The Lord of the Rings: Conquest Image
Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 24 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 41 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: For the first time, play as Evil characters in a brand new, 'Evil' campaign. Battle through scenarios after Frodo failed to destroy the One Ring; it’s good to be bad. Acclaimed Battlefront gameplay in a fantasy setting allows players to choose the way they fight, as Warrior, Archer, Mage orFor the first time, play as Evil characters in a brand new, 'Evil' campaign. Battle through scenarios after Frodo failed to destroy the One Ring; it’s good to be bad. Acclaimed Battlefront gameplay in a fantasy setting allows players to choose the way they fight, as Warrior, Archer, Mage or Scout in melee and ranged combat. Online multiplayer - pick your allegiance then battle in 16-player online clashes, or in 4-player co-op campaigns. Local multiplayer - split-screen with up to 4 players competitively or 2 player co-op. A massive cast of characters & weapons adds great depth to the gameplay: Heroes, Wargs, Ents, Oliphaunts, Cave-trolls, the Balrog, Nazgul, ballistae, and more. [Electronic Arts] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 24
  2. Negative: 6 out of 24
  1. Pelit (Finland)
    75
    The Lord of the Rings: Conquest has some good movielike moments but overall suffers from a boring and difficult single player mode and lousy controls on the PC. The multiplayer is decent enough if you're into epic but rather simple fantasy action. [Feb 2009]
  2. Lord of the Rings: Conquest is a videogame too far from excellence to be recommendable without making some kind of warning marks before. Those who don't like the senseless button smashing will not enjoy this game, but if you are a fan of both the Tolkien universe and the online battles you will find here an honest but reiterative entertainment.
  3. Except fpr some passages, the campaign sucks and the multiplayer-mode isn’t able to convince, either. This game simply offers no motivation to keep playing.
  4. This game is nothing but a plain insult to all Fans of The Lord of the Rings as well as all other gamers.
  5. 50
    We were hoping for more from The Lord of the Rings: Conquest, and we're disappointed that the game didn't do more with such a powerful license. Star Wars: Battlefront hasn't aged very well, and to get essentially the same game with a different theme left us wanting more.
  6. Conquest isn't a very fun game. Thanks to all the aforementioned drawbacks, there's virtually nothing to enjoy about the single-player (we strongly advise you skip that).
  7. AceGamez
    40
    There's some limited fun to be had with The Lord of the Rings: Conquest, and there are even times when the great game it could have been almost shine through, but plagued with such gaping flaws and wasted potential, the small amount of enjoyment that you might be able to gain never seems to justify the time you spend trying to discover it.

See all 24 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 10
  2. Negative: 2 out of 10
  1. Aug 8, 2013
    9
    I got this game for my birth day when it came out and I LOVED it. I didn't really care for the campaign all that much, but that isn't what theI got this game for my birth day when it came out and I LOVED it. I didn't really care for the campaign all that much, but that isn't what the game was made for, it was made for multiplayer, and it is AWESOME. Think of it like Star Wars: Battlefront but with Lord of the Rings. Expand
  2. Mar 23, 2012
    8
    I have enjoyed this game for a long time, primarily while playing multiplayer. The single player campaign and skirmishes DO leave me wantingI have enjoyed this game for a long time, primarily while playing multiplayer. The single player campaign and skirmishes DO leave me wanting more, I confess, but playing split-screen with three other friends can be a truly awesome experience. Not perfect, but fun. :)

    In Christ, Jesrin.
    Expand
  3. Mar 24, 2013
    8
    This game seems to get a bit of a bad rep. However, I believe that this game can be a blast. It is very fun to be playing as your favoritesThis game seems to get a bit of a bad rep. However, I believe that this game can be a blast. It is very fun to be playing as your favorites from the Lord of the Rings while fighting in some of the battles from Lord of the Rings in War of the Ring, such as Helm's Deep, Minas Tirith, and Pelennor Fields. There is also the all new evil campaign, which feature Sauron's conquest to take over Middle-Earth. I believe it is a great custom campaign. Instant action is also a very fun thing to do. You can get into some really fun, intense battles. Check this game out. It gets a bad rep, but it is fun. Expand
  4. Apr 25, 2013
    7
    I'm not gonna lie this game is a total Battlefront 2 re-skin, but it has a truly enjoyable LotR twist to it and the melee was surprisinglyI'm not gonna lie this game is a total Battlefront 2 re-skin, but it has a truly enjoyable LotR twist to it and the melee was surprisingly good! I like LotR, that may have altered my opinion) Expand
  5. Dec 1, 2015
    6
    I was one of those peoples who got this game in 2009 when it first came out.

    "LordOfTheRings: Conquest" was suppose to be a counterpart for
    I was one of those peoples who got this game in 2009 when it first came out.

    "LordOfTheRings: Conquest" was suppose to be a counterpart for the ever so popular "StarWars: Battlefront" games, but everyone quickly noticed it wasn't even close.

    The game was made by "Pandemic Studios" who are the developers for the Battlefront games, which makes it even more weirder that they would totally suck at making the same game with different theme.

    Not long after the company was defunct by they're mother company EA and no wonder since they only released mediocre games that weren't too popular.

    LordOfTheRings: Conquest does have its moments tho where it clearly shines as a good game, however there is more bad ones than good ones.

    The combat in the game seems stiff but fun at times due to the weaker enemy types (bots) that fill the battlefield making it look populated around all the real players (This is a feature i haven't yet experienced in any other game and i feel like the system is quite good cause it gives the immersion of a big battles) however the combat (especially the campaign) feels short lived since it can be beaten in just a hour or so.
    The game does offer players a secondary campaign as the evil side, but all it offers is the same game backwards with only 2 or so different maps.
    The game also has familiar hero characters from the movie which is a clear plus, but whenever the text "Would you like to play as a hero" is displayed your only able to choose from 1 specific hero which to me kind of feels limited. The difficulty of the game is also the other aspect that makes it feel bad. Even players who are experienced with these type of games quickly notice that going head on against enemies usually gets you killed since they just maul you to death without letting you do a single attack on them, this makes the archer class probably the best in the game since you can 1 hit kill enemies with a well placed heads shots or shoot bombs that sends everyone flying and since everyone moves the same speed you can run backwards and no one will ever catch you.

    In all and all the game is not as bad as it may sound but i wouldn't pay any amount of real money for it since there is no real value with this game.

    Its fun with friends for a day but its one of those titles you play once and never look back at it again.
    Expand
  6. Dec 1, 2011
    6
    For a major Lord of the Rings fan it was quite a let down. Game play was repetitive and clunky. However playing as your favourite races makesFor a major Lord of the Rings fan it was quite a let down. Game play was repetitive and clunky. However playing as your favourite races makes up for it (i mean arrowing a pig like orc is boss. Could be better but it fills a nice hole Collapse
  7. Mar 5, 2013
    3
    There really isn't much point in getting this game any more. The single player campaign was mediocre at best. It's essentially a BattlefrontThere really isn't much point in getting this game any more. The single player campaign was mediocre at best. It's essentially a Battlefront game with a Star Wars theme although sadly the servers for Conquest are no longer up so you're limited to the lacklustre singleplayer. Expand

See all 10 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Critical Misfires: 40 High-Profile Games with Disappointing Reviews

    Critical Misfires: 40 High-Profile Games with Disappointing Reviews Image
    Published: October 4, 2012
    Mediocre reviews for a high-profile videogame? It does happen from time to time, as the new release "Resident Evil 6" demonstrates. Inside, we look at 40 games from the past decade that earned disappointing reviews despite major anticipation.