Metascore
66

Mixed or average reviews - based on 10 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 215 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Dawnguard is the first game add-on for The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Aug 13, 2012
    80
    Dawnguard is a good first DLC for Skyrim, but it's hard to say if it's worth the $20. There's some large places to explore, but some lack content and there's no really good loot it seems. The story's fun though and I do like the new follower in Serana. Fans of the game will enjoy the extra quests. Turning into a vampire is OK, but I didn't feel I missed much by not utilizing the power but for a few times.
  2. Jul 23, 2012
    75
    The idea of combining vampire and werewolves with own skilltrees sounds great. However, the realization is imperfect. The quests are exciting and the landscape is in most parts great, but there are still some boring parts. It seems like Bethesda's B-team was at work.
  3. Aug 28, 2012
    75
    It's been months since I last sat down with this absolute classic of a game; if it takes a bit of DLC to rekindle my enthusiasm for this wild and wondrous title, then regardless of the frustrations, it's still a winner in my books.
  4. Aug 9, 2012
    60
    Is Dawnguard worth your money? Yes because it's more Skyrim, no because it's really only that: a bit more Skyrim. For twenty bucks, I was expecting more.
  5. Aug 12, 2012
    60
    The PC version of Dawnguard is only slightly better than the console one, and deserves the attention of Elder Scroll's most rabid fans: if with Skyrim you had enough of bugs and glitches, then it's better to consider this DLC after the patch that Bethesda will provide to all PC players. Hopefully, sooner than later.
  6. Sep 23, 2012
    59
    A bunch of fun new abilities and cool places but Dawnguard is far too glitchy to justify its steep price.
  7. Dec 10, 2012
    50
    For the consumers of The Elder Scrolls universe this is a very good excuse to come back. For the Twilight fans this is a vivid experience of the vampirish soul. For the rest of you the game is offering the content that is not going to change your leave it or love it relationship with the original title.

See all 10 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 56
  2. Negative: 12 out of 56
  1. Oct 30, 2012
    10
    Finally a DLC this year that was worth it's money! You get over 1GB of content for your buck and they even hired Laura Bailey as voice actor for this (she also voiced the female main character of Saints Row: The Third). The ending was a little abrupt, but you get some nice weapons, a great companion, a new player home, stronger dragons to fight and mesmerizing locations to visit. I give the full score for this. Expand
  2. Sep 8, 2013
    9
    Wether it's actually worth 20 dollars might be debatable, but I cen tell you this much. The Dawnguard's story is brags and bounces better than original Skyrim's. And the new, explorable area called The Forgotten Vale is my favourite experience in the game and one of the best experiences in gaming. I could go on about why, but I think it's better if you find out yourself. Expand
  3. Aug 18, 2012
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Dawnguard is quite a good DLC. For $25, it adds a considerable amount of content. I personally got 8 hours out of the main questline, and another 4 or so to finish the side quests. That's about $2 and hour, which is pretty damn good. Most importantly, it got me back into Skyrim again, after a long break. Isn't that what a DLC is really about? I went through and finished the missions I hadn't done yet, all because Dawnguard got me playing Skyrim again. I went through and got the extra achievements for the game, and ended up playing about 30 hours into the game.

    The Vampire Lord mode is quite a good addition to the game, but I feel it could have been done a little bit better. There were a few minor glitches with doors due to the Vampire transformation.
    The werewolf perk tree is a good enhancement, but really adds nothing useful to werewolves. If you intend to play consistently as a werewolf, this won't do much to benefit you.

    As a whole, the expansion did just that - it expanded the game. If you enjoyed Skyrim, I couldn't recommend this more. If you didn't like it that much, perhaps this isn't for you.
    Expand
  4. Sep 1, 2012
    7
    Well, to start off with what I disliked.
    I see Skyrim as one of the best single player RPGs ever released (besides DA1, but I still see that
    Skyrim gives you more options and different pathes). The huge downside is the amount of bugs in the game, which never got fixed. This did not change in Dawnguard, and really sometimes kills the fun of playing. In example, on some bugs you have to exit Skyrim and wait 24 hours (real life) for the bug to be gone. That's not the kind of quality I expect.

    On the other hand, the DLC has been pretty fun. I enjoyed the hours of gaming through there a lot, the new characters, the new areas and so on. On this side, it has been pretty decent. Just, the content was (considering the price) little. Playing through the whole DLC (both sides) took me ~10-12 hours. But still, fine enough - and new Skyrim content.

    In the end, if you liked Skyrim and spent hours, days, and probably weeks in the virtual world Bethesda created, you'll have your time and fun with the story. There are a lot of new opportunities to improve your character, and a lot of things to explore and do in the new content. Playing through does not include all side quests, I did not look at them yet, because I first had to re-roll in skyrim (new pc - didn't backup save games :D).

    A little thing which I missed is the reference to being dragonborn. I'm just the vampire or vampire hunter, the relation to the original game was completely lost. No conversations about who I am, that I actually did slay Alduin (except once, Durnehviir did mention I did slay Alduin), that's not what I expected. I felt completely unrecognized, which should not be the case. Depending on my progress in the main world, there should be possibilities for different answers and dialogs.

    Overall - it's a green rating. I did get my fun out of the game, but I am a bit annoyed of the bugs (especially quest bugs where you can't continue for 24 hours, which very likely means 48 hours if you're working and had a bad timing). The story is .. well, Elder Scrolls, and almost epic. I've got mixed feelings about the DLC, which is most likely due to the bugs, the rest was not 100, but probably 85-90 % of what I would have wanted to see.

    It's good work, especially by the quest and game designers. Development and polishing should have been taken more care of.
    Expand
  5. Nov 22, 2012
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Fine for a DLC. Dawnguard story line is fine but not the best. Some places like fort Dawnguard, castle Volkihar and Forgotten Vale are nice other than that every other places are nothing but a waste barren land. When first time I played dawnguard it was nice. Then I tried to play second time it was terribly boring. This dlc is best for someone who actually love skyrim very much. Expand
  6. Aug 22, 2013
    5
    It's nice to see that todd Howard thinks the PC UI for Skyrim and the levelling system are fine. Rather than fix what is broken he is out milking the Skyrim cow for more money from half-witted gamers who get weak at the knees if you put their skill trees in the stars (and don't notice how poorly designed those skill trees are). Skyrim was a pretty dull feast of copy-pasted filler. But that didn't stop hordes of lonely young men mistaking it for love (of a prostitute). The game got unwarranted rave reviews from all and sundry and sold, who knows how many copies (Zenimax is keeping the number under their hat, probably in the range of 5-10 million copies). You would think with all that damned money Zenimax would have given some back to Todd Howard and the copy-paste team and asked them to FIX Skyrim, to improve it to extend it. But NO! If people are dumb enough to throw both their money and their dumb-assed 10/10 scores to Skyrim, Zenimax figured it was fine to 'screw the fools some more.' Which they did here. For a price of around 33.33% of the Skytim game you can get an expansion that has about 1% of the content. Like everything else in the game it borrows liberally from the copy-pasted environments and totally lack-lustre writing that has bored you to death in the tedious realm of the Nords. Its about as boring and uninspired as the rest of the POS game and it does nothing to fix the consolised UI or the horrible levelling system. Since plenty of fools are fool enough to buy this DLC unquestioning, and even score it score it yellow or green scores (INSANE!), you can all expect more useless over-priced DLC FOREVER and a day. If you do not protest at this garbage with a score bomb score of 0-2 out of 10, the bastards in publishing will just keep on offering more trash like this, at sky-high prices. Wake up, foolish consumers. This is poor design AND terrible value for money. Wait for the GOTY edition on sale fools! Red score this trash! Shame on Todd and the copy-paste team. Out there whoring for Zenimax rather than making the game they should.

    THE GROT REVIEW CRITERIA: After a long time writing reviews like an anus, think its time to set a few bad habits straight: Stop insulting designers. Show some respect for the design process and getting games in circulation. Hence (1) No Red scores. (2) Game scores as follows: Bad Game 5/10. Poor Game 6/10. Mediocre Game: 7/10. Good Game 8/10. Great game 9/10. Stella Game 10/10. To get 10/10 it must be a game that can be (theoretically) play-able for 1000+ hours. Not only great but near endless fun. Games may be bad or poor but making them should earn respect. Thus even the worst POS will still be a 5/10. 0/10 no longer exists in my vocabulary. Yellow is the new red. For the sake of accountability: you can reply if needed: Orctowngrot: Tim Rawlins: timtimjp@yahoo.com
    Expand
  7. Oct 27, 2012
    0
    I like the base game very much. I have no idea whether or not I like Dawngaurd DLC. Dawnguard is full of MAJOR quest line stopping bugs. After I was turned into a vampire(one of the first steps in that quest line) no one but the guy who turned me would recognize me as a vampire. This prevented me from progressing in the quest line. I over-rode that step with a code I found online only to have one of the steps mess up a short time later in the quest line to keep me from progressing. The same issue occurred for two pre-existing charectors I had so I made a bran new charector and tried again. Guess what? Same thing happened with the new charector. I wrote to Steam but of course Steam doesnt care if they sell broken games. I wrote to the game support...three times. No reply. They dont cover the issue in their "common problems and answer" pages but the problem is rampant according to what I found all over the internet after a random search. Dont buy this mess and if you do, dont say you werent warned.... Expand

See all 56 User Reviews