Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 6 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 255 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: With this official add-on for The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim, journey off the coast of Morrowind, to the island of Solstheim. Encounter new towns, dungeons, and quests, as you traverse the ash wastes and glacial valleys of this new land. Become more powerful with shouts that bend the will of your enemies and even tame dragons. Your fate, and the fate of Solstheim, hangs in the balance as you face off against your deadliest adversary - the first Dragonborn. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. 90
    The new area could be more original but still Dragonborn itself is extremely rich and is a surprisingly dark add-on. [Jan 2013]
  2. Feb 28, 2013
    88
    Despite a rather ho-hum main quest, Dragonborn is crammed with enough side quests and new stuff to be an exciting add-on.
  3. Feb 11, 2013
    87
    With new environments, enemies, and weapons, Dragonborn really delivers an expansion pack worthy of the Skyrim legacy.
  4. Mar 30, 2013
    80
    Feels like a focused Bethesda, no longer stretched too thin in its task of crafting a world the size of Skyrim. [Apr 2013, p.93]
  5. Feb 8, 2013
    80
    Skyrim was such a wonderful game, and it was disappointing to see something as half-baked as Dawnguard serve as the only example of what Bethesda could offer for post-release support for this game. Dragonborn, however, is truly worthy of the Elder Scrolls name - even if it doesn't have characters casually pulling actual Elder Scrolls out of their back pockets and buying or selling them for a few thousand gold - as it adds the kind of large, epic feel you should be experiencing when playing an open-world RPG.
  6. Feb 28, 2013
    75
    If you compare Dragonborn’s price on Steam to that of the original game, you’d think they’re offering you a third of Skyrim. Naturally, this isn’t the case – the island of Solstheim is not so action-packed. Yet a sandbox, even a small one, is way more enjoyable than a handful of new locations and random quests from Dawnguard.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 38
  2. Negative: 9 out of 38
  1. Feb 11, 2013
    10
    Awesome DLC! Though I didn't expect it to be as good as the Shivering Isles, It still was awesome. The whole new island is cool and different and it brings back a lot of memories from Morrowind. There are tons of side quests (which was a good feature) and an entertaining "main" quest line. Definitely the best DLC for Skyrim thus far... I hope that Bethesda continues to make great games and DLCs. (No Horse armor please) Expand
  2. Apr 26, 2013
    10
    This game world is so detailed and beautiful it is amazing. Love the quests love the main story. love the DLC there is nothing wrong with this game at all! simply amazing Collapse
  3. Feb 5, 2013
    9
    What do we need when the whole world of Skyrim has been studied thoroughly? It's simple: new tasks and place of their performance, new enemies, new weapons, magic and shouts. Dragonborn has it all! And you can finally ride the dragon! This DLC should have all fans of Skyrim. Expand
  4. Jan 3, 2014
    8
    Another decent DLC for a good game: a whole large island to explore, new story line, new quests, new enemies, new locations, nice atmosphere. If you liked Skyrim you definitely need to check this out. Expand
  5. Mar 11, 2013
    6
    I am giving it a 6. I like the Morrowind-settings, the campaign is what is expected not too long, just about the size I suspected. I like how the conversations aren't as bland and basic, and I guess the armor-sword collectors will be in for a treat. Now, the negatives: 1. Bethesda still didn't fix many graphical glitches like the striped shadows problem and some other slowdowns, especially in ruins and dungeons. 2. Low resolution textures. I'm sure the XBOX and PS3 people are happy, since their machines can't handle anything more high tech than 2008, but for the PC guys- it's still a letdown. I know about the high-res rexture pack, but that isn't covering everything. The game continues to lack any improvements, such as displacement-depth effects or ambient occlusion, (google them if you don't know what I'm talking about) and various other visual effects, which have been standard for years in many other games. There are still no real location based damage system, which have been around since ....Half Life? I'm basically whacking into the air and the person front of me gets damaged, without any feel of impact or being wounded, based on where my sword strikes. 3. Animations are missing frames, sometimes there are glitches, which cause certain characters to slide around, instead of walking or running. 4. Too much useless clutter. I'm not sure what's the point of able to pick up a broom or a wooden bowl. They are useless and pointless, beside being a "detail". Why would anyone want to pick them up? And it's not just the worthless clutter, but things, that are worth gold. After a while, I can't sell anything I owe. Having hundreds of pendants, necklaces, rings etc...I can't sell them, because the merchants don't have the cash for it, and what they have for sale is useless for me. And anyway, what am I gonna do with all that gold? I'm already at 50,000 gold and I am only at level 35 and there is nothing I want to buy! It seems like what's worth something are the metals (if you do smithing) leather, and perhaps ingredients for potions. But even those will be abundant at one point and you won't need more of them. Especially if you already own the best of all the equipment you have found or crafted. I assume, that anyone, who has bought Dragonborn, have already gone to a certain level on the main land, and they aren't starting off with a low level character on the island. So, that makes many things useless, depending on how far you have gotten in Skyrim. ...And to add the fact, that most people have already downloaded dozens of mods..Dragonborn rather seems like a quick rush-through, just of the sake of seeing some new stuff. Once the uniqueness of the ash covered island with its mushrooms and armored guards wears off, it just becomes bland and boring. Perhaps modders will add more content, but you really have to be a hardcore fan to hold out too long, even if you have held out with a supply of mods since the release of Skyrim. Bethesda needs to leave this ancient graphics engine they use for over 6 years now, and start making the next sequel, and no that shouldn't be the even uglier looking MMO, or they will loose their fanbase support for good. Expand
  6. Apr 1, 2013
    5
    I was hooked for the duration of the main quest, but once I had killed the evil villain I realised that I had just played it so much because I wanted it to be over and done with. The dungeons were set in a hellish realm that I didn't enjoy at all, and the dragon riding was a bore. On the upside, it was fun exploring the new island and seeing weapons that I hadn't bumped into before. But upon completing the main questline, I just felt empty. It's a shame that Bethesda forgot what made Skyrim so good; a multitude of quests and a story that never really ended. Expand
  7. Feb 9, 2013
    0
    The new shouts, the ability to reskill my character and flying dragons didn't really impress me. I think we're at an impasse here and it's time for Bethesda to focus on a new singleplayer game rather than an MMO, if that's the reason for this lackluster DLC. Expand

See all 38 User Reviews