Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 24
  2. Negative: 6 out of 24
Buy On
  1. Pelit (Finland)
    75
    The Lord of the Rings: Conquest has some good movielike moments but overall suffers from a boring and difficult single player mode and lousy controls on the PC. The multiplayer is decent enough if you're into epic but rather simple fantasy action. [Feb 2009]
  2. Lord of the Rings Conquest succeeds in bringing Tolkien's fans a solid videogame, with intense action and a good representation of battles. But there is a strong difference between playing it multiplayer and single player, less fun than the former. Solo players should think twice the purchase.
  3. Total PC Gaming
    70
    It's the "Battlefront" sequel we wanted, but it noticeably reduces the LOTR mythology to a boots-first brawler. [Issue#16, p.54]
  4. Lord of the Rings: Conquest is a videogame too far from excellence to be recommendable without making some kind of warning marks before. Those who don't like the senseless button smashing will not enjoy this game, but if you are a fan of both the Tolkien universe and the online battles you will find here an honest but reiterative entertainment.
  5. Standing at the gates of Mordor, listening to epic music and feeling as a part of a huge battle – these are the great moments in Conquest. Unfortunately the unbalanced difficulty, repetitive missions and dated graphics kill these moments.
  6. With unimaginative gameplay and occasionally confusing controls, Conquest isn’t going to be conquering Middle Earth any time soon.
  7. Except fpr some passages, the campaign sucks and the multiplayer-mode isn’t able to convince, either. This game simply offers no motivation to keep playing.
  8. PC Gamer UK
    61
    Competent swords-and-sorcery excursion minus vital soul. [Mar 2009, p.69]
  9. Unless you fall in love with the deathmatch modes, the main draw here is the two campaigns - and most gamers will be able to cut their way through both in under five hours. Even if you're a massive fan of the series, we'd advise you to approach this game with caution.
  10. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    60
    Lord Sauron campaign and the possibility to play as famous heroes are the only things keeping Conquest above a grey and a boring average. Yeah and killing the Olyphants too. [Feb 2009]
  11. Lord of the Rings: Conquest is indeed awesome, but it’s the kind of awesome derived from watching people falling out of trees on YouTube or seeing your friend get punched in the nuts at a party. It’s the sort of game nobody in their right mind can take seriously, but because it’s so ludicrous, it winds up being fun.
  12. Play (Poland)
    60
    The concepts that work in an online shooter not necessarily translate directly to a game consisting of swordplay, archery and area spells, as this example proves. The simplified and shallow rules don't leave much room for skill development that is crucial in every game that aims to foster longtime online competition. [Mar 2009]
  13. This game is nothing but a plain insult to all Fans of The Lord of the Rings as well as all other gamers.
  14. The basic idea behind Conquest is cool: play the largest battles from Lord of the Rings from the perspective of a soldier. The out-of-date graphics, bad class balance and stubborn controls would be no problem if this was a mod for Battlefront or Battlefield, but this is a full price game. The only thing worthy of the big license is the soundtrack and that's available for less.
  15. While Pandemic Studios has attempted to bring their applauded formula to The Lord of the Rings in Conquest, the game is just missing too much finesse to impress most audiences.
  16. 50
    We were hoping for more from The Lord of the Rings: Conquest, and we're disappointed that the game didn't do more with such a powerful license. Star Wars: Battlefront hasn't aged very well, and to get essentially the same game with a different theme left us wanting more.
  17. I simply can’t recommend The Lord of the Rings: Conquest. The game is riddled with both minor and major mistakes, the camera is awful, it looks like a PlayStation 2-game, and the gameplay consists of little more than mindless hacking and slashing of countless enemies. The only positive aspect is the decent multiplayer-mode, but even that feels outdated, compared to Call of Duty 4, Gears of War 2 or anything in that direction.
  18. While fans of the franchise will get a kick out of re-enacting their personal favorite battles, most folks will probably be wishing that hacking up hobbits was more like blasting Ewoks. And even if you do get a kick out of it, much like dating a crazy hot chick, the enjoyment will be short-lived once you start to look beyond the surface and see the glaring flaws.
  19. Conquest isn't a very fun game. Thanks to all the aforementioned drawbacks, there's virtually nothing to enjoy about the single-player (we strongly advise you skip that).
  20. A fantasy version of "Star Wars: Battlefront 2" with all the boredom intact. It’s like a poorly made pasty – too little jam, too much unleavened dough.
  21. PC Format
    48
    Tolkien must be revolving speedily in his grave. [Apr 2009, p.48]
  22. PC Zone UK
    43
    LOTR deserves a better action game than this, and with the rich source material available to them, Pandemic and EA should be ashamed of themselves for unleashing this on the general public - even if we know it'll go straight to the top of the charts regardless. [Apr 2009, p.52]
  23. Very much throwaway gaming, Conquest is wholly lacklustre, devoid of any real purpose, and is a real low point for Pandemic, which after Mercenaries 2 is really saying something. 'Must do better' is a gross understatement.
  24. AceGamez
    40
    There's some limited fun to be had with The Lord of the Rings: Conquest, and there are even times when the great game it could have been almost shine through, but plagued with such gaping flaws and wasted potential, the small amount of enjoyment that you might be able to gain never seems to justify the time you spend trying to discover it.
User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 42 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 11
  2. Negative: 3 out of 11
  1. Mar 5, 2013
    3
    There really isn't much point in getting this game any more. The single player campaign was mediocre at best. It's essentially a BattlefrontThere really isn't much point in getting this game any more. The single player campaign was mediocre at best. It's essentially a Battlefront game with a Star Wars theme although sadly the servers for Conquest are no longer up so you're limited to the lacklustre singleplayer. Full Review »
  2. SimonF
    Jan 19, 2009
    4
    Might have made 6 if it wasn't for the appalling Camera motion during combat!

    If I was being attacked by 30+ Uruk Hai..... I would
    Might have made 6 if it wasn't for the appalling Camera motion during combat!

    If I was being attacked by 30+ Uruk Hai..... I would like nothing better than to stare at my feet!...What idiot at EA (admittedly a long list of Buffoons to choose from) came up with the mouse camera action in this game?.... You have to constantly move the mouse up, just to keep your eyes on who is coming!

    I can't help thinking how much better the LOTR games would have been...If a decent software house like Ubisoft had the licence!

    Go back to making boring Golf Games EA!
    Full Review »
  3. Dec 10, 2016
    2
    All I can say is that this is one of *the* worst in all of the history of games! Game is full of bugs and glitches that totally trashAll I can say is that this is one of *the* worst in all of the history of games! Game is full of bugs and glitches that totally trash matches...
    if you're planning to play its single player matches then be forewarned! I can easily claim that there isn't and there will never be any unlucky player who has wasted as much time I have on its lousy single player...
    The AI is extremely pathetic, and I'm talking about both sides. For example: The only thing the enemy would do is to target the player non-stop like if you're ever caught in their range, and some attacks( Throwing Axe, Hatchet Bomb, Fire Wall, Poison Arrow and Explosive Arrow) are only meant to fall on the player no matter what. The enemy will target someone else but the launched projectile will come flying towards the player! WTH?!!! I've seen it many times and sometimes it just hits the player miraculously out of nowhere! The Mage's Lightning sometimes might have a chance to go through the wall, so be extra careful... And don't get me started on my own team-mates AI! All they'll do is to look confused most of the time and just keep patrolling the area like some maniac whose hit hard on the head with a blunt weapon... They won't actually kill anything unless you're on it and its HPs are already 90% gone, and with some creepy skill they manage to land the death blow which is the remaining 1% of their HP, thus claiming the kill as theirs, in spite of all the effort you've put in to take it down by yourself... Oh, yeah... and if you're attacked yourself by the enemy, what happens now? Your allies jumping in and coming to the rescue? Of course not! Not only do they do nothing and stay idle when your hit, they also tend to move out of the way so that the long ranged morons can finish you off as well! So much for team work, huh? Most of the time you'll feel like your own teammates are the main reason of your loss, nothing else... Fascinating, hey? And one more thing, the number of classes on each side is way too unbalanced, as the other side(your enemy) is loaded with Mages who *always* keep healing and their guards are *always* up, and Warriors who *always* come straight into action to guard their precious teammates... unlike yours who are *always* a bunch of insignificant loons who do nothing but reduce their own side's performance... can it get any better than this?! I barely receive any heals from my own teammates, as it even got to the point of me circling them like crazy and begging them to raise their almost useless staves in the air... there is no teamwork on your side in any way possible, due to the almost non-existent AI that's somehow shoved up their butts and not in their heads... ( Just a side note, stay away from the Legendary difficulty whatsoever, the AI as it mentions does not improve. You just become weaker and the enemy becomes Superman! Well, ummmm, Supermen everywhere! To sum it up, worst single player matches ever to be seen where you'll become the primary target as soon as you step forth on the battlefield, just BS! And the stupendously horrid Hero Team Death Matches, where the only thing the enemy will zoom in on is you! They'll come chasing after you like some mindless undead freaks! Just stay away from such matches as well. I haven't really tried multiplayer and from the little experience I've had, I could say that I dislike it, due to lag... and most importantly the inability to assign any computer teammates to your cause! Now that would make it jeopardy since both sides will not be even at times!
    The music score however is awesome and kinda gives you a unique feeling though as if you really are engaging in an LOTRs battle! But again due to the aforementioned flaws and terrible and clunky controls, it ejects you right out of the game and back onto your seat. -.-
    The voice-acting is putrid and futile and not to mention overbearing! Frodo will only blabber weird lines like: You can't have it! and what not with his super ear-scratching voice! Or Aragorn, introducing himself 24/7 or that horrible looking Gandalf that just comes out of nowhere and yells: I am Gandalf! Is that so Mr. Douchedalf! I am Got-pissed-off-so-bad-by-your-lame-voice-acting! Pandemic you suck!
    Considering many things, the battles are nothing but a mess, you don't know what you're doing most of the times. The campaigns are just plain dull and uninspiring, if it wasn't for the maps and the environments and the soundtrack, you had no idea that you really were in a LOTRs game at all!

    Final words: Game would have been awesome if it wasn't for its lazy and cheap game-designing. The reason I gave it a 2 was only because it can still be played if you're planning to die and kill brainlessly without any actual objective... and yes, if you reallly are a fan of the LOTRs franchise, I suggest that you should give it a try just for the laughs!
    Full Review »