• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
The Longest Journey Image
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 26 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 466 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: An epic 3-D adventure spanning over 150 unique locations across two distinct and detailed worlds. [Funcom]
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. Who would expect a previously unknown Norwegian developer to create such an absorbing and compelling adventure game? The Longest Journey is, quite simply, one of the best adventures ever made.
  2. Daily Radar
    100
    The best adventure game in years. That's one of the easier ways to describe The Longest Journey. It's also the longest, the most rewarding and the most mature.
  3. 100
    An adventure masterpiece...the best adventure game I've ever played.
  4. An engrossing and highly entertaining adventure game with characters that you can care about, an involving storyline to keep you hooked, and settings and characters that are both beautiful and bizarre.
  5. TLJ is a masterpiece and one of the best Adventures to be released during the past few years. Unfortunately it should be avoided by people who are violently repelled, for themselves or their offspring, by some extremely crude language.
  6. PC Gamer
    90
    The pinnacle of classic, point-and-click adventure gaming. [Feb 2001, p.97]
  7. Definitely not the kind of game everyone will appreciate and, in fact, may be unplayable after five minutes for some gamers.

See all 26 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 70 out of 86
  2. Negative: 8 out of 86
  1. CarlosTheBear
    Oct 3, 2008
    10
    Masterpiece! This game is over 10 years old and could teach nearly all modern developers how to tell a story. Sod next-gen physics and fancy Masterpiece! This game is over 10 years old and could teach nearly all modern developers how to tell a story. Sod next-gen physics and fancy graphics, this is engrossing. No game since Ico has had me actually caring for characters like this one has. Even if you don't like the genre (I myself am a racer/fps guy) this is a must buy. Expand
  2. TomB.
    May 11, 2008
    10
    The Longest Journey is a masterpiece. It has one of the most interesting storyline of any game I've ever played (except for perhaps The Longest Journey is a masterpiece. It has one of the most interesting storyline of any game I've ever played (except for perhaps Planescape: Torment). The environments are rich, varied, and interesting. The puzzles aren't up to the level of those in Riven and Myst, but they are challenging and fun. This game is undoubtedly one of the best adventure games since Myst. Only Syberia has topped it since its release. Expand
  3. JonK.
    Jul 28, 2002
    10
    I loved this game from the second I started playing it. All I can say is, it has charm - bucketloads of it. In retrospect, I think it is I loved this game from the second I started playing it. All I can say is, it has charm - bucketloads of it. In retrospect, I think it is possibly the best game I have ever played. I am a big fan of dialogue in games, and TLJ is often criticised for this in the same way as Broken Sword and the like. Some sequences could have been a little shorter (I got particularly impatient during the directionless storytelling-species segment) - so, I guess for some people this will be too much. I have one thing to say: You want to go shoot things, there are plenty of thriving genres out there that allow you to do just that. You want to enjoy a *story*, you want a classic adventure game - and with The Longest Journey, that is what you undoubtedly get. Expand
  4. WayneB.
    Jan 4, 2005
    10
    Sarah hamilton did a super job!
  5. MattT.
    Aug 24, 2001
    9
    Great graphic adventure.
  6. Apr 17, 2015
    9
    This is an excellent game for its time, rivaled only by Blade runner by Westwood Studios. It presents a game that lives up to it's name, withThis is an excellent game for its time, rivaled only by Blade runner by Westwood Studios. It presents a game that lives up to it's name, with over 100 hours of play time, this is truly "The Longest Journey" of it's genre. The story is highly captivating, the scene is believable, it just draws you in and doesn't let you go.

    The only draw back that I can see is that some of the puzzles are bordering on very difficult to slightly absurd. I found myself playing through the game with a guide more frequently than I dare to admit. All in all, for it's time this was a astonishing point click adventure, and still to this date holds up as one of the best point click adventure games - if not the best, which was ever made.
    Expand
  7. ShawnT.
    Jun 30, 2007
    0
    This is the lamest game ever invented the only reason why i bought it is because it got such a high metascore. Please do not buy this game This is the lamest game ever invented the only reason why i bought it is because it got such a high metascore. Please do not buy this game unless you are looking for something to help you fall asleep. Trust me this is a stupid game and you will hate it. I have played thousands of games and this one falls at the bottom of my list. I wish I could get my money back! Expand

See all 86 User Reviews