The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim - Dragonborn Image
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 6 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 326 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: With this official add-on for The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim, journey off the coast of Morrowind, to the island of Solstheim. Encounter new towns, dungeons, and quests, as you traverse the ash wastes and glacial valleys of this new land. Become more powerful with shouts that bend the will ofWith this official add-on for The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim, journey off the coast of Morrowind, to the island of Solstheim. Encounter new towns, dungeons, and quests, as you traverse the ash wastes and glacial valleys of this new land. Become more powerful with shouts that bend the will of your enemies and even tame dragons. Your fate, and the fate of Solstheim, hangs in the balance as you face off against your deadliest adversary - the first Dragonborn. Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Feb 4, 2013
    90
    The new area could be more original but still Dragonborn itself is extremely rich and is a surprisingly dark add-on. [Jan 2013]
  2. Feb 28, 2013
    88
    Despite a rather ho-hum main quest, Dragonborn is crammed with enough side quests and new stuff to be an exciting add-on.
  3. Feb 11, 2013
    87
    With new environments, enemies, and weapons, Dragonborn really delivers an expansion pack worthy of the Skyrim legacy.
  4. PC PowerPlay
    Mar 30, 2013
    80
    Feels like a focused Bethesda, no longer stretched too thin in its task of crafting a world the size of Skyrim. [Apr 2013, p.93]
  5. Feb 8, 2013
    80
    Skyrim was such a wonderful game, and it was disappointing to see something as half-baked as Dawnguard serve as the only example of what Bethesda could offer for post-release support for this game. Dragonborn, however, is truly worthy of the Elder Scrolls name - even if it doesn't have characters casually pulling actual Elder Scrolls out of their back pockets and buying or selling them for a few thousand gold - as it adds the kind of large, epic feel you should be experiencing when playing an open-world RPG.
  6. Feb 28, 2013
    75
    If you compare Dragonborn’s price on Steam to that of the original game, you’d think they’re offering you a third of Skyrim. Naturally, this isn’t the case – the island of Solstheim is not so action-packed. Yet a sandbox, even a small one, is way more enjoyable than a handful of new locations and random quests from Dawnguard.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 43
  2. Negative: 10 out of 43
  1. Feb 11, 2013
    10
    Awesome DLC! Though I didn't expect it to be as good as the Shivering Isles, It still was awesome. The whole new island is cool and differentAwesome DLC! Though I didn't expect it to be as good as the Shivering Isles, It still was awesome. The whole new island is cool and different and it brings back a lot of memories from Morrowind. There are tons of side quests (which was a good feature) and an entertaining "main" quest line. Definitely the best DLC for Skyrim thus far... I hope that Bethesda continues to make great games and DLCs. (No Horse armor please) Expand
  2. Apr 26, 2013
    10
    This game world is so detailed and beautiful it is amazing. Love the quests love the main story. love the DLC there is nothing wrong with thisThis game world is so detailed and beautiful it is amazing. Love the quests love the main story. love the DLC there is nothing wrong with this game at all! simply amazing Expand
  3. Feb 9, 2013
    9
    Dragonborn adds quite a bit; weapons, armor, shouts, new enemies and retooled areas. The only criticism I can level at it is that yes,Dragonborn adds quite a bit; weapons, armor, shouts, new enemies and retooled areas. The only criticism I can level at it is that yes, Solstheim is basically the same environment as Skyrim, and we have indeed been here before during Bloodmoon. The game manages to make up for it in many ways though, with a continuation of Solstheim's history, some unique, quest-related areas, and several easter eggs. In the end, it felt more like a homecoming than a rehash. Updated to add: I've gone through the main quest and most of the sidequests, and there's no sign of Radiant AI busywork. Every quest and location seems to have it's own specific story. That's definitely worth another point! Expand
  4. Feb 28, 2016
    8
    It has taken me a long time and many playthroughs to appreciate some aspects of Dragonborn. While the main quest is the weakest in Skyrim,It has taken me a long time and many playthroughs to appreciate some aspects of Dragonborn. While the main quest is the weakest in Skyrim, the Black Books and side quests make up for it. I found the Black Book quests tedious at first but have grown to really enjoy the break the provide and of course their rewards. Expand
  5. Mar 9, 2013
    6
    Dragonborn is an over-priced and belated effort to put a bit of interesting writing into otherwise lack-luster and stone-dull realm ofDragonborn is an over-priced and belated effort to put a bit of interesting writing into otherwise lack-luster and stone-dull realm of Skyrim. To some extent it succeeds. There are some fun new monsters and fun new places. However the total content of this expansion is pretty limited and it would be a decent addition to the game once it finds its appropriate pricing at around $5. What Skyrim needs is not more expansions as obvious ploys by the developer to rip off its customers: Skyrim needs a major overhaul of the terrible control scheme, the lack-luster skill trees and the boring-as-hell inventory and crafting. The game remains a yawn fest and one of the most horrible mis-conceived PS2 ports ever inflicted upon PC gamers. Tod Howard needs to get an inkling of professional pride and TOTALLY REBUILD the character development system, the UI and the control scheme so that it can bring the mediocre Skyrim back to the level of Oblivion, which was so MUCH better in all these areas. The reverance and awe with which this game is reviewed by so many punters is baffling. Skyrim remains far below the standard of its predeccesor. So many gamers seem to think that the volume of mods made by guys with no connection to Bethesda somehow redeems the game and Bethesda. The mods don't redeem the game in the slightest. On the contrary: they expose just how lazy and uninspired the developers ARE with this game. If all the best parts of the games were made by modders (and they are) that reflects BADLY on Bethesda and shows what a Playstation 2 botch-job they gave us here! Yeah Dragonborn is pretty good. Too little. Too late and too far from the core weaknesses of the game. Bethesda has made a fortune from this game. They should re-invest a serious amount of that money into retooling the base engine design to make it the game it SHOULD have been on release. Expand
  6. Apr 1, 2013
    5
    I was hooked for the duration of the main quest, but once I had killed the evil villain I realised that I had just played it so much because II was hooked for the duration of the main quest, but once I had killed the evil villain I realised that I had just played it so much because I wanted it to be over and done with. The dungeons were set in a hellish realm that I didn't enjoy at all, and the dragon riding was a bore. On the upside, it was fun exploring the new island and seeing weapons that I hadn't bumped into before. But upon completing the main questline, I just felt empty. It's a shame that Bethesda forgot what made Skyrim so good; a multitude of quests and a story that never really ended. Expand
  7. Feb 9, 2013
    0
    The new shouts, the ability to reskill my character and flying dragons didn't really impress me. I think we're at an impasse here and it'sThe new shouts, the ability to reskill my character and flying dragons didn't really impress me. I think we're at an impasse here and it's time for Bethesda to focus on a new singleplayer game rather than an MMO, if that's the reason for this lackluster DLC. Expand

See all 43 User Reviews