Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 34 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Journey Down is a classic point 'n click saga with a black African twist, owing much of its character and pattern design to traditional central African arts such as carvings and masks from the Makonde and Chokwe tribes. Mixed with an all original jazzy reggae soundtrack,The Journey Down is a classic point 'n click saga with a black African twist, owing much of its character and pattern design to traditional central African arts such as carvings and masks from the Makonde and Chokwe tribes. Mixed with an all original jazzy reggae soundtrack, feedback-oriented puzzles and tons of hand painted environments, the unique cultural fusion of The Journey Down is bound to draw you in. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. Aug 20, 2014
    87
    This first chapter serves as a truly special start for an episodic adventure game. It has many positive aspects packed together -unique looks, lovable main characters, awesome voice overs, a price that makes it a must buy- and contains a respectful number of puzzles. If some of them were a bit more challenging, its length would easily be extended. In any case, it's an ideal and very promising debut.
  2. Jul 26, 2012
    83
    If you got a weak spot for goofy slapstick comedy, you are in for a treat! A smooth interface complements the old-school approach, although puzzles should have been more of a challenge.
  3. May 22, 2012
    80
    Though only teasing the series' larger story arc for now, The Journey Down's HD remake is a short but vibrant indie adventure that far exceeds the quality of many full-blown retail games.
  4. Aug 9, 2012
    75
    Instilled with an obvious reverence and applied knowledge of the genre, The Journey Down is an adventure game made by people who love adventure games. The ride's a little bumpy at the moment, but it's surely going interesting places.
  5. Jan 18, 2013
    70
    The Journey Down: Chapter One combines an intuitive control scheme, HD graphics, and classic point-and-click adventure gameplay to set up an intriguing story. The first episode lags a bit, and the voice acting doesn't add nearly as much as the improved visuals, but still shows a lot of promise for a potentially great series.
  6. Jun 29, 2012
    70
    A very pleasant adventure with an unique style and plenty of fun moments. If you're looking for a good way to pass an evening you can do a lot worse than spending it with The Journey Down.
  7. Aug 12, 2012
    57
    Struggles for relevance as a commercial game. [Sept 2012, p.109]

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 8
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 8
  3. Negative: 2 out of 8
  1. Aug 21, 2014
    10
    The Journey Down is another adventure game. While there are plenty of these floating around now, and I doubt this one is anywhere close to theThe Journey Down is another adventure game. While there are plenty of these floating around now, and I doubt this one is anywhere close to the top(Deponia probably sits comfortably on that throne), that doesn't mean this one is bad, or not worth playing. I found it to be very amusing, well written, well voiced, and having awkward enough puzzle solutions to be worthy of its genre title. Its only real detriment is itself, and by that I mean it's too short. You won't solve very many puzzles in this game only to be surprised that it's over without much having happened in the plot. This game is only the first in a series of planned episodes, as implied by the title, but I still find myself wishing more happened in this one. I don't know the details behind its development and am not curious enough to dig them out, but I assume the creators did what they could. That said, you should enjoy what you have, support the on going development, and look forward to future episodes.

    I recommend this game, and will be looking forward to the rest of it. The wacky adventures of "Bwana" must go on.
    -Drain (Steam)
    Expand
  2. Nov 30, 2014
    10
    it's a short but great point and click adventure, there is nothing more to say. this game deserved to have more attentionit's a short but great point and click adventure, there is nothing more to say. this game deserved to have more attention . Expand
  3. Jul 23, 2012
    10
    Don't listen to bad critics, the game is simply amazing, great voice acting, great story, great music, the only bad thing of this game is thatDon't listen to bad critics, the game is simply amazing, great voice acting, great story, great music, the only bad thing of this game is that its simply short, probably 2-3 hours of game , but come on, its first chapter, the price is even low for this game, some puzzles are easy and theres is a lot of good humor in the game, i enjoyed too much of this game and i dont really like Point n click, just give it a try, im sure you will find a piece of gold in Journey Down. Collapse
  4. Jul 3, 2012
    8
    Quite good, and even better now with the reduced price. I love the graphics, I love the music, and the gameplay is decent classic adventureQuite good, and even better now with the reduced price. I love the graphics, I love the music, and the gameplay is decent classic adventure fair. And the story is quite good, but really seemed to only give you a hint at what you will discover in episode 2. Expand
  5. Dec 3, 2013
    7
    Pros:
    -Puzzles are logical and solvable
    -Unique characters and setting Cons: -2 hour long game! -The game doesn't have the same type of
    Pros:
    -Puzzles are logical and solvable
    -Unique characters and setting
    Cons:
    -2 hour long game!
    -The game doesn't have the same type of charm of other games of the genre.
    -Possibly too easy

    Conclusion: if the game is on sale on steam for a few bucks I'd recommend picking it up! I am excited for what is to come with the series. I like to think this is just a small glimpse and the puzzles, world, characters, and length of the game will all be expanded upon in chapters to come.
    Expand
  6. Jan 10, 2013
    3
    It seems to me that whoever gave this game more than 30 (3) never played Grim Fandango/Monkey Island/Deponia. All the jokes are overused andIt seems to me that whoever gave this game more than 30 (3) never played Grim Fandango/Monkey Island/Deponia. All the jokes are overused and not one feels original. The main character give us bad dreams, it was a pain to look at him. You guys need to get creative people or name the game : Best of Adventure games.
    To say something positive, some of the backgrounds are really nice.
    Expand
  7. Jan 22, 2013
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Full disclosure: I am not a big fan of puzzle games. The journey down has some slick design elements, good voice acting and seems well made with a lot of attention to detail. However it failed to engage me on any level. The first chapter is short and does not have a decent story arc or characters that rise above one-dimensional. The puzzles are weak and lack any kind of logic. (bread sticks for ladder rungs....really?) There should be some sense to a puzzle or else it is just arbitrary and pointless. The player should be able to figure it out rather that just button-mash within the limited options. (See Machinurium for how to do it right.) The exploration is also lacking. The avatar is slow, there are very few characters to interact with, the connectivity is poor and the areas are small. This game combines the worst of a rail shooter with the worst of a lame puzzler. Too bad because there many good elements as well; nice music good graphics. Nothing here to make me want to buy chapter two...regardless of price. Expand

See all 8 User Reviews