User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 293 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 35 out of 293

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 28, 2013
    7
    I give it a meh,
    the game play was pretty normal, the new enemies are nicely textured, spooky, and veritable opponents.
    Riding a dragon was both interesting and confusing in terms that while I can soar the skies of Skyrim I can also manage to fly backwards underneath Whiterun. By far though my favorite part of this wasn't the adorable pygmies, flying jellyfish, or the volcano, it was
    I give it a meh,
    the game play was pretty normal, the new enemies are nicely textured, spooky, and veritable opponents.
    Riding a dragon was both interesting and confusing in terms that while I can soar the skies of Skyrim I can also manage to fly backwards underneath Whiterun.
    By far though my favorite part of this wasn't the adorable pygmies, flying jellyfish, or the volcano, it was the perk reset. I can not express how happy I was presented with this, it felt like a real burden lifted from my shoulders as I have placed many perks poorly in my first few weeks playing.
    Expand
  2. Mar 11, 2013
    6
    I am giving it a 6. I like the Morrowind-settings, the campaign is what is expected not too long, just about the size I suspected. I like how the conversations aren't as bland and basic, and I guess the armor-sword collectors will be in for a treat. Now, the negatives: 1. Bethesda still didn't fix many graphical glitches like the striped shadows problem and some other slowdowns,I am giving it a 6. I like the Morrowind-settings, the campaign is what is expected not too long, just about the size I suspected. I like how the conversations aren't as bland and basic, and I guess the armor-sword collectors will be in for a treat. Now, the negatives: 1. Bethesda still didn't fix many graphical glitches like the striped shadows problem and some other slowdowns, especially in ruins and dungeons. 2. Low resolution textures. I'm sure the XBOX and PS3 people are happy, since their machines can't handle anything more high tech than 2008, but for the PC guys- it's still a letdown. I know about the high-res rexture pack, but that isn't covering everything. The game continues to lack any improvements, such as displacement-depth effects or ambient occlusion, (google them if you don't know what I'm talking about) and various other visual effects, which have been standard for years in many other games. There are still no real location based damage system, which have been around since ....Half Life? I'm basically whacking into the air and the person front of me gets damaged, without any feel of impact or being wounded, based on where my sword strikes. 3. Animations are missing frames, sometimes there are glitches, which cause certain characters to slide around, instead of walking or running. 4. Too much useless clutter. I'm not sure what's the point of able to pick up a broom or a wooden bowl. They are useless and pointless, beside being a "detail". Why would anyone want to pick them up? And it's not just the worthless clutter, but things, that are worth gold. After a while, I can't sell anything I owe. Having hundreds of pendants, necklaces, rings etc...I can't sell them, because the merchants don't have the cash for it, and what they have for sale is useless for me. And anyway, what am I gonna do with all that gold? I'm already at 50,000 gold and I am only at level 35 and there is nothing I want to buy! It seems like what's worth something are the metals (if you do smithing) leather, and perhaps ingredients for potions. But even those will be abundant at one point and you won't need more of them. Especially if you already own the best of all the equipment you have found or crafted. I assume, that anyone, who has bought Dragonborn, have already gone to a certain level on the main land, and they aren't starting off with a low level character on the island. So, that makes many things useless, depending on how far you have gotten in Skyrim. ...And to add the fact, that most people have already downloaded dozens of mods..Dragonborn rather seems like a quick rush-through, just of the sake of seeing some new stuff. Once the uniqueness of the ash covered island with its mushrooms and armored guards wears off, it just becomes bland and boring. Perhaps modders will add more content, but you really have to be a hardcore fan to hold out too long, even if you have held out with a supply of mods since the release of Skyrim. Bethesda needs to leave this ancient graphics engine they use for over 6 years now, and start making the next sequel, and no that shouldn't be the even uglier looking MMO, or they will loose their fanbase support for good. Expand
  3. Mar 5, 2013
    5
    While i really like Skyrim and have put over 150 hours into it this DLC was somewhat bleak. The main questline was too short and too easy(was rolling on master). Too few new items and not that many new skills or functions. If there werent any mods i would probably not buy this.
  4. Apr 1, 2013
    5
    I was hooked for the duration of the main quest, but once I had killed the evil villain I realised that I had just played it so much because I wanted it to be over and done with. The dungeons were set in a hellish realm that I didn't enjoy at all, and the dragon riding was a bore. On the upside, it was fun exploring the new island and seeing weapons that I hadn't bumped into before. ButI was hooked for the duration of the main quest, but once I had killed the evil villain I realised that I had just played it so much because I wanted it to be over and done with. The dungeons were set in a hellish realm that I didn't enjoy at all, and the dragon riding was a bore. On the upside, it was fun exploring the new island and seeing weapons that I hadn't bumped into before. But upon completing the main questline, I just felt empty. It's a shame that Bethesda forgot what made Skyrim so good; a multitude of quests and a story that never really ended. Expand
  5. Mar 9, 2013
    6
    Dragonborn is an over-priced and belated effort to put a bit of interesting writing into otherwise lack-luster and stone-dull realm of Skyrim. To some extent it succeeds. There are some fun new monsters and fun new places. However the total content of this expansion is pretty limited and it would be a decent addition to the game once it finds its appropriate pricing at around $5. WhatDragonborn is an over-priced and belated effort to put a bit of interesting writing into otherwise lack-luster and stone-dull realm of Skyrim. To some extent it succeeds. There are some fun new monsters and fun new places. However the total content of this expansion is pretty limited and it would be a decent addition to the game once it finds its appropriate pricing at around $5. What Skyrim needs is not more expansions as obvious ploys by the developer to rip off its customers: Skyrim needs a major overhaul of the terrible control scheme, the lack-luster skill trees and the boring-as-hell inventory and crafting. The game remains a yawn fest and one of the most horrible mis-conceived PS2 ports ever inflicted upon PC gamers. Tod Howard needs to get an inkling of professional pride and TOTALLY REBUILD the character development system, the UI and the control scheme so that it can bring the mediocre Skyrim back to the level of Oblivion, which was so MUCH better in all these areas. The reverance and awe with which this game is reviewed by so many punters is baffling. Skyrim remains far below the standard of its predeccesor. So many gamers seem to think that the volume of mods made by guys with no connection to Bethesda somehow redeems the game and Bethesda. The mods don't redeem the game in the slightest. On the contrary: they expose just how lazy and uninspired the developers ARE with this game. If all the best parts of the games were made by modders (and they are) that reflects BADLY on Bethesda and shows what a Playstation 2 botch-job they gave us here! Yeah Dragonborn is pretty good. Too little. Too late and too far from the core weaknesses of the game. Bethesda has made a fortune from this game. They should re-invest a serious amount of that money into retooling the base engine design to make it the game it SHOULD have been on release. Expand
  6. Jul 8, 2013
    6
    Despite a lame main quest that was way too short, Dragonborn is probably a worthwhile expansion to buy, because of the various interesting side quests and the new type of nature that Solstheim comes with. However, the expansion is buggy, to the point of being nigh on unplayable at points, and thus it's probably not worth your purchase on a console, as they ironically don't have access toDespite a lame main quest that was way too short, Dragonborn is probably a worthwhile expansion to buy, because of the various interesting side quests and the new type of nature that Solstheim comes with. However, the expansion is buggy, to the point of being nigh on unplayable at points, and thus it's probably not worth your purchase on a console, as they ironically don't have access to the console, nor any mods. Expand
  7. May 1, 2013
    6
    It is a good add-on. The only thing that keeps me from giving it a higher score is dragon-riding. That thing is just ugly and ridiculous. I know that Bethesda is a hard-working people, trying to feed their families, but this? Any manager who made abomination like this into a game should be shot. Survivors should be shot again. Because when you make something that big and you good at it,It is a good add-on. The only thing that keeps me from giving it a higher score is dragon-riding. That thing is just ugly and ridiculous. I know that Bethesda is a hard-working people, trying to feed their families, but this? Any manager who made abomination like this into a game should be shot. Survivors should be shot again. Because when you make something that big and you good at it, you can't doing something just to please the fans and make just a little more money. Because it is not something interesting and creative, it is prostitution. Such decisions make a huge number of old fans to doubt you. Expand
  8. Jul 4, 2014
    7
    Definitely the best of the Skyrim DLC. You get a new island to roam around on and a ton of new content to enjoy. It's still unfortunate that the quests are super generic and boring. Half of the main quest line is going through some other dimension where everything looks the same and you have to solve lame puzzles. Easily some of the worst moments of my time playing Skyrim. The rest of theDefinitely the best of the Skyrim DLC. You get a new island to roam around on and a ton of new content to enjoy. It's still unfortunate that the quests are super generic and boring. Half of the main quest line is going through some other dimension where everything looks the same and you have to solve lame puzzles. Easily some of the worst moments of my time playing Skyrim. The rest of the DLC is basically on par with the base game except you don't have as many annoying dragon encounters to deal with. If you liked the base game, you should like this as well. Expand
  9. Aug 2, 2014
    5
    You didn't think that you were the only one, he was the first - Dragonborn! Well, so I killed that legendary Dragonborn, he didn't even survive one weekend and honestly, after all the praise for this DLC I'm left a bit disappointed the exactly same way I was on my first visit to Solstheim in Bloodmoon. After fantastic DLC that was the Dawnguard, I was hyped to return to some MorrowindYou didn't think that you were the only one, he was the first - Dragonborn! Well, so I killed that legendary Dragonborn, he didn't even survive one weekend and honestly, after all the praise for this DLC I'm left a bit disappointed the exactly same way I was on my first visit to Solstheim in Bloodmoon. After fantastic DLC that was the Dawnguard, I was hyped to return to some Morrowind roots and while some of the features such as Red Mountain in the distance, remnants of Redoran or simply the Silt Strider work very well, this all seem to me like a Bloodmoon v2.0 with Skyrim graphics. New additions such as dragon riding were especially bad and while it was still kinda ok and worth playing through for that typical TES experience and new content as a completionist, I don't think it was really necessary and I was glad it's over when I was done with it. 5/10 Expand
  10. Jun 15, 2015
    7
    everything is good but story could be better .
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 6 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Mar 30, 2013
    80
    Feels like a focused Bethesda, no longer stretched too thin in its task of crafting a world the size of Skyrim. [Apr 2013, p.93]
  2. Feb 28, 2013
    88
    Despite a rather ho-hum main quest, Dragonborn is crammed with enough side quests and new stuff to be an exciting add-on.
  3. Feb 28, 2013
    75
    If you compare Dragonborn’s price on Steam to that of the original game, you’d think they’re offering you a third of Skyrim. Naturally, this isn’t the case – the island of Solstheim is not so action-packed. Yet a sandbox, even a small one, is way more enjoyable than a handful of new locations and random quests from Dawnguard.