Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 6 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 268 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: With this official add-on for The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim, journey off the coast of Morrowind, to the island of Solstheim. Encounter new towns, dungeons, and quests, as you traverse the ash wastes and glacial valleys of this new land. Become more powerful with shouts that bend the will of your enemies and even tame dragons. Your fate, and the fate of Solstheim, hangs in the balance as you face off against your deadliest adversary - the first Dragonborn. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. 90
    The new area could be more original but still Dragonborn itself is extremely rich and is a surprisingly dark add-on. [Jan 2013]
  2. Feb 28, 2013
    88
    Despite a rather ho-hum main quest, Dragonborn is crammed with enough side quests and new stuff to be an exciting add-on.
  3. Feb 11, 2013
    87
    With new environments, enemies, and weapons, Dragonborn really delivers an expansion pack worthy of the Skyrim legacy.
  4. Mar 30, 2013
    80
    Feels like a focused Bethesda, no longer stretched too thin in its task of crafting a world the size of Skyrim. [Apr 2013, p.93]
  5. Feb 8, 2013
    80
    Skyrim was such a wonderful game, and it was disappointing to see something as half-baked as Dawnguard serve as the only example of what Bethesda could offer for post-release support for this game. Dragonborn, however, is truly worthy of the Elder Scrolls name - even if it doesn't have characters casually pulling actual Elder Scrolls out of their back pockets and buying or selling them for a few thousand gold - as it adds the kind of large, epic feel you should be experiencing when playing an open-world RPG.
  6. Feb 28, 2013
    75
    If you compare Dragonborn’s price on Steam to that of the original game, you’d think they’re offering you a third of Skyrim. Naturally, this isn’t the case – the island of Solstheim is not so action-packed. Yet a sandbox, even a small one, is way more enjoyable than a handful of new locations and random quests from Dawnguard.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 40
  2. Negative: 10 out of 40
  1. Feb 11, 2013
    10
    Awesome DLC! Though I didn't expect it to be as good as the Shivering Isles, It still was awesome. The whole new island is cool and different and it brings back a lot of memories from Morrowind. There are tons of side quests (which was a good feature) and an entertaining "main" quest line. Definitely the best DLC for Skyrim thus far... I hope that Bethesda continues to make great games and DLCs. (No Horse armor please) Expand
  2. Apr 22, 2013
    10
    A very good extension that gives us back the Solstheim from Morrowind. As a Morrowind fan I loved this expansion very much It has a lot of content, new quests, powers, shouts and exploration, and a fairly large new worldspace. It's worth it. Collapse
  3. Feb 9, 2013
    9
    What can beat the nostalgia of Morrowind? Bethesda brings us one of the best expansions since Shivering Isles and kudos to them for it. Say what you want, this DLC has it all- new shouts, an enormous Solstheim, new armors, etc. I say you should go and get this DLC right now if you loved Skyrim. Don't listen to the haters that gave the DLC a zero, because they obviously haven't tried it out themselves. You will be drawn in as I was. Expand
  4. Apr 28, 2013
    7
    I give it a meh,
    the game play was pretty normal, the new enemies are nicely textured, spooky, and veritable opponents.
    Riding a dragon was
    both interesting and confusing in terms that while I can soar the skies of Skyrim I can also manage to fly backwards underneath Whiterun.
    By far though my favorite part of this wasn't the adorable pygmies, flying jellyfish, or the volcano, it was the perk reset. I can not express how happy I was presented with this, it felt like a real burden lifted from my shoulders as I have placed many perks poorly in my first few weeks playing.
    Expand
  5. May 1, 2013
    6
    It is a good add-on. The only thing that keeps me from giving it a higher score is dragon-riding. That thing is just ugly and ridiculous. I know that Bethesda is a hard-working people, trying to feed their families, but this? Any manager who made abomination like this into a game should be shot. Survivors should be shot again. Because when you make something that big and you good at it, you can't doing something just to please the fans and make just a little more money. Because it is not something interesting and creative, it is prostitution. Such decisions make a huge number of old fans to doubt you. Expand
  6. Apr 16, 2013
    4
    You can clearly see that Bethesda rushed this one out. Bad voice acting for the main character, repetitive quests and boring too. And just ruins the game with, horrible looking new armor and a shout that just completely destroys the purpose of the game. Just a huge disappointment. The only fun was Solsthiem, beautiful and wonderful music from Morrowind, but remains bad with all the flaws. Expand
  7. Feb 9, 2013
    0
    The new shouts, the ability to reskill my character and flying dragons didn't really impress me. I think we're at an impasse here and it's time for Bethesda to focus on a new singleplayer game rather than an MMO, if that's the reason for this lackluster DLC. Expand

See all 40 User Reviews