• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
The Longest Journey Image
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 26 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 374 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: An epic 3-D adventure spanning over 150 unique locations across two distinct and detailed worlds. [Funcom]
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. Who would expect a previously unknown Norwegian developer to create such an absorbing and compelling adventure game? The Longest Journey is, quite simply, one of the best adventures ever made.
  2. The best adventure game in years. That's one of the easier ways to describe The Longest Journey. It's also the longest, the most rewarding and the most mature.
  3. An adventure masterpiece...the best adventure game I've ever played.
  4. An engrossing and highly entertaining adventure game with characters that you can care about, an involving storyline to keep you hooked, and settings and characters that are both beautiful and bizarre.
  5. TLJ is a masterpiece and one of the best Adventures to be released during the past few years. Unfortunately it should be avoided by people who are violently repelled, for themselves or their offspring, by some extremely crude language.
  6. The pinnacle of classic, point-and-click adventure gaming. [Feb 2001, p.97]
  7. Definitely not the kind of game everyone will appreciate and, in fact, may be unplayable after five minutes for some gamers.

See all 26 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 69 out of 82
  2. Negative: 7 out of 82
  1. CarlosTheBear
    Oct 3, 2008
    10
    Masterpiece! This game is over 10 years old and could teach nearly all modern developers how to tell a story. Sod next-gen physics and fancy Masterpiece! This game is over 10 years old and could teach nearly all modern developers how to tell a story. Sod next-gen physics and fancy graphics, this is engrossing. No game since Ico has had me actually caring for characters like this one has. Even if you don't like the genre (I myself am a racer/fps guy) this is a must buy. Expand
  2. TomB.
    May 11, 2008
    10
    The Longest Journey is a masterpiece. It has one of the most interesting storyline of any game I've ever played (except for perhaps The Longest Journey is a masterpiece. It has one of the most interesting storyline of any game I've ever played (except for perhaps Planescape: Torment). The environments are rich, varied, and interesting. The puzzles aren't up to the level of those in Riven and Myst, but they are challenging and fun. This game is undoubtedly one of the best adventure games since Myst. Only Syberia has topped it since its release. Expand
  3. RachelB.
    Apr 18, 2003
    10
    This has to be the best game ever!!!!!!!!! I love the cool graphics, and the amazing soundtrack not to mention the voice acting. The story This has to be the best game ever!!!!!!!!! I love the cool graphics, and the amazing soundtrack not to mention the voice acting. The story line is soo cool as well. So what if there are a few swear words, and that some people talk for a while - it helps you get to know the characters more, and besides you can skip the long convos! Longest Journey rules!!!! Expand
  4. Feb 16, 2015
    10
    I have not felt compelled to write a review since playing "The Cat Lady" since no game has really appealed to me that much. Let me just getI have not felt compelled to write a review since playing "The Cat Lady" since no game has really appealed to me that much. Let me just get this out of the way beforehand. Yes, the graphics are incredibly horribly outdated. What do you expect from a game that came out in the year 2000? That being said, this has to be one of the most charming and easy to love games I have ever played. The dialogue is superb and the amount of sarcasm and witty retorts from this game will never go out of style. If you want to play a game with a fantastic story and some of the best dialogue known to mankind, I can't recommend this game more. Expand
  5. MarkH.
    Jun 16, 2007
    9
    Very good game, quite challenging.
  6. Jan 31, 2012
    9
    I'm playing this game in 2012 and although the graphics are a piece of **** the story is simply amazing! I am pushing on to continue theI'm playing this game in 2012 and although the graphics are a piece of **** the story is simply amazing! I am pushing on to continue the story, which I feel is very unique. The idea of parallel worlds between chaos and science etc... I love story in my games, and this is coming from a gamer whos never played this game, playing it in 2012. This matches modern games just for the story. Good job funcom. Expand
  7. ShawnT.
    Jun 30, 2007
    0
    This is the lamest game ever invented the only reason why i bought it is because it got such a high metascore. Please do not buy this game This is the lamest game ever invented the only reason why i bought it is because it got such a high metascore. Please do not buy this game unless you are looking for something to help you fall asleep. Trust me this is a stupid game and you will hate it. I have played thousands of games and this one falls at the bottom of my list. I wish I could get my money back! Expand

See all 82 User Reviews