The Godfather II PC

User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 56 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 56
  2. Negative: 11 out of 56
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 1, 2011
    8
    I've got to say with all the negative reviews I was wary of trying the game. I've also got to say that I was pleasantly surprised. This is not a perfect game, but it is a very solid one. The Dons view, and the ability to pick and promote members of your family offer a nice, if slight, strategy edge to what is otherwise a slightly above average action game. It's no GTA4 or Mass Effect,I've got to say with all the negative reviews I was wary of trying the game. I've also got to say that I was pleasantly surprised. This is not a perfect game, but it is a very solid one. The Dons view, and the ability to pick and promote members of your family offer a nice, if slight, strategy edge to what is otherwise a slightly above average action game. It's no GTA4 or Mass Effect, but a very fun game nonetheless. If you can pick this up for any system at a bargain bin somewhere I would say it's definitely worth $20 or so. Expand
  2. Dec 18, 2010
    0
    simply unplayable. simply unplayable. simply unplayable. simply unplayable. simply unplayable. simply unplayable. simply unplayable. simply unplayable.
  3. Feb 16, 2012
    5
    I really saw a lot of potential in this game. The first two thirds, certainly, showed great potential, but in the end it just fell flat. I felt for much of the game i was given a tour of this great game world, but not enough freedom to interact with it. It's a fantastic setting, great characters, music, the feel of everything, but it was just lost potential. Too much time being led aroundI really saw a lot of potential in this game. The first two thirds, certainly, showed great potential, but in the end it just fell flat. I felt for much of the game i was given a tour of this great game world, but not enough freedom to interact with it. It's a fantastic setting, great characters, music, the feel of everything, but it was just lost potential. Too much time being led around on scipted sequences, driving from place to place, barely any shops or businesses to interact with, and not enough combat or shooting sequences. I think with this setting, they could have made a game to beat grand theft auto. But instead, it seemed like like a lot of polish but not enough under the hood. Expand
  4. Nov 9, 2012
    4
    I had a alright time with the godfather 2. There is however no denying that the game gets extremely repetitive, that the gameplay is unvaried, that the cars drives like **** that the world is small and shallow, that the narrative is lacking, that the action is unsatisfying, that the graphics feels old and dated, that the mission design is a joke, that the AI is a joke and that the game isI had a alright time with the godfather 2. There is however no denying that the game gets extremely repetitive, that the gameplay is unvaried, that the cars drives like **** that the world is small and shallow, that the narrative is lacking, that the action is unsatisfying, that the graphics feels old and dated, that the mission design is a joke, that the AI is a joke and that the game is short (8 hours long). The game is not beyond saving though and at the very least its playable. I had a alright time with it and if you find the game for a cheap buck and you are a sucker for gangster sandbox games you could do worse. I just feel sad for the people who bought this budget-title for full-price. Expand
  5. DouglasJ
    Apr 9, 2009
    4
    More mediocrity from EA.....need I say more? This company seems incapable of creating solid, compelling, original and most importantly fun video games. Like all the other heartless, thoughtless, talentless and ultimately spineless multinational corporate conglomerates in the world, they've become so big that they can't even seem to get out of their own way let alone allow More mediocrity from EA.....need I say more? This company seems incapable of creating solid, compelling, original and most importantly fun video games. Like all the other heartless, thoughtless, talentless and ultimately spineless multinational corporate conglomerates in the world, they've become so big that they can't even seem to get out of their own way let alone allow creativity to flow from the dozen or so once proud game studios they've swallowed whole. Looking at their once faithful customers as the next criminals just waiting to rip them off just like the RIAAMPAAIFPI line of thinking goes. EA's become to big to serve any purpose in the gaming world. Expand
  6. MarcG
    May 3, 2009
    5
    Not a bad game but the graphics while nice to look at are dated. The play was fun at first suffered the same repetitiveness of GF1. It was way too easy but if youre a fan of the movies then this will be fun to play just based on that. Just dont expect too much from it and you'll be fine.
  7. MacM
    Apr 11, 2009
    2
    Ea games have yet again hit a low mark with this game. Not only are the graphics from at least 2 generations behind current standards (comparable with GTA San Andreas), but the game is also, as is typical of all EA releases these days, completely unstable. I ensured I had the latest drivers from nVidia, and running a Quad core @ 3.0ghz, an 8800gtx and 4gb of RAM (average PC these days) Ea games have yet again hit a low mark with this game. Not only are the graphics from at least 2 generations behind current standards (comparable with GTA San Andreas), but the game is also, as is typical of all EA releases these days, completely unstable. I ensured I had the latest drivers from nVidia, and running a Quad core @ 3.0ghz, an 8800gtx and 4gb of RAM (average PC these days) and the game crashed to desktop after about 15 minutes, with my system reporting it as a driver issue. In the past 3 or 4 months I have purchased numerous games, and out of those, every single EA game has come packaged with issues. It seems EA games have become too big, and are focusing on quantity of release over quality. The other theory would be them focusing on console releases which leave developers with minimal time to attempt to focus on porting. As for the game itself, it is way behind the pack. The Don control was a nice idea, yet badly implemented and was put together in a shabby way. The cars handle very badly, and the AI of your henchmen are a disgrace. The gameplay is extremely repetetive and although enjoyable the first few times you take over a business, it quickly becomes boring. If you are waiting for a game of this style, then I'd wait for Mafia 2 (whenever it is actually released), and in the meantime maybe give even The Wheelman a try. At least that game is optimized for the PC, runs well and is more fun, even if not perfect, it's better than this pile of dog poop. Expand
  8. T.C.
    Apr 9, 2009
    8
    Not the best, but definitely not the worst, The Godfather 2 is an entertaining sandbox game that plays around (but not in) the film of the same name, with the player being able to travel to 1960's New York, Miami and even Cuba. Aside from the standard third-person game play, the game also adds a management system allowing you to constantly overlook your Underground empire no matter Not the best, but definitely not the worst, The Godfather 2 is an entertaining sandbox game that plays around (but not in) the film of the same name, with the player being able to travel to 1960's New York, Miami and even Cuba. Aside from the standard third-person game play, the game also adds a management system allowing you to constantly overlook your Underground empire no matter where you are. If you thought GTA IV was boring, The Godfather 2 will fill that gap. Expand
  9. ThomasP
    Apr 10, 2009
    8
    Notice how Mister Douglas J spent his entire review doing nothing but bashing Electronic Arts and not actually commenting on the game itself. He is an example of the people that are sucking the life and community out of video games by overlooking the point in front of him and bashing something that is irrelevant to the topic of conversation (aka NERD RAGE WAHHH). Anyway, GF2 is an Notice how Mister Douglas J spent his entire review doing nothing but bashing Electronic Arts and not actually commenting on the game itself. He is an example of the people that are sucking the life and community out of video games by overlooking the point in front of him and bashing something that is irrelevant to the topic of conversation (aka NERD RAGE WAHHH). Anyway, GF2 is an enjoyable game. GTA IV is better graphic-wise, but in terms of sheer enjoyability, GF2 is above it. Mobface is back and has been upgraded, but is somewhat sparse when compared to other games with character customization. The added teamwork and business management focuses are a welcome touch as well. The three locales where the user can interact with could be a bit larger, though. All in all, a short game, but an enjoyable one that also has multiplayer features (I have yet to try it, but I hear that it is alright from my friends). Expand
  10. SD
    Aug 31, 2009
    7
    This game is fine if viewed as a respectable third person shooter with a few bells and whistles. The scenario - The GF2 - is essentially a bonus, the plot wafer thin, and variety somewhat lacking. If proper family development, upgrades that really make a difference, and some more serious challenges had been included, it could have been a great game. As it is, what it amounts to is aThis game is fine if viewed as a respectable third person shooter with a few bells and whistles. The scenario - The GF2 - is essentially a bonus, the plot wafer thin, and variety somewhat lacking. If proper family development, upgrades that really make a difference, and some more serious challenges had been included, it could have been a great game. As it is, what it amounts to is a shooter. That said, though, it is competently done, and the combat is fun for short periods at a time, so it's not a disaster by any means. Expand
  11. Jan 21, 2013
    5
    Its pretty much like the previous game, except reskinned to look like the 50's. They should have remade everything from scratch but instead we have the same average looking graphics, repetitive side missions. Decent gameplay, the gunplay is your standard fair but the improvements here is being able to overview the city what stores and businesses can provide something for the family and newIts pretty much like the previous game, except reskinned to look like the 50's. They should have remade everything from scratch but instead we have the same average looking graphics, repetitive side missions. Decent gameplay, the gunplay is your standard fair but the improvements here is being able to overview the city what stores and businesses can provide something for the family and new made men to recruit into the family. The melee combat is a bit better than before which adds a series of combo's. While this sounds good what lets it all down is the game is ridiculously easy. Theres health potions that fall from every enemy you kill and your health regenerates. You can take over the city on your own you don't even need any made men to come with you...
    Multiplayer is terrible. Its wasted potential.
    Expand
  12. Aug 24, 2013
    8
    Interesante juego. No es basado en la película casi, pero es divertido. Tiene unos gráficos sólidos y bien logrados. Logra lo que un juego tiene que hacer: Entretener.
  13. Dec 21, 2014
    6
    The Godfather II The Game is a game based on the movie The Godfather II, developed the EA Redwood Shores and published by Electronic Arts (EA). The game manages to bring some events in the film, but little changed. In my opinion the story is not as well written as the film, and not really attract me somehow. Cities of the game are very small. A city in Godfather 2 is as GTA San AndreasThe Godfather II The Game is a game based on the movie The Godfather II, developed the EA Redwood Shores and published by Electronic Arts (EA). The game manages to bring some events in the film, but little changed. In my opinion the story is not as well written as the film, and not really attract me somehow. Cities of the game are very small. A city in Godfather 2 is as GTA San Andreas Village in. Anyway, the game is not very good. Expand
  14. May 25, 2015
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The game is not as good as gta iv or the godfather 1 but still nice. The story is average, the man you played as in the first game is being shot dead during the cuba revolution. You take the role as Dominic, the man who takes over the family. The graphics is still good if you play it in 1080p or above, the textures are sometimes actually better than games from 2010. But... the game is rather short and the cool feeling from the first game is missing. The atmosphere is nowhere near the first game, it doesn't feel like I'm driving in New York because it's smaller than little italy in the first game. I get no 60's feeling either, it feels like a modern GTA game with old "fake" cars.

    Anyway, I'll give it 10 to raise the metascore a bit.
    Expand
Metascore
63

Mixed or average reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 29
  2. Negative: 5 out of 29
  1. PC Gamer
    79
    The Godfather II doesn't trip over the ambition of its design - it balances the different genre aspects extremely well - but nagging graphics issues weigh it down, causing quest characters and family members to disappear or distort in-game and in cutscenes, sometimes requiring me to load old saved games to progress. [Apr 2009, p.82]
  2. Play (Poland)
    70
    It has its moments - managing the family business and conquering the cities one building after another is compelling, as is the decent crime story told within. But this game looks dated, as if the GTA IV never happened. Roaming the city and the brushoffs with the police feel awkward, like an afterthought. [Mar 2009]
  3. PC Zone UK
    61
    The Godfather II is an improvement over its predecessor, though that's hardly a gratuitous compliment. How about this - The Godfather II is surprisingly not as plain as you might have thought it would be, all things considered. [May 2009, p.70]