• Publisher: THQ
  • Release Date: Oct 25, 2011
Metascore
51

Mixed or average reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 8
  2. Negative: 1 out of 8
  1. Nov 10, 2011
    70
    For a young studio it's definitely hard to compete with AAA titles, especially in November. You need to optimize resources, focusing on concrete ideas, and that's what The Haunted: Hells Reach tries to do. It's not a masterpiece in the third person shooter genre, but if you like co-op modes and have 10 bucks to spend on Steam, give it a try.
  2. Dec 16, 2011
    68
    KTX Software has to draw people's attention to Haunted's original multiplayer modes, otherwise the game's already humble potential will be lost in brainless monster-bashing matches.
  3. Oct 31, 2011
    60
    If you are seeking a new, unique team-based game to play with some friends on Halloween, The Haunted is a worthy choice. Just know that you may not want to play it in November, when you are still facing the same server, waiting, and technical issues that plagued its release.
  4. Oct 27, 2011
    55
    Over-the-top difficulty and some strange design decisions make The Haunted: Hell's Reach extremely frustrating.
  5. 50
    Hordes of dumb, brain-eating zombies couldn't help this promising cooperative shooter to rise above grey averageness. [June 2012]
  6. Nov 14, 2011
    50
    If you have three friends who don't mind rustling through some awkward mechanics and just want to kill massive quantities of demons with no consequences then pick it up. Otherwise, if you're into deeper multiplayer experiences, there are countless other games that will be more suitable to your cravings.
  7. Nov 1, 2011
    50
    If a game's multiplayer mechanics are strong enough to support it, story isn't necessarily a must-have. Here however, awkward mechanics and skewed difficulty ultimately hamstring The Haunted: Hells Reach, and make you wish there was something more to hold it up.
  8. Nov 8, 2011
    30
    Sure, it's a bargain-priced gore fest and I guess that means we're not supposed to expect a lot -- but Hell's Reach will underwhelm even the most jaded gamers. It just isn't very much fun.
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 46 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 25
  2. Negative: 2 out of 25
  1. Oct 27, 2011
    10
    Don't expect a long drawn out story with loads of dialogue and character development. If that's what you want look elsewhere. Do you like aDon't expect a long drawn out story with loads of dialogue and character development. If that's what you want look elsewhere. Do you like a challenging shooter/survival game that has you frantically shooting and dodging demons? This game was created for people like you! Not to mention it's decently priced, and I just haven't gotten sick of decapitating demons after the tens of hours I've spent in the game so far. Some highlights are:

    Visuals are great.
    Levels are very different and fun. Controls are good (love queuing up combos between shooting).
    No story (plus or minus depending on your taste). Free DLC later (yes please). Challenging difficulty (you will have to work up to normal or hard).
    Full Review »
  2. Oct 25, 2011
    9
    The Haunted: Hell's Reach is a terrific third person shooter. Fans of horde survival games similar to Killing Floor will love this game. It'sThe Haunted: Hell's Reach is a terrific third person shooter. Fans of horde survival games similar to Killing Floor will love this game. It's full of fun and interesting enemies that keep you on your toes, and it's not for the weak. This game is very hard and challenging from the moment you spawn, as hordes of enemies charge after you. If you are looking for a co-op horde game, then give this one a try. It's also only $20 :D Full Review »
  3. Oct 27, 2011
    9
    The Haunted: Hell's Reach is an incredibly fun game and I highly recommend it to anyone looking for a deceptively deep, action-packed, co-opThe Haunted: Hell's Reach is an incredibly fun game and I highly recommend it to anyone looking for a deceptively deep, action-packed, co-op multiplayer shooter and brawler. I liken it to SmashTV in Hell for the 21st century. The game offers a lot of value for $20, and represents an incredible effort from a small team of developers who won the 2010 "$1,000,000 Make something unreal contest." Unexpectly, I find my little free time consumed by this title while my recent $60 purchases of Rage, Battlefield 3, and others are quickly gathering dust. Full Review »