Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 64 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 2265 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Experience this epic adventure on your own or together with your friends, guild mates, and thousands of alliance members. Explore dangerous caves and dungeons, embark upon adventurous quests across Tamriel, and engage in massive player versus player battles, where the victors reap the spoils of war.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 64
  2. Negative: 1 out of 64
  1. 90
    A few bugs and balance issues aside, it genuinely feels like its single-player predecessors rather than a cookie cutter MMO, and that in itself is enough to draw back in the weary crowd yearning for something fresh from the genre.
  2. Apr 17, 2014
    83
    Zenimax had a steep mountain to climb: They had to cater to both the expectations of fans of Offline-Tamriel as well as demands of online-mechanics. And even though the result is far from perfect and seems to lose focus here or there, I don’t regret any of the rather large amount of time I’ve spent with TESO.
  3. Apr 15, 2014
    80
    The Elder Scrolls Online is a remarkable MMORPG that keeps the essence of the original series. The game could have been more original in the design of its missions, but its PvP mode and the high quality of its contents are very good.
  4. Apr 15, 2014
    70
    Under the surface, not enough has changed to the formula that separates The Elder Scrolls Online from existing free or established properties, and I would find it genuinely hard to recommend to anyone seeking an experience outside of a cosy, well presented, box.
  5. May 16, 2014
    70
    Something good is being brewed here by Zenimax. The Elder Scrolls Online definitely needs a lot of work just to be able to reach other MMOs, but by playing this game you get a feeling that the online version of this franchise could become a milestone for the genre.
  6. May 5, 2014
    65
    The Elder Scrolls Online is a big game with a lot of work put into its creation. ZeniMax Online has created a large world with many quests and a cool PvP mode. The game tries to satisfy both solo gamers and MMO lovers, but the end result is short of expectations. TESO can be recommended only to the fans of the genre, who accept its flaws: repetitiveness, not very exciting combat and lots of simplifications. This "Skyrim online" is well made, but not very original.
  7. Apr 29, 2014
    40
    Apparently existing only to serve as a strawman for future arguments against the whole genre, Elder Scrolls Online is a game of exposed weaknesses and failed potential. If you’re hankering for Scrolls, I recommend modded Skyrim. If you’re after an MMO, I recommend any other.

See all 64 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Apr 4, 2014
    10
    Did you ever play WoW and wished it wouldn't be so boring levelling up? Welcome to the Elder Scrolls Online. It plays very differently fromDid you ever play WoW and wished it wouldn't be so boring levelling up? Welcome to the Elder Scrolls Online. It plays very differently from traditional MMOs in the sense that there are not quest hubs. This means that it is up to you to find and explore and by doing so level up. The combat is fantastic, there are no cool down timers. It is up to you to dodge, block, interrupt, cast, heal. It's very hectic and very fun, but also true to the Elder Scrolls Combat formula. Being able to play in first person adds immersion. The graphics are fantastic. All quest texts are voiced. The list goes on and on, in short I couldn't be happier with this game. Expand
  2. Apr 5, 2014
    10
    Combat wise, very much like a mixture of a standard mmo (Aion, WoW, Etc.) and GW2. The Difference being the main attacks being executed theCombat wise, very much like a mixture of a standard mmo (Aion, WoW, Etc.) and GW2. The Difference being the main attacks being executed the same way exactly as it would be in an Elder SCrolls game. The rest of the PVE content mimics an Elder Scrolls game very well, more than an MMO. The quests are emotionally driven and well fleshed out, diverse and interesting. Levelling up is fun and challenging, and pvp is outstanding. Played correctly pvp is far better than any other mmo. Flaws in the game being its limits on things such as attack types and weapon mixture attack trees, not really flaws as they are to be expected of a newly released mmo but some people are stupid. Over time all systems in the game can easily be greatly expanded upon as well, the game has a long and exciting future and will most likely not go ftp any time soon :) Expand
  3. Apr 4, 2014
    9
    Go into this game expecting Skyrim, expect to be hugely unsatisfied. However, if you come to ESO with a love for Elder Scrolls elements in anGo into this game expecting Skyrim, expect to be hugely unsatisfied. However, if you come to ESO with a love for Elder Scrolls elements in an MMO setting, expect to be blown away. I'm only at level 17 so there's a lot more to discover. I feel the monthly fee has already been justified as i've clocked in almost 40 hours already. Granted, I'm not going to be able to put that much time in on an average week but if I can put that many hours in on a monthly basis, i'll be very happy. Best MMO on the market. Beautiful graphics for an MMO, but yes Skyrim does look a lot better even unmodded, but Skyrim doesn't have to render a whole world, it only renders what's around you so that's totally understandable. Anyway, can't give much of a review, need to get back to it.

    In a nutshell, if you want an MMO that trys and succeeds at new things (interesting quests, brilliant crafting etc) set in a beautiful looking world with Elder Scrolls elements, then definitely pick this one up.
    Expand
  4. Apr 1, 2015
    7
    With the launch of Tamriel Unlimited, I can finally say that TESO is at least worth trying out. The lack of a subscription fee, the ability toWith the launch of Tamriel Unlimited, I can finally say that TESO is at least worth trying out. The lack of a subscription fee, the ability to steal, kill NPCs and some other minor things make it an alright game. Don't get me wrong, TESO is still the worst modern ES game to date. Without full modability, ie making costume armors, weapons and maps, we are in fact stuck with whatever the Devs want us to have. This usually results in very drab weapons, armor and mounts. In addition, the combat is still dull at best. There isn't a whole lot to say here exept that a lot of the game is, in fact, governed by the server and your ping. The cash shop isn't too overbearing. So far, you can purchase mounts, pets, and a few potions, if your so inclined. The whole stealing mechanic dosent seem worth it just yet, though. The skill bar for that still progresses incredibly slowly, and the rewards for pilfering someone's pocket normally don't add up to some food and a Barbie that you can sell for 30 gold. Killing is, much like stealing, pointless, because you will be at a loss for gold soon after your first kill. That, and guards are overpowered as hell. But I'm digessing, quite a bit. The point is that at the very least. TESO is worth picking up for $30 on sale. Don't expect too much, but don't set your expectations too low, either, Expand
  5. Jul 18, 2014
    5
    Ohhhhhh boy. ESO. What to say about this game...First of all, the amount of money you have to pay to play this game is simply out of thisOhhhhhh boy. ESO. What to say about this game...First of all, the amount of money you have to pay to play this game is simply out of this world. The gameplay the game provides you with doesn't justify the heavy costs. For the rest, well, its all meh...PvP has potential, but you often end up alone, bugged out or on foot. Oh and PvP without a horse is unplayable... The PvE is good old classic Elder Scrolls PvE, which is good. The problem is that you don't get the ONLINE feel in PvE... The game doesn't really favorise the Online PvE neither. Honestly, as a Skyrim player, this game is a huge letdown. If you want to discover the Elder Scrolls franchise, get Skyrim. This game isn't worth it. Expand
  6. Sep 1, 2014
    3
    This game broke my heart.
    All the hype, all the years of wishes........ and it turns out to be a shoddy and greedy grab for fan$ dollars.
    This game broke my heart.
    All the hype, all the years of wishes........ and it turns out to be a shoddy and greedy grab for fan$ dollars.

    It was like a bad relationship break up.
    I was sad, angry and just felt empty inside.
    And no one cared when you cried about the servers always being down during prime time in Australia.
    OR that all the servers were flooded with hackers and bots.

    Trying to quest with friends is as much fun as installing windows on an old pc using 50 floppys.
    Why did they make it so hard and unreliable?

    I hope the people behind this game feel bad for what they did to the elder scrolls.
    It really is a crime against a video game franchise.
    Expand
  7. Apr 1, 2015
    0
    I bought the game yesterday and played for a couple of hours. I tried to login today and was told that my account was banned, that I wouldn'tI bought the game yesterday and played for a couple of hours. I tried to login today and was told that my account was banned, that I wouldn't be told why I was banned and that their decision is final, the customer support was extremely rude to me. This game and its developers are shameless scam artists that need to be brought to justice. Expand

See all 835 User Reviews