Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 52 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 499 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Set in a gothic-noir universe resembling a fantastical 19th century Europe filled with monsters, magic, and weird technology, The Incredible Adventures of Van Helsing will follow the son of the famed hunter, known in-game as Van Helsing, in a tale wrought with wry humor and snappy dialogue. Van Helsing, a larger-than-life hero possessing a dark yet romantic charm, will follow his path to the dismal land of Borgovia where former supernatural foes have enlisted his help to defeat a new scourge terrorizing the ravaged Eastern European city. With an assortment of extraordinary characters, an engrossing storyline, and a beautifully dark and gothic art style, The Incredible Adventures of Van Helsing looks to bring RPG enthusiasts an anachronistic adventure like no other. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 52
  2. Negative: 1 out of 52
  1. Jun 24, 2013
    91
    Neocore Games should be commended for putting out such a high-quality experience where their story is equally outlandish, silly and serious – I’m personally looking forward to the recently announced sequel.
  2. May 28, 2013
    85
    The Incredible Adventures of Van Helsing is a surprisingly enchanting ARPG from an incredibly talented team. Neocore has originally implemented all the core hack 'n' slash mechanics typical of the genre combining quality and quantity, form and substance, single and co-op play, at an incredibly advantageous and affordable price.
  3. Jun 18, 2013
    80
    The Incredible Adventures of Van Helsing was a treat, and hopefully, we’ll be able to have more in the future.
  4. Jun 21, 2013
    75
    The Incredible Adventures of van Helsing is a really nice surprise. The game has a unique gothic atmosphere, a well designed character development system, dynamic combat, storyline with decisions to make and some tower defense elements. Unfortunately there are some errors and issues - a silly economy model and weak epic items, for instance. Still - Van Helsing isn't a game visibly worse, than other hack'n'slashes out there. If you like gothic mixed with strange machines, it's worth checking out.
  5. Jul 2, 2013
    70
    A surprisingly charming way of wasting 15 hours. [CD-Action 08/2013, p.76]
  6. Jun 3, 2013
    70
    You’ll find some great ideas here, and players who prefer Diablo 2 to its sequel will certainly love Helsing’s emphasis on character customization. But the story fails to elevate the familiar action to anything special. Mechanically, this is a great action RPG, but it lacks heart.
  7. May 28, 2013
    40
    Van Helsing starts out slow and takes a while to get not terrible.

See all 52 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 13 out of 126
  1. May 23, 2013
    10
    This game is absolutely golden; despite several poor voice actors (I'm looking at you, Mayor) and awkward typos, the experience is refreshing, unique, and extremely addicting. I've never been more surprised by a game- for $13, I didn't expect an experience rivaling (and surpassing!) top-dollar ARPG's.

    Van Helsing is my new hobby, and fixation- I highly advise letting it become yours.
    Expand
  2. Oct 23, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game is absolutely golden; despite several poor voice actors (I'm looking at you, Mayor) and awkward typos, the experience is refreshing, unique, and extremely addicting. Expand
  3. May 25, 2013
    10
    I was waiting for this game, and it surpassed all my expectations! The music, the atmosphere, the gameplay, the feel of game, it just have all of it.
    Indie developers putting so much effort into their games compared to big companies nowadays, this is why i love indie games and this one is gonna be my personal favourite! 10/10!
    Expand
  4. Jun 2, 2013
    9
    I look sceptically at new entries into this genre, but was rather delighted at how stylish and witty Van Helsing is, with enough of a fresh take on the ARPG to make it well worth the price. I especially enjoy the interaction between your character and his companion, and it's touches like that making this feel like a living world, rather than a long string of monsters to click on. For an ARPG, that makes all the difference. Expand
  5. Jul 24, 2013
    9
    Great hack'n'slash game with nice graphics, and perfect dialogs! The scenario is good as well. I expected something like that from DIablo3, and I hope Neocore will make more DLCs in future. Expand
  6. Dec 30, 2013
    8
    Being an indie game i'm truly impressed with this game. Its cozy, cool and mean at the same time!
    Looking forward to the next 2 parts of the
    game. Fun gameplay, dialogs and quests. Sure its not a game you spend alot of hours with several days in a row but with more content added I can see it happening.
    It needs some upgrades here and there like the multiplayer part and endgame but it's worth every penny spent.
    Expand
  7. Jun 20, 2013
    0
    This game is absolute trash. The single-player aspect was 'ok' at best for all of the two hours it took to finish it. The multi-player aspect... well, there isn't one. The game was marketed to have one, but it was released without one, and still doesn't have one. The game doesn't run through Steam correctly, so any character you use will not work online (assuming it's developed). Expand

See all 126 User Reviews