The First Templar PC

Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 19
  2. Negative: 2 out of 19
Buy On
  1. May 18, 2011
    70
    The First Templar draws you in with delightful visuals and rhythmic combat, but technical foibles can lessen your fun.
  2. May 16, 2011
    50
    If nothing else, The First Templar is an interesting look at what happens when an established developer moves beyond its comfort zone. Unsurprisingly, the results are mixed: a few glimmering moments of innovation diluted by hours of decade-old design.
  3. May 19, 2011
    65
    The First Templar is a decent action adventure game, with a good combat system and a lot of moves and abilities you can unlock. The story is also well told. The problems happen when the game tries to imitate Assassin's Creed, because there's literally an abyss between the two titles in terms of style, graphics and gameplay.
  4. Aug 9, 2011
    55
    This game looks five years older, and is obsolete both technically and gameplay-wise. However, its theme and cooperative modes are enjoyable.
  5. Jun 1, 2011
    64
    The combat is the only real redeeming factor in the game and that's not saying much. The story is forgettable and, more than likely, you'll end up zoning out during the cutscenes, just to get to the next action sequence.
  6. PC Gamer
    Jul 14, 2011
    58
    Fun but forgettable. [Sept 2011, p.68]
  7. CD-Action
    Jul 1, 2011
    65
    It's hard to rate this game as it is very inconsistent. Good impression made by the music score is destroyed by terrible voice acting. Evading traps is fun but a moment later you're forced to use a simplified stealth system to trick dumb enemies. The sceneries can be really charming but the thrill is gone when a lifeless cut-scene kicks in. [June 2011, p.74]
  8. May 17, 2011
    60
    The whole affair just suffers from a lack of polish all round.
  9. Aug 13, 2011
    50
    If Antonio Salieri was the boss of these developers, it would explain a lot of things. The First Templar is a prime example of a mediocre game that won't hurt nor warm your gamer's heart.
  10. May 27, 2011
    61
    Here and there it's possible to see that the developers really tried to deliver a decent game, but for some reason they couldn't. A sword fighting game that doesn't include good fighting animations is just as pointless as a racing game without physics or damage.
  11. PC Gamer UK
    Aug 6, 2011
    63
    Besides unlocking costumes that don't offer stat bonuses, there's almost zero replay value here. [Aug 2011, p.99]
  12. PC PowerPlay
    Jul 10, 2011
    50
    Visually sharp, technically accomplished, but hardly memorable. [Aug 2011, p.75]
  13. May 26, 2011
    60
    The First Templar is uneven, inconsistent in tone and, to be blunt, wonky in execution.
  14. Jun 23, 2011
    70
    It's hard to judge The First Templar by the usual standards, since almost everything here has two sides. Fairly good story, but dated graphics. Interesting combat system – annoying stealth sequences. Big levels – linear corridors. But ultimately, you will be remembering these 10 hours of non-stop swashbuckling with a smile on your face.
  15. May 20, 2011
    65
    Nice crusader-setting and well done main characters but the game doesn't satisfy that much. The animations aren't smooth enough, the combat-system isn't really tactical and the skill-system is useless in most options. The coop-play is disappointing, because the gameplay-experience is just the same as in single-player.
  16. PC Games (Russia)
    Jun 24, 2011
    60
    It's a pity that The First Tempar wasn't released five years ago. But then, it has a working split-screen mode on PC! [July 2011, p.123]
User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 60 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 18
  2. Negative: 5 out of 18
  1. May 18, 2011
    7
    This game might have great first look, but gets a little boring as u keep on playing. The action is good, the combat style is stylish and theThis game might have great first look, but gets a little boring as u keep on playing. The action is good, the combat style is stylish and the story seems interesting. This game also gives a great variety of upgrades which really enhances the gameplay. New swords and outfits really increases the excitement. Although there are some elements which seem dull, for example the running animations which just seems stupid, the character display is uneven, the idea and gameplay seems repetitive. Overall i think this game is satisfactory. Full Review »
  2. Jun 25, 2011
    4
    Hi all!

    About this game, I must say I was very disappointed. When I saw the screenshots and story, I thought it might be interesting, but
    Hi all!

    About this game, I must say I was very disappointed. When I saw the screenshots and story, I thought it might be interesting, but after finishing it in 11 hours I found a pretty bad game. These are basically the ideas that come to my mind after finishing: - It's a completely linear game - There are very few types of enemies - The story is very mediocre and poorly interlaced - The idea of â
    Full Review »
  3. May 10, 2011
    5
    Were this game made 5-10 years ago, it would be awesome. Unfortunately, there are many aspects of the game that look aged and tired. ShallowWere this game made 5-10 years ago, it would be awesome. Unfortunately, there are many aspects of the game that look aged and tired. Shallow voice acting, both regarding content and delivery, kills the idea of voice acting. Running animations that look almost as if they came out of a last-gen console game got me all a titter. Seeing the characters display the same gestures repeatedly during dialogue sequences was actually the last straw for me, causing me to turn the game off. It's not all bad, however. Having a controller hooked up lets you (nigh-instantly) do split-screen co-op, a feature that has long been dead on PC, and one that I miss constantly. The story might be good, if it weren't for the glaring delivery fumbles mentioned earlier. Sadly, the game deprived me of the patience to find out. Full Review »