• Publisher: Funcom
  • Release Date: Nov 16, 2000
User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 335 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 18 out of 335

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 28, 2012
    10
    Brilliant! Ragnar Tornquist is a genius. Probably the first real adventure title I truly fell in love with. The storyline is magical and epic. The protagonist is witty and cunning. The puzzles are challenging. And the world is immersive and interesting. This game brings back memories. Good memories.
  2. Mar 12, 2013
    10
    I have finished it today, but I should have played it long long time ago, it's a pretty good game. The plot is amazing as well as the characters, the puzzles and the music
  3. Mar 26, 2011
    10
    This is the second best game I have ever played, and I've been a gamer my entire life. This game draws you in. It's a ridiculous masterpiece. The voice acting is brilliant, and the story... the story is no less than art. It's a puzzle game of sorts, but that won't stop anyone with an imagination from going wild over it, even if you're more into shooters or othersuch. Absolutely, 100%, buy it. Buy it and play it. You'll think about this game long after it's finished.

    Get the sequel too. It's excellent.
    Expand
  4. Dec 9, 2013
    9
    I decided to give this game a try just recently. I knew it was an old game and at first I was put off by some of the screenshots, they seemed aged obviously. But I gave it a shot and I have to say this is the best adventure game I have played. The graphics may have aged a bit (in a technical sense, polygon-count etc) but the aesthetics and the art are still amazing and gorgeous. The story and the voice acting is the games biggest strength and easily beats most modern titles out of the wind. The dialog is extremely well written and almost all the characters seem authentic. The ending could have been a bit more satisfying, it was rather weak compared to all the other stuff the game had to offer. Still, easily the best adventure game out there, even after 14 years. Expand
  5. Jan 11, 2013
    9
    Brilliant point+click adventure. The story is brilliant, amazing voice acting and very few annoying/tedious parts. This game is far superior to the sequel (which doesn't really have a connection to the original). There is no fighting. It also has some funny references to Monkey Island ;)
    The dialogues are very good and immerse you into the universe around you which you want to learn more
    about, there is back-story to characters and they are not totally bland. I enjoyed the game a lot considering I'm not really into these types of games. Just don't complain about the graphics. Expand
  6. Jan 31, 2012
    9
    I'm playing this game in 2012 and although the graphics are a piece of **** the story is simply amazing! I am pushing on to continue the story, which I feel is very unique. The idea of parallel worlds between chaos and science etc... I love story in my games, and this is coming from a gamer whos never played this game, playing it in 2012. This matches modern games just for the story. Good job funcom. Expand
  7. Jun 28, 2013
    10
    A true gamer would care not for the graphics quality but for the game's true quality.
    The story is beautiful, and the characters are very easy to relate to. The puzzles are not too difficult, but also fairly challenging. There is also humor in the game. It's one of those games that are long and they grow on you and after you finish it, it's a shock. I still wish to stay in that world. I
    wish the longest journey were a longer journey. I love it so much I have played it over and over again. (71 hours!) Expand
  8. Aug 6, 2013
    10
    Well where i am suppose to start this game is awesome in many ways voice acting, graphics and the thing that you have 2 whole worlds to explore and the riddles that you must solve the are just mind blowing i dunno as i said all about this game is really GREAT best adventure game i ever played if there was scale much higher that 10 i will surely give the higher
  9. Nov 2, 2013
    9
    This game happens to contain one of my favourite universes and it was so well made. I'm not really a fan of adventure games, but this game managed to keep me enthralled. The characters were amazing and the story was to. I have recommend this game to multiple people in hopes they'll play it, so I'd recommend it to you to!
  10. Mar 18, 2014
    10
    This game is absolute a true addiction ! In my opinion is the master of all adventure games ( the whole story including Dreamfall and the coming soon Dreamfall Chapters.) A true adventure gamer who respects himself/herself must try it out !
  11. Jun 20, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Great game! Expand
  12. Feb 2, 2011
    10
    10 out of 10, and I wish there were more points to give...

    The Longest Journey is not for everyone. If you're looking for shiny, fancy graphics, or a quick, mindless shoot-em-up, well, what are you doing on this page in the first place? If, however, you're looking for an intriguing story in a richly developed world, you need to play this game. First, the bad news: It's slow. Yes, the
    barely literate reviews saying it was slow to play are correct. The walking speed is irritating sometimes, and trial and error puzzles between screens can take a while. The graphics are also primitive, but, hey, it's from 2000. I only mention it because, once you've played more recent games, it takes a while to adjust back. I missed a couple items because I'm used to more recent games. Once I'd played for a little while, though, I got my brain back into 2000 and it was all good.
    The medium news: Language and Content. This isn't a game for kids. It's a mature adventure. (not the porn version of mature, which, let's face it, is an odd use for the word anyway) TLJ simply deals with adults on their level, which includes profanity, drugs, etc. It's not gratuitous, but it is worth noting. So don't let your kids play it.
    The interface is fine. Nothing special, but nothing irritating either. Standard adventure fare here.
    The good news: Everything else. WoutT complained in his review that the game was made for the story, rather than the other way around. If you think this is a bad thing, then this isn't the game for you. If, however, you're looking for that oh-so-rare story-driven gameplay, then this is a gem not to be missed. There is lots of dialogue, written not just to advance the story, but to flesh out the world, making it an immersive and detailed place, rather than just a backdrop. Humor, drama, suspense, and even some action spread over the many hours of gameplay keep the story from becoming monotonous. There is a rich variety of characters, and while I'd love to give examples, to show the variety, discovering them is too much of a joy to ruin. But with a "realistic" world and a fantasy world in one game, the characters never feel cloned or stale. A few are more obviously placed as quest-givers, but most have at least some backstory and all the main characters feel real and nuanced. The puzzles, as in any good adventure game, will have different reactions from different players. Some will find them obvious, some will be baffled constantly. Personally, (and I'm not very good at adventure games, at least without the occasional hint) I did pretty well. They get easier as you learn how the developers thought, but they never get stale. On the occasions when I did check online (UHS hints is a godsend) I found myself smacking my forehead, because I really should have thought of the solution myself. There are few moments when you have to do something really inane to solve a puzzle, and just as few when it's all laid out for you. The gameplay is linear, but this was never meant to be sandbox. It's about the story, so it follows a relatively straight path. The Longest Journey is like an interactive novel with puzzles, so the linearity didn't bother me in the slightest. Frankly, with the size of the world(s) and the slow walking speed, knowing which puzzle to solve next was nice. The sound contributes nicely to the overall experience. I wasn't blown away by its brilliance, but it was always well-suited and effective.
    Replayability is moderate to low, since it's an adventure game, but at 40+ hours for a single play-through, that's still pretty darn good.

    I'm not a big adventure game fan. I rarely play them and even more seldom enjoy them. So for me to rave about an adventure game means it really goes above and beyond. A mature story with well developed settings and characters, told with rich dialogue over plenty of play-time, The Longest Journey does what few games have even approached in the decade since it was released. Play this game.


    P.S. It's hard to take an opinion seriously if the writing in a review is so poor that it becomes comedy. Saying that the game is not "intriguently" sophisticated doesn't make your case very well. There's even a spell checker available for posts. Just saying.....
    Expand
  13. Jan 4, 2012
    9
    If you're too lazy to *read* a good story, then you should skip The Longest Journey. However, if you have a bit more common sense than that, you'll like amazing stories and know that reading those stories is, well, amazing. If you like the idea of following a plot that transcends what you could expect to find in a game, then The Longest Journey is for you. It's the best "point 'n' click" adventure I ever played (and I played more than 40 games of the genre): it's filled with great written dialogs, puzzles, characters and worlds. Yes, it's so good it stands up when confronted with other gems like Grim Fandango, Gabriel Knight and Sanitarium. Expand
  14. Apr 24, 2012
    9
    For such an old game, playing it in 2012 and it still entertains and is fun to play. Great story, good music and voices, graphics are totally fine given its age. Puzzles are easy, hence the -1, but otherwise, highly recommended even in 2012 to fans of point-and-click games.
  15. Apr 22, 2012
    9
    If something it's old, doesn't mean it's not good, i used to play this back in the days it we're released, but sadly wasn't able to complete the entire story, now i finally did it, and i must say i missed lots of nice things, join April on her longest journey, meet many strange people that you would probably never think about, of some fantasy world, this game is filled with fun, and very good puzzles, it's worth to be bought and played. Expand
  16. May 7, 2012
    10
    My favourite adventure game of all time! It has all - great characters and dialogues, interesting puzzles and story...story that makes you think, laugh and cry.When it comes to gaming this is truly a masterpiece! My rating:10/10.
  17. Jan 24, 2013
    10
    I have been playing video games for twenty years. FPS, RPG, RTS, Point & Click adventure, platformer, puzzle, et cetera. Some of my favourites include Arcanum, Baldurs Gate II, System Shock 2, Mass Effect, and Deus Ex. But The Longest Journey is my all time number one favourite game. I got it for like $3 on a steam sale, on a whim. Three dollars for thirty-ish hours of the finest game I have evert played is a steal. Sure, the graphics are **** But the game is fun and the story rocks. Expand
  18. Feb 13, 2013
    10
    Given that this is a hardcore quest is also a great story that can not not listen to the end, is a drug, first it will interest you, then you're at it podsyadet and want more and more, and then begin to stretch the last crumbs of pleasure, because few what game can stir up so you and lead you along in a Longest Journey
  19. Oct 7, 2013
    10
    This is The Game (with a big "T" and a big "G") of its genre: an epic Adventure, with a big "A". In this game you'll make a journey between our world, depicted in a very realistic way, and a fantastic fantasy world. This duality gives the game a lot of variety in its atmosphere, story, characters, dialogs and puzzles. Yet, the whole thing stays consistent, and is therefore really immersive, which is no less than a feat for a fantasy story. Story which is engrossing. Dialogs are funny, full of humanity and well interpreted by the voice actors, which gives characters a solid deepness. Graphisms (except for the archaic 3D of the characters) and art style are very, truely beautiful. Along with the music and sounds effects, they create incredible atmospheres. Most of the puzzles, while challenging enough, aren't as hard as in other adventure games: they make sens (and no too-small-to-be-seen item to pick up), which is yet another very good point to be added on one of the "Longest" list of qualities for a game. Expand
  20. Oct 15, 2014
    9
    Wonderful, simply wonderful game adventure game! Definitely a masterpiece which would stay in my heart forever. It has a few (minor) problems and unfortunately is not completely playable to modern gamers, but I'll try to review it as objectively as I can!

    Plot: without a doubt the strongest point of the game! The Longest Journey tells you about April Ryan, a teenager which got entwined
    in the complex story of Stark - the world of science and logic, the one we know, Arcadia - the world of magic and wonders which exists in parallel to ours, and The Balance - which is in between the two worlds. The balance between the two worlds gets corrupted, putting in danger both worlds. The story goes far beyond that, with some twists and turns, and is also quiet deep. A little complex at times, yet that's what makes it so interesting!

    Settings: The game takes place in the far future (23rd century if I'm not mistaken). It therefore has sort of sci-fi settings, with a futuristic version of our world on one side and the magical world of Arcadia on the other. The characters have depth and some are even memorable. The futuristic version of our world is rather believable, and the world of Arcadia is very well-crafted and actually lets you explore a whole new world, including its folklore, tales, histories and different nationsspecies. The game's setting is very well thought and detailed, which adds a lot to the main story and make the game even more interesting! Add the amazing writing and the outstanding acting and you got yourself a Masterpiece.

    Gameplay: The Longest Journey has the classic point and click interface. You collect items, combine and use them in order to solve puzzle, and keep exploring and examining your surroundings, talking to the people around you... The puzzles are pretty original and interesting, not too ordinary and yet I found most of them quiet logical. I (almost) never found myself thinking "damn, I would have never figured it out myself!" (except for that rubber ducky puzzle in the biginning!)
    One little thing that annoyed me though, there wasn't always balance between puzzles and dialogues, where I think there should have been. You can, at times, find yourself talking with people, more and more, without messing with the inventory at all, while at other times there's almost no dialogue and many puzzles to solve.

    Graphics: The graphics are generally beautiful, the game uses 3d models which move over 2d backgrounds, and while the models are usually ugly the backgrounds are amazingly beautiful and nice to watch and observe. Even by simply checking the game's artworks you can see there was much though put in that. Still, the graphics are limited and the game runs in a pretty low resolution (like many games from the nineties)

    Sounds and music:TLJ features a beautiful, magical soundtrack. Still, unfortunately, I felt the game lacks music. The game's soundtrack lasts for about a hour, and was used in the game only occasionally for short bits. I really like music in video games, and therefore was sometimes disappointed with this aspect. It's nothing critical though, because there are great sound effects and background noises which always correspond greatly to your surroundings, the the sounds&soundtrack are still done pretty well.

    Compatibility: This game is rather old, and I still managed to run it on 3 different computers, which were all modern compared to this game, with almost no problems at all. So you're still able to play it on modern machines even nowadays without much effort.

    Test of Time: Unfortunately, the game is not as approachable as it was on its release. Many modern gamers would stay away from it, as it greatly centers on dialogues and story. There's a lot of content which isn't even relevant to finishing the game. TLJ requires a lot of your time, attention and patience, and even I couldn't always stand it while playing it last week. It was different when I first played it, many years ago, but nowadays players don't have so much patience as before. Modern gamers are ususally looking for things they won't find in this game. Add the dated graphics which by today's standards are terrible, and you get a game which is unfortunately fully appreciated mainly by those who played it back when it was fresh and new, even though storywise it's a great classic!

    In short, this game is almost perfect, but is unfortunately not for the impatience or seekers of quick-paced adventures, as this one takes its time. If you only let it, it would tell you one of the most wonderful tales told in the video-gaming world in the last two decades.
    Expand
  21. Sep 4, 2014
    9
    The Longest Journey was quite literally the pinnacle of my experiences from gaming since i started playing games back in 1992!
    The game does have its shortfalls, the mechanics are a touch clanky, some of the puzzles are silly, but I have never gotten so completely engrossed in the story and characters of a game as I did with the Longest Journey. The game is now 14 years old, so if you
    are after the latest and best graphics available then move along, the mechanics of the game are a vessel with which to carry one of the most intriguing and ingenious plot-lines you will ever experience. Expand
  22. Oct 7, 2014
    10
    This is my absolute favorite of all the point and click adventure games. It's so incredibly good in every way. The story is incredible, the characters are vivid, the locations colorful and full of eye-catching beauty. I love the mystery of this game, how it slowly gets you deeper and deeper into April Ryan's world, step by step, never leaving you bored. I remember playing this as a ten year old after school, totally blown away, couldn't even get my homework done, haha! You've been warned! :) Expand
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. TLJ is a masterpiece and one of the best Adventures to be released during the past few years. Unfortunately it should be avoided by people who are violently repelled, for themselves or their offspring, by some extremely crude language.
  2. 92
    The powerful story affects you as it unfolds and by the end you will be drained--your life will never be the same again. This game could do to adventure games, what Doom did for the FPS. A must buy for anyone and everyone.
  3. 93
    This game does more than just recreate the nostalgic experience of old school adventure gaming, it actually reinvents how stories can be told in the medium, and gives us a glimpse of what we can expect in the years to come.