The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim - Dawnguard Image
Metascore
66

Mixed or average reviews - based on 10 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 262 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Dawnguard is the first game add-on for The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim.

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Aug 13, 2012
    80
    Dawnguard is a good first DLC for Skyrim, but it's hard to say if it's worth the $20. There's some large places to explore, but some lack content and there's no really good loot it seems. The story's fun though and I do like the new follower in Serana. Fans of the game will enjoy the extra quests. Turning into a vampire is OK, but I didn't feel I missed much by not utilizing the power but for a few times.
  2. Jul 23, 2012
    75
    The idea of combining vampire and werewolves with own skilltrees sounds great. However, the realization is imperfect. The quests are exciting and the landscape is in most parts great, but there are still some boring parts. It seems like Bethesda's B-team was at work.
  3. Aug 28, 2012
    75
    It's been months since I last sat down with this absolute classic of a game; if it takes a bit of DLC to rekindle my enthusiasm for this wild and wondrous title, then regardless of the frustrations, it's still a winner in my books.
  4. Aug 9, 2012
    60
    Is Dawnguard worth your money? Yes because it's more Skyrim, no because it's really only that: a bit more Skyrim. For twenty bucks, I was expecting more.
  5. Aug 12, 2012
    60
    The PC version of Dawnguard is only slightly better than the console one, and deserves the attention of Elder Scroll's most rabid fans: if with Skyrim you had enough of bugs and glitches, then it's better to consider this DLC after the patch that Bethesda will provide to all PC players. Hopefully, sooner than later.
  6. Sep 23, 2012
    59
    A bunch of fun new abilities and cool places but Dawnguard is far too glitchy to justify its steep price.
  7. Dec 10, 2012
    50
    For the consumers of The Elder Scrolls universe this is a very good excuse to come back. For the Twilight fans this is a vivid experience of the vampirish soul. For the rest of you the game is offering the content that is not going to change your leave it or love it relationship with the original title.

See all 10 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 60
  2. Negative: 12 out of 60
  1. Oct 30, 2012
    10
    Finally a DLC this year that was worth it's money! You get over 1GB of content for your buck and they even hired Laura Bailey as voice actorFinally a DLC this year that was worth it's money! You get over 1GB of content for your buck and they even hired Laura Bailey as voice actor for this (she also voiced the female main character of Saints Row: The Third). The ending was a little abrupt, but you get some nice weapons, a great companion, a new player home, stronger dragons to fight and mesmerizing locations to visit. I give the full score for this. Expand
  2. Sep 8, 2013
    9
    Wether it's actually worth 20 dollars might be debatable, but I cen tell you this much. The Dawnguard's story is brags and bounces better thanWether it's actually worth 20 dollars might be debatable, but I cen tell you this much. The Dawnguard's story is brags and bounces better than original Skyrim's. And the new, explorable area called The Forgotten Vale is my favourite experience in the game and one of the best experiences in gaming. I could go on about why, but I think it's better if you find out yourself. Expand
  3. Sep 8, 2012
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Dawngaurd was really not that bad. It was definitely not the best. This should be 15$ rather than 20$ but it has new weapons. I love the crossbow, and the dragon weapons. What I don't like is the barren soul cairn, and the barren pilgrimage with the water vase. It need more action and more enemies at certain parts. I did though like the Harkon Great Vampire Boss Fight. It made me feel like the power of the sun was in the bow and I was using it to defeat one of the greatest vampires ever. It need more though. It was not a bad 10 hours I spent but could be better. Is it worth the money? Depends how much you love Skyrim. If you just play Skyrim every now and then then buy it on a steam sale but if on X-Box 360, then you will need to play and like Skyrim quite often and be in to the game. To my opinion, I think this DLC was good. Expand
  4. Aug 23, 2012
    7
    I enjoyed this DLC (even if it was on the expansive side)... It did get myself back-in to Skyrim and start playing again (in-fact i started aI enjoyed this DLC (even if it was on the expansive side)... It did get myself back-in to Skyrim and start playing again (in-fact i started a new character days leading up to the release..).. This is a DLC and not an extension pack, but it boarders on the good side.. I'm wary of DLC in general as DLC seems to be a rip off, especially weapon packs or something along that line (e.g. Bioware DLCs) I wasn't a fan of the fallouts so i can not compare to their DLC, but all in all i found it goodish.. I played the DLC twice through once with Markon? once with the dawnguard... I think i preferred playing as Dawnguard and i even persuaded Serana to turn human after it was done.. Im not a big fan of the vampire class :/ I would have like to seen a bit more character progression with Serana. All in all, i think it was worth it... I biggest peeve i had was it was delayed for PC... I hated that!!! Expand
  5. Oct 28, 2012
    6
    All the content offered is very good, although the best way to enjoy it is to start a new character and enjoy how flawlessly the DLC isAll the content offered is very good, although the best way to enjoy it is to start a new character and enjoy how flawlessly the DLC is incorporated into the main character career in the existing world. That is right: this DLC exists not as an expansion for you to pursue when you reach, say, level 50, but rather to enrich playing through Skyrim from scrap all again. The only problem is that, given the immense scope of the original game, the amount of new content is simply not enough given its price tag. Sure, if you are new to Skyrim and have little financial constraint, go for it, it is fun and enriches the world, but if you have already played and finished the game, well... sorry, but it is not worth the 20 bucks. With a level 40-50 master overkiller you have absolutely no incentive to use the new skill trees, and will easily breeze through all the new challenges. If you are expecting another Shivering Isles expansion, you will be sorely disappointed. Expand
  6. Aug 22, 2012
    5
    This DLC had a fun and interesting story which kept me playing just to find out what would happen next. Other than the story beingThis DLC had a fun and interesting story which kept me playing just to find out what would happen next. Other than the story being interesting the rest of the DLC seemed very lack luster. The main story line takes 6-7 hours to complete at max, the dungeons are a bit dry, the new areas that it does give you have boring objectives or relatively pointless side quests within them. The biggest disappointment for me, was the fact that whether you choose the Dawnguard storyline or Vampire story line the main quests are pretty much identical and bring about the same end. I would recommend that Elder Scrolls fans buy this DLC but definitely wait for it to go on sale. Expand
  7. Aug 12, 2012
    0
    I've spent over two hours trying to fix this dlc to simply make the quests progress. I have completed about ten minutes of playtime for twoI've spent over two hours trying to fix this dlc to simply make the quests progress. I have completed about ten minutes of playtime for two hours of work and am now stopped again because another part of the quest is broken. Expand

See all 60 User Reviews