User Score
5.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 47 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 47
  2. Negative: 14 out of 47

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 18, 2011
    7
    This game might have great first look, but gets a little boring as u keep on playing. The action is good, the combat style is stylish and the story seems interesting. This game also gives a great variety of upgrades which really enhances the gameplay. New swords and outfits really increases the excitement. Although there are some elements which seem dull, for example the running animations which just seems stupid, the character display is uneven, the idea and gameplay seems repetitive. Overall i think this game is satisfactory. Expand
  2. Jun 25, 2011
    4
    Hi all!

    About this game, I must say I was very disappointed. When I saw the screenshots and story, I thought it might be interesting, but after finishing it in 11 hours I found a pretty bad game. These are basically the ideas that come to my mind after finishing: - It's a completely linear game - There are very few types of enemies - The story is very mediocre and poorly interlaced -
    The idea of â Expand
  3. May 10, 2011
    5
    Were this game made 5-10 years ago, it would be awesome. Unfortunately, there are many aspects of the game that look aged and tired. Shallow voice acting, both regarding content and delivery, kills the idea of voice acting. Running animations that look almost as if they came out of a last-gen console game got me all a titter. Seeing the characters display the same gestures repeatedly during dialogue sequences was actually the last straw for me, causing me to turn the game off. It's not all bad, however. Having a controller hooked up lets you (nigh-instantly) do split-screen co-op, a feature that has long been dead on PC, and one that I miss constantly. The story might be good, if it weren't for the glaring delivery fumbles mentioned earlier. Sadly, the game deprived me of the patience to find out. Expand
  4. Aug 14, 2011
    0
    The game is advertised as coop. And it is. If you log into your Steam account, then into your Kalypso account. Then into your online Kalypso login. Then into Facebook to see facebook friends you can game with. Then the coop still does not work most of the time, and when it does, it lags to the point of making the game unplayable. And there is no LAN coop option for speedy coop play. Moreover, guest characters can neither level up nor learn new abilities. You are, essentially, an NPC henchman in your friend's game. Animations are choppy and slow, weapons have no "weight" and the graphics are beyond antiquated - they are horrible. Easily the worst PC game in years, and an utter waste of money. Expand
  5. Feb 23, 2014
    7
    +after you meet marie the game begins to take you in as you get into good looking levels and get new outfits. +story is good and it's the main reason that you will continue further. + levels in which you pass through obstacles and traps solving some puzzles are the best levels. +its Atmosphere is really cool. +these one vs one boss fights were challenging. Bad things: -combat moves are not much,also evey character has almost the same special abilities
    -bad skill system that is almost the same in every character and that made me spend XP randomly.
    -stealth is very easy and not realistic.
    -has about 8 soundtracks and most of them are short.
    -repetitive bonus missions where you get to burn supplies and sh*t.
    -what is challenging of finding collectibles when they are not well hidden??!
    in the end it's a good game that took me exactly 12 hours to complete with all these bonus missions and it's worth playing.
    Expand
  6. Jul 3, 2012
    7
    I really think this game has been unfairly scored by many people. The fact is that at its current price (and you can pick it up for under a fiver in most places now) it represents exceptional value and entertainment. The graphics and animation some people have whined about arent exactly going to win any major awards but niether are they going to make you cringe and complain unless you are one of those people who just HAS to have the prettiest looking games and couldn't care less about gameplay. So lets just move on from that and say that TFT is pure hack 'n' slash clothed in a good story with an extremely high standard of voice acting. It's a shame that it has flaws that stop it being successful as a full-price release -and here they are: Anyone buying this game solely because they want a co-op game forget it; the co-op is just a minor diversion from what is essentially a single player game. The character skill progression system doesnt offer much variety in the way you play the game, most people will just boost health then proceed to mash away at the left mouse buton in most combat situations and its entirely possible to win the game on the normal setting by taking the health upgrades and just clicking away. The game is completely linear but I'm really not a person who cares overmuch for non-linear anyway - I believe you can have just as much fun when you know which direction you are headed as when you are distracted by random choice. There's nothing wrong with the way stealth works in the game other than a major exploit/bug issue in that since the game will always restart you at the nearest "checkpoint" to which you died you can just run right through the biggest stealth level with every npc on the map chasing you and if you dont die till one of the last save points the game will restart you there with full health -oops. SO-O not sounding too good so far? Nope, but the storyline and the voice acting are engaging enough to lift this otherwise mediocre game well out of the mire and into Completing it Several Times and Getting All the Costumes Achievements Etc Status. The samey combat CAN be played about with if you take the time to get to grips with all those new moves you bought from the skill tree but didnt bother to use on your first playthrough because you didnt need to, the stealth section will work well enough if you play it as it's meant to be played, the combat is broken up by fairly simple logic puzzles where you switch between control of two characters, and the Templar's Chronicle that you collect throughout the game is interesting and based on real historical evidence. So for all its flaws I'm giving this a solid seven for the simple fact that I enjoyed it anyway, played it to the end, and will play it to the end again on hard mode. How many games DONT keep you engaged enough that you can say you finished them (and maybe more than once)? I suspect most. Collapse
  7. May 10, 2011
    8
    8 for debut in action/adventure, nice work Haemimont Games. One of the best games in not very popular genre "Slasher" for PC in 2011 year. Gameplay is very similar to another greate slashing game The Lord of the Rings: Ã
  8. Oct 16, 2011
    10
    This is a good cooperative game, with very good gameplay ad my review is for the italian edition from FX Interactive with very very good price: 19,90 Euro.
  9. Jul 6, 2011
    7
    Its quite funny actually. I didn't expect a game like this to really win me over in terms of standards. The First Templar has really aweful voice acting, the lines are cheesy and the story is weak. But the combat is quite not bad. Its not on part with games like the Witcher II but a game made by a small company with low budgets, its really not that awful and its quite enjoyable.
    7/10

    +Simply Enjoyable
    -Everything else pitiful and weak.
    Expand
  10. Jul 12, 2012
    7
    Good game, fighting system is enjoyable, graphic is nice, animations are smooth, i do not spot any serious bug and no crashes. Some complaints goes to bad voice acting and wrong sound positioning (also bad volume), some scenes has wrong camera setting, the same faces, maybe simple storyline, no physics interaction with barrels, woods, and so, but nevertheless, it is good game for 7. It reminds me some of Blade of Darkness, which was slightly better game. Expand
  11. Jul 1, 2011
    7
    ben moi je le trouve simpatique comme jeu.les combats sont simpa.ont visite pas mal d'endroit different.
    apres c'est sur ont peu mieux faire comme jeu mai je pense qu'il mérite un 7/10
  12. Aug 14, 2011
    0
    z0rrer0 - first of all congrats on making it 11 hours in the game. I couldn't even get past 11 minutes. This game is horrid!! After having to log in 4 different times, then finding out that the "facebook link" does not work, I was finally able to get in to a game with my friend. Then I found out that lag was horrible, the host is the only person that could work on character skills and that all I had was a henchman to help play the game with me. Were this 10 years ago, the graphics may have been worth something. However, in today's day and age I fully expect more for the money we pay for these games. Expand
  13. Sep 30, 2011
    3
    This game looked really good in its previews but it is one massive disappointment. It is incredibly outdated for the time it was released and lacks everything but the fact that it is incredibly basic to play. I do not recommend this game to any game user.
  14. Jan 6, 2013
    7
    The First Templar is a fun game and has a dated look to the graphics. But the game play and fighting system kept me interested and the story line was not to bad either. If you looking for all the bells and whistles with graphics this is not a game for you. Except for the fact that this game does not reach today standard graphics I enjoyed it very much. So if you see this game with a good sale price its worth giving it a try. Expand
  15. Jul 3, 2012
    0
    I really think this game has been unfairly scored by many people. The fact is that at its current price (and you can pick it up for under a fiver in most places now) it represents exceptional value and entertainment. The graphics and animation some people have whined about arent exactly going to win any major awards but niether are they going to make you cringe and complain unless you are one of those people who just HAS to have the prettiest looking games and couldn't care less about gameplay. So lets just move on from that and say that TFT is pure hack 'n' slash clothed in a good story with an extremely high standard of voice acting. It's a shame that it has flaws that stop it being successful as a full-price release -and here they are: Anyone buying this game solely because they want a co-op game forget it; the co-op is just a minor diversion from what is essentially a single player game. The character skill progression system doesnt offer much variety in the way you play the game, most people will just boost health then proceed to mash away at the left mouse buton in most combat situations and its entirely possible to win the game on the normal setting by taking the health upgrades and just clicking away. The game is completely linear but I'm really not a person who cares overmuch for non-linear anyway - I believe you can have just as much fun when you know which direction you are headed as when you are distracted by random choice. There's nothing wrong with the way stealth works in the game other than a major exploit/bug issue in that since the game will always restart you at the nearest "checkpoint" to which you died you can just run right through the biggest stealth level with every npc on the map chasing you and if you dont die till one of the last save points the game will restart you there with full health -oops. SO-O not sounding too good so far? Nope, but the storyline and the voice acting are engaging enough to lift this otherwise mediocre game well out of the mire and into Completing it Several Times and Getting All the Costumes Achievements Etc Status. The samey combat CAN be played about with if you take the time to get to grips with all those new moves you bought from the skill tree but didnt bother to use on your first playthrough because you didnt need to, the stealth section will work well enough if you play it as it's meant to be played, the combat is broken up by fairly simple logic puzzles where you switch between control of two characters, and the Templar's Chronicle that you collect throughout the game is interesting and based on real historical evidence. So for all its flaws I'm giving this a solid seven for the simple fact that I enjoyed it anyway, played it to the end, and will play it to the end again on hard mode. How many games DONT keep you engaged enough that you can say you finished them (and maybe more than once)? I suspect most. Collapse
Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 19
  2. Negative: 2 out of 19
  1. Aug 13, 2011
    50
    If Antonio Salieri was the boss of these developers, it would explain a lot of things. The First Templar is a prime example of a mediocre game that won't hurt nor warm your gamer's heart.
  2. Aug 9, 2011
    55
    This game looks five years older, and is obsolete both technically and gameplay-wise. However, its theme and cooperative modes are enjoyable.
  3. Aug 6, 2011
    63
    Besides unlocking costumes that don't offer stat bonuses, there's almost zero replay value here. [Aug 2011, p.99]