User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 223 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 20 out of 223

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. RushSykes
    Jun 9, 2009
    10
    It was a very good game, although there are little complications and so so storyline and dialouges, well the game play covers that up, what hit me the most was how the music blended in with each scene or map, the music was one of the best in rpg games, most games from square enix have good music though,
  2. RonaldB
    Oct 1, 2009
    10
    This is an outstanding game. Using the best of SAGA character development, an innovative combat engine modeled off of squad tactics, but with each character being individualy accounted for (if they are the one attacked, thier chance to dodge is what matters, but formations and current tactics effect who is at risk) an intruiging and well told plot (note, "side" quest are essential to This is an outstanding game. Using the best of SAGA character development, an innovative combat engine modeled off of squad tactics, but with each character being individualy accounted for (if they are the one attacked, thier chance to dodge is what matters, but formations and current tactics effect who is at risk) an intruiging and well told plot (note, "side" quest are essential to experience the majority of it), outstanding graphics (as played on a PC), and most of all, constantly fun. There is something of a steep curve to get good at combat, and if you do not wrap your mind around it, it may seem random, but it isn't very random at all, and a keen understanding of pre fighting tactical choices (setup) and in combat tactical choices is essential to beat any of the major monsters from about the first 1/5 of the game on. fortunately there are numerious (really iunlimited) fights with lesser monsters, and so equally limited (or not) chances to experament. On that note, while the soundtrack is well done and highly fitting, it could have been longer and more various, to match the hours of gameply. That said, it sells as a 4 cd soundtrack... 6 would have been a better minimum. Worth playing by all rpg fans, this manages to be unique and present some experamental ideas with polish and mechanical balance that makes it seem like a much more mature project. on a side note, many reviewers were turned off by the combat engine. I suspect this came from not indulging enough in the gameplay, it is not a standard console rpg, mechanically, and one should not expect to succeed without some new ways of thinking. That said, it is something that the rpg (jrpg especially) market really needs. LR's combat engine is also important as a story telling device, because it is not the story of a few super heroes, but rather of a world war, and the player controls an army. The combat engine allows the player to quickly, elligantly, with simple menu choices and just a few buttons, control a small army of 36 unit (6-10 squads if mem serves), and fight even larger ones, as well as fascilitates massive bosses attacked by your army. For instance, your army fighting a dragon and its horde of followers, in one large battle. So far, no J-styled rpg has greatly surpased the techniques used in the earliest FF games, a big fight as described above would just be your 1 squad fighting a series of battles without a break, followed finally by the big bad, and *maybe* letting you fight the big bad with more than one squad. Gmaes which have used engines to deliver more, have been too convoluted for simple menu based play. LR manages to be simple to control, fun to think about (as a tactical puzzle, which is the big draw of JRPG combat) and delivers a constantly rewarding and enthralling experience. Because of these concerns, I give it a 10. In spite of a few small flaws, LR remains a well designed and built game, consnstantly fun and hcallenging, and truly innovative and worth the time of any player looking for a brilliant new idea. Expand
  3. Feb 8, 2012
    10
    Brilliant gameplay & story in my view. Only £8 off amazon and was worth every penny.

    The game will seem difficult at times, particularly at the quater/mid points on the game where you have boss fights to deal with. This & the overall style may be off putting for most who havent experienced an RPG before. If you enjoy a great & lengthy RPG with style simular to that off
    Brilliant gameplay & story in my view. Only £8 off amazon and was worth every penny.

    The game will seem difficult at times, particularly at the quater/mid points on the game where you have boss fights to deal with. This & the overall style may be off putting for most who havent experienced an RPG before. If you enjoy a great & lengthy RPG with style simular to that off Final fantasy etc, then you';ll deffinately enjoy this one.
    Many hours of Fun incorporated unlike other RPG games (eg: Fable series) where the game ends after about 20 hours. Clocked over 100 hours on this which is abit insane, but i went through it thoroughly :D.

    Thanks for reading & thankyou square enix ^.^
    Expand
  4. Aug 6, 2013
    10
    This is a unique game for PC players who love J-RPG games. It has strategy aspect, character building aspect, stat grinding and item farming possibilities and most of all a good story. If you like this genre, this is the best (and the only one for PC) game ever published. Don't mind the hate reviews written by FPS players Again, this is a great game if you like turn based J-RPG genre..
  5. IsaacK
    Apr 2, 2009
    8
    Don't let the reviewers get you down on this one. I'm not even a fan of JRPGs(including FF) and this is the first one I've played one in a long time. It's great and the combat is mostly enjoyable except the randomness that sometimes occurs but that's usually part of any rpg(crits), and the main character is pretty damn lame at times. I really don't find many Don't let the reviewers get you down on this one. I'm not even a fan of JRPGs(including FF) and this is the first one I've played one in a long time. It's great and the combat is mostly enjoyable except the randomness that sometimes occurs but that's usually part of any rpg(crits), and the main character is pretty damn lame at times. I really don't find many reviews of this game truly accurate(come on IGN complains about the difficulty) and it deserves an 8 in my book by todays scale. Expand
  6. remnant
    Apr 26, 2009
    8
    This game is enjoyable if you like a solid rpg. The story is a bit flimsy but otherwise good. Combat is a fun experience as well as no two combats seem to play out the same so that does not seem to get dull quickly. It is unique as you can not give direct commands to your party members but rather suggestions to groups of them at a time instead. This game is worth playing do not get put This game is enjoyable if you like a solid rpg. The story is a bit flimsy but otherwise good. Combat is a fun experience as well as no two combats seem to play out the same so that does not seem to get dull quickly. It is unique as you can not give direct commands to your party members but rather suggestions to groups of them at a time instead. This game is worth playing do not get put off but what critics may tell you. I actually played through the game. Expand
  7. YanR
    Apr 3, 2009
    9
    The Last Remnant was the perfect RPG for someone like me, who hasn't found any of the Final Fantasy main characters or plots interesting. The story is fairly interesting to follow, but, and this is important, it avoids cliches well and the dialogue, world itself and characters (even almost all of the random NPCs you run into on the street have a personality and a story to tell, let The Last Remnant was the perfect RPG for someone like me, who hasn't found any of the Final Fantasy main characters or plots interesting. The story is fairly interesting to follow, but, and this is important, it avoids cliches well and the dialogue, world itself and characters (even almost all of the random NPCs you run into on the street have a personality and a story to tell, let alone the side quests) were absolutely enthralling. The voice acting (I felt the English one was superior to the Japanese one and brought out the characters better) is top notch and shines not only in the plot-advancing cutscenes, but also gives a more intimate feel to the battles, with different squads and units shouting "You ok?!" and "They're coming from the side, get ready!" to each other. Which brings me to the next point, the battle system. It's definitely unique, but it has its flaws if you want to take it apart to raw numbers. The more important thing for me, though, was the excellent cinematic feel I mentioned earlier. The larger battles are complex enough to have you thinking about your next move for a while, so they're not just about mashing A(or Enter). On a side note, the music is "ok" in most parts, but there are some truly outstanding tracks, both in the ambient and battle (mainly boss battle tracks) sections. Altogether, all of these mechanics and development choices seem to have split RPG lovers pretty well apart. For me, this was the best JRPG I've ever played, but be sure to check out the excellent demo available on the 'net if you have doubts about the game! Expand
  8. PeterW
    May 10, 2009
    9
    A Final Fantasy Style game from Square-Enix... complicated to understand at the beginning with a deep story (old school RPG) but fascinating till the end of the game.
  9. Brumbek
    May 6, 2009
    10
    First, for those reviewers who gave it super-low scores, I say you don't have a clue what you are talking about. If you don't like RPG's/JRPG's, then don't review the game! To all those out there who actually like RPG's and like Square-Enix games, you should try this game! I find it incredibly addictive and fun. The combat system is unique and very cool. First, for those reviewers who gave it super-low scores, I say you don't have a clue what you are talking about. If you don't like RPG's/JRPG's, then don't review the game! To all those out there who actually like RPG's and like Square-Enix games, you should try this game! I find it incredibly addictive and fun. The combat system is unique and very cool. Anybody who whines about not being able to pick the options you want in battle shows that they don't understand how combat works. I've only had one or two cases where I'd liked to be able to do a certain command but I *understood* why I couldn't. Anyway, the story is engaging and I love the characters. The guild tasks are addictive and the whole game is just fabulous. The graphics are awesome, although you really should tweak your RushEngine.ini. Google "Tips and Tricks Depot Last Remnant." To review, if you like RPG's like Ogre Battle, Dragon Force, Final Fantasy's, ect, then try this game. It's totally awesome and one of the most addictive RPG's I've ever played, and I've played a LOT of RPG's. Expand
  10. ThomasPower
    Dec 18, 2009
    9
    I felt really stupid after buying this game. I wanted to play a 'classic RPG' and dropped 40 on it. Well after messing around on it for a couple days I decided to forget it; the characters seemed too unrelatible to me, and I couldn't get over the cheesy script... but a bit later I jumped back on and decided to give it another go. I decided to just shut up and play, and holy I felt really stupid after buying this game. I wanted to play a 'classic RPG' and dropped 40 on it. Well after messing around on it for a couple days I decided to forget it; the characters seemed too unrelatible to me, and I couldn't get over the cheesy script... but a bit later I jumped back on and decided to give it another go. I decided to just shut up and play, and holy **** I can't stop. I'm at 80+ hours suckaz! Oogles of story characters that you can have in your party, meaningful side quests that actually can alter the story, a decent weapons upgrading system, awesome hit detection in battle, brain melting enemies, what more do you want?? I've gotten my money's worth outta this game and I feel like a child in a candy store with daddy's credit card when I play this. The best part? IF you don't wanna watch a cutscene again after losing somewhere, YOU CAN SKIP IT. THERE IS A BUTTON THAT LETS YOU SKIP IT. OMG WHO KNEWWWW? WHO HERE KNEW THAT YOU COULD SKIP CUTSCENES??? Apparently not one of the reviewers who voted it down, that is all. Expand
  11. Jul 10, 2013
    10
    This game is incredibly good if you can appreciate the complexity of the union dynamic and the way it relates to individual leaders and their classes/unique stats. Most criticisms of the game seem to stem from a lack of patience or understanding which is fine, if you found the game too complicated you have the right not to like it as long as you understand the system and critique itThis game is incredibly good if you can appreciate the complexity of the union dynamic and the way it relates to individual leaders and their classes/unique stats. Most criticisms of the game seem to stem from a lack of patience or understanding which is fine, if you found the game too complicated you have the right not to like it as long as you understand the system and critique it accurately or admit to not understanding. The story is not something I find very interesting, but the world and aesthetic is something pretty exceptional. I'm choosing not to reduce my score based on the story because I simply find it to be not my taste and thus it's not really fair for me to judge it based on that as well as the fact it doesn't hinder my enjoyment of the game.

    How the combat works is: your unions (max of 5 unions, max of 5 units per union up to a total of 18 units) are something like a single character in an of themselves, but a very complex one. A union is a sort of machine that you must tune to be able to function the way you want it to. You don't get to micromanage and select the exact action of each and every unit in the union, but that's part of the fun. To manipulate the variables that ensure the actions you want, you have to focus your units by answering their questions on how to train, and by using the commands you find most appropriately fit your "role". For example, if you wish to be a combat unit you should avoid using mystic commands. These types of systems are made easier by the PC exclusive ability to entirely turn off certain skills for each unit. In addition to that, the way you use a character will determine their class or title, and classes may have unique commands you can give your union such as the ability to launch into a back attack freely. Unions have aggregate HP, reinforcing the idea that they are sort of a single "character", however it's a misconception that individual units won't die without the death of the entire union. If a single unit in a union is focused on or fails a "curse" check, that individual unit will die. Sometimes that unit is the leader of a union, which creates a situation in which you cannot issue commands to the union. The battle system is complex and interesting and I enjoy the time I spend looking at the wiki when I'm not playing assessing unique leader value and imagining how they might fit into my dream team. Take an honest look at the slow death of the stale JRPG series and then take a second to appreciate games like this one that add a fresh spin (okay well this is 4 years after it's release but whatever) on a once beloved genre. It's unfortunate that games like this one don't see the acclaim I feel they deserve. The JRPG genre had a chance to grow and change and evolve into the current age of relevant gaming and we all dropped the ball. This game is fantastic. Check it out.
    Expand
  12. Oct 11, 2011
    9
    This is an excellent and very underrated game. You break your party members into squads and you don't control them directly which is probably turned a lot of reviews off. There is a huge amount of content and it's a lot of fun to upgrade your own and your party members equipment, who will request assistance from you in upgrading their gear. Lots of places to explore, fancy techniques toThis is an excellent and very underrated game. You break your party members into squads and you don't control them directly which is probably turned a lot of reviews off. There is a huge amount of content and it's a lot of fun to upgrade your own and your party members equipment, who will request assistance from you in upgrading their gear. Lots of places to explore, fancy techniques to use, heaps of monsters, excellent graphics and lots of phat loot. Expand
  13. Jul 5, 2011
    9
    Intro ...

    1st off left me say ... this game is not only good, fun, addictive ... its innovative. The style is turn based JRPG but with a twist. You are able to have multiple "squads" of characters. A squad shares a common hit point pool made up of the HP pools of each character in that squad. Each character acts separately and is attacked separately. With the excellent JRPG graphics this
    Intro ...

    1st off left me say ... this game is not only good, fun, addictive ... its innovative. The style is turn based JRPG but with a twist. You are able to have multiple "squads" of characters. A squad shares a common hit point pool made up of the HP pools of each character in that squad. Each character acts separately and is attacked separately. With the excellent JRPG graphics this makes for some very cool to look at combat.

    Some details ...

    Graphics/Spell detail/Animations ... all excellent.
    Story/Characters ... not Mass Effect 2 ... but good.

    Controls ... My XBOX360 wireless didn't work for me but it does for others (not sure why). I ended up using KB/Mouse. I used a G13 with the relevant keys mapped to its keys etc. You can fully customize the keys in the game as well. I wanted to use a controller and was bummed it didn't work (in the demo); however, the game looked pretty cool so I bought it from steam during the summer sale. Once i settled in the KB mouse became very intuitive. Techy stuff, I looked on the internet and found some tweeks to minimize some texture pop in as it was easy to tweek. The game hes yet to crash or show a single bug (other than the 360 thing)

    Value for money ... extreme. On the PC the game is polished, slick, and just plain sweet. I paid $27 for the game during the recent steam summer sale. Sooo much more value than sooo many AAA games coming out lately. I'm so hoping for a sequel.

    Combat mechanics ... as far as JRPG turn based I haven't seen better in any of the FF series. You basically give your squads the basic I idea of what you want them to do and they do it. You can also have them "play it by ear" and they will adjust to battle conditions. The way you set up your squads and what abilities you set up for them effects the choices presented for that squad during combat. The cool thing is that every single character acts independently. They also are attacked independently. To keep things manageable each squad has a common hit point pool, heal/buffs/debufs act on squads. Once you get a cpl squads going battles can look like a MMO raid with characters tanking, healing, buffing and debuffing etc etc. It's really fun to watch. Check out youtube to see some combat on you'll see what I mean ... its beautiful (be sure to watch HD :)).

    Positional concerns are also key ... if a unit gets flanked its moral will decrease and they will be less effective (rear attacks are there as well with greater effects). If you successfully flank etc your teams moral will go up etc. You do have some control of this but its somewhat limited in that the battle field can be dynamic.

    so anyway ... I signed up to meta critic just to post this review. If you like JRPG's get this game! :) T.
    Expand
  14. Aug 9, 2012
    10
    The gameplay in Last Remnant is very unique and seems very much like an experiment, which would help to explain the marmite-ness of the game. Many people detest it, while I absolutely adore it. Other than gameplay, it's a fairly normal JRPG regarding art style and characters - the main character is your standard overexcitable, courageous but a little bit stupid young boy surrounded by aThe gameplay in Last Remnant is very unique and seems very much like an experiment, which would help to explain the marmite-ness of the game. Many people detest it, while I absolutely adore it. Other than gameplay, it's a fairly normal JRPG regarding art style and characters - the main character is your standard overexcitable, courageous but a little bit stupid young boy surrounded by a vibrant and eccentric (and very large) cast of characters. The graphics are INCREDIBLE. The cities are amazingly beautiful, you can see for miles off of cliffs and the graphics stay high standard even in battles. As I said before, gameplay is very unique and may take some time getting used to (or you may just dislike it). You organise your units before the fight starts, putting them into 'unions' of 1-5 people with different setups allowing these unions to have certain strengths depending on how all of the units in it work together. Combat is based a lot on the field and has a certain element of randomness. The commands you can give to your unions are based on things like proximity to enemy, if they're currently in combat as well as depending on the capabilities of the union as well as the special skills the union leader possesses. Several field bonuses are awarded for things like intercepting enemies, attacking in groups or from certain directions which also affects morale. Magic is a bit lacking at the start of the game but at the end you can choose from a large array of interesting healing magic, devastating AoE magic, status-inflicting hexes and magic that can manipulate the field of play and morale. Admittedly, the combat is overall pretty complicated and the game doesn't explain it very well. You have an extremely large cast of characters that you meet throughout the game giving you total customisability of your unions, also all having their own voicing in battle and some many have unique special abilities. There are tonnes of boss-type monsters in the game, some mainstream and some unlockable or side bosses, many incredibly hard to kill. The plot isn't amazing, it feels like the game tries to showcase some amazing storyline while it should have just accepted it's fairly standard, but passable plot. All in all, I enjoyed this game immensely. I really wanted to review it to show my appreciation as I felt bad about the mixed reviews this game constantly gets and I hope that the creators know some people still love this game (literally, my playtime for this game shows 225 hours!). Additionally, in response to some other reviews, you can skip cutscenes easily by pressing Pause/Break on the keyboard and then 'S' I believe. The game should have been clearer about that. I hear the Xbox version sucks eggs. Expand
  15. Jun 21, 2014
    10
    Thank you steam summer sale for putting this game on my radar. I payed $2.50 for this game, and having played it extensively, I would have bought it for full price in a heartbeat.

    The story is genuinely engaging and the visuals hold well even today. The combat is complex, but it's rewarding and, once mastered, is a blast. If you're looking for a JRPG to keep you satisfied for 60+
    Thank you steam summer sale for putting this game on my radar. I payed $2.50 for this game, and having played it extensively, I would have bought it for full price in a heartbeat.

    The story is genuinely engaging and the visuals hold well even today.

    The combat is complex, but it's rewarding and, once mastered, is a blast. If you're looking for a JRPG to keep you satisfied for 60+ hours, look no further.
    Expand
  16. Jun 23, 2013
    9
    Great Game, not sure why critics gave it such a low score.
    It's a real gem!

    aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa
    aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa
    aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa
  17. Sep 16, 2013
    9
    This game is SquareJP's finest work this generation. The story, whilst being somewhat generic is a shining example of how you take a generic concept and make it more than that. In this game, you do not control a few singular characters, instead you have 'unions' which you form with a key character acting as a general so to speak, with bodyguards and special units in the union. You can haveThis game is SquareJP's finest work this generation. The story, whilst being somewhat generic is a shining example of how you take a generic concept and make it more than that. In this game, you do not control a few singular characters, instead you have 'unions' which you form with a key character acting as a general so to speak, with bodyguards and special units in the union. You can have several unions depending on your battle level which allows for some jaw dropping gigantic battles against hostile unions. The traditional Japanese roleplaying elements are heavily modified, with RTS style tactics of engaging and 'deadlocking' enemies in a close combat fight whilst your other unions move around to flank them or intercept enemies who are trying to flank your unions whilst they are in a deadlock. All of this is controlled with a sleek, stylish interface and battle controls identical to a traditional JRPG and is very easy to use whilst having respectable depth. If you think that the game is an actual RTS in the way it handles, and are put off by it, don't be because it isn't. This is a fantastic example of how you can merge two genres together whilst catering to every bodies tastes.

    At £7.99/$9.99, this game is more than worth it, and is a no brainer in a sale. I'm not even a huge JRPG fan at all, and other than Final Fantasy 4, 7, 13 and Lost Odyssey, I have never played any other ones and I have to say this one is easily the best. If like me you were left with a sour taste in your mouth after the latest, awful Final Fantasy games, The Last Remnant is a breath of fresh air, a fantastic new IP and proof that Square have not lost their touch.

    9/10
    Expand
  18. Jan 26, 2013
    9
    The Last Remnant has wonderful graphics and a deep story line. As a completionist I found wonderful challenges throughout the game- even after most side quests had been completed, which is rare for most games of this nature. I am excited to try another playthrough.
  19. Jan 11, 2014
    10
    The last remnant is a game that any grand rpg fan should try. Its battle system at first glaces is a convoluted example of battlefield confusion, however after you get use to it, this game is one of the moat enjoyable gaming experiences ive ever had. After you get use to the battles you uncover a wonderful character development system, crafting system, and an over the top feeling ofThe last remnant is a game that any grand rpg fan should try. Its battle system at first glaces is a convoluted example of battlefield confusion, however after you get use to it, this game is one of the moat enjoyable gaming experiences ive ever had. After you get use to the battles you uncover a wonderful character development system, crafting system, and an over the top feeling of accomplishment when you take on a ron on monster at once and prevail. Highly recommend. Expand
  20. Aug 7, 2014
    8
    Gameplay: Very novel, steep learning curve. Mashing random commands gets you killed in tough boss fights. Overall game is a challenge, a refreshing change to all the "casual", easy games nowadays. You control unions, which are groups of soldiers. You will not find a more thought-out and different battle system anywhere. Even though this game is clearly aimed for more hardcore players, thatGameplay: Very novel, steep learning curve. Mashing random commands gets you killed in tough boss fights. Overall game is a challenge, a refreshing change to all the "casual", easy games nowadays. You control unions, which are groups of soldiers. You will not find a more thought-out and different battle system anywhere. Even though this game is clearly aimed for more hardcore players, that doesn't mean the game needs to leave the player in the dark about most parts of the mechanics. The keys shown ingame are Xbox buttons, not keyboard buttons, which is not good. There are things I learn about the game mechanics and I've finished the game 3 times. It speaks to the depth of the battle mechanics but also just how little the game guides you. Some people accuse the battle-system of being too luck based. This is not true. It only seems luck based because you don't understand the game mechanics enough so you're assuming all the battle commands are random. It's not. And the veterans of the game knows this, so they create ridiculously powerful, low-level run-throughs that can beat DLC bosses. Every single review you see where the player complains that the game is "too hard" or "luck based", you should ignore, because they don't understand the game and how to play it. There are countless weapons you can make and/or customize. With the PC version you can now finally manually equip the members of your union with whatever you want, even units that isn't Rush. (Doable via ini tweak) This opens up the doors for more serious customization of each character.

    Quests - Weak to average. Could use some more drama. Didn't feel too involved. Main quest is better, but story needs some work. The worst are the cutscene animations. But I find that JRPG cutscenes all tend to leave me squirming at the desk. Would have liked all dialogue to be voiced. Mouth animations sometimes don't perfectly match the dialogue spoken. Also, some quests are very easily missable and will be disappear without the player knowing if the player continues to story too far. This can lead to some serious consequences: For example, you must defeat the large-ass bird to later get the chance to defeat the Fallen, so that you can access the DLC dungeon. The player has no way to know this without checking a guide. I also dislike how the final boss's difficult scales based on how many quests you've done. Having a final boss feel easier to beat than the major boss midway in the game is unsettling - it hints that the battles were improperly balanced. But it's not significant enough for me to really feel this way. I still feel the final boss should have been made more difficult. However, the DLC bosses will surely give you a run for your money.

    Character Design - Very good. Monster designs are recycled a bit too much for my tastes.

    Performance - Framerate issues on Xbox is over on the PC. PC version has many updates compared to the Xbox version. The turbo mode is a must-have for seasoned TLR players. Free DLC. New Game+ that is on hard mode. Graphics are so-so but easy to run on a weak machine. Texture pop-in remains a problem but I managed to cut it down to only 2 seconds or less.

    Soundtrack - Kick-ass.

    And holy **** people on the internet are absolute morons. 1/10 rating is what you reserve for a game like Big Rigs: Over the Road Racing, not a game like The Last Remnant. Just hows how immature, impatient, and patently stupid some reviewers are. This game can be bought very cheaply. Because of this, I recommend grabbing it on Steam sale if you can, just know that you won't fully enjoy it unless you really spend time on the game.

    If you're a very story-orientated or graphics-orientated player or one just looking for a casual game to waste some time, you will probably not like this game. Subconsciously subtract 2-3 points from my rating if that's the case. If you're a hardcore JRPG type of person and you take on grinding and foreign mechanics and difficult bosses as "challenge accepted", add 1 point to my score.
    Expand
  21. MarkL
    Aug 15, 2009
    9
    Let me start off by saying this game is not for everyone. If you're not a fan of JRPG's you will not like this game... If you hate any game that smells like a console port you will not like this game... And finally if you only like games you can just pick up and play because everything is self explanatory you will not like this game... Otherwise.... First off the buggy piece of Let me start off by saying this game is not for everyone. If you're not a fan of JRPG's you will not like this game... If you hate any game that smells like a console port you will not like this game... And finally if you only like games you can just pick up and play because everything is self explanatory you will not like this game... Otherwise.... First off the buggy piece of crap that was the XBox 360 version has been completely redone. Once I updated my video card drivers (the game did not like my 2 year old video card drivers) it ran like a champ with only two crashes in 100+ hours of gameplay. As others have said there is a texture pop in entering new areas but this is an engine limitation and can be minimized with a few tweaks (google it). If you are using a KB/M be sure to look at the hotkeys for the important stuff... the game has some weird defaults like actually using the keyboard's 'pause' key for pausing... In all my years I have never used that key until this game... And the game does show it's console roots in a loading screen between areas but it's only a couple of seconds if that. Otherwise the game is beautiful and a real feast for the eyes. But enough with the technical aspects... This is a really incredible RPG... tons of stuff to do, places to explore... and monsters to fight... The story is pretty good imo... it's not the best but it certainly held my interest... One great feature of the game is the ability to use the original Japanese voice acting with subtitles which makes the drama a lot sharper. The US voice acting is superb as well and is more consistent though with none of the low points that are present in the Japanese score. Game play is really fun most of the times but not without its flaws. It takes a long time to get used to despite seeming to be deceptively simple. One key thing to remember is the game does not reward grinding for most things (and if you try and grind too early you can find yourself in an impossible situation) but rather rewards more efficient gameplay... One huge exception though is components... a system which is incredibly and unnecessarily complex... Also the game can be hard... really hard... especially rare monsters and certain boss fights many of which have an element of pure luck to them that drives some people insane... If you can get over that however you can have some truly epic battles... I would suggest checking out the last remnant wikia for help on the more complex stuff. It's well designed and spoiler free for the most part if you avoid the spoiler areas and explains almost all the technical stuff that the game should explain but unfortunately doesn't (like just what Battle Rank is, what it does for you, how it is raised and why it is not like standard leveling system in that higher does not necessarily mean better). The game is not for everyone but it is far better than many of the professional critics make it out to be if you are willing to give it a chance. Expand
  22. danielw
    Nov 6, 2009
    10
    good game but in players managent could be better eg. you can give any player exactly which sword item etc... you what them to have and the way you what them to fucus (mighty/nimble) but apart from that its a very good for steratergy role play game 10/10
  23. Aug 1, 2011
    10
    Very good game. The storyline has many touching moments. The PC version is much better than the Xbox 360. The graphics sometimes have serious errors, but nonetheless the game is very well optimized, landscapes sometimes forced to just stop and enjoy the spectacle. Negative aspects of copulation the lack of precise leveling. I'd love to make it continue playing. SQUARE-ENIX made a greatVery good game. The storyline has many touching moments. The PC version is much better than the Xbox 360. The graphics sometimes have serious errors, but nonetheless the game is very well optimized, landscapes sometimes forced to just stop and enjoy the spectacle. Negative aspects of copulation the lack of precise leveling. I'd love to make it continue playing. SQUARE-ENIX made a great game in the first place for the PC. Expand
  24. Oct 21, 2011
    10
    great games from square enix.i play this game from my laptop one week and its still funny.battles are something new,graphics are good and gameplay is great
  25. AlessandroA
    Jan 15, 2010
    9
    This game is good. Not like the Final Fantasy series but my money was never spend better.
  26. AnonymousMC
    Aug 11, 2009
    9
    Honestly, all you need to look at is the USER SCORE vs the METASCORE. It's even almost obvious that most of these "professional" reviewers either do not like JRPGs in the first place, are too "hardcore" to play a console-style RPG on PC and write it off even before they try it (and yet playing the same game on console would somehow be OK.. why is that when the PC is factually betterHonestly, all you need to look at is the USER SCORE vs the METASCORE. It's even almost obvious that most of these "professional" reviewers either do not like JRPGs in the first place, are too "hardcore" to play a console-style RPG on PC and write it off even before they try it (and yet playing the same game on console would somehow be OK.. why is that when the PC is factually better in every single way?), or just dislike the game because it isn't FF (as proven by one of the reviews).
    Those who complain about controls are idiots, and should get their heads out of their a**es already and realize there are these things called gamepads and controllers which the PC has been using since the dawn of time. I could use a freaking stearing wheel to play the game if I wanted to, that's the kind of flexibility only a PC could give you, and yet they still find it somehow unthinkable to just plug in a gamepad and play if the KB/M isn't comfortable enough to play the game.

    Seriously, if you're looking into this game, ignore the reviews and BUY IT! You will not be disappointed!

    Every single technical problem the game had on 360 is completely gone (there's some slight texture pop-in in scene changes as with all UE3 games, which could be fixed with a simple ini tweak), the game is well optimized, and it shows a lot of effort went into the porting of this game. There are a LOT of settings to play with, everything you'd need with the exception of AA, which is the fault of the engine itself but that can be forced.
    The changes and improvements go past the technical side, just look into the Last Remnant wiki to see how many changes (subtle or otherwise) have been introduced to the game itself.

    The game isn't without its flaws, there are some bad design decisions that were made (the whole BR thing for example), and sometimes things could feel a bit more random than they should be, and it will take you a while to figure things out and understand how the system works since not everything is completely explained in detail both in the manual and in the game. Don't expect to know the innards of the system like you would with a D&D or a TDE game. All that aside, the game is just fantastic.

    Anyway, great game, buy it and support it. I'd very much like to see some more JRPGs make their way to PC, and if you do too, then this is a game you should not miss.
    Expand
  27. ShaunM
    Oct 29, 2009
    9
    This game is one of th best by Square since they changed from soft to enix as we all know they have made some epic failiures especialy to those FF fans but the story, grafics and battle engine are amazing :)
  28. MikeT
    Mar 27, 2009
    10
    Perfect just perfect finally a decent square enix j rpg for pc i feel sorry for xbox 360 users who had to deal with a lousy bug riddled game this version is perfect bug free runs great maxed out on older single core pc's with 8xxx card a great title to tide you over till the next final fantasy.
  29. JayceeWolf
    Mar 28, 2009
    10
    When I first started playing I pretty much dove in and for a bit I thought the controls were awful - since they were supposed to be xbox and I was a bit confused because the demo dives strait in. Then I found with a little looking online that you can change the controller to a keyboard in the settings on the title screen. There are different tabs and all you have to do it change xobox When I first started playing I pretty much dove in and for a bit I thought the controls were awful - since they were supposed to be xbox and I was a bit confused because the demo dives strait in. Then I found with a little looking online that you can change the controller to a keyboard in the settings on the title screen. There are different tabs and all you have to do it change xobox controller to keyboard. The next thing I had issues with was the monsters all ganked me, and I couldn't figure out how to get the upper-hand because I'd seen "pull R2" when talking to the guy in the pub about monsters. Push the spacebar as they get near you and problem solved. After figuring out those two things I love the game. The English dub is great, but you can play it with the original Japanese with subtitles, which is fantastic for those of us who prefer the original. The demo is fantastic and from what I've seen online fixes all the issues people were having with the xbox version (frame rates were bad?) I love it. Expand
  30. MacMacca
    Apr 12, 2009
    8
    The last game in this genre I played was way back in the early Naughties on the Dreamcast console. The title being Grandia 2. Although I enjoyed Grandia 2 back then I had no passion for trying out another turn based JRPG, so I'm not sure what drew me to this game. I purchased this game on both the X360 and on the PC, but I only made the latter purchase after finding that even with The last game in this genre I played was way back in the early Naughties on the Dreamcast console. The title being Grandia 2. Although I enjoyed Grandia 2 back then I had no passion for trying out another turn based JRPG, so I'm not sure what drew me to this game. I purchased this game on both the X360 and on the PC, but I only made the latter purchase after finding that even with the game installed to the 360's HDD, it still crippled the game with vast FPS slow-downs in the battle sequences. So, having a fairly decent gaming PC I then decided to get it for PC - and I'm glad I did. Graphically, TLR looks great on PC, and never suffers from frame rate problems. Sure it has little niggles with some slightly longer than hopred texture loading when shifting from one load to the other, but on the whole it doesn't detract from the immersion. If you are expecting a game to just jump in and play, then you will likely become frustrated quickly as the action is fast, and the rush of stats may leave you thinking you are suffering from some sort of attention defficiency. Reading the manual does give you enough knowledge to make you go "Ah!" on occasions when you start playing, but the majority of how the game works can only really be given justice when you've played it for a few hours. Initially, if you don't "get" what is going on, you can feel left thinking that you need to grind areas repeatedly before you can move on with the quests, but once you figure out good grouping (known as Unions) and how best to emply your attacks, you will begin sailing through the missions. There is a lot of scope for upgrades, and you can upgrade your Union members items by either creating or buying them yourself and then waiting for one of them to ask to "borrow" the item, or you will on occasion be asked to goto certain areas to find components they are looking for. Most of the time, you will find your union members will "ninja" loot from you so they can upgrade themselves, but you can seize it if you need it yourself. Overall, when you first start playing you may think the game has a severe learning curve, but persist with it and you will quickly be rewarded with a game which is a pleasure to play, and provides a huge world to play in. Expand
Metascore
66

Mixed or average reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 23
  2. Negative: 2 out of 23
  1. The promising The Last Remnant gets its best on PC thanks to a technical polish that's far better than the Xbox 360 version. Square Enix achieves an occasional enjoyment in its proposal, with an interesting story and a long term fascinating combat system.
  2. Why does Square Enix port a mediocre game like Last Remnant and not a hit like Final Fantasy?! Why do I need a Gamepad for perfect control?! We recommend Last Remnant only to those select few J-RPG-Fans, who don't own a console… which should probably be about 10 people worldwide.
  3. The PC version of this fun and fascinating role-playing game is far superior to its Xbox 360 counterpart.