User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 9368 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 30, 2011
    9
    Good:
    Very nice graphic. Even with an average graphic card. Dont understand people dont like/see that. Wonderfull distance view of the landscape. Perfect RPG atmosphere with a well written storyline. Interactive citicen behavior. It makes you feel living in that world. AI react different how you behave. NPC talking about your progress in game. very nice.
    Poor: Controlling. You can see
    Good:
    Very nice graphic. Even with an average graphic card. Dont understand people dont like/see that. Wonderfull distance view of the landscape. Perfect RPG atmosphere with a well written storyline. Interactive citicen behavior. It makes you feel living in that world. AI react different how you behave. NPC talking about your progress in game. very nice.

    Poor:
    Controlling. You can see that it is controler coded and ported for Keyboard and mouse. Sometimes hard to select options with the mouse. So i cant give 10/10. ;-)

    Overall it is one of my best RPG i have ever played.
    Expand
  2. Nov 30, 2011
    9
    Without comparing this game to any other game - it's great! It is an amazing achievement to make a game that is this open-ended, and yet each quest seems original. Many games promise a varied approach - Skyrim actually delivers. Aside from minor glitches, this game delivers on core game play and deapth. As usual, I'm a little confused by folks that have given the game a below averageWithout comparing this game to any other game - it's great! It is an amazing achievement to make a game that is this open-ended, and yet each quest seems original. Many games promise a varied approach - Skyrim actually delivers. Aside from minor glitches, this game delivers on core game play and deapth. As usual, I'm a little confused by folks that have given the game a below average score. I've played some HORRIBLE games in my time, and Skyim is NOT one of them. Expand
  3. Nov 30, 2011
    9
    I found this game thoroughly enjoyable even though it was an obvious console port and streamlined to hell. I thought game could have gone over and had more features added or redone. It just feels like it is missing so many things, and things taken out that should have stayed. I came from Morrorwind and Oblivion, and those two honestly had more content, even so, I enjoyed this game and whatI found this game thoroughly enjoyable even though it was an obvious console port and streamlined to hell. I thought game could have gone over and had more features added or redone. It just feels like it is missing so many things, and things taken out that should have stayed. I came from Morrorwind and Oblivion, and those two honestly had more content, even so, I enjoyed this game and what it offered. Being able to jump into the Elder Scrolls world was nice and I did notice the game running alot better than Bethesda's recent games.

    I'm playing it on the PC, and so far hadn't had any problems with crashes, only when I'm alt+tabbing constantly. For those of you that do play on the PC and didn't notice, you can add hotkeys to your equipment from the favorites menu.

    I've tried this game on the console as well and I have to say, I'm glad I'm a PC gamer. The console version of this is too jittery and buggy. Still I wish the devs would think more about the PC community, and stop streamlining everything. I miss the complexity of a game and now everything is made for the convenience for kids and people who are too lazy to get into the learning curve

    All in all, the game is fun and anticipating the upcoming DLCs and mods.
    Expand
  4. Dec 4, 2011
    8
    While there are certainly RPG elements, I would hesitate to call this a true RPG. Not that it is a bad game by any means, but fans of Fallout 3, New Vegas, Oblivion, or Morrowind may feel they are missing depth. The quests are fun, and the combat is intuitive. Magic scales poorly, however. Overall, a very fun game, but almost brainless compared to more full bodied RPG's.
  5. Dec 8, 2011
    9
    I give this game a 9 because this is a great game. Not the best. But not the worst. It has some bad things like the UI but the overall feeling was fantastic. And it was certainly nice to get a good RPG after the mess that Dragon Age 2 was.
  6. Dec 16, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is the best Elder Scrolls game by far. Before this game I never payed attention to the series, and then when I played the game I just loved it. The world is massive, full of cities, villages and other things. The graphics are simply amazing. And all the moves you can learn is also great. But the thing I love most about this game is the ability to turn into a werewolf. Really great work. Bethesda has done it again! Expand
  7. Dec 17, 2011
    10
    I've been playing the game since it came out and so far have put in over 80hrs and I've still got a lot more quests to do! The game has its faults, the odd AI/graphical glitch and it occasionally crashes to the desktop, but these can be easily overlooked because its such an amazing game, the world, quests, graphics etc are very well done. If you don't have this game and like RPGs then goI've been playing the game since it came out and so far have put in over 80hrs and I've still got a lot more quests to do! The game has its faults, the odd AI/graphical glitch and it occasionally crashes to the desktop, but these can be easily overlooked because its such an amazing game, the world, quests, graphics etc are very well done. If you don't have this game and like RPGs then go out and buy it!! Expand
  8. Dec 20, 2011
    10
    I started out playing this game with low expectations and was pleasantly surprised. However, as I kept playing I started to notice that it was becoming increasingly harder to come back to the game, especially after I had beaten the main questline. The RPG elements are oversimplified, crafting is easy when you can buy most of your supplies at the vendors. Its a good game, while you canI started out playing this game with low expectations and was pleasantly surprised. However, as I kept playing I started to notice that it was becoming increasingly harder to come back to the game, especially after I had beaten the main questline. The RPG elements are oversimplified, crafting is easy when you can buy most of your supplies at the vendors. Its a good game, while you can enjoy it. It does however get very repetitive and boring super quickly though. It does take a long time to notice the little things that make you get bored but I think that's a point for the developers on that subject. Expand
  9. Jan 9, 2012
    9
    Skyrim is an excellent way to pass time, slay dragons and get your butt firmly kicked by a frost troll in the first hour of gameplay. The game offers (as i read somewhere else) a veritable "country-in-a-box". a Beautiful one at that too. Combat is much better than Morrowind and about the same level as Oblivion, stealth is reasonably unchanged as well. Im thinking the magic system is anSkyrim is an excellent way to pass time, slay dragons and get your butt firmly kicked by a frost troll in the first hour of gameplay. The game offers (as i read somewhere else) a veritable "country-in-a-box". a Beautiful one at that too. Combat is much better than Morrowind and about the same level as Oblivion, stealth is reasonably unchanged as well. Im thinking the magic system is an interesting way of going about it, instead of making a new spell that does only so much fire damage and ice damage, you just put fire on the left, ice on the right, and go to town. Now, i don't know how many of my fellow reviewers have tried to make a fantastic storyline with no issues and gripping gameplay through and through (*In a sandbox world*) but for what it is (certain storylines do fall flat oddly), its pretty awesome. While you still feel the fact that your a player in a world full of npc's, just looking at how much they have improved since oblivion is great. No doubt, might i add, once you done with what the devs have created, it can grow exponentially from there with the modding community that has already polished the graphics and will within a reasonable amount of time start unleashing their own mini-countries onto the interwebs.

    Tl,Dr; Devs made a wonderful sandbox game. Storys fall flat rarely (but disappointingly). Great if you enjoy stalking your prey.
    Expand
  10. Jan 11, 2012
    9
    Fairly the best game of the Eldar Scrolls line. They improved like every part of the last games and implemented some new stuff. .For those who where already used to the Eldar Scrolls game style its a must have, for all the others its the very best beginning to this game row.
  11. Jan 11, 2012
    10
    Excellent game, many thanks to developers! The beautiful drawing, the huge world, interesting quests. The thought over balance. There are insignificant defects which can be corrected patches. I play almost every day till some hours. I recommend game to fans of this genre. Thanks.
  12. Jan 13, 2012
    10
    Game of the year 2011! Maybe also the best RPG ever. Story, gameplay, characters, voice acting, everything is perfect. All the flaws from the past elder scrolls games are gone. Almost no bugs, missing textures or broken mechanics. Only a big open world with lots of good quests, monsters and items. Highly recommended!
  13. Jan 14, 2012
    9
    Amazingly huge game that, when compared to all other games out to date, deserves much better than many people are giving it the credit for. I mean, COME ON people, you whine and complain about how it's not perfect...well, has there EVER EVER been a game that was perfect? Absolutely not. Many negative reviews are from people who want something more, but they fail to realize this is aAmazingly huge game that, when compared to all other games out to date, deserves much better than many people are giving it the credit for. I mean, COME ON people, you whine and complain about how it's not perfect...well, has there EVER EVER been a game that was perfect? Absolutely not. Many negative reviews are from people who want something more, but they fail to realize this is a project that is way more than any other game out there. Yes, there are flaws, but they pale in comparison to its virtues. Pros: Amazing world, ALL dungeons are different, I'm not getting bored exploring them like in oblivion. Graphics are pretty good, although we still have people whining about that...it's Bethesda for gods sake! And overall hours and hours of possible gameplay. Quests are relatively interesting, with a good variety as far as i'm concerned. Overall, loving it.

    Cons: Menu system does suck, but mods are out (and coming out) already to improve it. Have gotten one crash...but compared to oblivion this is Mac versus Windows...
    Expand
  14. Jan 18, 2012
    9
    Wow. I don't even know where to start with this game. it has so much going for it. first of all, the game looks beautiful. the new engine does wonders for the game this this time. characters look fantastic compared to the last installment. then theres the world. the world is massive. and you can go anywhere you want straight out of the gate. i have over 60 hours in the game so far, and iWow. I don't even know where to start with this game. it has so much going for it. first of all, the game looks beautiful. the new engine does wonders for the game this this time. characters look fantastic compared to the last installment. then theres the world. the world is massive. and you can go anywhere you want straight out of the gate. i have over 60 hours in the game so far, and i havent even been to all the main areas. nevermind the tons of small settlements and dungeons that are literally everywhere. the world is massive and beautiful. and every character has there own personality. there own story. they may not be interesting, but there all there. that brings me to my first problem. even thought a great amount of detail has gone into these characters, they dont feel life like. they dont seem to be remotely interested in what there saying to you. and thats a shame. but its a hard thing to do. and even though its not done the best, its still miles above the competition. moving onto the gameplay, skyrim has kept its combat pretty much the same as oblivion. because it works. very well. its really my favorite part of the game. everything is smooth and fluent. then theres the story. there is so much story in this game, that i cant begin to talk about it without taking up the rest of the review. so its good. very good. theres over 100 hours of it. with every good thing that game brings out, there seems to be a lot of not so good things to go with them. i bought the game for PC. and its very buggy. there is so many bugs, its become a sport with me and my friends to find the most hilarious one. floating people, killer props, and liquid ground are all present here. i guess what im saying is that the game is great, but with many problems. i still recomend picking it up. Expand
  15. Mar 6, 2012
    8
    TESV: Skyrim, at launch was a pretty shaky game with Bethesda bugs some players were unable to play the game for some part, however with the constant patching since then the game has stabilized and has become an actual enjoyable game. and with the release of the creation kit last month the PC has set its master race position in stone, by adding longevity to an already long game making it aTESV: Skyrim, at launch was a pretty shaky game with Bethesda bugs some players were unable to play the game for some part, however with the constant patching since then the game has stabilized and has become an actual enjoyable game. and with the release of the creation kit last month the PC has set its master race position in stone, by adding longevity to an already long game making it a must have if not for the vanilla game but for the modded game itself Expand
  16. Mar 11, 2012
    8
    Skyrim is a great game, one of the best RPG games out there. Unfortunately it obviously has it flaws. If I wrote this review before 'finishing' (maybe ~50 hours in) I would have given it a 9 or a 10. But so many flaws come into mind. Many quests are bugged. You have to google the issue and find out something is bugged and correct it manually with console commands (if possible). Just one ofSkyrim is a great game, one of the best RPG games out there. Unfortunately it obviously has it flaws. If I wrote this review before 'finishing' (maybe ~50 hours in) I would have given it a 9 or a 10. But so many flaws come into mind. Many quests are bugged. You have to google the issue and find out something is bugged and correct it manually with console commands (if possible). Just one of dozens of examples is when the quest contains reading a certain journal/book but you found it much earlier it will bug out and make you unable to ever finish the questline unless you do your own research and try to manually fix it with console commands. This has happened WAY TOO OFTEN. The other MAJOR flaw are the boring quests. There are some really nice and interesting quests out there who tell a beatuiful story and it is really fun doing the quests, but far too many quests are simply like this: 'I lost my sword/flute/whatever, go to the dungeon, kill all enemies, at the end there is a chest with my lost item in it, return it to me'. Far too many of those. No story, nothing. Uber boring and so many of these quests. At the end of the game around level 50 I just quit because 99% of the quests seem to be these boring catch quests without story. Overall still a good game with awesome graphics, some great stories. The mainquest is a huge letdown also. The endboss is too easy and the "mainstory" ends abrupt with no rewards. I finished ~110 hours in. The first 50-80 hours were awesome. Then was the time when only boring quests were left. Still recommend buying, but don't expect a flawless game as it is certainly not. Also some other major bugs with followers and equipments or leveling ruined a lot for me if it wasn't for manually googling fixes and console commands. 8/10 Expand
  17. Mar 29, 2012
    8
    I have never played an RPG before this game. The concept put me off. However, this game has provided me with an immersive world that is beautifully created. The quests are diverse and fun at the same time, and the mods available on the Steam workshop create a fully customisable game that I have taken full advantage of. The only downside is sometimes I may get a little bored and frustratedI have never played an RPG before this game. The concept put me off. However, this game has provided me with an immersive world that is beautifully created. The quests are diverse and fun at the same time, and the mods available on the Steam workshop create a fully customisable game that I have taken full advantage of. The only downside is sometimes I may get a little bored and frustrated with some of the NPC's predictable quests, and there are a lot of bugs (although that's to be expected for such a huge world.) I'm giving this an eight because it is not the perfect game, but it is a well deserved eight at that. Expand
  18. May 14, 2012
    10
    if you buy one game this year make it skyrim the amount of content is worth the price. unlike most games nowadays .ive spent hours in this game already and ive barely touched the main story the side quests and random things you fine are so good you have gamer ADD on what to do next its awesome.
  19. Sep 3, 2012
    10
    On the right PC there is NO denying this game looks graphically delicious. Definitely much better than the previous Elder Scrolls in almost every way, Skyrim is a huge game with loads of content and locations. It is truly fun to level up your character and progress across the map, the game makes you feel immersed in this snowy, yet stunning landscape. I really enjoy how you can make aOn the right PC there is NO denying this game looks graphically delicious. Definitely much better than the previous Elder Scrolls in almost every way, Skyrim is a huge game with loads of content and locations. It is truly fun to level up your character and progress across the map, the game makes you feel immersed in this snowy, yet stunning landscape. I really enjoy how you can make a single character be pretty much everything, from a sword and shield wielding knight to a Mage with a staff, or whip out dual-wielding axes. I have to say that Skyrim has some of the best music/soundtrack of any game, and it mixes SO WELL with this world. You feel so free when you play this game, in a good and fluent way. It is easy to determine what you can and can't handle and you would think traveling is a chore, but its just too fun. A few things I would like to see changed for their MMO though would have to be a more diverse SET of voice acting for NPCs so its not so repetitive, and also the combat. Although I think the combat is ok, it certainly isn't the best. At times it is downright annoying especially in smaller spaces. There is the occasional repetition with dungeons as well, but they still feel pretty unique and treasure hunting is always a blast. Expand
  20. Nov 15, 2012
    8
    I feel split in two over Skyrim. On one hand, its a beautifully crafted game, with hours of content that dwarf even what was on the earlier Elder Scrolls games. Combat feels smooth, the graphics are top of the line. Out with the glitches and clunky character models that were Bethesda's unofficial trademarks. And honestly, no company makes open world RPG fantasy games like Bethesda. Fans ofI feel split in two over Skyrim. On one hand, its a beautifully crafted game, with hours of content that dwarf even what was on the earlier Elder Scrolls games. Combat feels smooth, the graphics are top of the line. Out with the glitches and clunky character models that were Bethesda's unofficial trademarks. And honestly, no company makes open world RPG fantasy games like Bethesda. Fans of the earlier games don't need convincing, the games are huge time sinks. But on the other hand...

    Its almost a disservice to call the game streamlined, but just almost. First leveling. The leveling system from Oblivion has been cut in half; no more Strength, Endurance, Agility, and Willpower character stats. Only skills stats like Blocking, Destruction, and Sneak got to stay in. This has its plus and minuses. On the up side leveling is less of a hassle of trying to increase minor skills to up stats and all that hooplah. On the negative side, it strips away a huge part of character diversity, especially during early/mid game. To me the bigger offense is that all the races have essentially the same skills. No more jack of all trades Dark Elf, spell casting Breton, and warrior Orc. Of course, any race could be built anyway you wanted, but now race has been boiled down to an aesthetics choice. To gamers new to the series this is fine. To an Elder Scrolls veteran it means that this + no more stats simplifies the leveling system. Big time.

    Of course simplified doesn't mean simple. The game is complex enough to entertain me and mods alleviate most of the problems. Mods also solve my biggest irk, which is how ridiculously easy the game is (even the hyped up dragons), but I shouldn't have had to use a mod. Well, this comment makes the game seem like a let down but its not. I'm giving it an 8 because it has highlights that overshadow its negatives. And honestly, I feel like a new gamers coming in to the series would see most of these negatives as a relief from how inaccessible previous titles were.
    Expand
  21. Dec 19, 2012
    10
    I've always liked the Elderscrolls series and Skyrim was a fun and enjoyable game to play. I also have a love for modding video games so the Creation Kit adds an extra joy to the game by allowing me to create new content and customize the game to suit my play style.
  22. Jan 3, 2013
    10
    Even more than a year later I'm still enjoying Skyrim tremendously. However; without the mind blowing mod support, I would have stopped playing a very long time ago.
  23. Apr 26, 2013
    9
    Good game, nice graphics. I like the authentic skill system, is fair.
    The world is amazing to explore, but this game have so much bug.

    I stoped play without finish it, but i belive i will return to play.
  24. May 17, 2013
    9
    This isn't a perfect game lack of memorable characters, lack of really enjoyable missions, the main plot isn't that good. But Skyrim is one of the most beautiful open world RPG out there, just being there and be able to participate in Civil War, build your career in guilds great pleasure!
  25. Jun 6, 2013
    9
    I was sceptical about this game when it was released, I didn’t want to be running around with magic and swords but as a big fan of fallout I needed something to quench the thirst of waiting for fallout 4. So I bought this game and played with an open mind, only to find out it is one of the greatest video games I have ever played. So much to love about this game, so detailed, so beautiful,I was sceptical about this game when it was released, I didn’t want to be running around with magic and swords but as a big fan of fallout I needed something to quench the thirst of waiting for fallout 4. So I bought this game and played with an open mind, only to find out it is one of the greatest video games I have ever played. So much to love about this game, so detailed, so beautiful, so dense with plots and stories of this universe. So open to explore and choose your own journey. So many stories to tell and numerous times I have been overwhelmed at the epicness of what things happened to me. Thank you Bethesda. Expand
  26. Jul 23, 2013
    9
    Perfection of the highest order. I loved TES series before Skyrim and this just culminates everything I love into one game. The story is epic and draws you in. The world is detailed, and the combat is excellent crafted. If you love RPG's or action game, then do not miss this one. No other game has me coming back quite like this one. Everything I turn o the game, even though I've playedPerfection of the highest order. I loved TES series before Skyrim and this just culminates everything I love into one game. The story is epic and draws you in. The world is detailed, and the combat is excellent crafted. If you love RPG's or action game, then do not miss this one. No other game has me coming back quite like this one. Everything I turn o the game, even though I've played ~200ish hours, I always find something new or some new place to explore. Expand
  27. Sep 11, 2013
    10
    A glorious masterpiece of a game, which is literally a country for you to explore and become part of. The graphics are sublime, the endless quests are intriguing, mysterious and compelling, the customisation of your character and what he/she chooses to do is liberating and a stroke of genius.
    The added DLC is also all worth getting and worth the money, something which I VERY rarely say
    A glorious masterpiece of a game, which is literally a country for you to explore and become part of. The graphics are sublime, the endless quests are intriguing, mysterious and compelling, the customisation of your character and what he/she chooses to do is liberating and a stroke of genius.
    The added DLC is also all worth getting and worth the money, something which I VERY rarely say these days.

    Honestly, in my humble opinion, arguably the greatest achievement so far in the realm of video games.
    Expand
  28. Oct 26, 2014
    10
    1.You must mod it. (especially graphics)
    2.You must buy all DLCs.
    With that Skyrim is perfect. I recently bought all DLCs, I modded that game and I played 20 hours in one week without even noticing it. If you don't have it, buy it right now! Seriously you should enjoy it!
  29. Nov 20, 2014
    10
    Quite possibly the greatest game of all time. Well, it's definitely up there for me. Every single thing about this game is outstanding, and continues to grow via PC still to this day with more mods then sense. Buggy, yes. A true Bethesda quality when it comes to ES games. One flaw aside, I cannot fathom how much time I put into this game and still do. 3 years on and still discoveringQuite possibly the greatest game of all time. Well, it's definitely up there for me. Every single thing about this game is outstanding, and continues to grow via PC still to this day with more mods then sense. Buggy, yes. A true Bethesda quality when it comes to ES games. One flaw aside, I cannot fathom how much time I put into this game and still do. 3 years on and still discovering quests. When you get a perfect round the board score like this in every category, it's difficult to critique. 10/10
    I've never been more involved and immersed in a such a top quality masterpiece.
    Expand
  30. Dec 5, 2014
    9
    Really good game, there is a hundreds things to do and hundreds things to explore. It might get little bit repetitive at the end but anyway stil AAA RPG game.
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 32
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 32
  3. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. Feb 29, 2012
    90
    Unfortunately, Skyrim trips and falls on its own (most probably, to make the cool-sounding deadline of 11-11-11) and just before it reaches perfection as the ultimate specimen of its genre, it self-destructs in a crucial aspect of game design: the interface and the peripheral components (inventory, journal, map, etc)... but that is not to say that Skyrim is anything but a truly majestic, epic RPG that will suck you right in its cosmos.
  2. Feb 14, 2012
    100
    Skyrim is definitely one of the best games of 2011, but if the DLC holds out, it might just be one of the best games of 2012 as well.
  3. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Jan 19, 2012
    90
    Skyrim is the best open world RPG you can get. A true evolution of genre is not flawless but still it is the game you love to live in. [Christmas 2011]