Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 32 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 6386 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The next chapter in the Elder Scrolls saga arrives from the Bethesda Game Studios. Skyrim reimagines the open-world fantasy epic, bringing to life a complete virtual world open for you to explore any way you choose. Play any type of character you can imagine, and do whatever you want; the legendary freedom of choice, storytelling, and adventure of The Elder Scrolls is realized like never before. Skyrim's new game engine brings to life a complete virtual world with rolling clouds, rugged mountains, bustling cities, lush fields, and ancient dungeons. Choose from hundreds of weapons, spells, and abilities. The new character system allows you to play any way you want and define yourself through your actions. Battle ancient dragons like you've never seen. As Dragonborn, learn their secrets and harness their power for yourself. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 32
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 32
  3. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. Feb 14, 2012
    100
    Skyrim is definitely one of the best games of 2011, but if the DLC holds out, it might just be one of the best games of 2012 as well.
  2. Nov 17, 2011
    100
    In its worst moments Skyrim stumbles over its confused artificial intelligence, shutting itself down and its half-done inventory system. In its best ones Skyrim is the king of the new age of the genre.
  3. Nov 26, 2011
    97
    Let me clear things up by assuring you that none of the quest bugs, graphical issues, gameplay glitches, or unexplained crashes I've encountered can change the fact that I played this amazing RPG for well over 100 hours in the past couple weeks and absolutely loved it.
  4. Nov 17, 2011
    95
    Skyrim is like a music album that has a few tracks that you aren't particularly fond of, but rest of the music is pure aural blliss that you can't help but think of the album as close to perfection as possible.
  5. 90
    Skyrim is the best open world RPG you can get. A true evolution of genre is not flawless but still it is the game you love to live in. [Christmas 2011]
  6. Nov 23, 2011
    78
    You will have to spend dozens of hours to fully explore Skyrim. Like any other Bethesda game, it has its share of imperfections and broken promises, but it's exciting and fascinating nevertheless. Wait for a couple of patches to come out, download the best mods, tighten the screws in the SkyrimPrefs.ini file, and you're good to go for a virtual Christmas vacation.

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Nov 28, 2011
    10
    Subtract everything you hate about past elder scrolls games, add everything you love, add a better engine that does not crash on you every 10 minutes and is not a steaming pile of bugs, pretty up everything, make the faces cooler and make just about everything better and you have skyrim. This game is a masterpiece, its the game that we have been waiting for in 2011, (Most titles this year have been bad to say the least) This game would deserve a perfect 10 if not for the super lame secondary main quest which is the civil war, you can kill the final boss in one hit, I understand that level scaling is bad in most cases, but in some cases things have to be level scaled. The annoying part is, the civil war is about the length of the dragon questline! this game would get a 9.7 in my book now, thanks to that one little detail, but since metacritic forces me to round up my score, 10 it is!
    Also, if you really want to complain about the crappy interface of how you painfully select everything and how its built for a controller, do one of the two following things : get a mod, or use a controller, we all have USB ports!
    Expand
  2. Dec 5, 2011
    10
    If I hard to summarize my experience in Skyrim with one word, I wouldn't be able to because I'm still agape and drooling over just the sheer beauty and excellence of the game to the point where I'm foaming at the mouth. While that description is superfluous it's not too far from the truth, I sincerely believe this game is game of the year material, and deserves every positive review on this aggregate website. However it's very depressing to see the score suffer from irrelevant and irresponsible 0's granted because people killed chickens and never returned, or they hate how the hair looks hairsprayed to them. But at the end of the day, I'm very pleased that this game got to where it is today, because to me it's not just another game, it's a second world. The character AI is surprisingly solid, a huge leap from the cardboard box of Oblivion, aside from the common person walking up to you mid-conversation, yelling about their knee. The combat lacks at times, but the finishing moves, the dual casting, and dual wielding add a splendid flourish that still keeps the game otherwise fresh. The content is so grand and generous that after a few hours of playing I felt myself sitting on a mountain of goodies and treasures that would make a rich man feel full. However I could still see on the proverbial horizon a plethora of content still to be explored and gathered. Grapically, this goes without saying, is absolutely superb. I stared at a running stream for 10 minutes in awe, before turning around and losing my mind over a mountain side. The game is worthy of every solid review and award it receives. What it doesn't deserve is the army of irresponsible nay-sayers who built it up so high that it could never live up to their expectations, and ultimately didn't. Expand
  3. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    Game is amazing, nothing more to say. Immersion factor 10. I am trying to avoid the game at this point because I wont do anything else. A few ruff edges here and there, but be prepared to not have a girlfriend, sign some divorce papers, lose your job, or any other negative thing that comes with being lost in a game. Expand
  4. Feb 3, 2013
    9
    The good. Simply the best open world experience ever. Amazing atmosphere. Brilliant emergent game play. Moddable to the enth degree. 300+hours and counting The bad? absolutely the worst console port interface in history. Stupid management getting in the face of the creatives should have been fixed years ago.Someone needs sacking. What a shame. Giving it a 9 becasue of the lousy lazy PC interface.

    Best game ever
    Expand
  5. Nov 13, 2011
    9
    Let me begin by saying that I love open-world games. I wasn't a huge fan of Oblivion though, I much prefer Gothic 2 and 3 and Risen. This is my first review, and I feel compelled to write it because in the span of two or three hours I became hooked by Skyrim. The experience began very weak in my opinion, partially because of the way it was delivered and partially because my NVidia drivers weren't up to date so I was getting a strobe effect with sky shadows. Having resolved the graphics issue with the latest drivers and turning down my monitor contrast, I found a beautifully rendered world with many immersive atmospheric touches. I restarted the game from the beginning and chose this time to follow the convict/rebel out of the burning settlement... much more interesting path. Many WOW moments since then, largely to do with the world itself.

    Skyrim receives a 9 from me because the UI did take some time to get used to... since I'm left-handed, I remapped some keys and got stuck over-encumbered and unable to drop anything. That took a while to figure out... and just getting out of books and maps etc. seems counter-intuitive and I still occasionally get stumped. Graphically there are some ugly textures as many have mentioned but the overall effect is quite nice, particularly the water rendering. I have had no crashes in my eight hours of play. I'm only at level 4 (I like to take my time) so time will tell but I'm anything but bored at the moment. On the one hand I can't seem to get enough, yet part of me worries that this will eat into my real life. That fact alone tells me that this is a powerful game.
    Expand
  6. Mar 6, 2012
    7
    Not as good as Oblivion or Morrowind, everything has been simplified, the game is too easy, there isn't as much content and movement is restricted by mountains and invisible walls. However Skyrim is much easier to get into than these two games and this must also be the reason for all there positive reviews. Expand
  7. Jul 17, 2014
    0
    no shrek. not good dont buy this game ever silly devs dont put shrek our lord and sAVIOUR in this game. pls make sequeal with our ogre lord we all love him more sale if u put shrek in it. Expand

See all 1826 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Fall 2011 Videogame Preview: Key Upcoming Releases

    Fall 2011 Videogame Preview: Key Upcoming Releases Image
    Published: September 13, 2011
    We take a look at the biggest games due out between now and the end of the year, from "Uncharted 3" to "Battlefield 3" to "Modern Warfare 3." It looks like three is indeed the magic number.
  2. The Most Anticipated Games of 2011, Part 1: Multi-Platform Titles

    The Most Anticipated Games of 2011, Part 1: Multi-Platform Titles Image
    Published: January 13, 2011
    Our 2011 videogame preview kicks off with a look at the two dozen most-anticipated titles that will be available for multiple platforms, from Portal 2 to Mass Effect 3.