The Last Remnant PC

The Last Remnant Image
Metascore
66

Mixed or average reviews - based on 23 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 245 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Long ago, the world was filled with Remnants — mysterious artifacts from an ancient civilization. But as time passed, the powers of the Remnants began to shift the world's balance. As the rift widened between those who ruled and those who were ruled over, a new era dawned: one of countlessLong ago, the world was filled with Remnants — mysterious artifacts from an ancient civilization. But as time passed, the powers of the Remnants began to shift the world's balance. As the rift widened between those who ruled and those who were ruled over, a new era dawned: one of countless frays brought upon the world by those enslaved by their own lust for power. A thousand years later, the journey of one young man begins... Imagine a vast, war-torn battlefield, scarred by years of conflict. Countless enemies surround the player, who is backed up by his own army. Threatened by numerous foes and saved in the nick of time by allies, players feel the true tension of a soldier on the battlefield. In The Last Remnant, as many as seventy units duke it out at once in fierce yet beautiful battles. [Square Enix] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 23
  2. Negative: 2 out of 23
  1. For those PC gamers who are willing to try out a new style of Japanese Role Playing Game this is a great game to play with its strong mechanics and story. But there will be some gamers who will think the game is too simple because it is a port of a console game and not actually sit down and see how deep and complex the game actually is. If you are unsure about the game just download the demo and give it a solid try and for the rest of the PC Role Playing Gamers out there just go out and buy this great title.
  2. 78
    The Last Remnant has inside much more than looks indicate. We have loved its great combat system of this good JRPG. You only need to have a little patience and play some hours for the game to take off.
  3. The Japanese RPG surprises with challenging tactical battles and an almost stereotype-free and thrilling story. The excellent PC conversion offers more than a hundred hours of playing time, several small enhancements compared to the console version and runs fine on mid-range PCs.
  4. The Last Remnant is only recommended if you call JRPGs an addiction, especially if you don’t own a console, as there aren’t a great deal of JRPG titles on the PC digital entertainment market.Everyone else can probably find more coherent and compelling worlds to explore elsewhere.
  5. PC Gamer UK
    69
    It's almost innovative. [July 2009, p.79]
  6. 67
    A good JRPG that tries to do something new with its battle system. It's not altogether successful, but any PC Square fans should at least check it out and experience it for themselves.
  7. Total PC Gaming
    30
    Clearly there's still a market for this stuff - we're guessing in Japan? [Issue#19, p.58]

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 64
  2. Negative: 11 out of 64
  1. JohnS
    Aug 4, 2009
    10
    This game is really great and addictive! Extremely enjoyable, and just basically delivers as much as any of Square's best RPGs! I This game is really great and addictive! Extremely enjoyable, and just basically delivers as much as any of Square's best RPGs! I honestly don't get why everyone is bringing this game down and tearing down on it, but really, ignore the haters and buy the game. YOU OWE IT TO YOURSELF, especially with this being one of the few modern JRPGs on PC. Square Enix has done a great job porting this, all the technical problems found on the X360 are GONE. You have countless system options, and proper keyboard and mouse support (even though you might be more comfortable using a gamepad for this one, and seriously, any PC gamer by now should have at least a gamepad if not other types of controllers as well... REVIEWERS KEEP UP). If you have a decent machine the game will fly, with no slowdowns whatsoever. Seriously, if you want an accurate review, check out the Gamespot review. I almost fully agree with what the reviewer has to say there, but I'll rate the game a 9. I'm giving it a 10 here just to boost the average. Expand
  2. Aug 9, 2012
    10
    The gameplay in Last Remnant is very unique and seems very much like an experiment, which would help to explain the marmite-ness of the game.The gameplay in Last Remnant is very unique and seems very much like an experiment, which would help to explain the marmite-ness of the game. Many people detest it, while I absolutely adore it. Other than gameplay, it's a fairly normal JRPG regarding art style and characters - the main character is your standard overexcitable, courageous but a little bit stupid young boy surrounded by a vibrant and eccentric (and very large) cast of characters. The graphics are INCREDIBLE. The cities are amazingly beautiful, you can see for miles off of cliffs and the graphics stay high standard even in battles. As I said before, gameplay is very unique and may take some time getting used to (or you may just dislike it). You organise your units before the fight starts, putting them into 'unions' of 1-5 people with different setups allowing these unions to have certain strengths depending on how all of the units in it work together. Combat is based a lot on the field and has a certain element of randomness. The commands you can give to your unions are based on things like proximity to enemy, if they're currently in combat as well as depending on the capabilities of the union as well as the special skills the union leader possesses. Several field bonuses are awarded for things like intercepting enemies, attacking in groups or from certain directions which also affects morale. Magic is a bit lacking at the start of the game but at the end you can choose from a large array of interesting healing magic, devastating AoE magic, status-inflicting hexes and magic that can manipulate the field of play and morale. Admittedly, the combat is overall pretty complicated and the game doesn't explain it very well. You have an extremely large cast of characters that you meet throughout the game giving you total customisability of your unions, also all having their own voicing in battle and some many have unique special abilities. There are tonnes of boss-type monsters in the game, some mainstream and some unlockable or side bosses, many incredibly hard to kill. The plot isn't amazing, it feels like the game tries to showcase some amazing storyline while it should have just accepted it's fairly standard, but passable plot. All in all, I enjoyed this game immensely. I really wanted to review it to show my appreciation as I felt bad about the mixed reviews this game constantly gets and I hope that the creators know some people still love this game (literally, my playtime for this game shows 225 hours!). Additionally, in response to some other reviews, you can skip cutscenes easily by pressing Pause/Break on the keyboard and then 'S' I believe. The game should have been clearer about that. I hear the Xbox version sucks eggs. Expand
  3. RushSykes
    Jun 9, 2009
    10
    It was a very good game, although there are little complications and so so storyline and dialouges, well the game play covers that up, whatIt was a very good game, although there are little complications and so so storyline and dialouges, well the game play covers that up, what hit me the most was how the music blended in with each scene or map, the music was one of the best in rpg games, most games from square enix have good music though, Expand
  4. AnonymousMC
    Aug 11, 2009
    9
    Honestly, all you need to look at is the USER SCORE vs the METASCORE. It's even almost obvious that most of these "professional"Honestly, all you need to look at is the USER SCORE vs the METASCORE. It's even almost obvious that most of these "professional" reviewers either do not like JRPGs in the first place, are too "hardcore" to play a console-style RPG on PC and write it off even before they try it (and yet playing the same game on console would somehow be OK.. why is that when the PC is factually better in every single way?), or just dislike the game because it isn't FF (as proven by one of the reviews).
    Those who complain about controls are idiots, and should get their heads out of their a**es already and realize there are these things called gamepads and controllers which the PC has been using since the dawn of time. I could use a freaking stearing wheel to play the game if I wanted to, that's the kind of flexibility only a PC could give you, and yet they still find it somehow unthinkable to just plug in a gamepad and play if the KB/M isn't comfortable enough to play the game.

    Seriously, if you're looking into this game, ignore the reviews and BUY IT! You will not be disappointed!

    Every single technical problem the game had on 360 is completely gone (there's some slight texture pop-in in scene changes as with all UE3 games, which could be fixed with a simple ini tweak), the game is well optimized, and it shows a lot of effort went into the porting of this game. There are a LOT of settings to play with, everything you'd need with the exception of AA, which is the fault of the engine itself but that can be forced.
    The changes and improvements go past the technical side, just look into the Last Remnant wiki to see how many changes (subtle or otherwise) have been introduced to the game itself.

    The game isn't without its flaws, there are some bad design decisions that were made (the whole BR thing for example), and sometimes things could feel a bit more random than they should be, and it will take you a while to figure things out and understand how the system works since not everything is completely explained in detail both in the manual and in the game. Don't expect to know the innards of the system like you would with a D&D or a TDE game. All that aside, the game is just fantastic.

    Anyway, great game, buy it and support it. I'd very much like to see some more JRPGs make their way to PC, and if you do too, then this is a game you should not miss.
    Expand
  5. Wanderer
    May 19, 2009
    8
    First I have to mention that I have not played the game to the end at the moment (somewhat at the half way), so keep this in mind when First I have to mention that I have not played the game to the end at the moment (somewhat at the half way), so keep this in mind when reading my thoughs about this game. Anyway, The Last Renmnant is a game that is one of the few jrpg games out for the PC. This makes the game somewhat special even though it has a traditional jrpg setting, like the hopeless main character. If you can tolerate the jrpg cliches that the game has, then you have a great game to enjoy, both in story and in play mechanics. Combat has its own flow and way that needs a bit of practise and experimental. This provides an interesting feel for the game (which is a good thing) and may cause the player to feel a certain level of suggests when a boss is defeated. Graphics and the story clips are beautiful although require a good computer to run smoothly (and without sudden surprises). It should be noted that even if the demo works in your computer, it doesn't mean that the game will. So make sure, you have what it takes to play this game. The game does have a few negative sides though (mainly on the instructions as the games provides only a few notes on things). Facts like battle rank are very poorly explained which may cause a total stop in the story progress as this thing affects the games difficulty. Also, the game has multiple sidequests that are missable because the story doesn't take you everywhere. My recommendation is that players should read more info from the games wikia pages so that the difficulty does not ruin the experience and if you can have the need to find everything that you want in the game. Overall though, this game is a gem and fans of the jrpg genre should at least consider trying it out so that more jrpg games might see daylight on the PC. For others, the game provides a good rpg experience and if interested, I recommend trying out the demo to get a feel for the combat system. Expand
  6. DanD
    Dec 16, 2009
    6
    The battle system is why I bought this game. Obviously it's different from most other RPG battle systems, difficult but fun. The one The battle system is why I bought this game. Obviously it's different from most other RPG battle systems, difficult but fun. The one thing I didn't like about the battle system is you can't choose which attacks for you union members directly. Alot of attacks your party members use are effected by union moral and available AP (similar to MP). The story is a little weak and the size of the world map are definate cons. Overall [The Last Remnant] was a decent middle-of-the-road RPG. There are better RPG's out there Expand
  7. Aug 7, 2011
    1
    A game that had a lot of potential. I was liking the story and characters, but the combat, oh my god. This is a game that gives stats based onA game that had a lot of potential. I was liking the story and characters, but the combat, oh my god. This is a game that gives stats based on what you do in battle. If you use lots of magic, you'll gain intellect, that sort of thing. The game also scales to how many battles you've done, meaning if you don't grind out PERFECTLY, you're going to be screwed late game.

    Now, this would be an incredible gameplay feature, in fact that on paper sounds perfect for making a game not a grindfest, and actually requiring thinking. However, now throw this into the mix: You can't control what your characters do in combat.
    There, the entire gameplay mechanic I explained that the game uses has just been shattered and turned into a complete mess. You control multiple parties instead of just one, and can only direct the party to attack, combat arts, or magic arts. However, using one of those options doesn't guarantee your soldiers will use said arts. Most of them will just use normal attacks, sometimes they'll use combat arts when you choose magic, etc. They've basically scaled the difficulty so the grinding and stat gains you get NEED to be absolutely perfect, if you accidentally use a magic spell or two on a warrior type, you've just made that character worthless as the game progresses. Combined with the fact that you don't control your characters the game feels more like watching a movie based on a bunch of drunk idiots fighting against gods and losing over and over and over.

    This is the first game I've ever played from Square Enix that I have not been able to finish just because of how flat out terrible it was. It pisses me off because the game was mere inches away from being one of the best RPG's of it's time, and all they had to do was give you control over your own characters, something that has been the norm in gaming since...pong.
    Expand

See all 64 User Reviews