Metascore
66

Mixed or average reviews - based on 10 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 204 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Dawnguard is the first game add-on for The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Aug 13, 2012
    80
    Dawnguard is a good first DLC for Skyrim, but it's hard to say if it's worth the $20. There's some large places to explore, but some lack content and there's no really good loot it seems. The story's fun though and I do like the new follower in Serana. Fans of the game will enjoy the extra quests. Turning into a vampire is OK, but I didn't feel I missed much by not utilizing the power but for a few times.
  2. Jul 23, 2012
    75
    The idea of combining vampire and werewolves with own skilltrees sounds great. However, the realization is imperfect. The quests are exciting and the landscape is in most parts great, but there are still some boring parts. It seems like Bethesda's B-team was at work.
  3. Aug 28, 2012
    75
    It's been months since I last sat down with this absolute classic of a game; if it takes a bit of DLC to rekindle my enthusiasm for this wild and wondrous title, then regardless of the frustrations, it's still a winner in my books.
  4. Aug 9, 2012
    60
    Is Dawnguard worth your money? Yes because it's more Skyrim, no because it's really only that: a bit more Skyrim. For twenty bucks, I was expecting more.
  5. Aug 12, 2012
    60
    The PC version of Dawnguard is only slightly better than the console one, and deserves the attention of Elder Scroll's most rabid fans: if with Skyrim you had enough of bugs and glitches, then it's better to consider this DLC after the patch that Bethesda will provide to all PC players. Hopefully, sooner than later.
  6. Sep 23, 2012
    59
    A bunch of fun new abilities and cool places but Dawnguard is far too glitchy to justify its steep price.
  7. Dec 10, 2012
    50
    For the consumers of The Elder Scrolls universe this is a very good excuse to come back. For the Twilight fans this is a vivid experience of the vampirish soul. For the rest of you the game is offering the content that is not going to change your leave it or love it relationship with the original title.

See all 10 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 54
  2. Negative: 12 out of 54
  1. Oct 30, 2012
    10
    Finally a DLC this year that was worth it's money! You get over 1GB of content for your buck and they even hired Laura Bailey as voice actor for this (she also voiced the female main character of Saints Row: The Third). The ending was a little abrupt, but you get some nice weapons, a great companion, a new player home, stronger dragons to fight and mesmerizing locations to visit. I give the full score for this. Expand
  2. May 31, 2013
    9
    I thought that this DLC was much better than the main game. I get the points about having to do a lot of running around to different places, but that was basically what skyrim was all about. The follower is interesting and is not flat like the others and you begin to develop a sense of empathy with them. There is also a unique quest location that is very well done, and presents you with a big dilemma to get to!

    Possibly not worth as a stand alone DLC unless you really liked the main game. I got it as part of a pack so the extra cost was not great and I'm glad I did as it made returning to the main quest line pretty boring.
    Expand
  3. Sep 8, 2012
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Dawngaurd was really not that bad. It was definitely not the best. This should be 15$ rather than 20$ but it has new weapons. I love the crossbow, and the dragon weapons. What I don't like is the barren soul cairn, and the barren pilgrimage with the water vase. It need more action and more enemies at certain parts. I did though like the Harkon Great Vampire Boss Fight. It made me feel like the power of the sun was in the bow and I was using it to defeat one of the greatest vampires ever. It need more though. It was not a bad 10 hours I spent but could be better. Is it worth the money? Depends how much you love Skyrim. If you just play Skyrim every now and then then buy it on a steam sale but if on X-Box 360, then you will need to play and like Skyrim quite often and be in to the game. To my opinion, I think this DLC was good. Expand
  4. Nov 26, 2013
    7
    I very much enjoyed the Dawnguard DLC. It contributed more to the lore of TES. However, it has bugs. I broke my game once because of a bug. My obvious and unnecessary advice to you is: Save often, and multiple of them. Expand
  5. Apr 26, 2014
    6
    Mixed feelings.

    Part way through this DLC, I realized that the gameplay is not much different from the original Skyrim. The addition of a
    uber-powerful crossbow for the vampire hunters makes the all ranged / stealth archetype much more feasible.

    However, after a few dungeons I realized the same thing that happened with original skyrim - it's pew pew with crossbow while exploiting horrible enemy AI which can get stuck in random places or gives up searching for player after 20 seconds, while standing next to it's dead comrade's body. "It must be my imagination" says the AI while walking over a dead companion and sitting back in the same chair.

    While the vampire archetype looks awesome, I quickly found that it runs out of magicka really quickly and is overall luckluster after that. Maybe a mage character would find vampire path to be more satisfying.
    Expand
  6. Sep 19, 2012
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Lost vale was great, soul cairn a bit boring, the other missions revisting old haunts for veterens so-so. Plot wise, characters and new equipment a bit of a let down.The trailer for Skyrim was true to the game, The trailer of Dawnguard was amazing but the DLC is a bit of anticlimax. Expand
  7. Oct 27, 2012
    0
    I like the base game very much. I have no idea whether or not I like Dawngaurd DLC. Dawnguard is full of MAJOR quest line stopping bugs. After I was turned into a vampire(one of the first steps in that quest line) no one but the guy who turned me would recognize me as a vampire. This prevented me from progressing in the quest line. I over-rode that step with a code I found online only to have one of the steps mess up a short time later in the quest line to keep me from progressing. The same issue occurred for two pre-existing charectors I had so I made a bran new charector and tried again. Guess what? Same thing happened with the new charector. I wrote to Steam but of course Steam doesnt care if they sell broken games. I wrote to the game support...three times. No reply. They dont cover the issue in their "common problems and answer" pages but the problem is rampant according to what I found all over the internet after a random search. Dont buy this mess and if you do, dont say you werent warned.... Expand

See all 54 User Reviews