is barely stable, especially those on the quests. Encountered several annoying bugs and glitches. But still pretty much worth a shot. Love the unique dynamic combat style, crafting, exploration, good story and many more. That's why I could never hate this game, since I'm a big fan of the series since TES 2 Daggerfall and MMO games. Still hoping zenimax devs could figure out faster ways to fix the current content. Expand
  5. Apr 24, 2014
    5
    It's an okay single player RPG one moment, then an okay MMO the next. Which all in all makes for a mediocre game. For a title boasting the name of elder scrolls, a franchise known for setting the pace in the RPG genre, this one falls short of its predecessors, both in elder scrolls, and in MMO's. Expand
  6. May 1, 2014
    3
    It's a MMO game that ends up being played as a mediocre single player.
    It actually fails at keeping you willing to play it.

    The whole
    problem of this game has always been and still is, trying to combine the elder scrolls to a MMO environment, someone says they failed, someone says they did a great job, what i think is that they made a mixup that is barely decent in both aspects, the REAL PROBLEM, sadly is that you don't really want to have a barely decent mixup of these two things.
    That's why people always played single players immersive games and MMOs separetely.

    It lacks the depth and immersion of a real single player "elder scrolls" game. It's not really bad, they made a good effort trying to eliminate the usual mmo-like quests (kill 20 X, gather 15 Y) but they ended up being repetitive in other kind of stuffs(ghosts and dreams anyone?) and that ends up being boring anyway after a bit of time.

    What i found incredibly disapponting on the MMO aspect is the total lacking of game mechanics complexity. There are no builds, the are really no items to choose from.

    It seems like there is a lot of personalization of you character (many skill trees, strange combinations like mages in heavy armor with dual wield)... but it's not really personalization if you can revert that anytime and end up being able to do anything and to complete every single skill tree just by collecting all the skill points.

    When i heard some people from DAOC worked on it, i hoped to finally see a game where equipment wasn't just a dress piece with a color to measure his effectivness for your character.
    I believe i've never seen a mmo with such a dull and pointless equipment system. Crafting is almost useless, enchanting makes a 4/5 dmg difference from droppable glyphs. No personalization, no builds, no creativity involved even here. Nothing even close to resemble daoc really good equip-system.

    PvP is chaotic, the combat system feels strange and doesn't help you at all,.
    You pass all your time trying to understand what to do and where to go, but what happens is just 1 faction alternatively crushing another, forever and ever. You need to make a lot of walking to reach fights that always go entirely 1-way. with not even many people dying.

    Pvp rewards are just non-existent , you make pratically no exp points and after the first levels you advance in rank very slowly, even worse if you aren't in a group.

    Personally i think this mmo is just another useless hole in the water, it could have been an almost-decent single-player experience if he didn't require you so much time to level up and see the main quest ending.

    They tought naming Daoc and inserting a 3 realm RVR pvp system to think people would blindly come to play thing ignoring the fact that it's not 1/8 as deeply structured as daoc was in terms of equipment/builds/classes and setups.

    I mean, even comparing a game with 4 classes with one who had almost 30 different ones? come on...

    Also the 4-people parties are really bad and limitative.
    Expand
  7. Aug 18, 2014
    0
    Duping, hacking, gold spamming, monster farming, money grabbing fest. Paying PC customers treated as beta testers for console versions. This is a scam not a game. Avoid. Expand

See all 746 User Reviews