The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim - Dragonborn Image
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 6 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 301 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: With this official add-on for The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim, journey off the coast of Morrowind, to the island of Solstheim. Encounter new towns, dungeons, and quests, as you traverse the ash wastes and glacial valleys of this new land. Become more powerful with shouts that bend the will ofWith this official add-on for The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim, journey off the coast of Morrowind, to the island of Solstheim. Encounter new towns, dungeons, and quests, as you traverse the ash wastes and glacial valleys of this new land. Become more powerful with shouts that bend the will of your enemies and even tame dragons. Your fate, and the fate of Solstheim, hangs in the balance as you face off against your deadliest adversary - the first Dragonborn. Expand

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Feb 4, 2013
    90
    The new area could be more original but still Dragonborn itself is extremely rich and is a surprisingly dark add-on. [Jan 2013]
  2. Feb 28, 2013
    88
    Despite a rather ho-hum main quest, Dragonborn is crammed with enough side quests and new stuff to be an exciting add-on.
  3. Feb 11, 2013
    87
    With new environments, enemies, and weapons, Dragonborn really delivers an expansion pack worthy of the Skyrim legacy.
  4. PC PowerPlay
    Mar 30, 2013
    80
    Feels like a focused Bethesda, no longer stretched too thin in its task of crafting a world the size of Skyrim. [Apr 2013, p.93]
  5. Feb 8, 2013
    80
    Skyrim was such a wonderful game, and it was disappointing to see something as half-baked as Dawnguard serve as the only example of what Bethesda could offer for post-release support for this game. Dragonborn, however, is truly worthy of the Elder Scrolls name - even if it doesn't have characters casually pulling actual Elder Scrolls out of their back pockets and buying or selling them for a few thousand gold - as it adds the kind of large, epic feel you should be experiencing when playing an open-world RPG.
  6. Feb 28, 2013
    75
    If you compare Dragonborn’s price on Steam to that of the original game, you’d think they’re offering you a third of Skyrim. Naturally, this isn’t the case – the island of Solstheim is not so action-packed. Yet a sandbox, even a small one, is way more enjoyable than a handful of new locations and random quests from Dawnguard.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 42
  2. Negative: 11 out of 42
  1. Feb 11, 2013
    10
    Awesome DLC! Though I didn't expect it to be as good as the Shivering Isles, It still was awesome. The whole new island is cool and differentAwesome DLC! Though I didn't expect it to be as good as the Shivering Isles, It still was awesome. The whole new island is cool and different and it brings back a lot of memories from Morrowind. There are tons of side quests (which was a good feature) and an entertaining "main" quest line. Definitely the best DLC for Skyrim thus far... I hope that Bethesda continues to make great games and DLCs. (No Horse armor please) Expand
  2. Apr 26, 2013
    10
    This game world is so detailed and beautiful it is amazing. Love the quests love the main story. love the DLC there is nothing wrong with thisThis game world is so detailed and beautiful it is amazing. Love the quests love the main story. love the DLC there is nothing wrong with this game at all! simply amazing Expand
  3. Feb 9, 2013
    9
    Dragonborn adds quite a bit; weapons, armor, shouts, new enemies and retooled areas. The only criticism I can level at it is that yes,Dragonborn adds quite a bit; weapons, armor, shouts, new enemies and retooled areas. The only criticism I can level at it is that yes, Solstheim is basically the same environment as Skyrim, and we have indeed been here before during Bloodmoon. The game manages to make up for it in many ways though, with a continuation of Solstheim's history, some unique, quest-related areas, and several easter eggs. In the end, it felt more like a homecoming than a rehash. Updated to add: I've gone through the main quest and most of the sidequests, and there's no sign of Radiant AI busywork. Every quest and location seems to have it's own specific story. That's definitely worth another point! Expand
  4. Apr 28, 2013
    7
    I give it a meh,
    the game play was pretty normal, the new enemies are nicely textured, spooky, and veritable opponents.
    Riding a dragon was
    I give it a meh,
    the game play was pretty normal, the new enemies are nicely textured, spooky, and veritable opponents.
    Riding a dragon was both interesting and confusing in terms that while I can soar the skies of Skyrim I can also manage to fly backwards underneath Whiterun.
    By far though my favorite part of this wasn't the adorable pygmies, flying jellyfish, or the volcano, it was the perk reset. I can not express how happy I was presented with this, it felt like a real burden lifted from my shoulders as I have placed many perks poorly in my first few weeks playing.
    Expand
  5. Jul 8, 2013
    6
    Despite a lame main quest that was way too short, Dragonborn is probably a worthwhile expansion to buy, because of the various interestingDespite a lame main quest that was way too short, Dragonborn is probably a worthwhile expansion to buy, because of the various interesting side quests and the new type of nature that Solstheim comes with. However, the expansion is buggy, to the point of being nigh on unplayable at points, and thus it's probably not worth your purchase on a console, as they ironically don't have access to the console, nor any mods. Expand
  6. Apr 16, 2013
    4
    You can clearly see that Bethesda rushed this one out. Bad voice acting for the main character, repetitive quests and boring too. And justYou can clearly see that Bethesda rushed this one out. Bad voice acting for the main character, repetitive quests and boring too. And just ruins the game with, horrible looking new armor and a shout that just completely destroys the purpose of the game. Just a huge disappointment. The only fun was Solsthiem, beautiful and wonderful music from Morrowind, but remains bad with all the flaws. Expand
  7. Feb 9, 2013
    0
    The new shouts, the ability to reskill my character and flying dragons didn't really impress me. I think we're at an impasse here and it'sThe new shouts, the ability to reskill my character and flying dragons didn't really impress me. I think we're at an impasse here and it's time for Bethesda to focus on a new singleplayer game rather than an MMO, if that's the reason for this lackluster DLC. Expand

See all 42 User Reviews